Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Folia Apartments

Close to Main Street, Agia Marina Nea Kydonias, 73135, Greece

#13 of 63 hotels in Agia Marina Nea Kydonias

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Looking forward to a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing could be improved in my opinion.

    Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and they all seemed happy in their work. It was exceptionally clean in all areas. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of food available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    This place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault at all

    This place was amazing. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The bathroom was basic but importantly the shower was powerful. The pool area is well maintained and not too busy. The pool bar was well stocked with draft beer on tap. Cocktails also very nice. They have a restaurant which offered a wide array of Greek specialities for lunch and very reasonably priced. Staff were welcoming and shout out to Barbara in particular who was a lovely host! Lots of local restaurants and bars within 5 minute walk too. Agia Marina beach on your doorstep too. If you fancy going into Chania walk 2 minutes down the road to the bus stop. €3.60 for a return ticket and takes 20 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the climb up the hill, however the view was worth it.

    Staff, cleanliness, overall the property was extremely well run. Must add the Folia salad and beef burger for lunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay, just what we wanted, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fantastic room with an amazing view, so much space and a great en suite bathroom. It's also really nice to have your own fridge in the hot weather. Air conditioning was also great, always worked straight away with the remote and kept the room cool whenever we needed it. Lovely pool and bar on the hotel site, we didnt have food there so can't really comment on that, all the staff were really friendly, helpful and available at all times. The location is only a couple minutes walk from the main street and beach so its nice and quiet but still close, I would recommend Folia apartments to anyone, thanks again for a really enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Folia was a fantastic place, recommend it without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The place was immaculate. The 2 brothers that own the place were delightful, friendly and great fun, as were all the rest of the staff. We had some really fun nights around the bar and many laughs. A very happy and well run place with excellent facilities, well laid out rooms, great location, good food. Rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard, by happy cleaning staff. Nothing was too much trouble. When we said our goodbyes it was like we had become part of the family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for a relaxing stay with friendly staff and great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a little cramped, the shower was more of a wet room style and very close to the toilet, but not a big deal as everything dries quickly when it's warm.

    Super friendly and accommodating staff and owners. Lovely, quiet atmosphere for a relaxing holiday. Always someone around to help or just to say hello. The rooms are clean and spacious with a balcony. Lovely views over the country side and towards the sea. Breakfast was good and drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. 10 minute walk down the hill to the main street and the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    The best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The accomodation was simple but lovely and spotless. Really comfy beds and really good air con !! All very important :-) The family were so welcoming - perfect really

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    A lovely place with great staff to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area was very small, almost claustrophobic. Also, prospective guests should take into account that the hotel is on a hill so the 400-600m walk from the Main Street to the hotel is all uphill at a 45 degree angle. So people with bad knees or ankles (like me!) should be prepared for that.

    The staff were great, the bed was large and very comfortable, the restaurant and the bar were nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, but the area is a bit too touristy for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The area is very touristy, built wildly and for the sole purpose of pleasing the masses of tourists in the area. Definitely not a charming village. We found ourselves always going to the south of the island (Sougia, Paleochora, Loutro) to find quiet beaches and more authentic villages.

    Clean and nice rooms, comfortable bed. The staff is very friendly, the pool is nice, great food at the restaurant. Would come back anytime.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous family run hotel with comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    This is a fabulous family hotel run by brothers Nico & Yani who are great hosts. Met lots of lovely people . Really comfortable beds,had a really good nights sleep throughout the whole holiday. 10 mins from a fantastic sandy beach and all the Tavernas you could wish for. Numerous buses to the old historic town of Chania for £3.60 euros for two. regular buses back. Lots of people returning year after year which we will do again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Guality Appartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent two weeks here and can't recommend it highly enough. It's family owned and managed by two brothers assisted by a very friendly and competent staff. The place is immaculate, with the very highest level of maintenance. Chosing these apartments will not disappoint. You're guaranteed the highest standards, combined with the friendliest of a family business.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Anyway our stay was lovely and if back in Crete we would definitely stay at Folia again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have a little leak in the bathroom coming from the sink. We didn't mention the problem as it wasn't really bothering us and we were hoping that the housekeeping would report it but that didn't happened which was a bit disappointing.

    My boyfriend and I stayed at Folia for 8 nights and we really enjoyed it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel is great to explore the island. Breakfast is served by the pool and the buffet offers a variety of breads, eggs, cereal, juices and coffees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    The location was very convenient and centrally located for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only inconvenience was there not being any dish soap to wash dishes after use.

    The location was very convenient and centrally located for the places we visited. The stove top was also a huge plus! The staff was extremely helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel away from hustle and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is located about 200 yards from the beach and beach road with shops and restaurants but it is a steepish climb to the hotel and not for someone with mobility problems

    Bed and pillows comfortable,our room was on 1st floor and had a nice view of the sea with chania in the background,the hosts Janis and nicos are brothers and are very helpful and friendly,the restaurant offers a limited menu however the food is cooked fresh and tasty,the hotel staff are friendly,the room is cleaned and bed made daily,take some washing liquid if self catering!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower temperature fluctuated widely while showering. The bed was pretty hard.

    The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. The view was beautiful and it was only a short walk down to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    We stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon. We were offered at our check-in an upgrade for a sea room view with a very nice round balcony (room B2), very romantic, private and perfect for us. The staff is very nice, everything we asked for was provided with a smile, they let us print our boarding pass for free, and everyday they asked us how our day was. We had dinner 3 times at the restaurant, and the food was really nice, traditional greek cuisine. We have chosen this hotel because it was rated here in tripadvisor as the 1st in Agia Marina area, and it's well deserved. For what we have seen, it seems the more authentic hotel in the area. It was perfect for our honeymoon, we hope to come back!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Spartan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you are a Spartan, this is your paradise. We, on the other hand we could not get accustomed to the cimented furniture (beds, sitting corner) and the grotto-like-plastered ceiling and walls, which can hurt you while you're sleeping. Even the kitchencupboard and a chest for clothes are set in plastered stone walls. We do not understand why this place is a N°1 in the reviews because we found everything on the lower level of the modern standard concerning breakfast (everything is cold and the food is common, coffee is too thin, there is a dangerously hot bread toaster), there is no elevator, the bathrooms are old fashioned with too basic toilet and shower and sink. The swimming pool is too small. The restaurant is all right at night but close by there are places that offer much more quality.

    This hotel looks wonderful and attractive at the outside. The staff is 1 family and they do their utmost best to offer you a nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight uphill walk back to hotel from main road. But I'm quite lazy :P

    Staff were incredible. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Especially being a solo traveller.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Cleanliness second to none, first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Cleanliness second to none, first class. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely visit again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    great place to stay in agia marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great apartments; cleaned daily and very comfortable, really friendly staff, great pool area. Short walk to main street and beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay - great owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely family run hotel about ten minutes bus ride from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel about ten minutes bus ride from Chania.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Very nice property in excellent location, staff extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice property in excellent location, staff extremely nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    A great beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steep uphill to get there. Warn guests beforehand or offer to collect from bus-stop

    Amazing pool and pool restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    Management (family run) and staff very friendly, very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management (family run) and staff very friendly, very clean in all areas, lovely food, 5 minute walk to the beach, easy bus ride to Chania etc. What else can you ask for!!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great stay. Everything was fine. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was very clean. Rooms cleaned daily. Tasty restaurant with good prices. I will recommend to all Folia Hotel. I Hope to be back :)

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    We loved the breakfasts and dinners/drinks by the pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only regret was that there were no screens on the windows so that we could possibly sleep with the windows open. We are not used to sleeping with windows closed and air conditioning on, and it was a shame to not be able to listen to the ocean at night time, due to the mosquitoes in the evening/night.

    We loved the breakfasts and dinners/drinks by the pool and the welcoming feeling when we came back at the end of the day; the staff was very helpful when we were trying to organize where to go and what to do.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff! Yanis and Nikos are very-very hospitable! Room is spacious and comortable! Restaurant is absolutely beautiful with perfect traditional food!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Gorgeous apartment loved the two balconys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they didn't have room for extra nights !!! Not a negative ! Sea next to it a huge advantage , fantastic is our overall rating 10/10 .

    Gorgeous apartment loved the two balconys. Sat TV , wi fi , kitchen all great

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    For us everything here was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us everything here was perfect. Really nice and friendly people running this hotel. Just a few minutes walk from the beach. You really feel like in Greece at this hotel. Breakfast was tasty and do eat evening meals at the restaurant at the hotel, excellent dishes. We will definately come back.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Yiannis & Nikos were wonderful hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Yiannis & Nikos were wonderful hosts! The room was very clean. We asked for a sea view room & were given one. Nice balcony for having a glass of wine or hanging wet clothes. Only a 5 minute walk to a good beach.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Simple and clean rooms, great view on the sea from upper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road up-hill to get to the hotel may be a problem for some people, altough wasn't for us

    Simple and clean rooms, great view on the sea from upper floor rooms, variety of foods to choose from for breakfast, located in a very quiet place because of the distance from the main road

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Staff, cleanliness and location were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, cleanliness and location were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.1
    Cute view of an olive grove
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable beds

    Cute view of an olive grove

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Property is a little aside, but the Signs are good visible and easy to find.

    Nice large rooms. Good Breakfast. Helpfull Staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Bad Wi-Fi reception and connectivity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad Wi-Fi reception and connectivity.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    the cleaness of the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the cleaness of the bedroom

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff were amazing and catered for ceoliacs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were amazing and catered for ceoliacs. Great location to walk to beach but not in the crowded tourist hub of agia marina. Pool was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was not cleaned

    Friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic view and continuous breeze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic view and continuous breeze. Great start to my vacation in Greece.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: