Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Cyclades hotel reviews
  4. Oia hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Esperas

Reviews of Esperas This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oia, Oia, 84702, Greece

#33 of 42 hotels in Oia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    A little spot of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Studio with Sunset View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the charm of my cave house room, but when the doors were shut at night the air was a a little musty—not great for allergies. The bathroom fixtures too are suffering from salt air. Also, guests should anticipate the daily stairmaster hike to the car park or into Oia. It’s great exercise and fun to be up among the windmills, but wending your way home after a couple of glasses of wine at night might be dizzying!

    The staff at Esperas are unbelievably warm, helpful & generous! And the caldera views are off the charts. Every sunrise & sunset was a surprise. It’s also nice to be a little distant from the invasions of the cruise-ship crowds. My room was serenely beautiful—charmingly furnished with antiques and bright white linens. Complimentary breakfast on the terrace was a bit of heaven.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very bare and not as comfortable as a newer hotel. That is because it’s on the side of a cliff!

    Staff was super friendly and accommodative. They let us store our bags in another room and shower after a boat tour. We were already check out of our room but this was a nice plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Our stay at Esperas was absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our stay at Esperas was absolutely perfect! The location is quiet and serene compared to staying closer to the center; however, there are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The staff and the accomodations were beyond our expectations. The staff was very accomodating and provided us with great recommendations on places to see and eat! Esperas and the staff there were the best part of our trip in Greece! I would recommend this location to all others traveling to Santorini!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Will be wanting to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Esperas Suite with Sea View and Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in the sea view villa; single bed room had a very firm mattress, no AC and no Wi-Fi access. Also, plunge pool steps were very slippery and had a fall on the first day.

    Location. Staff (particularly wait/bar staff) were friendly and accommodating. Amenities; pool was lovely. Sunset views. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.0
    Lots of steps. If you have bad knees this place is not for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Desk manager, Too many stairs, A little far to Oia Too many drones flying aroind

    Great view, good bar staff, great room service breakfast overlooking scenic view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.8
    The view is amazing but the value for money for the room is very low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This review refers only to the 'studio with sea view' room which we had. The room was very small, the bed was very uncomfortable and positioned very high which added some difficulty to climb on the bed. We mentioned that the bed was very uncomfortable and the stuff helped us quickly and fixed the gap that was on the bed and as gesture of kindness brought some fruits to the room. The fix helped for a couple of days, however last night in the hotel was a very bad experience and the problem with the bed back again. The room wasn’t feel clean and the bathroom wasn’t comfortable either. Same goes for breakfast that wasn't fresh and didn't meet our expectation.

    The view of the hotel is breath taking. The hotel is on the cliff. And some of the rooms are curved into the rock. The staff are great! And the service is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent and obliging service. Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not great value for money.

    Restaurant -very expensive. Very small portion. Very unimaginative and not great quality. Ate in restaurant once then ate in town instead. Good service. Amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small sea view room. Vicky at front desk not helpful and rude at times. Better variety of breakfast would be nice. Expensive for the room.

    Great location and view. Nikol at the front desk was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Romantic hotel, breathtaking views, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price (high), I would have expected a bit higher level of service. For example, a welcome drink/cocktail, some "surprise" in the room, check-in by the manager during the stay, etc. Going the extra mile kind of stuff.

    Amazing - out of this world - view. Great location. Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cave Suite with Sea View and Outdoor Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmmm, that’s a tough one! Had a love/hate relationship with all the steep steps...BUT that is also what makes Esperas so special!

    Toss up between location and friendly staff! The location is perfectly situated for access to the small fishing port below, the busy shopping and restaurants above and for sunset viewing. Five of us comfortably stayed in a two bedroom cave suite which also had a jacuzzi and kitchen. Loved having breakfast delivered each morning by one of the staff who we really enjoyed getting to know. Kevin, Geoffrey, and Keisey were always there to serve us with a big smile and friendly conversation. At the desk, Vicky and Nicole were also helpful with suggestions and arrangements for dining and rental cars. So glad we arranged for hotel staff to transport us to and from the ferry port as they were prompt and were excellent drivers on the narrow winding drive! We enjoyed relaxing by the pool with refreshing beverages in the afternoon and tasty shared plates and wine while experiencing the beautiful sunsets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast delivered to your room is a wonderful bonus that made it so special and relaxed. They literally have the BEST sunset location of the entire island! So incredibly happy we stayed here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.9
    3/4 star quality with 5 star views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio with Sunset View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were beyond uncomfortable which made part of our stay very unenjoyable as not being able to sleep on a holiday is not ideal however the staff did assist trying to make it more comfortable and in the end replaced the old hard mattress which was a nice touch and was greatly appreciated. Overall its a 4 star hotel with 5 star views Lots of steps etc but hardly a surprise being in Oia and overall a very nice place to stay - we would definitely return

    This hotel has a very personal feel to it - it is more of a collection of apartments than a hotel however the views are exquisite! Sunset views from the terrace are worth every penny. Staff were nice - felt like a family run business as opposed to a proper hotel but very nice location close to Oia and Amoudi Bay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could provide extra bar of soap for the shower. Shower didn't have door or curtain so water got everywhere.

    The view was unbelievable. Also was great having breakfast delivered to the room each morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea, Sunset View and Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin bed was uncomfortable and I think missing some support in the bed frame as it sank in the middle with nothing underneath.

    The staff was great and the breakfast was wonderful!!! The sunset could not be better anywhere else on the island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    Loved, loved, loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was adorable. The full breakfast delivered on time to room was a treat. the location facing the sunset every night was stunning. The pool was wonderful. The pool bar served and meals great! So close to town but such a secret quiet location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    Best location and customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was amazing! The moment they greeted us they went above and beyond! Loved all of their recommendations and they were super attentive. We also loved the breakfast in our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Perfect spot for the famous OIA sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cave Suite with Sea View and Outdoor Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The meal in the restaurant was disappointing, Santorini is very windy in the evening and there was no barrier to this in the terraced restaurant and made the meal uncomfortable and the food was cold very quickly. The food served in the room was very good.

    Loved the breakfast delivered to the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel to watch the sunset in private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is perfect for sunset so you don't have to fight the crowds to watch the magical sunset. We couldn't watch the sunset from our terrace but enjoyed it none the less from the hotel bar. We did have a wonderful view overlooking the water though. It's away from the hustle and bustle of central Oia which we liked but very close enough to walk. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and assured in transport around the island and recommended tours, restaurants and places to visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Helped make the honeymoon unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints on this front.

    The attentiveness of the staff and friendliness by all was very accommodating. The breakfast included every morning was delightful. The view of the sunsets were priceless.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Outstanding!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is terrific! .... the views. A very special place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    The sunset view is fantastic, good location, and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sunset view is fantastic, good location, and nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.2
    Views were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Sea, Sunset View and Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be in good condition. Lots of steps

    Views were amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Outstanding, fun, accommodating and pleasurable. Loved it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    The staff was incredible! And the views were breathtaking! Highly recommend this hotel. We will be back! Gracias Esperas!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Perfect Santorini experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant was over priced and wine not good; lounges close together around pool

    Sunset vew is probably best in Oia

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway - wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    gorgeous site, good service, nice employees - would stay there again and will recommend to others

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous sunsets and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio with Sunset View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast order wasn't always complete.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard House with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    9.6
    Staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the distance to the parking lot to hotel it self can be a little tiresome and difficult to find especially if one is distracted by so many other things going on in your sorroundings

    Staff was wonderful. Provided assistance with anything you asked for and provided privacy when it was needed. This place is a quiet and relaxing accommodation that you will remember for a lifetime

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    9.6
    Just returned from a week away at Esperas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the bar / waiter service was good, I think the prices in the hotel's restaurant were quite high compared to other places we went to.

    Just returned from a week away at Esperas. What a fabulous hotel! Amazingly helpful and friendly staff, room cleaning twice a day, gorgeous pool area (though the water was a bit chilly mid May), and an absolutely stunning location. I loved that we could have (a good choice of) breakfast on our balcony, the beautiful view of the caldera and the crystal clear sea and the prime position for watching the santorini sunset - every day! As with most places in Oia, there are a good few steps to negotiate to get to and from the hotel and between the rooms, but it's manageable. The hotel is located about 5 minutes (uphill) walk from the start of the main stretch of Oia town for the restaurants and shops, but definitely worth the effort. Arranging trips with the hotel was easy, and the bus station is not far for arranging your own getting around. All in all this was a fabulous week of final baby-free luxury, and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2015

    8.3
    Staff were great and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't technically stay in Esperas. It was the tail end of the season and we were directed to the Fanari Villas. Which is above Esperas. Esperas was already closed for the season and it would have been great if we were inform of this or at least don't accept reservation for those periods if you don't plan to keep the resort open.

    Staff were great and very friendly.It's very private with a great view of the sunsets in Oia.

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast on private terrace, lovely staff, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast bit cold sometimes & service bit erratic (items forgotten!) BUT view overcompensated for this most definitely. Accommodation NOT suitable for those not fully fit as 150+ steps up or down! Luckily we managed it!

    Breakfast on private terrace, lovely staff, beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    9.6
    The staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Your get the most amazing views from the balconies of all the rooms, we had room 101, a standard room, large lovely balcony where we would sit every night watching the sunset before heading out.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    10
    The views - the rooms were amazing even the basic ones - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing - you could not fault this place !

    The views - the rooms were amazing even the basic ones - the standard of care from all the staff was amazing - the charm and character of the hotel

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    9.6
    The staff was friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in 113, was very busy with it being on the main steps and right below the kitchen. The tipping situation was a bit strange. We were told to give the tip to the front desk staff and they would put it in a file for that person, but when I asked a waiter about this he was quite confused and said he never heard of that. We tipped individually after that. Also, be aware of all the many many steps to and from and with in the property .

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. Easy check in and out. Provided transfer to and from the port for a fee.

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this hotel! An idyllic setting with prime sunset views and proximity to restaurants and shops while still being very peaceful

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful pool area, lovely sunset views, very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful pool area, lovely sunset views, very helpful and friendly staff who took extra care in helping us with restaurants and excursions. We enjoyed the breakfast also and would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    6.3
    The location of Esperas is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room smelled badly of mold, and the bathroom tile had signs of mold growing all over. The bed (which was actually in a cave-like alcove) was charming, but with a cement foundation and worn lumpy mattress it was nearly impossible to get comfortable.

    The location of Esperas is perfect. Perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean makes for amazing views from anywhere on the property. And the architecture is truly charming and unique.

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    10
    We stayed at Esperas for our honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Esperas for our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect!! We couldn't have asked for more.. wonderful staff, location, pool, bar and restaurant and of course the sunsets just magic!!! Can't wait to come back!!

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2015

    8.8
    The views are sublime and so being able to watch the sunset...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oia in general is marketed as an exclusive destination so expect premium prices everywhere. Housekeeping habit of just coming in to the room when you are in there. Hotel should provide a door notice. Bed was too bouncy, and pillows were very hard so we both suffered with bad sleep and sore back/ neck. The descriptions and images for the rooms are not very clear, so expectations on room size were inaccurate. We chose Standard House, whilst we had a great balcony terrace and room location, it wasn't very big and there was very little storage in the room for two people.

    The views are sublime and so being able to watch the sunset from your own private balcony was priceless. Great food and drink menu (although pricey), and polite and patient service staff at the pool area. Nothing is too much trouble to arrange for guests, and you feel well looked after. There is a dirt path shortcut to the path down to Ammoudi Bay, cutting the distance well in half - just as the climb back up starts to get too much.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    10
    Breathtaking view, and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breathtaking view, and very clean. Staff being a group of professionals that were very accommodating. They definitely went above and beyond my expectations. Beds were comfortable, pool was warm, and never crowded, or loud. Ate from their restaurant pretty much every meal because the food was awesome! Tried one restaurant in the town of Oia, and looked at a bunch of other menus and still came back to the Esperas to eat. Not to forget they will bring everything you want right to your private balcony.

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2015

    8.8
    Esperas itself was very nice, despite the many stairs to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Esperas itself was very nice, despite the many stairs to get to it. Each unit has access to the beautiful views of the caldera, with great terrace space, and even a shortcut access to Amoudi Bay! The room was spacious and clean, including the bathroom. The pool was also a huge plus - a good size and a good number of lounge chairs.

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    9.6
    Well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really BAD...but all those steps are a bit of a shock...specially if you're over 70. And i think Santorini is maxed out with the Cruise Ship tours...wall to wall lemmings.Awful. But,hey , it's Santorini! We went there didn't we?!

    Well...it was the full Santorini experience really. Filled the brief as it were. Loved our lunches and dinners on the terrace...exclusive sunset views! Best cocktails in town.Fabulous staff. All good, though mattress and pillows in 113 could do with rev-up!

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2015

    8.3
    The privacy and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The number of steps between the pool area and our room (87) was a bit much at times and the lack of shade late afternoon while watching the sunset

    The privacy and the view

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    9.2
    The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The crowds of Oia, we arrived at sunset which was beautiful however coaches (lots of them) with people everywhere! until we escaped into our hotel. We did feel the quality of breakfast was poor and the terrace, although spacious was in need of a little TLC, dead plants and old/tired sun lounger mattresses were a little surprising in relation to the cost.

    The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble from finding bus times to delivering breakfast to our room every morning, Katerina and Manos exceptional. The room was excellent and our hotel and terrace gave us peace and quiet from a very beautiful but crowded resort. Sunset from our terrace was unbelievable. Pyragos definitely worth visiting and a cool drink at Franco's.

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2015

    10
    The beauty of this property is self-evident and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beauty of this property is self-evident and it complements the island. The views are spectacular and the service is top level, we enjoyed every bit of this stay, from our beautiful room with balcony that we enjoyed a lot to the wonderful staff, from the included rich breakfast we ordered as room service to the food at the restaurant, not to mention the pool, the perfect location, the architecture of this accommodation done beautifully according to local tradition, the sense of luxurious and peaceful comfort, all in the spirit of the Greek hospitality we came to enjoy so much.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    7.9
    The pool area is nice to chill and cool off after all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's a little room for improvwment. Not enough towels by the pool. Perhaps a little overpriced for the standard of the rooms which are quite basic and the breakfast is just ok.

    The pool area is nice to chill and cool off after all the steps and winding paths of Oia. Also the terrace is a great place to watch the sunset.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was fabulously located and the view from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have preferred a buffet breakfast

    The hotel was fabulously located and the view from the hotel was stunning. The staff was also very helpful and we had a great experience

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    7.1
    Friendliness of the staff, warm welcome, beautiful view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed was a bit too small for two people. Not many shelves in the bathroom.

    Friendliness of the staff, warm welcome, beautiful view, decent breakfast, decently sized pool, large terrace in our room.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    10
    View and atmosphere of the place is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of steps, but that is because of location. Staying on the Caldera requires stairs because motels are built into the cliffs.

    View and atmosphere of the place is incredible.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    8.8
    Perfect location for seeing the sunset and views over Amoudi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This part of Oia gets totally mobbed with tourists who flock to see the sunset. Makes getting around difficult between 6pm and 8.30pm. Stay in the hotel to watch the sunset!

    Perfect location for seeing the sunset and views over Amoudi bay. Really helpful and attentive staff, nothing was ever too much trouble for them, making bookings arranging trips etc. Felt like a very authentic experience staying in the little houses built in to the hills.

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    9.6
    The location and the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem with ants crawling into the bed at 2am on the third night (NOT in the kitchen- where one might expect and understand). Unfortunately, several staff implied that it was our fault upon making them aware. We had NO food whatsoever in the room - the breakfast was served on the balcony outside - nowhere near the bed and we'd kept the windows closed, etc. They did move us for the night but they should have comp'd us the night? or a meal, some drinks, something.... for the restless night 2am on- and the inconvenience. For a 4 star establishment - that was a bit of a let down --as no one on staff apologized for a situation that could have easily been addressed without accusations.

    The location and the staff! Gorgeous property and staff- shout outs to Katerina, Kaylee, Ilias, Ben, Hercules/Atlas = baggage porter, the lady chef and our breakfast morning delivery man (can't pronounce or spell properly ). You all made our stay memorable for years to come. You set the highest standards of customer service!!! Will miss your smiles and kindness♡♡♡♡

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    9.6
    Incredible location, beautiful authentic houses carved into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredible location, beautiful authentic houses carved into the mountain face, staff that went out of their way to make our stay the best it possibly could be. The best place in Santorini to watch the sunset from the privacy of our balcony.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    7.1
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many sun loungers cramped around the pool, so only a few cms between beds. Generally guests spoke quietly and maintained the tranquil setting. Unfortunately a group of American girls seemed to think the whole hotel wanted to hear their conversation, and destroyed the serenity! Not sure what the hotel could have done to reduce the shouting and shrieking when they were in the hotel, but it changed the atmosphere somewhat. Considering the price was 3 times what we paid on other islands, it was surprising there was no complimentary water in the room as seemed standard elsewhere. Our room could have also done with a bin, rather than having to use the bin by the toilet.

    Location, location, location! Incredible view from the balcony. Generally peaceful and romantic setting (see below) Loved the cave like setting for the room. Breakfast was very good, although the fresh orange juice was tiny!

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    9.6
    The view, the staff, the location, the serenity, the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average at best considering the money paid. But this was the ONLY downside

    The view, the staff, the location, the serenity, the room.. All blew us away, it was amazing and the staff (especially Katerina) were superb! We would go again in a heart beat, if we could afford it. Worth the splash on cash though. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    9.2
    The location on the side of the hill was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The location on the side of the hill was spectacular. Lots of steps but we needed the exercise to walk off all the great food. Amazing views if the sunset each night from the balcony. Staff were amazing and always ready to help. Special thanks to Ben, Vicki and Jamie for their great service

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    8.3
    Brilliant location with the most amazing sunset views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were too soft. The mattresses cause back aches. Bathrooms could be better. Too tiny with no place to put any toiletries

    Brilliant location with the most amazing sunset views. Staff extremely helpful and smiling.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    9.2
    The sunset view was the best onthe Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food wasnt great. The lunch and dinner menu was over complicated, and breakfast wasn't to our taste - it felt a little cheap.

    The sunset view was the best onthe Island. The hotel also has a good size pool and bar - just what you need for a stay in Santorini

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2015

    9.2
    The view from our room and patio was simply amazing - with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is incredible; however, people with knee or ankle issues may have a tough time coming and going from the resort. It requires descending and ascending a significant number of narrow stairs. That being said - the view is worth it. (Also, the staff will handle your luggage so no worries there).

    The view from our room and patio was simply amazing - with the caldera and Thirassia directly in front, the old fort to our left, and the sunset to our right - it really was a dream come true. The staff at the Esperas were so incredible - they went out of their way to ensure our stay with them was perfect in every way. We loved it so much we even extended an extra day! Just for reference, when you go up to the old fort there are always a bunch of people looking down at the Esperas pool, traditional design, and patios saying "wish we had stayed there!"

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, impressive architecture and really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing we wouldn't rate excellent was the food. By no means bad, it still has a little bit of catching up to do if its to be of the same quality as everything else

    Excellent location, impressive architecture and really friendly and helpful staff has made our week stay there a week to remember.

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2015

    9.6
    We liked just about everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only bad experience was on leaving. We were all sad.

    We liked just about everything. The welcome from the staff (especially Katerina) was great, the info they shared fantastic. Dinner and breakfast were really good and I have no clue what the folks complaining about that were eating but it was almost impossible to eat everything and it was a la carte. The stairs were interesting but not too bad and they supplied human pack mules to do all the real carrying. The views were spectacular and sunset unbelievable. Worth the price

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2015

    9.2
    Lovely location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Horrendously late check-in time (2pm); much of the day is gone by then.

    Lovely location; very warm, hospitable and helpful staff. Charming rooms and gorgeous views, especially in the evenings and early morning.

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many steps...

    Great location. We love our lovely room...it's really comfortable and has private balcony for breakfast and sunset. We also enjoyed the nice pool and the facility.

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The safe boxes were not safe (pun intended)... The safe box in the room could be carried on shoulder by any 12 year old child.

    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel on a cliff made possible for some of the best sunset viewings! Truly a one of kind experience!

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2015

    7.5
    Great personal experience how to live in little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have to fight to get breakfast in our requested time. We had no welcoming feeling from the reception staff and we believe it is overrated and very average value for money.

    Great personal experience how to live in little uncomfortable Hobbits caves.

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    10
    We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and made the most of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and made the most of our two balconies, both with amazing views of the caldera. The suite has a private hot tub and from there you can sip champagne and watch the sunset…absolutely perfect. Katerina and Kaley where both very helpful at Reception. Ben, one of the bar staff, remembered us from the hotel we stayed at last year. Illios and Manous were very nice as well. Kudos also to the two young men who take your bags to and from the hotel as there are a lot of steps. We have already booked for a return visit next year.

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    7.9
    Staff was excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a non smoking room as I am very asthmatic - they put me in a room next to the staff lounge which is where all the staff went to smoke and the smoke filtered into my room . I asked to be moved which they accommodated and I was satisfied with the result. I would simply suggest that they have a separate area away from the guest rooms for smoking.

    Staff was excellent !!

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    7.9
    The place and the service was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was without curtain and after a shower the bathroom wet and uncomfortable. Also the shower itself needed to be fixed a bit as it was difficult to keep the shower on yourself.

    The place and the service was exceptional. The receptionist did always help us to organize everything even just a restaurant booking. The view is great and the lunch and dinner room service menue is from high quality.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2015

    9.6
    The room and the view were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A word to mature travelers - not for those with mobility issues. There is a daunting amount of stairs.

    The room and the view were superb. Service and staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2015

    8.3
    Location - spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was below average, no face washers, intermittent hot water, general lack of attention to small things - cost cutting by management rather than fault of staff (who were lovely)

    Location - spectacular views

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    10
    The service was first class from friendly efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Liked everything

    The service was first class from friendly efficient staff. Nothing was to much trouble

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2016

    3.3
    many many stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    many many stairs much moisture very closely

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2015

    9.6
    Best view ever !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best view ever !!!

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    the helpful staff, t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the helpful staff, t

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    9.2
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent. Great view of sunset and bay .

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: