Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Finikia Memories Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Oia, 84702, Greece

#28 of 34 hotels in Oia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great experience! We recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, very good location just outside Oia, possibility to walk there to admire the sunset We had a very nice room and the hotel is very flexible in terms of check-in and check-out times, suitcases etc ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi could do with a clean, otherwise pool area is nice. Perhaps some little extras would be nice ie water, tea and coffee.

    Hotel was very picturesque, perfect if you want to be close to Oia but outside of touristys area. Breakfast was nice, restaurant area very beautiful. The bed was super comfy, bathroom was clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful, sorted transport for us and gave us tips on where to go. The hotel was also very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel that's Close to Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is for a Standard Double Room, can't speak for other rooms. Not the end of the world, but WiFi was cutting in and out all the time. Did not come there to use the internet though (just an FYI if that is important to you). Only other thing to note was that our shower was very small. Maybe a 3'x3' square, not a bathtub style, and you have to hold the shower head (it did not have a wall mount), so that was a bit of a challenge. Again, not the end of the world, but just a heads up. Compared to the photos of the other types of rooms, I think the Standard Double Room we stayed in will probably be remodeled eventually, as it does not look like those rooms pictured (or at least the bathroom will be).

    Ladies at front desk were VERY nice (not always easy dealing with the public, but they did a great job). Pool was nice to hang out at. We got drinks at the bar and brought them down. Bartender had several local beer suggestions. We enjoyed the morning breakfast options (new items every morning). The nights we had dinner there were very good. Nightly specials, and the menu is big enough that you will not order the same thing twice. The restaurant staff was AWESOME. Big thumbs up to them. Our room was clean. Our bed was comfortable. AC worked fine. Bus stop to the capital Fira (all buses stop in Fira, and you change buses there for your next destination) is just a very short walk up the road (FYI - stand on the other side of the road from the bus station, and the bus will stop to take you to Oia if you don't want to walk the 20 minutes). You can walk to Oia from this hotel though. We suggest going EARLY to beat the crowds & the heat (depending what time of year you're visiting). Once the tour buses and boats show up it gets crowded. But go check it out for sure. It was beautiful. Thank you for a pleasant stay, we enjoyed Santorini! Non hotel tip: Cabs are expensive! Take the bus if possible. It was only 1.5 Euros. Taxi sometimes cost 40 Euros!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    This was a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good choice but lacked some luxuries you expect at the price point. Notably the shower was not functional.

    This was a good hotel. We liked the location. The look of the hotel was very cutesy but nothing exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Far but close from Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and unhelpful. In the end we didn't even get a "thank you for your stay" or "enjoy the rest of your trip" (that gives an indication of their rudeness overall). There were some very noisy kids in the pool when we were there, so if you're looking for something more quiet and reserved, not the ideal choice. The breakfast is very simple, I wish it had more options. The hotel location is ok, it is walking distance from Oia, but it's a 25min walk, with a hill in the way back.

    The room was good and clean. The pool is good and well positioned regarding the sun. The restaurant they have is also good and lively at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't very fast or reliable but this wasn't a big issue. Another small issue was that the shower head didn't have a holder so it needed to be held by hand. But like I say these were only small grips.

    The location of the hotel was good, a short 10 minute walk into Oia so it was away from the hustle and bustle. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. They arrange various activities for us throughout the week.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Architecture of the hotel in traditional Santorini's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast - they don't refill fruits/pastry so if you go later the choice is minimal, lady in charge of breakfast area not being polite at all and quite unfriendly, almost rude Wifi not working most of time Bathroom quite outdated with very little light, very old and uncomfortable shower - you need to hold it in you hand Information at the reception not helpful at all, e.g. they just try to sell you trips/services organised by their peers instead of advising you on possibilities that might work best for you

    Architecture of the hotel in traditional Santorini's style Nice spot to watch sunset

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    You definitely get what you pay for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like having to walk across the street to get rid of garbage because according to staff they didn’t have any garbage cans in the hotel pool area.. rooms are extremely outdated with hard beds..

    This hotel is situated in a very relax and quiet area. The views are beautiful, definitely a couples ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Petfect relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location and sea view every morning time when you take breakfast. Close to Oia and the Oia-Thira walking trail. Very peaceful place and clean room with all facilities you need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great time in Finikia Memories Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, maybe only the sound from the aircondition close to the pool. It’s a little bit anoying

    Very good location, the staff was very kind and clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Grounds and building were well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Poor choice at breakfast - bathroom was tired - needed retiling, sink falling off wall, shower curtain in tight space which stuck to you whilst showering - the receptionist on the first day was helpful but otherwise the staff were quite grumpy - very hard bed - noisy air conditioning - walk up a hill back from Oia

    Grounds and building were well kept. Great spot for breakfast on the roof terrace. Nice pool. Bedroom was basic but clean and freshly painted

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a great hotel with helpful staff. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 14 sun beds around the pool and the “clever” or “selfish” people would put their towel and hat on a chair at the start of the day often leaving it for hours. Maybe staff could monitor this practice. It would be nice if there was as a table and some chairs in this section. There was a section on the uppper deck that had space for a few more sun beds as well.

    Great location just on the edge of Oia so away from busy hype. Joanna at reception was very helpfully speaking fluent English and of course Greek. She assisted with tours and transfers. Restaurant was beautifully located. We had one evening meal at restaurant which was very nice food and ambience. Great sunset sky ! Breakfast at restaurant every morning was a nice way to start the day. Staff were very nice and there was ample choice available. Rooms cleaned daily. Very close distance to bus stop . It is only 1.8 euro to get bus one way anywhere around the Island and they run regularly till 11.00pm at night. It is in fact only about a 15 minute walk to Oia but not easy as no pathway so you walk on the narrow road with all the cars and motorbikes. Not for the faint hearted - bus is better option. Not an issue but be aware it is a hand held shower and there is a kettle and generous sized fridge so you can have tea or coffee - small shop close by that sells almost everything including water that is needed to brush teeth etc..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everyone wanting to stay in Oia should stay at Finikia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was the best place to stay in Santorini! It was close enough to walk into town, but far enough away to be able to enjoy the quiet. The staff was beyond helpful with everything we needed and the restaurant was amazing. It ended up being our favorite food from all the places we tried in Greece and had amazing sunset views. Could not recommend this place enough! Loved every part of our stay with this hotel, especially the safety and comfort the staff made us feel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place, excellent, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough sunbeds around the pool and people towels on the beds to 'reserve' them. There was only Wi-Fi in public areas, not in the rooms.

    Beautiful room, excellent staff and a good location. The breakfast was great and the bar/restaurant area was good. The bed was fantastic !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great family memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi wasn’t great and not available in the rooms.

    The hotel was in a great location - only a 20 minute walk from the centre of Oia. Our room was immaculately clean and all of the staff were warm and welcoming. We enjoyed spending our days lounging by the pool and enjoyed watching the sunset from the rooftop restaurant. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the bus stop nearby made it easy to travel into Fira.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Incredible, highly recommend and I will stay again next time I’m on the island :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had More time there. But the there was no availability.

    The staff were so great and helpful in everything. Gave me maps and explained everything so well. The food was amazing too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Short break in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cutlery or plates in room although has kettle, cups, glasses, sink and fridge No facilities to cater for anyone with a late checkout so couldn’t get a shower etc.

    Nice enough to be away from Oia but able to walk in and also close to a couple of local bus stops. Nice pool and large room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken tap in bathroom Side View to fields (not all rooms are overlooking the sea :-( ) Steep hill to climb from the pool on a rocky road

    Breakfast (the best among 4 locationswe have used), pool, athmosphere. Close location to Oia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at Finikia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked WiFi in room and a television. Other than than it had everthing we needed.

    Excellent stay at Finikia Memories. Hotel was very clean and the pool was lovely. Rooms very spacious. Staff members were lovely and very helpful. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection is not good in the room

    Everything is perfect, especially the sunset view. Food is also super delicious. The room is beautiful and clean. Love it!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from Oia’s main bus station Might be around 10 mins walk or more to reach Oia

    Clean room, spacious The staffs were helpful and very friendly The hotel is near the Finikia bus stop, but is not in a walking distance to Oia in my opinion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good stay, but not exactly in Oia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    > A little far away from Oia - 15-20m walk to the start of Oia Town. > No public transport around. Need to walk to Oia.

    > Beautiful property with a pool and public jacuzzi. > Had lovely views > Serves basic breakfast. > Big rooms. > Cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Room and grounds and pool area are new and clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was non existant in the room and there was no TV in the room.

    Room and grounds and pool area are new and clean and well kept. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location,just 15 min by walk from beautiful Oia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location,just 15 min by walk from beautiful Oia! Hotel has such an calming atmosphere, perfect for relaxation . Breakfast was amazing and they would serve it even if you would be late for it. What we really loved was beautiful ( restaurant) terrace with an splendid view and friendly staff always ready to help!We'll be coming back definitely! Lora and Lina

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful team makes the stay a little bit special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    The team at Finikia Memories are outstanding - nothing is too much trouble. You are made welcome from the moment you arrive to the time that you depart. This sets the property apart.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very cozy, it doesn't feel as much as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walking between this hotel and Oia falls into the far side for me, and there is really not much to see very close, so better be fit if yo plan to go to Oia and back walking

    The hotel is very cozy, it doesn't feel as much as a hotel as bein in a villa. The staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Cozy stay near Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is too dark and needs better lighting. The shower could be better, they are handheld shower. The Wi-Fi is terrible, you can barely use it outside of your room and it is impossible to use it inside.

    The double room was a 2 floor room with mini fridge, sink and table, more than enough space for two people. The bed was very comfy, with excellente pillows and comfort. The outside area to the room is excellent to sunbathe and just chill with a view to the aegen sea. The staff is friendly and at the check in they gave us nice tips about the area. The breakfast was ok, nothing special in particular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Very nice pool to relax, the building and room looked very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You needed to walk 20 minutes to arrive to Oia. Half of that time was walking in a road next to a lot of traffic, not so good when walking back at night after dinner. Our last night we ended up hearing cucarachas when going to the toilet in the middle of the night. We killed 3 that night. Wifi was barely working and not even our own data in the room.

    Very nice pool to relax, the building and room looked very nice in white. We had an apartment with direct exit to the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    I will not recommend this hotel to a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, the location of the hotel was far from the pedestrian walkway. It was about 15-20 minutes and with the roads being so narrow it often felt dangerous. The hotel should provide a shuttle to its guests. The room was very humid, giving the room a weird odor. There was also no phone in the rooms and the WiFi was terrible outside of the reception area.

    The check-in was fast and the receptionist Lídia was very nice. We requested to be pickup at the Airport (30 euros) and the taxi driver was waiting for us when we landed. I appreciated this since I was traveling with my two daughters.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Lovely memories in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was picture perfect!

    My first time in Santorini and staying in Finikia was an excellent choice. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved getting up each morning to a wonderful breakfast by the lady who was always nice to the customers. I was able to rent a car and moto thru the hotel - made it very easy to explore the island. The sunset at the hotel was one of the most beautiful experience I ever had. The hotel name makes all the sense to me now. I highly recommend this hotel for those who enjoy peace and quietness while being close to Oia and other villages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent choice, we enjoyed very much the "Memories".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was excellently designed, thanks to the architect ! Shapes, volumes, colours seemed perfect. The large swimming-pool (and the jacusy) provide excellent bath; The road, unfortunately, runs by the side of the hotel ; and we had a problem of delay to hire the taxi to the airport, at our departure.

    The room w

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.3
    Really nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, it says in the description Oia, but it isn’t. Its a 10 minute bus ride away and not at all walkable. The rooms had flies and insects. When reported the issue to the staff, which is only available 8 to 8, all they said was, its humid and its ok for insects to be there. Though they upgraded us to a “suite”, but the problem prevailed along with a non working AC! The owner’s dog drink out of the swimming pool you are suppose to take a bath in and you can easily spot dead insects in the area where you are suppose to have your breakfast! They promised to arrange for a drop to airport at 7.15 in the morning(paid), and no one showed up. No one there at the reception, we had to take a cab that charged us double the promised fare. Not at all recommended. Worst stay ever. Ruined my holiday at Santorini.

    Really nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room, especially suitable for couples and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast service is slow. Even if you are in a hurry, they won't speed up for you.

    Very nice room with lots of space and nice deco. The staff can help to book local tour and transportation if you need. The bathroom space is strange but it's ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We rented the Suite with Sea View, and we were completely disappointed. Apparently, there's 3 suites but all quite different from each other, and we got one that did not look nor feel like a suite. What bothered us more though was the way the hotel receptionist reacted to us asking about this issue. She sounded patronizing, and borderline rude. FYI, even though the suite comes with a sea view, the sea is quite far (definitely not what it looks like in the photos). As for their restaurant, the food is decent, but definitely not great. The second night we had dinner there, my chicken souvlaki was undercooked, almost raw. Instead of cooking a new serving, they removed that same chicken from the stick (what was left of it after I cut into it), and cooked it a little bit better and actually charged us for it. I'm sad to say we will never go back to this hotel, nor would we ever recommend it to anyone.

    The breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely property, very nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi in the rooms. And no drinking water is provided in the rooms. U have to buy your own bottles. The breakfast is very simple served on your table (it is not buffet) and u might have to even pay for an extra cup of tea!

    Lovely property, very nice view. The checkin was smooth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant was excellent , the room was spacious and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent , the room was spacious and we walked right out to the pool. We had been to Santorini 2 years before and we faced the Caldera it was a beautiful view of Ios this time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay. Clean place, friendly staff. Need wheels to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Control of local Air Conditioning unit is remotely disabled and re-enabled. Noticed that the local air conditioning unit would not turn cooling on, only fan and heat. Reported the issue but property representative said that we had to wait until the maintenance guy came in around 6 pm. The unit magically started working again around 7 pm. Observed that overnight the cooling is remotely turned off and only the fan runs. Control of Cooling is given back around 5 am.

    Peaceful location, friendly staff, onsite restaurant and pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We all had an excellent experience at the Finikia Memories Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The views were great both from the poolside and the restaurant terrace and the food was varied and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok but not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a dog that barka at every guests. The toilets are not so clean and leaks water on the floor. Breakfast is poor and they charge you even for water or eggs. WiFi is very poor and even in public places also it's not catching. Can't talk loud as it gets very quiet at night and next door r already sleeping so early.

    Comfortable nice cozy hotel location was great. The house keeping lady was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    2.5
    Don’t spoil your Santorini Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t spoil your Santorini Experience!!!! No wifi in the rooms only in the public area ..what is the use of free wifi then ? No room service.. even if asked for water they tell go to the restaurant bar all the way There is no hot water supply..and when asked a question about it we are being told to call the municipality Only continental breakfast no vegetarian options..wen asked to toast a bread they tell they don’t have a toaster and wen complained to the receptionist about it she tells get lost or Els she will call the police Vegetarians please don’t go !! The receptionist is super rude do you tell any guest to get out wen asked for assistance , this is a serious complain for the hotel I don’t think any guest is suppose to be mistreated The rooms are not as per the photos They don’t provide the rooms which we are booked for ..the booking photo’s are different and the rooms are entirely different . Worst experience !!! Don’t book !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress quite hard No bottled water or tea or coffee facilities provided in room or offered on arrival. Difficult as we were not advised tap water unsuitable for drinking and nearest supply was a 10-15 minute walk

    Buildings and room authentic Greek style, swimming pool and surroundings well kept Dining and casual eating areas beautifully presented External deck and seating areas have good views Dining staff attentive Very clean Distance from Oia good as away from crowds Bus stop outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Great restaurant and nice experience to live in the cave...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't show warm welcome to the customers, they were only "doing their job"...in this price, we simply expected more from the hotel...this place is more like a B&B. If you arrive in a early flight, might want to consider to stay other places.. their reception won't open till 8:30 am, which means you will have to wait outside till they open

    Great restaurant and nice experience to live in the cave house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Great and peaceful stay, awesome sunset view by the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were not rude, but there is a lot space for improvement on politeness and being heartwellming with guests. I undestand the hotel wants to provide a slow and good breakfast experience, but the breakfast starts to be served really late at 8:30. We booked a boat tour recommended by the hotel (awesome, by the way), and we only had time to eat half a toast, drink a sip of coffee, peel the egg and leave everything there because we were picked up at exactly 8:40 as the hotel informed us we would. Maybe for guests with a boat tour start breakfast at 8:00? Maybe to all guests at 8:00? Most hotels we stayed in the world start their breakfast at 6:30, 7:00, 7:30 Anyhow, room for improvement here as well. The internet is horrible and barely available only at the common areas, but to be fair, apparently this is the case to all Santorini. Basically, pull the plug and come here only for the sunset, volcano hike and beaches ... forget internet :-).

    We stayed here on our honeymoon and we loved the apartment. A two floor room that could fit confortably four people. The apartment is marvelous, comfortable, clean and has good decoration. The pool is great and a quiet place to see the amazing Santorini's sunset while having some greek beer or wine :-D . Moreover, you'll be just a quick bus away from Oia's town, one of the best places to see the sunset in Santorini ( but not as quiet as the by the pool in the hotel :-D ). Try saying two days to watch both.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    good way to get a taste of the Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit of a walk into town, may have been a bus service but we were only there 1 night so didn't bother to find out

    very nice rooms overlooking the pool , nice pool all very clean, we ate at the hotel for dinner the food was excellent and very nice terrace to watch the sunset

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    2.5
    Dont stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told us that pick up us from port for free but when we arrive there they ask to pay 30 € So it was not good attitude. Hote is not exactly in oia Breakfast was dissappointed Wifi was not working properly Employers was very rude and also they lie to us about pick up service Towels were dirty Tabs were broken

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.5
    pretty hotel serving as a good base for exploring Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor thing but we had to catch an early morning ferry so missed breakfast (which we paid for) and there was no option of a reduced breakfast or a refund.

    Lovely breakfast on the deck with good views of the sea Gorgeous rooms and bathrooms Good location for exploring Oia (about 10-15 minutes walk so you are away from the crowds at Oia) Nice swimming pool Joanna at reception was very helpful: she arranged a taxi for us, gave us good advice on local eateries and the local bus system.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Finikia Memories made our time in Santorini very special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if the wifi worked in our room, but it wasn't that big of a deal. It worked well upstairs and, in reality, we weren't staying there for the wifi! It was nice to be unplugged.

    We had the ocean view suite. The view was incredible and we absolutely loved the room. It was higher than our normal travel budget, but we decided to splurge on a nicer room for a couple of our days in Santorini. We were happy with everything about the hotel. The breakfasts were so big we couldn't eat everything. The room was beautiful and we loved the all-white style of Finikia Memories. The location was great. It's along the main road a short walk or bus ride from Oia. It was nice to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the main town. We also loved that we could watch the sunset from our balcony. The pool was great too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    2.9
    The nightmare hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was horrible the worst experience ever

    I didn't like any thing The worst hotel ever they don't even provide u with water and when u order water they tell you go to the resturant near the hotel and buy water "we don't have room service"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice view, no other reason to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant are rude and unaccommodating (even told us we couldnt sit on the terrace for breakfast because they had set up the tables with no view), room had a smell from the drain/damp. Breakfast is ok, but they offer zero choice - you get a set menu which doesnt even include fruit, yogurt or cereal. They dont have irons in the room and have a limited amount so we couldnt get one. They are NOT in Oia, its a 20 minute walk on the main road or a 10 euro taxi.

    Overall nice hotel with nice facilities and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent for a couple of nights, not more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Very meagre and the service unjustifiable slow, they took 30 min to get us a cup of coffee.

    The swimming pool what just right and the room was spacious and the aircon, pure bliss. The location just outside Oia, a bit of a walk, but worthy of not being bang in town, I suspect would be noisy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful pool area and picturesque indoor / outdoor seated restaurant. Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No detergent in kitchen or complimentary water in the fridge.

    Finikia Memories was a lovely accomodation with a beautful pool and restuarant that provided a lovely breakfast with picturesque outdoor seating. Clean and pool maintained with towels and shade. Close to shops and restuarants. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Finikia Memories to friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Incredible stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was incredible. The sunset here was better than going into Oia with the crowds. We had an incredible stay and will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful, not too far from the main town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not available in the room only in public areas

    Staff were very helpful, not too far from the main town, restaurant was great, pool was great and room was good for the price we paid

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    Look for better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly receptionist and lady serving breakfast. They bring you breakfast to the table without asking if you eat sweets or if you like such kind of food. If you try something to change, become immediately very unfriendly. You have a lot of stairs there, but they do not want to help you with the luggage. At the end I have asked for taxi, instead of this they send me a privat person who first decided to drive to opposit direction to pick up someone else without asking if it is OK. So I lost a lot of time. The price war very high and they didn't give me a bill.

    You can walk to Oia in 10 min.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely accommodation with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was hand held which was hard for washing hair, etc!

    Very comfortable beds and pool area was nice. Close to bus stop and walking distance to Oia. Breakfast was good with beautiful views. Restaurant staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.5
    Good hotel, fine location but should be better service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo of our room was not exactly the same with the room we actually stayed in (I guess every hotel does that). I think the reality is about 60-70% of the photo. They don't have pictures of the bathroom so expect the bathroom is much less nice. What I would expect they improve is the service. First of all I'd say they didn't not do anything wrong. But I would expect a little bit more flexibility instead of strictly following the rules. We booked the hotel for two nights so we were supposed to have two breakfasts. But we would have to leave early (just right after midnight of second night) to catch our flight. So we would not have the second breakfast. We arrived early the first day before the check-in time so we asked if we could have breakfast that day instead. They said it was not possible because the chef had to know ahead of time to prepare and all kind of stuffs. But the breakfast turned out just fruit, bread, cheese, tea, coffee and that kind of things. I think these are not hard to "make." There was also a brief period of time (about 30') that a water outage occurred too.

    The restaurant would be my favorite thing about this hotel. The hotel exterior appearance is very nice looking and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    2.5
    A Let Down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left some of my clothes behind and told the lady at the reception exactly where it was -- in the wardrobe. She told me if the housekeeping department finds it, she'll let me know. I called theee times and I got the same response. The lady never called me back. Three things could have happened: 1) The lady at the reception either couldn't be bothered or wasn't being entirely honest 2) The housekeeping department threw/kept my clothes 3) The room was never cleaned after we left None of these eventualities puts this hotel in good light. Not good memories at this hotel, for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Look at the sunset is very good, lunch restaurant taste good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter attitude is poor, and breakfast every day to eat the same food, and bread can only one, only the jam, no ham, the next day the third day even the eggs are not it! And there are flies inside the juice!

    Look at the sunset is very good, lunch restaurant taste good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner and I had originally booked this place to stay for 4 nights, however the booking was cancelled without me getting a proper notification. We had booked to stay else where, however I managed to score at least 1 night at Finikia Memories Hotel - our last night. Every other night was completely booked so finding this one night meant a lot to us to end our trip the way we thought we would, even though it cost us quite a lot for 1 night. On arrival we were welcomed kindly. We were taken to a small room, located on the side of the hotel with no view and bed against the wall... The wifi wasnt working in the room, we had to go outside to try use it, but still it wasnt loading content for us on our devices which made our work hard to complete. We didn't want to think too much of it but enjoy ourselves by the pool. There was limited deck chairs, which made it difficult for all guests to enjoy a seat in the shade. My partner and I only wanted to eat something small with an iced coffee while watching the awesome sunset from their restaurant terrace. After ordering, the waitress had told us that we couldn't sit where we were if we were going to order what we did, which was a greek salad and coffee. She said this was their restaurant and to order what we wanted off THEIR menu we still had to sit in the courtyard with no view. Even though there was plenty of seats in the restaurant left for other guests, even though we were only going to be 30min or so, and that we were PAYING guests for an expensive price and that it was our last night of our european adventure, the waiter didn't reason with us or serve any respect. We had spoken to the hotel manager at the time after and just replied to say she cant do anything as thats their own management. This was disgusting and appalling. From many years of experience in this industry, customers come first.

    We enjoyed the view of the sunset at the restaurant, until we got kicked out in front of the other guests as we didn't 'order enough food' to be considered to sit in that area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Finikia unhappy Memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So very disappointed with this hotel. This was a return to a place with fond memories, after some ten years. They say never go backwards, well that was my mistake ... I did. I have travelled all over the world & Greece is one of my most favourite countries, the Greek welcome is always the same, a warm smile & a commitment to ensure a guest’s comfort. FINIKIA’s Memories Hotel is the only Greek hotel that has ever disappointed, starting with a luke warm welcome & many further shortcomings. The pool offered no support services ie. No bar. No showers. No toilets ... & as the pool was located at the lowest section of a facility built on a hillside, many guests had to make the hike up numerous steps to order a drink from the restaurant (at the top) or visit their own loo in their room. Each room had a small patio or balcony, those with patios each had a couple of chairs, a table & parasol plus 2 wooden sun loungers. All this sounds fine, but the wooden sun loungers get very hot & guests are not provided with a mattress style cover, onto which one usually lays a towel. There are some mattresses on the sun loungers down by the pool ... but we were told they were not to be moved. Attempting to put up the parasol (by pulling a rope) would be easy for a Russian shot putter, not so for the average guest. A call to reception would result in a visit from probably the hotel industry’s most miserable pool man, a permanent scowl & not a word or even a nod of the head, what a treat! Our room featured a fridge, a sink but without any cutlery, a kettle & 3 tiny cups. This was the first hotel room we had stayed in without a television & without a radio or any audio entertainment facility whatsoever ... oh, they provided 3 books. We found the staff generally business- like, occasionally surly ... not friendly. The breakfast provided was just poor. No sign of the now expected breakfast buffet, each morning was a “no choice” menu.

    Hotel Restaurant & the head waiter & waitress

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not accessible from the room, breakfast was disappointing, hot tub closed at sunset.

    Great location; nice walk in to Oia. Bus stop across the road to get to the airport or Fira. Room was spacious and beautiful. Restaurant was well priced for the area and had sunset views!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with nice view close to Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only starts at 8:30, so if you have to leave early that's an issue.

    Very clean rooms and great view, especially in the evening and for the sunset. A bit further out of Oia, hence a lot quieter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit hit and miss and pressure in shower a bit low but didn't affect the stay.

    Really friendly staff. Very clean and well maintained facilities. Excellent value for money. Would return again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit slow but understandable given the age and solid build of the place.

    Lovely modest hotel to stay at , friendly, helpful staff , great pool. Wonderful view from restaurant, beautiful food, great breakfasts. 15 minute walk into Oia along the cliff tops. Very nice place to stay for a few days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Good experience. Could have been better much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. In the booking.com listing, the location of the hotel is marked in Oia which is clearly misleading. Only after arriving at the property did I realize that the hotel is in Finikia which is 1+ km away from the Oia village. Even though they did mention the exact location (Finikia village) in the property description section of Booking.com, the marked location is misleading. Had I known this beforehand, I would not have booked. 2. No WIFI connectivity in the room. Only available in common places. They assume guests will not spend much time in the room! Again they do mention this in the facilities section of the listing. But for people like me who do not generally go into details, it's a surprise. 3. Complementary breakfast was not a buffet. It was limited and did not include even water. The breakfast was tasty, though.

    Staff was helpful but seemed a bit snooty. They did proactively suggested some nice places to visit, ,though. The property is every bit as beautiful as the pictures suggest. The room was very clean and the view from the room was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to hold the shower head while showering The bed was made from sponge and very uncomfortable No tea and coffee, but you get a kettle and two cups? After showering the floor outside the shower is very slippery and wet leaving a slip hazard Room is not very well ventelated I asked for tea at the restaurant that was provided and she refused to serve me because she was too busy to make a tea, "no time for tea" were her exact words. From the port to the hotel was a 30 Euors each way with no free transfer Spa was very dirty with bugs and some type of oil through it Breakfast wasn't really breakfast , limited supply I don't know what more to say but it need some improvements You couldn't get wifi inside you hotel, yet so little outside as well As for the location it is a good one not far from the main city however paying 300 euros for two nights you would exspect more .

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. But not much choice as it is a traditional cave house.

    Frontdesk is awesome, they helped us booked wine tours and hired cars at no extra costs or mark up. Nice location but suggest to hire a car so its just a short drive to Oia, its away from the crowd yet not too far from Oia. And the trail to Fira is about 10mins away. Please also do have lunch/sunset dinner at their restaurant it is far better than a lot of the restaurants in Oia especially their grilled squid. Place is lovely and charming with nice views. We absolutely loved their breakfast even though its a simple spread but it is thoughtfully prepared.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Amazing staff and really amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not soundproof so you don't have must privacy. I love animals but the big dog should sleep somewhere else than next to the rooms he kept barking all night. The worst thing was the wi-fi. There is no reception in the rooms. I would still recommend the hotel it's amazing!

    Amazing staff and really amazing breakfast. The morning waiter was really nice! The pool and jacuzzi great as well! The location is perfect and the view is good as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was lovely , just would have liked if they changed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed not being changed at least once in the middle of the week.

    The hotel was lovely , just would have liked if they changed the bed sheets more for staying a week.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.0
    Price, balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very helpful. They boasted great breakfast but we're very stingy with the offerings and weren't very friendly. Wifi only in common areas and still wasn't good. Quite a far walk from the town. The pool and jacuzzis seemed dirty, no coffee or tea in room, shower was too low, felt like mildew. First room was like a dark hole we had to ask to change. Driver to and from Airport and ferry was insane- my boyfriend from salvaodr (where they drive crazy) was even upset about it. Bottom line- don't stay here, stay in Oia, worth the extra $$

    Price, balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staffs, great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub next to the swimming pool is cool. The breakfast is too basic.

    The bedding was so comfy and staffs are very nice , nice was good, 15mins walk to oia, bus stop 1mins away, 30mins to Fira. 30mins Taxi to airport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent. All we had hoped. Would recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee available in room. Unable to take drink or coffee from restaurant to room. Hand shower. Would have been easy to have a hook to hang up showerhead

    Close to bus stop. Breakfast included. Restaurant on site. Flowers and pool. Privacy of own patio. Could book everything with front receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Paradise ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's not on the caldera side .

    Close enough to Oia to walk there on a daily basis. The trail is across the road from the hotel. A bus stop in front of the hotel, Breakfast was delicious, especially the variety and that greek yogurt!!! The restaurant had a fantastic menu, friendly staff and reasonable prices. Rooms were spacious and they had a fridge and kettle for extra comfort.The staff was so friendly and helpful!!! They allowed us to check out at 9pm, as we had a midnight flight...at no additional cost. There is a mini market close by and when you wake up there is blissful silence ....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Location is about a 10 min walk from Oia so its very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been improved was the wifi quality. It worked perfectly on the terrace and in the public areas however didn't work at all in the room, apart from that everything was great!

    Location is about a 10 min walk from Oia so its very quiet. The staff were quite helpful assisting with booking boat tours and explaining the public transport in the area as well as things to do on the island. Breakfast was good and varied slightly each day, there is a restaurant on site which does lovely well priced meals with very generous portions. The hotel and facilities are really clean and you can tell they take good care of the property. Nice pool area though it was too cold for swimming when we visited!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The walk into the main centre was 20 mins, during the day this was fine - but a bit tricky in the dark at night.

    We had a pool side room which was fantastic, the staff and food was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: