Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esperance 1

48 Akti Papagou and Folegandrou, Ermoupoli, 84100, Greece

#10 of 22 B&Bs and Inns in Ermoupoli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    The location was great, right next to the ferry and the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath rooms are neat, modern and clean BUT so small..

    The location was great, right next to the ferry and the bus stop to the various beautiful beaches. A nice slow stroll to the city centre, full of nice coffee shops and restaurants. Good for those that prefer a English breakfast... The breakfast at the hotel is nice and enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    This is a great place to stay in Ermoupoli. Very clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room with a nice view of the harbour. Great for watching the action in the port. Very comfortable and clean. And very friendly family owners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    I cannot emphasize how much we enjoyed staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I cannot emphasize how much we enjoyed staying at this hotel. My second time this summer. Nickolas, Mario’s and Kostas are Terrific hosts . Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location is excellent, the room was clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could find no negatives.

    The location is excellent, the room was clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable.. The owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place without Reservations....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    A decent room for the price with good views over the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy as it is next to the docks where large ships are under repair.

    Friendly, efficient staff. The view from the window was fantastic. The room had good quality facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Our stay on Syros was a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from the shipyard and also when a ferry docked overnight across the road. They have there engines running all night.

    Easy access to everything. Staff were very pleasant. View from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect ferry watching room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than expected but large balcony made up for it!

    The location is exactly a minute from the ferry terminal. This father & sons team have perfected friendly, helpful hospitality! The room was always spotless and the staff went out of their way to help with everything we required on Syros. They were like our personal tourist information guides!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    The staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty curtain in the shower window, the fridge was not working, too much light in the room, too much noise from other rooms, no elevator. It’s a decent stay if it was half the price. We were away for work for 10 days and stayed in many similar priced hotels and this was by far the worst one. Won’t be staying again.

    The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently located in the heart of Athens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The late night sound from the street which may affect light sleeper like me. But again, this problem exist in all other hotels in the area given her location.

    Conveniently located in the heart of Athens. Clean room and great service staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant location. Helpful team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to ferry, town and bus. The staff are very helpful. They were very accomodating while we left our baggage until the evening ferry. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    A great location looking onto the spectacular harbour at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have booked a harbour view room, but they were all twin bedded.....nice to have a double with a view.

    A great location looking onto the spectacular harbour at Ermoupouli, and right next door to a great local car and scooter hire. Clean, modern design to rooms and lovely family as hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. One even jumped on his motorbike to go and buy more of our favourite breakfast cereal, which was running out. The location was very close to the ferry and we had a good view from our balcony. Ermoupolis is a lovely town. We highly recommend the industrial museum, which is much more interesting than it sounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    To consider a second time in the Esperance 1
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in room 228 should be changed to double glass compact windows, otherwise the client will have a difficult night with the vibrations and noise from the boats plus the motobikes unconfortable uproar. Also when renting a room you should kindly tell your client that the room is on a second or third floor. Maybe it will avoid health troubles.......... If architectural wise possible, an small elevator will help the staff of the Hotel to prevent spine problems. Thank you !

    It was find, bed, bathroom, atmosphere.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable 7 days on Syros a Greek Island which is a little different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but Breakfast was just average if you are a big breakfast person

    Our room had a balcony which overlooked the harbour . Lovely sunrises and always plenty of activity watching the ferries arriving and departing Location was also close to the centre and the bus terminal There is a swimming location about 10 minute walk around the harbour but it is not a beach The water is crystal clear and wobderfulm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel on Syros
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have a lift which was of no concern to me as it only has 2 floors anyway, but it could be a factor if you have limited mobility.

    A lovely small hotel situated right on the sea front of Syros port. The room was perfect with tasteful modern decor, aircon, fridge, kettle and a very nice bathroom with a shower with a proper glass enclosure - not that common in my experience of Greek hotels! The staff were very nice and friendly. Great location with all the town amenities just a short stroll away. I would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful Syros Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely small hotel run by 2 brothers &their father . Extremely friendly & helpful , nothing was an effort . We arrived @ 0700 & was offered coffee as we were to early to check in . Our room had a balcony with a great view of all the ferries coming & going . The room was spacious , spotless , comfortable bed . Aircon efficient & bathroom , shower all good . The breakfast had a good selection fruits , cereals , yoghurts , eggs etc !! Wonderful stay & thankyou to Dad & sons 👍

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Hotel on the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the rooms are expensive compared to other hotels we have visited on other islands. However it is next to the ferry port.

    We had a room with balcony. Other rooms do not have balconies. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.4
    Expensive for what you get.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dark and very humid. Breakfast starts at 8 in the morning that it too late and also it wasn't ready when i when down at 8. Also breakfast it very very poor.

    Very good location near the port.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    I liked the decoration and the aesthetics in general,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the size of the room, too small. Shower too small. It was a room looking at the back of the street so it had not enough day light and not a balcony with a view.

    I liked the decoration and the aesthetics in general, concerning the room and the facilities. The location is very good since you can walk to the centre of Ermoupolis. Last but not least the staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast, not much to chose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, not much to chose

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    excellent location adjacent to port, friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location adjacent to port, friendly & welcoming boutique hotel on the marvellous island of Siros.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, very friendly service and very close too the harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directly at the street and quite noisy

    Clean, very friendly service and very close too the harbor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel that was brilliantly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel that was brilliantly located. The hotel is quite small and family run they are excellent hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location for ferry watching
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to port. Room 22 had large balcony at front.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy by the port

    Convenient for the port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    ~ will definitely go back to Syros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ~ the water pressure in the shower ......💧💧💧💧

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Perfect location everything was within walking distance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    great location near to the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location near to the ferry port. confortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Taking a room breakfast included is not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking a room breakfast included is not worth it. In the main street there are a lot of places where you can have breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    All amazing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely Recommended!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed, Staff, Decoration, Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly with a pleasant distance, good breakfast, nice bathroom, location very close to the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    A very pleasant place to stay in
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no elevator but the staff helps with the bags.

    Clean room and and bathroom. Excellent location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Very good option in Syros
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern rooms. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise at night from the ferries docking.Some traffic noise too. Double glazing would help this.

    Very central location. Lovely comfortable beds. Stylish décor throughout. Good view over the harbour.Constant hot water from very effective shower with very modern fittings.Water saving taps.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was modern, comfortable and fully equipped with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was modern, comfortable and fully equipped with anything we needed. Great views of the port and Ermoupoli. Very convenient if you are travelling by boat to the island as it's just opposite to the port.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic boutique hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I didn't like. Everything was great. Maybe cable TV in the future in the rooms if it is available

    Fantastic boutique hotel in an excellent location. A very short walk to the ferry terminal. The rooms were spacious, cleaned daily, the bathroom was of a reasonable size as was the bed. Internet Wi-Fi was of excellent quality. Customer service was exemplary, professional and the boys were always willing to help or assist in any queries I had. I will definitely be booking this hotel in the future if I decided to return to Syros.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Right in the centre of Hermoupoli, in front of the dock with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is some noise from the harbour, but it is expected.

    Right in the centre of Hermoupoli, in front of the dock with nice view at the sea. Beautiful and modern room, fully equipped, with attention to details. Pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    The location close to the ferry, bus and local restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about Esperance and Syros.

    The location close to the ferry, bus and local restaurants was fabulous. Breakfast was really very good value, freshly squeezed orange juice, boiled egg, coffee - served by friendly owners. The staff always greeted us. Very clean rooms We rate very highly.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    I have stayed here a few times now and the hoteliers are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed here a few times now and the hoteliers are very nice, very comfy big beds, excellent shower and decor modern and tasteful. Bus stop just over the road for island touring, amazing value for money

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Comfortable bed, modern clean room, good bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing noted in our short stay

    Comfortable bed, modern clean room, good bathroom and shower. Convenient location. On main road near ferry terminal. Helpful friendly staff. would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    We were there for 3 nights in April and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the breakfast was huge, and consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, toast, jam, honey, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, and cake, it didn't seem that good to me. The coffee wasn't hot enough and the eggs didn't taste of anything. If I was away for longer than 3 days, I would go out for breakfast.

    We were there for 3 nights in April and the location was brilliant, minutes to the centre and Port. The room was clean and comfortable, with a very good shower. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was huge, with fresh orange juice and a slice of cake.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, pretty much great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, comfortable, pretty much great!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    Everything, and the proprietor is delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, and the proprietor is delightful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Location beside the port, centre and bus stop was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location beside the port, centre and bus stop was very good. We liked the sea view from the Hotel room and appreciated the good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

    Everything apart from breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    The room was very cute, comfortable and clean!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was very cute, comfortable and clean! The location is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no glass door in the shower, no fresh milk

    Friendly staff, location and service

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Good location, next to the harbour and the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, next to the harbour and the old town. The room and the breakfast were very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.3
    Its just across the pier where the ferry stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its just across the pier where the ferry stops. Easy to get to by foot from the pier. Breakfast was okay, nothing special. Bed was comfy.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: