Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fortezza Hotel 3 stars

16 Melissinou Str., Rethymno Town, 74100, Greece

#20 of 50 hotels in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position in the old town, convenient for the sights. Quiet at night with the windows closed, despite overlooking a road. Would probably be even quieter in a room overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in very central location, walking distance from lots of places interest. I was visiting town for a conference so had to take the taxi to the campus a couple of times and the hotel staff were very helpful each time. The room was very spacious and clean. Didn’t try the pool but there were swimmers who seemed to enjoy it though it looked quite small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wife was little slow and there were some interruptions. Other than this everything was good.

    Staff was amazing and very helpful. There was guy in Bar, I don’t remember his name exactly but something like Babisa, he is a cool and good guy and very helpful. Lady at reception is really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but doesn't blow your mind.

    Great staff and great location. My grandma couldn't walk much but the beatiful streets of old town were just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was awful - even with different Wifis to connect to, it was very sporadic and it meant doing work/ streaming anything was really hard to do.

    The accommodation was in the perfect location - nice and quiet even though it was in the middle of the town. The rooms were basic but had everything they needed and the pool area was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor quality breakfast selection with many items running out. Not enough seating in the breakfast room. Tables seat four, but most people staying as couples! Our standard room, 219, was tiny, no balcony and crowded with unnecessary furniture.

    Superb location in the centre of the old town, very near to the sights, restaurants and shops. Parking adjacent for 10 Euros per 24 hours, which was easy to drive to. Lovely pool, plenty of public areas for relaxing and friendly poolside service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is poor, processed food, squash rather than fresh juice, limited selection. Whilst hotel is clean and tidy it's dated with lots of wasted space, could be amazing if had some money spent on it. Wifi is awful, extremely slow when it connected, not what you expect in this day and age. The strangest shower I've ever used. The shower door was at the opposite end of the bath to the shower head which meant you had to take the shower head off the fitting otherwise you'd flood the bathroom.

    Great location, some lovely restaurants very close nearby. Hotel was quiet, clean, friendly staff. Nice pool but limited space around it. Easy parking over the road. Restaurant recommendations include - Castelo, Alana, Lemonokipos and To Pigadi. Lovely staff in all, couldn't do enough to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porter service and tiny lift. No room service. Unable to get extended check out time. Breakfast generally good but no variation so became a bit monotonous after a week. The pool was great but really could have stayed open later considering the heat and late sunset.

    Great location could walk to many tavernas and shops. Prompt taxi service at your doorstep. Very clean hotel. Lovely pool .Good breakfast spread mostly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed and a room with a balcony however on arrival a rude unhelpful receptionist refused to move us to a better room. She told me that we were not entitled to a superior rom!! We did not know it was going to cost€20 to park near the hotel. One main part of my holiday experience is to sit in a balcony at night enjoying a drink but we were made to feel that we were second class and not entitled to a room with a balcony. Also the rates through booking.com were no cheaper that the daily rate which means I would be reluctant to use this site again. I felt like I had been conned.

    The breakfast was pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hearing a couple complaining about expecting a full English breakfast and high end coffee!! Get a grip!

    Great location in old town. Comfortable room and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast could be alot better

    beds ,rooms and bathing/ showering facilities very good, although shower curtain to bath would help having a very wet floor making it slippery barman very knowledgable about area and places to go, thank you babis

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the fotos on site show the property as it is, they suggest a feeling of elegance and romantic atmosphere, which we couldn't find for real. The hotel equipment is a bit worn, and although at first sight, everything seemed to be clean, after some time you find spots, which aren't (like inside the closet). Also the breakfast offers quite a variety of things to eat, but when trying, a lot of them seem to be taken at a cheap discount.

    Excellent location. Nice personal. The swimming pool is nice, but with high temperatures during the day, everything in the court heats up and it becomes suffocating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are rock hard with large pillows. This does seem to be a theme in Greece though so not exclusive to this hotel.

    Location was perfect. This hotel had a lovely pool which was great during the especially hot weather at the time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location, right by all the restaurants and site seeing. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious too! Would definitely recommend staying at the Fortezza Hotel :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Had to change nights stayed at short notice but hotel very obliging and made no extra charge. The pool area was lovely - good sized pool and beautiful plants and trees around it made it a lovely place to sit. The room had no view but very quiet and clean - breakfast good too. Hotel is on the edge of the old town and minutes from the harbour so in an excellent position. I would go back there as it is good value: can especially recommend the lovely area and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location excellent, with easy access to the Forteza, old port and all the other attraction of Rethmynon within a few minutes walk. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and the swimming pool is a godsend in the summer heat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge in our room didn't work and there was no safety deposit box - we were informed we would have to pay additional money to use one in reception - which we hadn't been informed of prior.

    Beds were comfortable, the swimming pool was calm and clean. The staff were friendly and multi lingual. Breakfast included vegetarian options. The hotel is located in the heart of the old town, near the contemporary art gallery, opposite a super market with loads of great restaurants within close walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No shaving point in the bathroom. A little further from the bus stop than we would have wished, and even further from the beach.

    Delightful swimming pool, spacious balcony, excellent breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room windows opened onto the the street which was (a) about six inches away and (b) used as a motorcycle test track. The noise was absolutely appalling. We will recommend that people never stay at this hotel.

    The room was nice. Nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ist ok for 3 stars, exzept the cereals. They are standing there in open bowls, so they are getting very hard and it is not clean. Some pots for the tea will be nice.

    Nice Hotel with 53 Roms. The Rooms at poolside are quiet except the normal oldtown-noise and the pool-cleaning staff in the morning . Very clean and modern bathroom. Very friendly staff at reception and bar. Clean Pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would ask for balcony overlooking pool another time, bit noisy on roadside.

    Friendly reception staff, good breakfast, comfy room. Very clean public areas, well decorated and laid out, good pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was adequate for a 3 star hotel, the breakfast was basic and not very inspiring.

    The rooms were spacious. The bar and pool area were nicely decorated and kept very clean. The location is excellent , but we had been to Rethymo before so knew that it was on top of the old town, which was what we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at hotel. Parking close by 8-9 euro per day.

    Nice swimming pool. Great location in old town. Great breakfast included. Beautiful, clean room. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not help us with our luggage. Air conditioning shut off when you left the room so it took a long time to cool the room once we returned. Our second bedroom did not have an air conditioner so it was extremely hot in that room.

    Beautiful spacious and modern room with two balconies overlooking the pool. Breakfast was very basic but good. Hotel was located a short walk away from shops and restaurants and there was a 24 hour paid parking lot across the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information on directions for driving and parking would be helpful.

    My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel. The breakfast was great, the staff were so friendly and helpful and we stayed in a lovely big bedroom. It's in the perfect location - right in the centre of the beautiful old town of Rethymno and in close proximity to all the restaurants and tavernas, and is only a 15 minute walk to the beach. I would recommend anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday with culture, great food and lovely beaches to stay in this fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff was excellent, the pool area was very nice and it is located right at the heart of Rethimno. Breakfast was nice. There are lots of things to do around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally misleading description of the provided services, the hotel is described offering free parking (that is the reason we choose to stay there) but once we got there we realized this was false. No parking is provided and once we complained to the management we were told "there is free parking in the streets around the hotel"... How can I ask for a partial refund in order to cover the parking costs I have encountered?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we were dismayed that our relative had been given a room with a bath and an over bath shower. Something she could not access as she could not climb into the bath. Requests for disabled facilities were heard and relayed to the manager. No facilities were available in the hotel to meet our requirements, and the offered solution of a shower being take in the excellent poolside showers was a non starter for a lady of 91. All rooms are accessible by lift and the dining room on the ground level was fully accessible. Steps to the poolside area were an added difficulty. We love the Fortezza hotel and would ask that they do give full consideration to full disabled access in the bathrooms and pool area

    As an able bodied couple we have visited Fortezza many times and love it. This year we took and elderly relative who has difficulty walking and for whom stairs are very difficult.We contacted the hotel by email to let them know this in the hope of there being full disabled access to all areas and in the bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, my husband is disabled so it was great to get help with luggage and parking, although there was a small daily charge to park next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying car park

    Nice swimming pool Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, clean and comfortable room. No problem without parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard

    Perfect location right in the centre of the old town. Attractive foyer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can't be taken outside No security box in room Superior room very basic; not sure what made it superior

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many furniture in the room Weak air conditioner Smelly room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Fantastic location in Rethymno Old Town. - Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looking over the street/ a car park and supermarket

    Location was excellent for restaurants,shops and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast was poor , poor quality jucies and produce

    room was great , location very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 35 euros three days parking opposite hotel

    Excellent location. Lovely pool area. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts and the sun beds around the pool.Too hot in public seating areas

    Cleanliness friendly professional staff location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right in the old town. Hotel staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was'nt the expected free parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balconies are on the small side.

    Excellent location. Very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic central location with helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    situation exceptionnelle.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent hotel right in the old town easy for the shops and resturants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was very poor, thanks for the convenient mini mart across the street, we got good coffee and fruites and sandwiches for not a lot of money. The beds were hard, the pillows very good.

    Staff was friendly and helpful, overall clean, I really liked the location.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was quiet, clean and comfortable. Located well for walking around the interesting Old Town, for tavernas and little shops and for seaside promenade. Walking distance from the bus station. The swimming pool was good for this size of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very loud - every noise within the hotel could be heard in the room. I never could get the wifi to work - it said it was connected but I could not send, receive or load anything.

    The staff was very helpful and professional. The location was great to explore the harbor, the Venetian fort and the old town. The pool area was small and intimate, with lovely greenery and friendly bar service.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast could have been better, with all the fresh fruit on the island why tin peaches??fresh fried eggs rather than powdered scrambled and bacon? kettles in rooms would have been good too.

    location was excellent right in the heart of Rethymnon old town.Room was very clean and staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is excellent, right in the old town and near the port. The hotel is clean and comfortable with nice places to sit and have a coffee. The pool area is really pretty. The staff are lovely. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We loved the hotel and the staff and would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price they were a little cheap on amenities. Ex: we were looked at funny when we asked for a bucket of ice at the bar for our room. Air con was weak and the AC sometimes had a funny smell.

    Overall, our stay was nice. The rooms were clean, looked exactly like the pictures and the bathroom was great.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception was really unpleasant. The girl was giving us a room clearly not so good and she told us "this is your room. it is just for one night ... ". The room was very small and immediately looking at the small street down the hotel. We were sleeping almost in the parking opposite the hotel :-). I think it should just be detailed in the reservation step.

    It was a clean hotel, well furnished and in a good location within rethymno. Swimming pool was nice even if we didn't use it. Complete international breakfast. Just ask for rooms not located at the first floor!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not really a major issue but I'd have preferred not to have had the pop music in the background in the bar/pool area.

    The pool was great and wonderful to cool off in after a day exploring the town. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable. Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast could have more choice

    Nothing was too much trouble all the staff was very pleasant & helpful. The hotel is very well situated & beautifully clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Group

    Excellent choice of hotel In a fantastic location,vibrant resort with plenty of choice of places to eat drink and shop,excellent beach with great choice of water sports

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Family room was cramped and fold out lounge/bed uncomfortable.

    We were in the heart of the old town, everything was in easy walking distance. Facilities were clean and staff friendly. Large supermarket was across the road.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The feel of being a guest and almost family member. The location which was superb The ambience of the place itself All the staff's professionalism and friendliness

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing that could be improved is the wifi connection.

    Lovely, friendly staff and a great location.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great Location and value for money. friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work in our room.

    Excellent hotel. Brilliant staff and location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location very nice and smily stuff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel is so friendly and convenient, that I would never stay anywhere else! Just a brilliant place, all round.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff (especially Babbis and Krisoula), good pool, lovely room, good location for old town restaurants and 10 minute walk to beach.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Le personnel pas très souriant, Le Wifi ne fonctionnait vraiment pas bien dans les chambres.

    Très bien situé, très propre, belle piscine.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    hotel parking not always possible also sat nav a must in chania

    large triple room all full size beds

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    wifi, fridge noise

    location, facilities, very clean and tidy, comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Littel bit noisy.

    The Pool and the Balcony over the Pool was great..also tabel tennis.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: