Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Filoxenia & Spa 3 stars

Ethnikis Antistasis 10, Kalavrita, 250 01, Greece

#8 of 12 hotels in Kalavrita

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 482 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are so nice that we really appreciated our stay on the hotel ! Only 10 meters in front of the sea ... wonderful ! Thanks a lot and see you soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very hot room, so hot that we couldn't sleep without open window, asked at the reception to solve the problem or do something about it, we had no reply ..poor breakfast, old hotel, just the things you see in the pictures are really renovated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only real complaint comes from my husband. He did not sleep well either night we were there, as he said the mattress was too soft on his side, and he could not get comfortable. (I did not have this problem and slept fine.) Also, the room was overheated when we first arrived, so we had to turn on the air conditioner to cool it down! (And yes, it was winter and cold outside.) Otherwise, everything was great.

    Room was lovely, and staff was friendly and very helpful. Loved the free half hour in the Jacuzzi! Breakfast was nice, but not outstanding. The view from our room was also nice, but not spectacular. Seeing the snow-capped mountains in the background was a real plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    Excellent hotel. Perfect location, friendly staff. Very nice modern trendy room. Nice relaxing spa. Top breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    English communication of the staff should be improved, they were not able to provide instructions about how to arrive at the hotel from Athens without a car or how to go to the ski center. The parking lot should be paved, had puddles of mud.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, even with difficulties for the communication. Good breakfast, rooms are clean and comfortable. Very small city, the hotel is located near the train station (tourist train to the gorge) and beside the walking streets, with restaurants and stores for tourists. It is better rent a car to arrive on this city and to go around to the ski center and tourist places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In polite staff, no curtains to protect from light during sleep, uncomfortable bed, poor breakfast

    Nice location, at the center of kalavrita. Hot water, balcony

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all great.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful when we arrived and through out our stay. The room was modern and airy and warm which was important at this time of year and the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast was good and kept us going all day with a selection of cereals, breads, hot and cold meats and eggs and delicious cakes and pastries. It was convenient for the railway station and the town square with restaurants and the museum. We also really enjoyed the spa and treated ourselves to a massage and facial and Georgia who provided the treatments was excellent. Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay at the Filoxenia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Attractive hotel in pretty mountings town, parking for our bicycles. Attractively renovated rooms and use of spa facilities. Good local restaurant recommended, very good and not expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic

    Really lovely hotel, and amazing for the price. Location was great, very close to historical sites and restaurants/shops. Staff friendly, and the mini spa was a plus. Also, comfiest best ever!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Clean,friendly staff,good breakfast. Complimentary jacuzzi very relaxing. Great place to stay for a couple of nights to ride the railway ad visit holocaust museum and memorial.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a suite that we had the bath room was quite small and the bath shower was low, not suitable for tall people.

    The Back and neck massage we all received !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very convenient Hotel in the centre of town which is also walkable from the Railway station. It is also not far from the bus stop to Patras but the Hotel kindly provided a free transfer to the bus station from where we purchased bus tickets to Patras. The bus journey to Patras which we took the following day on the advice of the hotel, is as wonderful as the spectacular journey on the rack and pinion railway from Diakofto-Kalavryta. Breakfast was good and rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and most spoke very good English. A coffee maker and fresh coffee grounds were in each room: fantastic. We needed to use a taxi to visit the local highlights because we had no car. The recommended taxi driver, also a part-time receptionist at the hotel, negotiated a good fare and was flexible about destinations as well as generous with the time we wanted to spend at each destination.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts a bit late if you want to eat first, then pack and be the first on the ski slopes. It should start 30 minutes earlier. Too hot in the room and it was difficult to set it down and then there was some noise in the heaters during the night.

    Nice and very clean room. Complimentary coffee in the room. Decent quality of bed. Decent breakfast. One complimentary use of SPA. Even though we didn't use it. That is a nice feature.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in the bathroom needs rethinking as it was broken and two small and I'm not overweight.

    Really comfortable beds, the spa facility and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very poor breakfast - the bed was extremely uncomfortable, specifically the pillows. - the room cleaning turnover wasn't good.

    - the staff are friendly, attentive and very helpful. - the spa is nice and clean. and they take appointments so its never too crowded. - rooms are renovated-in great shape. - location is great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location near main square and railway, private or easy public parking. Modern furnishings, comfortable bed, good heating/AC unit, strong wifi. Refrigerator and kettle. Excellent breakfast and good off season price. Another review is quite true that there is an off-putting grumpy older man at the desk but there was also a young woman who was very helpful and even came to the room to show me how to use the heating unit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service - reception staff were not helpful; spa bath did not work and "hot" water was only lukewarm; had to ask for air conditioner remote at reception (after searching under bed and lounge in room); breakfast very ordinary.

    Well presented hotel in good location, but.....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very central hotel just across from the main square and rail station. The hotel is old but kept well and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly unventilated bathroom tiny balcony no chairs

    Close to town nice views good spa good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water taking 12 minutes to come out of the taps. When you take out the bath plug water floods the floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on our second evening due to a schoolchildren on a coach trip staying at the hotel

    Spa was excellent and breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could do with a facelift

    Use of the spa and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration was nice also that it was close to the centre, and also really enjoyed the spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    Great location. Super shower. Clean +++

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the proximity to all the sites we were there to see. All were within walking distance,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Ease of access to restaurants etc Good breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The place is clean and well taken care of. The breakfast is fantastic. Will be staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing compared to other hotels in which we've stayed in Greece.

    Very comfortable and friendly hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was very helpful. Pool was nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was a good hotel.

    Great location and clean room with lovely balcony . Beautiful, unspoilt area .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Delicious Greek yogurt for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very much enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Availability of appointments for the spa. One could not use the spas on an impulse.

    Excellent breakfast, cosy hotel, central location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't even think of one bad thing

    Awesome place!!! The staff is great, beautiful and clean rooms, good spa, good breakfast and feels like home 😃

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too expensive compared to other hotels in the area

    comfortable suite room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location. Clean facilities.The spa and the message. Staff with a smile.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Room, Spa, Service, People

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and especially bathroom needs urgently renovation

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast, right in the center of the village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location! Refurbished rooms, very clean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one plug socket in the whole room

    Great central location Nice size room Powerful shower 70s decor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not 100% effective.

    Helpful staff. Very nice breakfast. Clean establishment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in centre of town close to railway station. Super friendly reception staff. Quiet room and comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ok place in town center

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cozy atmosphere, simple brilliant rooms, heated everywhere (winter), very close to everything, yet peacefully quiet at night... The Spa was excellent and provided true relaxation -after snowboarding. This hotel hosted a conference during my stay, so professionals should know this hotel has capable meeting facilities.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed needs renovation. However we did not face any problem with the cleanliness or comfort of the room and the bathroom.

    Excellent location & easy parking. Very nice, gentle and helpful staff! We also did enjoy the jacuzzi facility and the spa area in general! Breakfast was very good - maybe better than a typical 3 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its an amazing hotel Every thing here was 10 Right in the centre of town Close to eating places Asumptous breakfast and to add all that a spa too A real thank you to constantinos and his father in the front desk Lena in the spa room ,thank you

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What they call "Hamam" is not Hamam!

    The hotel is excellent!! What I liked the most is the: Breakfast - big variety, very good quality Temperature - constantly very warm Free Spa - so relaxing...

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a rather annoying noise that soundelike a generator that we could hear in the room.

    Everything you need - frindly staff, nice room and the spa a bonus

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff Especially women staff were really rude. I understand they might be on their period but hello you are working there and you are getting paid for it..!!

    Good breakfast. Perfect location. The spa makes it a whole better place.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of us found the two different pillow sizes too big and too flat.

    Balcony on the backside of the hotel with lots of privacy. Sunshine from noon till sundown. Nice view on the mountains. Perfect, central location. Floor heated room. Spacious room. Big, clean bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be a bit better, but its ok.

    Having the option for a parking space was really good.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There should be some service while breakfast is made.

    The spa

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    very kind people, nice breakfast, in the center of the village, a lot of facilities (sauna, hammam,hydromassage).

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The amazing spa and delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything.

    Good location in an attractive town

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nope!

    Everything was perfect, nice hotel close to the rack railway station, spacy room and SPA facility too.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Couple

    No jack supply only one jack in hole room

    Clean rooms great breakfast for a 3 star hotel really in the heart of kalavryta

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor breakfast. old hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal location in centre of Kalavrita with roadside parking outside door. Comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast. Everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No more that 2 or 3 minutes walk from all town facilities. Lovely power shower in bathroom!!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice hotel in the middle of town!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not enough plug sockets in the room

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small details, such as only 1 plug of power, small tv with a bit of noise, old furniture

    Very Clean, nice staff, in the center of Kalavryta

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: