Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gaia Royal 4 stars

Main Street, Mastichari, 85300, Greece

#10 of 17 hotels in Mastichari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Side Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each building is located in nice and well maintained garden. Vast area where you can have good time with your family. Three separate pool area, one with kids attractions (could have one more slide for youngest babies). Family room is really spacious with separate bedroom. Good standard comparing to other greek four stars .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking a little worn/tired in places. Outside beer garden had some old disused garden ornaments lying around.

    Room was very good size and clean. Nice fresh look about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to pay for wifi !!

    very large rooms for the price of property, and great breakfast. Didn't stay long enough to make full use of the facilities but there were loads ! minigolf, pools, even a zoo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says all inclusive. NOT!!!! No leaflets saying where to go. In the middle of nowhere. Entertainment not good, boring. Will not be going there again.

    Nice big rooms. Very clean. Beach on our doorstep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of breakfast and dinner was poor. Towels were worn-out. They extra charge wi-fi on daily basis, and we had problem logging in with the passwords given.

    We enjoyed beach and sea. Our room's seaview was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms were very old and ragged especially bathroom was in very bad condition many bugs and mosquitos around and in room disturbed us

    reception was very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing I need to say that a paid wifi is ok in a summer destination but a limitation to one device is not that cool :(!

    So our hotel stay was excellent from staff to our own entertainment. We had received excellent room with great view and all was awesome ! thank you for a great holiday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived late at night and we were given a room without a sea view (while we had specifically booked the sea view room). The hotel claims that "sea view" are all rooms near the beach but in fact the 'view' are the rooms/buildings in front of yours (see photo). We were able to switch rooms on the 3rd night. There is no WIFI in the rooms + WIFI is not free. Every single cafe/restaurant/bar in Kos had free wifi, except this hotel. 1 euro for 1 hour... + no internet access in the room. There was no shampoo in the bathroom or other basic amenities (toothpaste, cotton) Overall, we were looking for a romantic weekend stay, this hotel is the opposite of romantic. sea views are buildings, breakfast had no fresh food - mostly seemed to come from cans or processed (E.g. no fresh fruit but canned fruit floating in liquid) + bugs walking into room. The location is not great (not walking distance from anything) so without renting a car daily it would have been terrible (each way by taxi was 10 Euros and trip to airport was 30 euros) We had more fun discovering the island (rented our own car every day) than staying at this hotel.

    Beach area was nice, it was also excellent to have access to car rentals within the hotel at the same rate as any other car rental agency in town + clean rooms. Generally staff was accommodating. Located at the centre of the island so convenient to travel across the island by car (all major towns/beaches were 15-20m away)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi in the room didn't work... But at the reception, in the bar and at the swimming pools it was ok... :)

    The food was excellent, lot of choice! The rooms were good, comfortable and clean! The staff was very friendly!! Especially Giorgos from the bar, he's the best!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the animation was a bit over the top. The personal was not used to the fact that we didn't book the all inclusive option, therefore they had to ask several times what to do to their manager.

    Very clean. Nice personal. Facility was amazing and very well maintained. The buffet was okay. They put some rose flowers on our bed and that was very nice of them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an admin error so a picnic breakfast was not prepared. The Gaia have apologised and offered a complimentary stay. I am more than satisfied.

    Previously the breakfasts have been excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar. As the food was otherwise great, the sandwiches there were dry and basically not nice at all. A bit too loud music there too but nice staff.

    Loved the whole atmosphere. Great room with sea view. Beautiful well treated cats that a great bonus as its not very common in Greece.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no soap and shampoo in the batroom. We callede the reception but they did not bring. The water came out from the floor when washing our hands. The water installed pipes of the system should be blocked.

    The facilities were enjoyabe. We had fun at the pool, the mini golf, mini zoo and played billiard. Our room had a sea view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (3-5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening entertainment. The DJ was playing only what he wanted or his friends and did not cater for the guests at all. Most people did not stay in the bar area most nights.When we asked for requests he completely ignored us. Beach party was also disapointing for the same reason. As we had paid alot to stay here, but we ended up going out of the resort.

    Easy access to the beach. They clean the rooms every day. The barman at the cocktail bar is an absolute star very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes by the dozen in the room. Difficult staff. Would not accept major cards. Demanded cash. Didn't want me to contact assistance. Location too far out.

    Couldn't wait to leave

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was paid and worked only in lobby ( at evenings not possible to use). Although hotel had his beach the option all inclusive was not valid here. All drinks paid additionally as well as umbrellas . The prices were reasonable but still not free. You had to go to swimming pool bar for drinks.

    I liked the location - directly at the seaside, appartments placed in well maintained garden. Rooms were cleaned every day. Hotel looks much better than on pictures and u can find there all you need to spend nice time. Local busses can take you to any place you wish to see. City Kos worth seeing. I recommend the place for sure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi problems

    staff was nice, food was good and beach was close so 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room full of ants. Hundreds of them.

    Breakfast cold. Not stocked. Empty containers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not well cleaned but there is a big garden and some insects come in

    Wonderful Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more entertainment at night

    I liked that there was so much to do

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am not found of all inclusive resorts; there is not an independent restaurant. The resort was isolated.

    The staff were wonderful and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WE HAD TO PAY FOR THE ACCOMODATION BY CASH THEY WOULDNT ACCEPT CREDIT CARD

    ENTERTAINMENT WAS FAB

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception people could be more helpful and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't find any cabs! Beach costs extra, beach towels with deposit, wifi with extra charge..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful value for money. Food and drink service was poor. No wifi- unhelpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from kos town

    Very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All inclusive food and drink, poor choice not great quality.

    Swimming pools very good lots of options

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficulty of operating or accessing TV channels. Poor Internet in room.

    Comfort and cleanliness of the room. Friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Superb variety and quality of breakfast. Standards of the swimming pools.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    25 min away from Kos, not much entertainment for kids, not much to do . No shower gels or shampoo, no slippers, would expect to have it in 4 star hotel. if you need towel for pool or beach need pay £10 as deposit, same if you would like play golf.

    location if you looking for place with family , reception staff amazing specially Popi and Anastasia at reception.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was awful and too early, wifi as an extra cost and no conecction in the room only in the lobby. Room full of bugs. Terrible pillows, not minibar at all. While sleeping the electrical pannel of our room suffered a cutcircuit. "No disturb" sign not available in the rooms so the cleaning staff wake up us every day.

    The beach, the location and the View from the Room. Great idea the mini market but no food we missed the possibility of buying some sandwiches.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi costs 3€/day. Bathroom was overflowing with water all the time. Absolutely poor choice of fruits, only apples and oranges basically. Beach towels costs 10€ per towel, when you can buy a new one for 7€ in the mini market. Staff is awful, took our passports. No ice cream for adults. AI drinks are bland and tasteless. During our stay, workers come to your room to fix stuff, you should do that when no body is living in the room.

    The variety of food was good. Room had an excellent view of the sea. Nice swimming pools. Mini market is a genius idea.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There are some hidden cots, not much, but neither explicitly disclosed on the hotel website.

    Has nice beach and all right location. If you want to get out to local communities closest one is 5km away.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked a sea view family room overnight because the other hotel I was booked in was not good at all. So it was an improvement but, first they gave us a room in which the bath tub was broken, then hours after I informed them (they had no idea, apparently they do not check the rooms after check-out of other guests) then in the afternoon, before our last night there, they asked us to move to a room which was not what I had booked. The reception is always under-staffed and the staff are not very pleasant, too say the least.

    The beach, the swimming pool, the layout of the resort.. it could actually be a very good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No available iron and ironing board in the rooms. Had to request it from reception and most the time it was being used. Had to wear creased clothes a lot of the time.

    Great location. Room had great view of Kalymnos and Pserimos islands.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Mosquitos and stray cats in the restaurant area. Made some people put food on the floor. Staff was quick to clean it though

    The all inclusive price of the resort was really good. The food was delicious and my sea view was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could not get a sunbed at the pool after 9am as all were occupied by towels and no people! Wasp problem (over 100) on our balcony so we could not sit out there or leave the sliding doors open. Bed very hard and uncomfortable. WiFi is 8 euros for 3 days, per device, we paid for 6 days but the WiFi was down for 4 of those - received no refund for this inconvenience.

    Close to beach, good choice of food, spacious room, powerful shower, reception staff and animations team very friendly. Close to airport

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I and my husband liked everything.

    Very good room with a sea view. Rooms were cleaned everyday. The food at the restaurant was amazing, lots to choose from and very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower curtain, towels were an off white and very thin, not vodka in the all inclusive and no ice cream for adults

    Pools were nice, rooms good size, near to beach

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extremely helpful and seemed to have boundless energy to try to make everyone comfortable. The uniformed young 'event staff' were especially active in inviting participation in a variety of activities and also put on an interesting 'spectacle' in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a bit too far out of Masticharia.

    Gaia Royal was not open so stayed at Gaia Palace for same price. Very good value. Only there for 1 night but if staying longer would need to hire a car.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was basic, the beds smelt like damp.

    The views were lovely

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Diluted drinks

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like the hotel facilities and etc

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So easy to have a relaxed stay here. Every member of staff greets you with a smile and wants you to enjoy your stay. Pools and food are great.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing worth typing on here.

    Beach, 3 swimming pools, small zoo, playground, crazy golf, shop, car rental, evening entertainment all on site.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet

    Place, food and room with the great sea view, service

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food not very good

    accommodation resort all superb

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only stayed one night, just passing through

    Securerity

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms where so clean. Reservations Manager was excellent , so was the reception staff . Food really good. Had a lovely stay .

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Isolated, some difficulties to reach a city centre

    Clean, comfortable, very suitable for family with children, exellent and various food offer

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: