Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Exarchion Hotel 3 stars

55 Themistokleous Str., Athens, 10683, Greece

#240 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1083 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for a Hotel in a quiet environment, this is not going to be it. Do yourself a favour and do your research on Exarchia beforehand.

    Located directly at Exarchia Square. If you you want to stay in this area, this hotel is a good option with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is in a convenient location within walking distance to Omonia. It is in the University precinct with many tourist and gave a good insight into the local culture. It had all the necessary facilities and was clean. Breakfast was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is also beside a park with strange people and a bit noisy early in the morning.

    Hotel itself is ok. Staff especially the housekeeping is good. Location is very near to tourist spots. Also near nice restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could be a litter noise during the night. The bathroom was exactly like the pictures, but the shower was uncomfortable, not enough space. The fridge did not cool well.

    Have an excellent location near a metro station, a few minutes walk. It is surrounded by a lot of pubs and restaurants. Was an excellent place to stay a couple of days, offer a basic breakfast. The personal is kind. They can offer tour around the city if you ask for. The room was good enough for one or two persons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the middle of the city's night life. So only decide to go there if you do not plan on sleeping too much.

    They cleaned the room and changed the sheets and bath towels. The ac was a God bless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the breakfast was a little bland, I didn't have much meat option as a Muslim.

    The entire ambiance was nice and cozy, the decorations and aesthetics are lovely and the location is just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody at reception when we arrived and no bell to call or message as to what to do. comical lift for such a big place. But look at the price it is great value for money. I think that first time in Athens with small children you might find the area a but intimidating with lots of graffiti and endless hanging around but actually it is harmless.

    It is in s really buzzing part of town, great for the National Museum, and walking to the Acropolis etc. Bars and food are open very late and I suspect you could drink and party all night if that was your thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very weak and not varied breakfast, it would be better if you just go down stairs and buy some sandwiches in nearby shops or drink coffee just around corner. Very dark bathroom with a small amount of light. The biggest flaw of this hotel is it's location. At first glance when you turn from Panepistimiou into Themistokleous street you will feel a great change in appearance and cleanliness of street. Panepistimiou is clean and modern with banks and big shops, when Themistokleous is dirty, full of graffiti with devastated buildings. The Exarchion Square looks very unsafe in the evenings because of lots of immigrants and homeless people. Second flaw is a roof top bar on the opposite side of street that is open until late hours. Unfortunately the loud speakers are facing guests rooms and most probably they sounds louder in rooms than actually on the roof top. It's so loud that you can forget about going to sleep early on Saturdays and Sundays. It was better on Monday though.

    The room was good, nothing extravagant. Best days of it passed few years ago. Looks it was renovated but in a typical neglectful "Greek" way. The room was clean, towels changed everyday. If you stay out of unsafe Exarchion Square you can find a lot of good cafes, bars and restaurants in the area. They are full of locals with good prices. From what I've heard, this neighbourhood is considered a hipster area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not provided hair conditioner or bottle water.

    Tsartarlos who is the front desk staff was very helpful and very friendly. The room was decent for the price. Breakfast was good and location was convenience 5 minutes walk to subway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It might not suit a light sleeper as the area around the hotel has lots of bars/cafes/restaurants that can get quite loud late into the night. Especially during the weekend.

    A very good option for someone travelling on a lighter budget in Athens. The hotel room was comfortable, clean and had some cute touches like toothbrushes, slippers, soap and bath caps! A tip would be to ask for a room on a higher floor to see some city views. It's about 10 mins walk from Omonia station providing easy access to the port or the Monastiraki/Thiseion/Acropolis areas. There's also a snack bar directly below the hotel which is open 24 hours for coffees, beer and snacks. Try the pizza!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    So the shower is very small and worse than that is that it has this curtains that stick to you and don't let you move confortably.. the rest was ok for the price..

    Although the location might look bad because of all grafity on the street it was also great because you feel that there is where people leave and not under the Acropolis. There are tons of nice bars teraces and good restaurants around. The weather was so good and so many people on the streets that we walked to the centrum everytime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old fashioned. Small toilet... but what you can expect when you pay 40 euro/night in an European capital!

    Convenient. Great value of money. Central location. Book it if you want just a nice rest and shower but you are not into hostels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There aren´t electrical outlets close to the bed so people can´t for example chill in bed while charging the cell phone. There aren´t in the bathroom either. If the room faces towards the square you won´t have it easy to sleep, even during week days. The others are fine

    Clean and nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can be sketchy at night but nothing serious Breakfast could offer some vegetables and wholemeal bread

    Great location, interesting part of town Good access to metro and city center areas Helpful and friendly staff Comfortable bed Nice view from room (6th floor)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    walls are paper thin...you can hear everyone coming in and out, in the halls,and in their rooms...i got my own room and heard someone snoring next to me. i got SCARED & TURNED ON the lights, no one else was in the room....it was the room adjacent to mine. hotel is not as nice as the pictures

    located near so many restaurants, bars, shops, metro

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location close to the center of the city, but near park with a lot of strange people. There was a lot of noise, till the morning. Breakfast was the same every day, but ok.

    Fair price for the comfort. The staff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, the toilet was tiny. My room was street facing, for the 3 nights I stayed there I slept for 1 the noise was unreal, the whole street was destroyed with graffiti and dirty.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is a little tired, small TV, breakfast could be much better, shower not great.

    Location - really happening area, easy access to cool bars, cafes, and restaurants. Bed was pretty good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok for a single person staying for a day or two but wouldnt bring my partner to it

    Overall hotel was adequate but the surrounding location was very noises during the early morning which wasnt great. Would not stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rioting twice in 8 days and goes on throughout the night with shots fired and stunt grenades and molotov cocktails thrown, dustbins burnt. The pub next door plays satanic music at 120 db till 4am every night.

    The convenience to Omonia Square and cheap rates

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area felt very unsafe and lots of people at night outside getting drunk and high and being loud. Good thing we were on the fifth floor.

    The room and breakfast were cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water heater for me to make instant coffee or tea in room. I had to go to ground floor to ask for water in corner hotel owned coffee shop. Don’t stay on 6th floor. Roof garden noise of dragged chair or something can be bothersome.

    Location is good. 500m walk from Omonia metro (once I found it). Clean room, adequate bathroom. 5th floor has nice view of Lycabettus hill

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old hotel so probably not easy to look/feel super clean It could be a little cheaper, given the fact that it is quite old

    Excellent view and location in the center of Athens, with a lot of bars around and stuff to do

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a bit of a surprise to Americans used to judging our personal safety in a location by the “appearance” of the neighborhood. This neighborhood (Exarchia) is scruffy, to put it mildly. Of course, much of Athens is now covered in graffiti, much imaginative, but all relentless. The second night we arrived, young men in masks went running through the neighborhood setting off loud fireworks and lighting fires in trash bins. There is some anarchist movement among the youth (many university students in that area) and the hotel proprietor told us that this was normal. It was interesting and amusing, but also unsettling. I NEVER felt that I was in any kind of danger, but I was always quite watchful of my surroundings, because I couldn’t gauge my security using the “usual” Western cues.

    The breakfast was generous and the breakfast room was lovely and spacious. There were balconies on virtually all the rooms, as is common in Athens. There were MANY good, inexpensive restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity. I had the best meal at one of these that I’ve had in a month of European travel. The room was effectively cleaned and straightened each night. The hotel was within walking distance of the Acropolis. It was beyond thrilling to walk down the street, up the hill, and experience one of the great sites of world history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood doesn't look too safe , but it is . Breakfast was continentall, not hot food at all.

    Staff was very helpful and cleanliness ....also Wu FI signal was gods!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to Amonia Sq (pardon the spelling) Shuttle saved any difficulty map rading with Greek alphabet. Reception spoke English and wre very welcoming and helpful. Organised a red bus ticket at hotel reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area has become somewhat seedy and loud. I've stayed at the hotel on several occasions and know how to navigate the hood.

    I like the location. The energy is good and I like the pubs. Also, great views from the upper floors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy out on the steeet, which you can't sleep with the window opened.

    The location is very convenient, not far away from center town and all the main interesting turístic places. The hotel is surrounded by good bars, nice restaurants and small supermarkets, as well farmacies and shops. Very modest facilities, but clean and well maintained. The price is not bad, but for it I have imagined something less old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a little scaring even during the day. The room was a bit old, but it's not a big problem.

    The bed was super comfortable, the WiFi was fast, and it was clean all the time. Basically there was everything I needed, from hairdryer to cosmetics. The staff was very kind. I didn't try the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy outside in the streets all night. Windows did not keep sound out. Hard matresses. Dirt on walls, showercurtain and curtains.

    Central lokation, had elevator and balcony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is good but not if you are looking for a calm place to be or your are in a business trip. The beds could be more confortable

    Very nice restaurants in the surroundings Staff in the hotel always available and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was awful.room was horrible.bed was rock hard.staff(mainly late shift man in his 50's) was so so rude and unhelpful. Location made us feel very unsafe.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning for your taxi ride! I had an awful experience: the driver had no clue where to go, I told him several times that he was headed in the wrong direction and that I was going to pay much more because the distance would be more than double. He did not start the counter and did only when I requested it. When we arrived he wanted E 35,00 even if the counter was showing E 19,70. When I asked his name and number he refused to do so and started acting enraged. Never got his name and number to file a report. I have only been in 3 continents and many times the taxi drivers act in the same way. If I can I never take them. Be aware of what they will do to anyone not local. And maybe take a baseball bat with you. With that they will unserstand you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is near to a roof bar (on the street side) and on Friday and Saturday they are a litte noisy.

    - location - near Omonia square and 20 minutes walk to the city center - clean - breakfast - coffee, croissants, bread, cheese, ham, yogurt, olives.... - helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC did not work, the fridge did not cool, noisy restaurant across the street on the roof top. For the price it is OK for one night.

    The room was small, very basic hotel, good for one night if you want to be near Omonia square. Front desk staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location Bathroom was terrible. Smelly, with holes in the floor and wall No sound isolation at all...you could hear everything happening in the hallway, and in the other rooms. Smelly AC The blanked was dirty and with cigarette holes I have tried to contact the staff via email before my arrival for two weeks. Sent around 10 email, did not get any answers at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Opposite the hotel there is a bar open until late night and it's a bit noisy but I knew about it from previous reviews so it wasn't too bad. - Elevator is very small.

    - Simple but clean room with comfortable beds. - Nice range of toiletries provided. - Mini fridge in room. - View of Lycabettus hill from the window and from the roof-top bar. - Simple but delicious breakfast. - Public transport and sightseeing bus stop within 10 min walk. - 24h reception (we arrived in the middle of the night).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is a little bit poor but in a good location for the attractions of athens. Also the room facilities were poor and old

    The location is perfect and the view of the lycavitus hill, but only if you are in a high floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities were not that great (Internet connection was slow and TV did not always worked properly and had only one English channel available).

    Close to the Omonia metro station from where you can easily go everywhere. Staff was friendly and the room was always clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok

    The hotel is located in a youth alternative neighbourhood, perfect to go out, especially at night. The room was clean. Good relation quality-price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing in general was dirty : fridge ,floor and bathroom . Location terrible didn't feel safe.

    Nothig good to say the place is dirty and in a bad location my score is 0 even the price considering the kind of hotel is high.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the wall sockets in the room was a bit loose.

    The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from Omonia, on Exarchion Square, and close to many local bookshops which are worth browsing, even if you don't speak or read Greek. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace with a great view of Lycabettos hill, especially at night. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. All in all, a nice hotel in a nice area and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were old and had a weird smell. They look gray not white. I requested nonsmoking ro and was placed in a room that smell terrible like cigarettes. Whej i asked the concierge he said it was the only one available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opposite the hotel there is a disco party every night on the roof. Extremely noisy. The party ends at about 5 am in the morning. The police will not work. The whole hotel will not sleep. HORRIBLY !!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremly helpful & friendly. Hotel location was great, only 7 mins walking to reach Omonia station, surrounded with a good selection of food pick ups.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is incredible and the staff is so very professional. I left behind a VERY valuable necklace (opal and diamond) and was distraught that it was gone forever. To my disbelief, when I called, they told me the cleaning lady and had found it and that they would be happy to mail it to America for me. Even though I offered to pay for the postage, they said it was not necessary. I cried for days thinking I lost this necklace and because the hotel doesn't look like it's five stars or luxury, they really do care about their guests and treat them with respect. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and am just so, so grateful that the staff here is honest and trustworthy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unhelpful and straight up ignored me, couldnt decide which room to put me in and kept giving me keys and taking them back. The hotel is also in a sketchy area where gangs hang out and there was a riot on the street below, felt very unsafe walking down the road even in daylight hours.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rundown neighborhood

    Frre parking next to the hotel. View of the Acropolis from the room. Only 20 easy minutes walk to Plaka and 5 minutes walking to the National Archeological museum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was terribly noisy. The other guests were partying in the corridors and were constantly slamming their doors shut. I barely got any sleep. Ear plugs were not enough. I would never consider staying at this hotel again.

    The hotel room was quite nice. It had a balcony facing the park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (and bath) was much smaller than I had expected. The photos were well done and the place looked really good in the photos.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel and room. Small room noisy (for better and worse...) Better skip breakfast...

    Great location for youngsters, lots of cheap alcohol... noisy (for better and worse...) Central... Old hotel and room. Better skip breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels need replacing asap all old dingy & discoloured -Look gross!

    Location although 15m out of the way of the centre is a location in itself very lively & fun area with many shops, cafes & some unique shops you won't find in the kendo/centre. It's 8min walk to Omonia metro area then another 10min fun walk straight to Monasteraki metro area or turn left & it's 10min fun walk (by the college & shops) to Syntagma area +metro. House-keeping lady on 2nd flr a real pro, friendly quick service with a smile

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed there for 2 night and we couldn't get any spleep because there were same gangs that were screaming, fighting, they even throw in the air with some tear gas...I don't know, but I it was a nightmare... I was sad because this amazing history that they had in the ancient time (and I'm a history teacher, imagine how sad I was) it is surrounded by such dirt ...

    It was near the Omonia Square, and they let us park the car in front of the hotel, I guess we were lucky, because they had only 3 places for parking. That's all we've liked! ... And the Acropole, Agora, the historical centre...of course...beside of that, Atena is a very, very dirty city, and the neighbourhood of our hotel it was a nightmare...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was close to some restaurants and bars, but didn't feel like a safe area to be up late in the area.

    Clean room, good wifi! Check in smooth and simple! Air conditioning was also great! 10 min walk to public transport!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extra pillows would have been nice and the roof top bar across the way is very good but can disturb if you are trying to go to bed early or a very light sleeper.

    Staff helpful, clean and great value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What i found more difficult is that, although the area is nice and super interesting, during the night there is a lot of noise, so if you have a room towards the street, it may be difficult for you to sleep. I didn't have any problem, but you can also consider that during the night you may find some "strange" people around the Exarchion Square, take it into consideration if walking alone mainly.

    The room had everything needed. The bed was comfortable enough and the room big enough with a small balcony, t.v., wifi, air conditioner working, the bathroom had everything needed and in good conditions. The area of Exarchion is a very interesting one, with many restaurants-bars (Rosalia one for example), art galleries, beautiful graffiti, and it is easy to arrive with public transportation (to Omonia) and walking for less than 15 minutes. The breakfast is good enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was not great. Not sure a single female traveller would feel too safe. The whole hotel needs a refurb the rooms are a bit worn.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People need to be warned of the area, though this is not the hotels fault. It is a well known area for anarchists to congregate and cause immense amounts of noise and chanting. I even witnessed a shooting right outside my window.

    Leaving

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel quoted me a price in euros but then charged my credit card in USD, thus incurring an additional 3.9 percent fee. I confirmed with Booking.com that this violates their policy but the hotel staff refused to amend the charge. Also, our room was facing the square which can be pretty noisy at night (I needed ear plugs to sleep). Some folks will be put off by the neighborhood as it has a lot of graffiti and a countercultural feel. (However, we recently stayed a month in this neighborhood and loved it.)

    nice central location, many cafes and restaurants within a five minute walk, excellent value for downtown Athens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are quite ageing and fairly basic but certainly did what we needed for the two nights

    good location for exploring Athens, near lots of lovely local restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff wasn't very smily and the breakfast wasn't great. Ah! And The shower space was quite limited!

    The hotel was very well located and the room was very nice and had a great view to the Lycabettus Hill.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's always something happening in the neighbourhood. If you want peace & quiet, this is not your place. It's for people who like a lively & vibrant vibe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Though i read the reviews about night life near the hotel. There were a lot of people drinking, shouting, loud music until 4am.

    Breakfast buffet was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very poor, not maintaned, old fashioned, cheap deco and furniture... I would not give 3 stars...any star to this hotel. There was a disco next to us, way too much laoud till morning. The area was dangerous, the taxi driver tód me to be back in hotel not later than 7 because rhan is not safe to be on the street...

    Aircondition was working very well. They were kind to print my boarding pass. Receptionis didnt care a lot about the things..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streets around seem dirty and are fully of graffiti.

    The breakfast was simple, but did the job. It is close to city centre. Everything is within walking distance (other than airport and ferry ports). Stairs and lift in building. Roof-top terrace with some good views of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of footpath from the metro station to the hotel and dirty surrounding streets (problem in Athens in general). Downside of being in a hip, funky location - there appeared to be an open air heavy metal rock concert in the nearby square happening in many of the nights we were staying. Ear plugs were helpful... Not sure if this occurs every week, or just happening that week.

    Great location. Plenty of excellent restaurants to eat. We did not eat at the hotel. Older building - but clean, large room. Great value for money in the middle of Athens. Helpful, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is a bit rough for kids to walk around in. Many of the sights were quite a walk from the hotel.

    The staff at the hotel we're wonderful - helpful, friendly and authentic. They gave great advice and anticipated our needs. Rooms were just right for a family of 4. Very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old, shabby, sad hotel. I stayed there before the Crisis and it was much better. Now? Grubby staff, price-quality ratio a joke. Good cleaning service, cleaning ladies are doing a great job, considering limited resources they're working with. Old tired, but clean sheets, beds, horrid pillows. I requested a room with a balcony and the receptionist gave me one without, despite having plenty of vacant ones with balcony. I don't do attitude in hospitality. I will never stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not cleaned every day. Other than that everything else met my expectations

    Comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff. Haven't tried the breakfast as I prefer buying fresh pastries and coffee from nearby cafeterias/pastries

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i had to change my room from 6th florr to 5th floor because the window was near to a big tree full of utifullmoustiques

    very good location you can enjoy discovering the down town of athene juste walking a round clean rooms and very helpfull satff good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows were the worst pillows I've ever slept on.

    Good interesting location - not for everyone however. Good value for money Clean Excellent view from balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing... But breakfast could have been more varied, more richer.

    Exarchion hotel is my home in Athens, always. Location, bird's eye view of all the streets, management, staff, cleanliness, hospitality... All is perfect for me.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me, nothing - but the area can be a bit noisy, so if that bothers you ...

    Lively area, with excellent but not expensive bars, restaurants, not too tourists. Simple but very pleasant and friendly hotel, with nice small bar - excellent value for money. I've stayed here now on about half a dozen occasions - love coming back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked a bit special room for the occcasion , but recieved normal one, could see bigger rooms and only one person in and we were traveling with child. Also on check in reception staff weren't the nicest one. After traveling with small child we just wanted to lie down. When we asked if the cot is in the room the answer was I don't know I just started my shift. So when we went up surprise suprise no cot bed, so I needed to walk downtown to request another one.

    Staff on the breakfast room and the accommodation were absolutely amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to believe that this hotel has 3 stars. There were old pillows, cockroaches and rusty pipes in the bathroom. I Can't recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: