Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Galaxy Hotel 3 stars

39, Posidonos Avenue, Alimos, Athens, 17455, Greece

#266 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't recommend this hotel as I was robbed for all of my bathroom products here. Apparently they were disposed of. Despite being new and costing more than €150. A collection of x5 containers. What a joke. Be warned. The worst thing is that there was no apology or compensation. Is this a true testament to Greek hospitality? Shocking.

    Proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotell i situated in a perfect spot directly on the beach and very close to the Marina of Alimos, around 15 minutes by taxi to the Port of Pireaus. Perfect jogging trail along the waterside. Just e few minutes walk to the tram that takes you to the center of Athens or to Glifada. Nice restaurants and pubs and other service in Kalamaki just around the corner. Very nice breakfast with good coffee and a fantastic view of the waterfront. The bus from the airport stops almost outside the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise as the hotel is by the road. Toilet too small and overall room needs some serious upgrading. Mattress already too soft. Room space big enough for a working desk.

    Locality and the easy access with many eating options. Wifi is fast enough. I got a good seaview.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room was to small. The elevator did not go to the 6th floor and my wife cant clime steps. There was no place to park the car. I had to park on the street a block and a half away. The A/C made a noise all night and they said they would fix it but they did not. We had to move to another room. The breakfast eggs were cold.

    It was the only hotel with a vacancy in our price range. It was close to were we wanted to be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine besides the cigarette smells in the room. It was fully booked and couldn't move. The staff tried to help but can't do much about inconsiderate previous guests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy Hotel ( on the sea side) and "poor" Lift. No Bar...

    very good position close to Athens and the sea side...It's OK for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not noice proof so we could hear children that were staying at the hotel and were constantly playing in the hallways, the AC wasn't so good and breakfast was terrible - bad coffee, bad eggs

    Location - proximity to where we needed to get to, friendly and accommodating staff that did above and beyond to assist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection was somewhat poor in my room and also sometimes when staying just in front of the wifi router in the corridor. Nonetheless not so bad to dowgrade my good rate of the hotel. The compains of some other reviewers about the poor room equipment I cannot confirm - all was great (of course from the perspective of a tourist who is not going to stay all time there and only come to sleep over night).

    Excellent location - a sea front with a nice beach , cool bars and a green park, all just across the road, a bus stop (15 minutes bus drive to Sintagma, also the airport bus calls there). The breakfast is okay, however I am not the one who puts much expectations on it, so a gourment might find it plain. The rooms are big enough and have a balcony, some with a great sea view. The avenue noise from the road didn't disturb me much (but is quite loud, if one cares)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real selection at breakfast, just scrambled eggs, sausages(looked like they were from a can), fried bread and cereals. The coffee was terrible, juice was concentrate. More effort should be put into the breakfast. All night cars beeping their horns(aggressively). hear them clearly with all windows closed. I requested a quiet room.

    Nice view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were outdated and in need of a remodeling. There were bugs in the bathroom. Breakfast was nothing special. Next to a very noisy street.

    Walking distance to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was booked but for the 1st time ever I only got a single bed in a room that was so small that it was little more than a cupboard that held the bed and just about enough space round it to see the filthy carpet. The shower was in an even smaller cupboard, the base of which nearly touched the loo - the property was full so no chance to move rooms😩

    The proximity to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms/decor are tired and could do with a refresh. Bathroom smelt awful when first got there, but staff changed the shower curtain within half an hour and the smell was gone.

    Beach across the road, close to bus route to airport and tram route to the city. Excellent cake shop just over the road and a kiosk outside for drinks/snacks. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smelly room, not clean. Molds everywhere around. Room interior is heavily used. In reality hotel condition is completely different vs pictures presented.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sits on a main avenue and has traffic noise, although my room was fine in the back.

    Good value for money, loved the sea views and overall staff attitude and friendliness. A few cool customers from various sailing clubs/marinas with an overall sporty/adventurous attitude, making you momentarily forget you are there in business.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very plain. Nothing missing, but they're definitely not luxurious in any way. No water in the fridge or drinking glasses to fill with tap water.

    The staff is friendly and the breakfast area is excellent. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on the main road around the coast and the noise was extreme. Even with a backroom it was still noisy.

    The location was ideal - we were chartering a boat from the marina across the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the road (but it is everywhere in the first row hotels).

    Everything was good. Clean, good breakfast, good price. Two nice beaches nearby and two supermarkets.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little shower gel/shampoo bottle was already half-used, found it a bit unusual. In general, nothing could ruin the pros of this hotel, really good value for money.

    Breakfast, view, opportunity to have lunch and dinner buffet for some days when bigger groups were staying at a hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't stay with the Galaxy as the week before our stay they emailed us that they had to relocate us to a hotel further down the coast due to over booking. Instead of being right beside the marina, we were twenty minutes away via tram.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old interior, needs refurbishing asap; small bathrooms; 24h noise from the 3-lane street right beneath the hotel

    Location next to the Alimos Marina, balcony with sea view, breakfast ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not particularly helpful. We got in late at night and had to leave early the next morning to catch a ferry. We asked for reception to call us a taxi in the morning to get to the port and he said he couldn't, he also wouldn't give us change for a 50 euro bill, we needed a smaller amount to pay for the taxi. It is close to the port but I would definitely not stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old rooms and bathrooms. Bathroom window to a whole shared by all rooms, hence smelly, noisy and possible to see other people if both bathrooms windows were open. The hotel has no fault but there were very rude guests on the adjacent rooms shouting and slamming doors.

    Comfortable bed and nice view. Next to the marina, excellent for people sailing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dirty, especially the carpet, too noisy from the sea side because of the road, cockroaches in the room, poor breakfast, wifi was not good too.

    Near the beach, condition, friendly stuff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room appeared to have bodily fluids on the walls. The shower was difficult to use with the shower head being at half height. It was meant to be pay upon arrival however my card was charged in advanced.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stopover for the Marina just across the road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad smell in all the building. Something like petrol.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very friendly staff nice places to eat nearby convenient for getting about on tram or buses close to beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect breakfast Nice view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Thoth brush 🤓

    Near to the sea amazing view very good for the summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not as comfy to my liking.

    The location was very good for the beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to Alimos Marina - good place to stay for a night before your charter

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds very uncomfortable, pillow (one each) very small and lifeless. lift very antiquated and slow

    breakfast good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not to much choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recomand to anyone... nothing was ok execpt the staff at the reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cockroaches Dirty linens No WIFI in rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huuuge cockroach at my room table. Room very dirty. Stuff not too friendly.

    Location. Gave us early check-in for our friend, who was ill.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell

    View from the balcony

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos aren't true. The door of the balcony not closing. The staff entered the room without permission. It was a real disaster this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only there for a few hours overnight

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Friendly & polite staff. Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the bathroom.

    Value for money for sure. Clean and decent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small for 3 people A very bad smell Very old building Very small lift No parking

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is nothing I do not like, but it took 4 days to repair the public computer.....

    Location, cleanliness and price. Breakfast is enjoyable as well. stayed four night AND returning for 2 more, that shud be covering the Q.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Took 3 times to take charge. No lift working. Bed covers marked, very noisy, breakfast poor and empty of cooked stuff. Staff a bit surly.

    Location, open all night

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were slightly hard but that's probably being picky. As our stay was short and merely a pit stop before an early flight it didn't have any major issues

    Stayed here between Greek island trips and airport and it did the job. Tram/bus stops short walking distance either to the airport or back to city. A stones throw from the beach. Reliable wi-fi and air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small bathroom and not very clean - old fugues between tiles are not for washing. Location noisy place.

    For one night it is OK. Wifi in the room a little weak but it was, the bed comfortable, climatic work. Location noisy place but it is close to the marina and a few shops and cafes nearby. Easy and cheap access from the airport by bus. Tasty breakfast room, dining room on the roof with a nice view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    'Triple room' (extra bedded), was very uncomfortable for 3 adults. No space,even to turn around. Breakfast is okay,until the second morning..but there is a huge bakery shop at the next corner, for the case..

    Ladies at the Reception were helpful. Breakfastroom on the top floor is a good idea.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. No parking 2. Sometimes Internet went down 3. Very bad air-conditioners in rooms, they were in order, but sometimes were blowing with warm air. 4. Bathrooms look terrible. 5. I got towel with holes.

    Good location, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location to the beach and the tram which was across the road to get to the main attractions in Athens. You get what you pay for for the room but if you just need a place to sleep then it's an ideal place.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Reception staff not helpful at all, giving the impression that they were making us a favour when they talked to us. Very old hotel/ smelly reception area (images on booking were misleading). Wi-Fi in our room had very bad quality and sometimes not accessible at all and the receptionist wouldn't bother.

    Convenient location opposite the beach and the bus/tram stop.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall hotel is run down, shabby and unwelcoming. Good for backpackers and students only.

    The breakfast room has a good view and selections were good.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was not clean. The beds weren't too comfortable since we slept rather bad. Our room had the balcony at the back side of the building (no sea views - ugly views).

    It's near the sea, with beautiful parks.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was so tiny I had to have one foot in the shower, to be able to wash my face in the sink. The shower itself was too tiny to bend over in, to wash my feet. No hook for the hand-held shower, so water had to be cut off in order to use hands to wash. Hotel looked nothing like the luxurious pictures, but the whole experience was good.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating...could not ask for more. The value was unbeatable.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The road in front is very busy, ask for a backyard room. Sigle room a bit to small. Pre booking with prepayment was not done by the hotel, but double room was granted foc at arrival after midnight.

    Very good lokation to Marina Alimos, Bus X96 Airport and MRT in Front of the door, exellent connections to Athens downtown. Breakfast on rooftop good pricewise.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room with the sea view is noisy due to the road. Wifi is weak. The description of transport to the hotel (on the webpage) is very misleading.

    The room was clean. Staff willing if you asked for help (if you did not ask they did not care about you). The airconditioning working well so you did not need to have opened door during night (luckily). Free beach very near. Good price.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Dirty room. - Dirty top sheets, with colorfull stambs on them. - The table was full in dust, like it had some weeks to be cleaned. - The toilet was really unhygienic with packs of hair on the bathroom floor. - The room was really noisy, we couldn't sleep at all during the night, since, in the second floor (that it is actually 1st... since the reception is in the basement) the noise from one of the mainest avenues of Athens was extremely annoying! And... ofcourse we are talking about closed windows (sliding doors... with no sound insulation at all)!!! Imagine staying there during the summer and trying to open one window for fresh air!!! - The room door was a plain old wooden door, that wouldn't make you feel secure... and of course it didn't reduce any db of the hallway noise (stupid turists... arriving at 5am with no respect to others...) - Hopefully... we didn't have to pay for breakfast... because it was consisted be, 5spieces... omelete, boiled eggs, boiled saucages, cheese, hum! Bread... and some stale rusks!!! We have stayed in backpackers hostels in the past... for 1/5th of this price and had way better contitions! - There is no partking place... and if you arrive be car, you will need to look for about 20-25minutes for parking place... If you are lucky enough to find any!!! We left our car at a small road, about 10minutes far away! - There is a Tram stop at 100m from the hotel, but it will take you up to 45minutes to get to Athens Center (Syntagma), by this mean of transportation... We wouldn't suggest this for no reason not even to our worst enemy! Especially for the price of 59Euros/night!!! Surelly for 10Euros more you can find better place to stay!

    Honestly? Nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Toilet facilities was small

    Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy since it's right on the main seafront road.

    Place is fine for the money I paid. Decent 3 star hotel. Nice coffee shop next door.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, nice place, perfect breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much noise from the road/sea side at day and night.

    Nearby beach and God price.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice place! Beautiful view from the room. Perfect breakfast. Good staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small packed room with no space left. Poor shower equipment.

    Good quality air conditioner worked well and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They don't have a parking.

    The room was big enough and confortable

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no double bed in the hotel, very small rooms.Not suitable for families with children.Staff is rude and hotel is old.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing particular.

    Great location. Amazing view from the breakfast terrace.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first room was really dirty and when we were about to leave the hotel, stuff proposed another room where the situation was a bit better.

    Nice view

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very big observance to Maria. Special Thanx! Respect to nervous guests.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony sliding door didn't match at all and they did not try to fix it.

    Good buffet breakfast with a view.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great breakfast, wifi works good. The beach in front of the hotel. The metro station and buses really close too.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was rude. Hotel is Noisy. Dirty. Very small rooms

    Location, Breakfast Area(view), Free WiFi

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tiny bathroom, noisy AC and noise from the street.

    Sight from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Accommodation not acceptable for any star hotel. Could not sleep as it was noisy. Bed linen not acceptable Bathroom not acceptable

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOISE OF TRAFFIC ALL NIGHT; A SMELLY LOO dANGEROUS STAIRS

    A resaonable breakfast

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: