Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Galini Pension

Yialos Beach, Ios Chora, 84001, Greece

#4 of 21 Holiday rentals in Ios Chora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is optional, so it's not really a problem, but I wouldn't recommend it. It's cheap but not good, only white bread, artificial jam and juice and instant coffee. There is a fridge in the room, so best to by food from local markets ad enjoy your self made breakfast in the balcony. Shower stall is super tiny and you end up spilling a lot of water, but I didn't mind because they clean up the rooms every day.

    It's the second time I stay at Galini Pension and I would not consider anywhere else in Ios. Rooms are beautiful, cozy and the absolute best value for money. I would specially recommend booking a room with a balcony, the sea view is enchanting and the location so peaceful that you can enjoy hours in your own balcony with some wine before you even feel like going out. Staff is lovely and so helpful. I love the location specially because Yallos beach is quiet and nice and the hotel just a few minutes walk from the port. If you arrive tired after a long journey from Athens, it's great to know your hotel is right there and there's no need for yet a other transportation. There a plenty of restaurants and bars around and the village is probably 15 minutes walk. If you don't like hiking up hill you can always take the bus. Super easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say ... was awesome !

    We were shown everything the island has to offer, super nice and really helpful! We had a beautiful balcony facing the gorgeous garden. The beds were really comfy, hot water, even insect repellent plug in was given ... perfect !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is ideal - 1 km from the port, 100 m from the beach, easy walk to the village centre, which is great, wifi from the property reaches the beach. Very cozy garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved but it was ok.

    Everything!!! Super accommodating, very very clean, towels changed everyday!, close to everything, fantastic couple (owners) of this wonderful bnb! It’s better than a 4 star hotel! I adore the garden and the flowers everywhere! Very relaxing and no city noise. We would definitely come back here! We recommend to everyone Galini Pension! We had a wonderful stay! 👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about Galini pension exceeded my expectations, nice quite, clean. Beautiful gardens. Room with balcony was great. Staff very friendly , helpful. I’d stay again definitely.also great value too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the shady garden at the front was lovely, it meant the room was always dark and almost no sun reached the balcony. No water supplied - I've never stayed anywhere where at least one bottle is not supplied.

    Quiet location, but still within 5-10 mins of all services in the port area. I appreciated the free port transfers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property has seen better days and is a little rough around the edges. It's also in a fairly dusty unattractive part of town. But, these are hardly critical issues, unless you need to promenade the chora which is a short bus ride away.

    This is a pleasant family-run pension a block back from the port beach, within an easy level walk of the sand, tavernas, ferry, bus and shops. It has cool terraces and established gardens, and offers meals and bar service. If you notify the owners in advance, they may be able to pick you up from the ferry, although it is hardly necessary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have a pool, had to wait around for a long time to check in.

    A small but quaint hotel, really friendly staff. The location was about a 15 minute to the port, or a 10 minute bus to the centre of Ios. 5 minute walk to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours which was unfortunate. Balconys were too close to other people's!

    Great location for port, beach and town. Very quiet location too. All walkable. Lift from port and lots of information on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants near by were very expensive. Far from the village and the bars.

    Loved the Irish lady that checked us in. She was very very helpful and made our stay very pleasant. Also very close to the port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we arrived we felt welcome. We were given a map of the island and the lady pointed out the best beaches, clubs and where the restaurants and shops were. The room was clean with a fridge and a good size bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Lovely staff, very helpful. Picked us up and returned us to the port. Very clean room and comfortable. Beautiful garden. Good location. Would return again if in ios

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is amazing,it is very close to the port,the yard is a little paradise with plenty of trees and plants,the room was spacious and very clean - comfortable,the hostess is one of the best person i have ever met in my life,very kind and yes they are offerning the best customer service.The price was the best on booking compared to other IOS hotels.Will definetelly come back!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit dark and opened onto main pathway but was very quiet and peaceful but privacy an issue

    Situated away from the main town area. Set in a very peaceful garden with helpful, friendly and cheerful staff. Very clean room with air con and breakfast available at extra cost

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a private seaview balcony and next time was advised by owner to request this.There was not one available on our stay this time so was not anyone's fault.

    I liked our stay at Galini because it is very friendly and the feeling that the owners really care about their customers. The property is clean and tastefully decorated. We requested an electric kettle which was in our studio apartment on our arrival. We were met at the port and given a lift back when leaving.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice staff who helped us with a few requests. Daily cleaning meant you always came back to a nice clean room. Nice quiet place. Great value for money. Very happy and would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was the wifi did not work very well at all.

    Room was extremely clean, was cleaned every day with fresh towels. Fridge and aircon worked perfect. It was nice to find a kettle and mugs and breakfast bowls/cutlery left for us. Staff were very friendly and good parking for the scooter we hired.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast tray was a nice touch. I especially enjoyed being able to eat it out on the balcony. Andreas was amazing and even offered me free wine on the couple nights I sat outside on balcony in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Maybe a little kitchenette and kettle in the room for a little snack

    Very friendly staff excellent breakfast great location for beaches, tavernas and shops and very close to the bus links.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place not far from the Port with a beautiful garden where to sit and relax!The owners are very nice and kind people and took us back and forth to the port by car.Such a great place good quality and good price!We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single thing.

    Excellent choice to stay in Yialos, the port of Ios. Calmness, beautiful garden, nicely decorated rooms. The property owner was far more than helpful to assist to any queries and demands. I strongly reccomend it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far from the Chora and Far out beach club

    Good location very close to the main port but far from the main town and the beach club. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was not included but very affordable and tasty

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I would have liked the option of a safe in the room.

    A fantastic base for exploring Ios. Quieter than the Chora but within walking or bus distance. Beach was 5 mins walk and superb if you are island hopping because it is within walking distance of the port - don't be put off by the word port - I think it is really a vibrant and beautiful harbour!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback might be for young party goers but you could skip up the steps to the village in about 20 minutes or get the bus $1:80 and takes about 10 minutes.

    The property is a short 10 minute walk from the Port. The walk brings you past many of the lovely restaurants and bars along the sea front. Galini hotel itself is well appointed with a nice garden to relax in. It's owner's are friendly and welcoming in the true Greek manner where nothing is too much trouble. We had a wonderful stay here in an excellent room with a sea and mountain view. This area suited us as was lively enough at night and if you wanted to party you could get the bus up to the main chora which is lovely at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were picked up upon arrival. We were given a map of the island and told how to maximise the few hours we had on the island. We followed their instructions and don't regret a single bit. We will definitely return to Ios and Galini Pension.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor continental breakfast (powdered and packet stuff). They did not control some guests who were running around and screaming all night so I had to personally confront them.

    Great value, good location and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit basic. Would've been nice for more of a choice. OK value though.

    The room was very clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. It was relatively close to the local beach and port. The owners were very nice and helped during our time there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, 200 metres from nice beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner And staff clean rooms location excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very sweet and helpfull staff. Good location (20 minutes walk to chora). Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional service, very clean & great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to beach. Quiet. Lovely hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from balcony

    Friendly staff , close to beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Short walk to the prettiest beach, Tzamaria Beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La qualite de la pension

    La situation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't realy think of anything...

    I liked just about everything. Lovely room, great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere, closeness to beach and its wonderful garden

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big deal... But not a lot of natural light in my room.

    Nice garden. Close to the beach & port (cafes). Nice if you want a quieter part of Ios.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for 4 people

    The ambience of the hotel. Big balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners are super nice and made us dessert and coffee on the house! Couldn't have asked for better hosts. The location is just perfect (5 min from the beach) and close to restaurants at the port.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Galini Pension is a great value for staying near the main port on Ios and exploring the island. The staff who run the small hotel (and I presume also own it) are very friendly and helpful. The studio we stayed in was very clean and more than adequeate. The full breakfasts which were provided for 6 euros per person were also a good value.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I'm a young 20-year old female traveller and I arrived in Ios by myself. I had been quite sick so I wanted somewhere out of the main party zone. I saw the cheap price of Gallini Pension so I booked it. I was pleasantly surprised at this Pension, with spacious rooms, ensuite, fridge, tv, wifi. It had everything I needed for a relaxing trip away. The location is great, about a ten minute walk to the port and 3 minute walk to the beach. Close to resturants and shops. Thankyou again Galini Pension!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying here was like a home away from home. Just like staying at your parents place: you had to keep it down after 11 but you were well looked after! The staff were beyond helpful and considerate during our stay. One if the little things that made a difference was; knowing we had some big nights they would leave our room until last so as to let us sleep in. Offering a ride to the ferry on the way out the door was also extremely helpful. By pure luck we stayed here the longest of all the islands and I'm really glad we did. As far as accommodation goes in the Greek islands this was amongst the best Ive seen for a modest budget.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was very basic.

    The staff where so very helpful, went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable. Great location, 5 minutes to the beach and 10 minutes to the port.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Better wifi connection would behelpful, but that seems to be aproblem everywhere in the islands. Besides, we didn't come toget stuckon ourdevices!,

    Bernice welcomed us so warmly and was sohelpful orienting us to Galini and the port area. When you enter the courtyard the temperature drops almost 20° because ofthe beautiful, lush growth of plants.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had an early ferry to catch and the reception was not open for us to check out (8:00am). Perhaps let the staff know the day before so they can make arrangements to open earlier.

    When we arrived the staff were very friendly, recommended some places to visit & gave us a great map of the island. Short walk to bus stop & port

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All good

    Lovely owners who go the extra mile . More of a community than just a hotel. Close to beach and port . Extended my stay and they were so helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. The owner - we didn't get her name :( - greeted us like royalty and gave us a very complete briefing about the island and services. The pension has a beautiful garden providing lots of shade, it's a 2 min walk from the beach, markets and restaurants and the room was beautiful & comfortable. We had our private rooftop terrasse which had a very nice view. Overall extremely pleased with our stay there, and value for money is extremely high. Not a single negative aspect. By all means go there.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cheap, friendly, clean rooms at a great price. A quiet location only a very short walk from the beach or the port. Room of good size with a large balcony. Free car parking, good wifi and nice front courtyard to relax in.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was only here for 2 nights but it was a perfect little stay and so cheap! The owners are so friendly and always said hi. They helped me with my luggage and gave me a map and the directions to the village.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location a little far from the port, restaurants and bus stop.

    staffs are very kind and clean the room everyday. transfer form/to port.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Up a large hill. Rather basic accommodations.

    Friendly staff. Easy to change reservation. Comfortable and clean. Relatively central location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How friendly and helpful the staff are! Most wonderful hosts we've met!!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The clean room, quiet location but well conected

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very amiable and helpful staff, excellent room, very good location.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Some nice 'touches' in the room.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In a peaceful location but only few minutes walk to lovely beach, port and good selection of restaurants. Fantastic value for money.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Couple

    nothing

    the most wonderful greeting , lovely staff and owners, rooms clean tidy and nice balcony.nothing bad to say

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi not great

    Lovely view, Exceptionally friendly family proprietors, Ridiulously low cost, Breakfast in a lovely most unusual garden.l

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable beds and dank bathrooms

    Lovely garden, and well-located

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: