Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Frideriki Studios & Apartments

Main Street, Plataniás, 73014, Greece

#22 of 57 hotels in Plataniás

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at check in (mum of owner) was exceptionally rude. Only changed towels and linens every 3 days. Wants to charge 10euro for extra child even though extra bed is not available. Just for the extra sheets and towel they provide. So for 4 nights, they want 40 euros for sheets that was changed once. Place is more cramped than it appears in photos. Hot water tuns out at a certain time at night (or maybe turned off??) Was rude to tell us we must wash any dishes used. Book somewhere else imo.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Awesome view from the junior suite with a big jacuzzi on the spacious terrace. Hotel is located near the main street of Platanias, but still peaceful and private. The room is nicely decorated and quite new. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We also got a chance to access other hotel's carpark next to our accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small living area. Room smelt strongly of smoke, we're non smokers so we really noticed it.

    Fantastic terrace with private jacuzzi and view. Bedroom lovely with sliding door to terrace. Living area very small, looked bigger in the pictures. Spacious bathroom. Cleaned every day with new towels and sheets too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's up a steep hill, only a little bit but you need to be fit enough to walk up the hill and then up the stairs. It was fine for me but others may find it difficult. Good exercise though. I found it more tricky walking down the hill in heels.

    Near the sea and very close to the centre of Platanias where the bars and restaurants are.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house is not well isolated.....too noisy, I could even heard the toilet flushing of the neighbors and cars from the street. Do not have materials for cooking such as pan.

    Clean, well located

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The property does not provide any amenities for the bathroom. We traveled to Greece from China, so we avoided taking things like tooth paste and shampoo, only to find out that the apartment does not have any (but luckily you have the overpriced 24/7 super market just opposite of the apartment :) ). Also, the apartment is equipped with a Dolce-Gusto coffe maker, but no capsules where provided. They are also not available in every super market, so we needed to drive to a bigger city to get some. I know that coffee is normally not provided in the room, but a Box of 16 capsules costs like 5€. If you spend 1100€ for one week, it would be a nice service to at least have a few capsules for free. Also, no breakfast is available at this place, so you need to prepare it by yourself or go outside for eating. As the apartment has no kitchen (only a sink and a fridge), preparing anything "hot" is nearly impossible. Unfortunately the really awesome and big terrace has no BBQ. The terrace cries for BBQ! You have a great view, a Jacuzzi, an outside sofa, but no BBQ... Also, the apartment lacks any kind of music device. No Radio, no Hi-Fi, no blue tooth speaker, nothing. Unfortunately, the TV also has no music channel to compensate it. For the Jacuzzi I'm also not sure how often the water is changed. It has a lot of chlorine inside, so it basically is "clean". Also, the bedroom has a slight smell of sweat, but we were not able to find out where it comes from. The bed sheets were very clean and smelled nice, so it was definitely not the bed...

    The apartment had a great roof top terrace which was actually bigger than the whole room! The private Jacuzzi was very nice and we used it almost every day. The landlord and his mother where very helpful and the room was cleaned daily. As the city, Platanias, is basically one long street, all facilities are easy to reach by foot. Nevertheless, if you want to go by groceries in a "real" supermarket and not one of the 24/7 overpriced markets, you definitely need a car. Luckily the landlord can provide a entrance card for the parking space of the hotel beside the apartments, so you can park the car a 1-minute walk away from your door. If you ask for extra towels for the beach, the landlords mother happily will provide a space set for you. She also collects some left-behind things from previous customers like beach umbrellas, so you basically can ask for everything and she will happily give it to you free of charge. The view from the apartment is great! No building is blocking your view for the sunrise on the right hand side and the sunset over one of the small islands on the left hand side. Sitting in the Jacuzzi during sunset is a very nice and special memory we will always keep! We enjoyed this place very much!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Loved everything about this place...great sized apartment...very clean...lovely view....welcoming host...great Wi-Fi! Take note...approach from the rear as the road right beside apartments is extremely steep..our little Fiat did not want to go up it at all!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, right across the street was the access to the beach. A lot of restaurants and shops nearby. The sea is very nice, sandy, and it gets deeper quickly enough for adults, but still OK for children. Also right on that beach there are boats that take to Theodoroi island. We had a junior suite and it was amazing, with large balcony and jacuzzi on it. Everything is clean and beautiful. And there was even mosquito net on the door to the balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby barking dog, intermittent. The 20 yards steep climb from main road to the apartment was no problem for us, but may be difficult if you have bad knees!

    Host George and his mum were very friendly welcoming and helpful. The apartment was spotlessly clean ,modern, ideal for our needs, perfectly situated near shops and beach. Good modern fully functioning bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a sun lounger on the balcony but lack of one did not spoil my enjoyment.

    We stayed in an apartment on 2nd floor with 2 balconies. The views were superb. Views of sea , village etc. The apartment had everything we hoped for and more. Lovely comfortable snd spacious seating area, dining table with 4 chairs. Basic but adequate cooking facilities. I loved that could walk up from the apartment away from the main street where it became more rural.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My double mattress (while extremely comfy) was two singles pushed together and i kept losing things down the middle of it.

    Rooms were above expectation. Staff really friendly and helpful. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to come back home.

    First of all the staff was very friendly starting from Giorgos who was always there making sure our staying was as comfortable as possible, the two nice ladies always greeting us and the lovely dog always happy :). We are really happy we chose Frideriki, the place was clean, great WIFI, comfortable double bed, personal free parking (in other places we have been in the past has been quite a nightmare finding parking). The location of this place is absolutely perfect. In the middle of the village, bus stop right in-front of the apartment. In case you dont have a car you can get a bus to almost every nice place in Western Crete. Platanias itself is great. I strongly recommend Frideriki for your future staying.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, just 5 min to the beach, the owners went out of their way to welcome us and give us information we needed . I highly recommend this aparment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the property was not as nice or luxurious as advertised. the property has a partial sea view at best, that too from one of the studios only. very misleading based on the listing and especially the pictures shown - the hosts were somewhat nit-picky over minor things, e.g. changing towels only once in 3 days even when the guests found dirty towels and requested a change - the bathrooms were of sub-par standard (unreliable pressure and heating, very small, unsuitable for someone with even a minor disability) - the bed was very uncomfortable, having stayed there for 4 nights we both developed back aches and neck pain - no breakfast offered (although this is not advertised as well) there are other properties offering rooms at comparable or even cheaper rates with much nicer facilities + amenities and better views. not at all value for money - the property and the hosts need to make a lot more genuine effort.

    good location. we booked a sea view room. we were initially given a room on the ground floor with a view of the next house (and the sea at some very far away distance). after a lot of repeated requests, the hosts moved us to the 1st floor studio, which had a better view. wifi was adequate

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room was very noisy and during the night could hear all the cars/motorcycles going on the street - The lady owner made sure that we knew they are changing the towels only once every 3 days. All other hotels we stayed in Crete were changing if required daily the towels - When we left a bit the room somebody from the stuff just entered the room to turn off the lights and AC. - The beach next to the hotel is not good. There is a nice beach a bit further (I would say about 1.5 km), but it is not easy to walk there. - Double bed was a bit too small for my taste (190x140cm probably)

    - The room had everything you would expect from such a room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing at all. Maybe 2 sun loungers on the terrace.

    The suite is just stunning. Everything you could wish for comfy bed, spotlessly clean, fabulous views, comfortable outdoor furniture and amazing private hot tub.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was limited kitchen facilities but this was not too much of a problem as the apartment is located near lots of great restaurants.

    The staff are really friendly and helpful and the apartment is in a great location. The apartment was kept very clean and was a decent size.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay in Frideriki. Very comfortable and cozy place, well-tuned furniture in bathroom. The owner is easy-going and helpful person. We asked for an apartment on high-floor with nice balcony and view on the city and partial sea view. Thank you, George. There is large parking site near the apartments. Staff cleaned our room on daily basis. Good value for money! Will definitely come again here next time.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Platanias main street between the hotel and beach access has much traffic. Be aware if travelling with small children.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious apartments, great location. Thank you for an unforgettable stay:-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A filter coffee machine was found to be in the room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of this property is perfect, situated just facing the sea and the host Georges is extremely helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bathroom!

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location/ accomodation with a feel like home, friendly environment. Care provided by all staff aswell as attention to wellfare of hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    nice location and nice host

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hosts were lovely and very helpful. The view was amazing and the balcony was so massive. We lived out there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was premium quality. George even drove my wife & I to our next hotel. I just wish we could've stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice,super enjoy it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    too close to main road and noisy and air con too old and it wasn't efficient

    cleaness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wow, contemporary apartment was incredible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to park near the property.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with hot tub and Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a wonderful apartment, the terrace was a great aspect and a credit to the property

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing apartment and balcony. Everything immaculate and very clean. Quiet area and very private. Owners were very welcoming and helpful . Lovely people.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the place. The owner and his mother were really great. The beach not even 1 minute away, plenty restaurants and bars around. Thank you very much

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 of 10 days no hot water in morning or evening for showers.Asked several times and my wife told have it midday (solar hot water then available) Immersion heated water being switched off.Finally mother/son duo had words thereafter it was left on and provided constant hot water

    Location close to beach, bars, shops restaurant Apartment cleaned regularly and towels and bedding changed suitably.Particularly necessary in wiew of humid and hot weather

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment with jaccuzzi bath and sea view is quite small for 4 persons and no kitchen annexe, only kettel for tea or coffe. But honestly who would to stay at apartment being in Crete on summertime??? In summary: Absolutely +++++

    Platanias is the best tourist destination in West part of Crete. Frideriki is just on the border between Platanias and Agios Marina. It is a modern apartments house with very friendly personel. Our apartment had a cool jaccuzzi bath on the terrace with fantastic view on the sea. Absolutely stunning! Very friendly and helpful owners. Would to stay there again if come back to Crete!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and couch were a little uncomfortable, but it was not a big issue.

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. The location of the appartment is also excellent. You can easily walk to the beach or take the bus to the nearby city of Chania.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the amazing junior suite that had a giant balcony for your own use & a hot tub, sheer bliss :) The owners are very helpful, apartments are super clean, plus the most perfect location. There is a small supermarket across the road, restaurants, bars & the beach a minute walk away, plus you are far enough away from the main hustle & bustle of platanias square (4-5min walk) for it to be lovely & peaceful. Local bus stop is just down the road too. Highly recommended :)

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only one thing - a pillow was too hard for me.

    Good service, nice studio with a sea view from the balcony, very close to the beach. I would recomend it for people who are looking for a comfortable place with self catering. I would come back again, just would take my own pillow.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about!

    The best apartment in Plantanias, large terrace with sea views and jacuzzi. Very nice Famlie who runs the hotel. Are washed every day without the Sundays. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in studio type of room. Description and photos promised bathtub in bathroom, but we had only shower. They got no ironing options.

    Pleasant looking room, recently renovated, comfortable, quite big. Nice hosts (management), helpful and friendly. One beach in a minute walk, main Platanias beach in 5 minutes walk. A lot of eating and other facilities around, but no noisy places too close. Good working wifi.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were everything expected and more. The owners welcomed us upon arrival with drinks and cake which started the holiday experience at Frideriki. Exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be nice if there was some tea bags or coffee capsules already in kitchen

    Awesome view with Jakuzzi. Good quality of furniture

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -really tiny bathroom -no bathroom staff -clearing not every day -jacuzzi is only for 1 room(

    - location - host

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very small bathrooms

    friendly family clean close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not directly on the beach And addìng breakfast would be perfect!

    jorgos and his mother, wonderful persons!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly studio apartment,very good location near town and beach.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: