Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gefyri Hotel 3 stars

Kato Konitsa, Konitsa, 44100, Greece

#4 of 13 hotels in Konitsa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    I wish I could have stayed longer, especially considering my dog was safe on her own on the balcony
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the sound of the running river from the balcony and the excellent service, nothing is a problem for any of the staff and you are always greeted with a smile and a "kalimera" if its morning etc. I also appreciated the cooked breakfast which was included in the price and especially the friendliness to my dog, not one frown from any staff member. Last but not least the fact that the bar and kitchen is open till 11pm. Great place to go summer or winter, I will definitely be back again. What can I say except that this was my 2nd visit, the fireplace worked in the winter and was still lit in the morning, the spa in the room worked then and again now and appreciated the pool and the furniture and shade etc this stay. I also appreciated that every day when I returned to my room, it looked as good as the first time I opened the door, daily housekeeping to another level.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is located next to the Konitsa old bridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to the Konitsa old bridge and river. The courtyard is shaded by giant old trees. The rooms are comfortable and nice. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    A great base from where to walk and explore the Zagiros mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The plumbing and bathroom fittings are eccentric. Restaurant short of ambience, but there were few people staying as weather appalling...

    Wonderful location by the river. Super swimming pool. Excellent breakfast and dinners. Really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    It is not value for your money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was poor. The room smelled like cigarettes. Lots of food on the menu card was not available. The babybed was poor.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, extra helpful staff, clean, cosy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no warm water on the first day, next day it was fixed

    Great location, extra helpful staff, clean, cosy and beautiful rooms, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Everything was so cosy amd staff very very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so cosy amd staff very very friendly and ready to help. Very clean amd very warm inside whilst outside was almost snowing. Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    I liked the fact that hotel is located 50m from Aoos river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the fact that hotel is located 50m from Aoos river and Stone bridge. The place is beautiful! there is old road near the river that u can walk from hotel and enjoy the great nature. The room is clean. Good Breakfast. Stuff is friendly and helpfull. Very recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.3
    Small hotel with few guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generally run-down; very basic amenities; dangerously dodgy electrics; pool wasn’t only for hotel guests (which wasn’t clear in the description) but frequented by local, invariably loud teenagers.

    Small hotel with few guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Location was stunning and peaceful, rooms really large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was stunning and peaceful, rooms really large and comfortable, pool and poolside service excellent, food exceptional, staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic place all round!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Location next to old bridge of Konitsa was great and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The local children and their (grand)parents also use the pool, making it crowded and nosy. When we first arrived they described it as a Sunday pool party just only for a few hours, but the next day it was exactly the same. They should mention this in the description of the facilities of the hotel that the use of the pool is shared with the local community. Which is fine, but still needs to be told so as a guest you can either accept this or book a different hotel. Furthermore the hotel needs updating, everywhere there was something broken/missing.

    Location next to old bridge of Konitsa was great and the outdoor bar and restaurant underneath the trees refreshing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mosquitoes' nets on the windows.

    Location is perfect. River, shadows, greenery, swimming pool.... The staff was very nice and polite. They assisted in booking our rafting trip with the local company. The room was big enough and the bed and pillows are very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel in rural Epirus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave was the only sad thing!

    During a month of traveling around Europe and North Africa with my wife, Hotel Gefyri is the absolute standout superstar. It manages with great success to combine all the benefits of a family-run hotel with that of a resort. The facilities are excellent: there are several bar areas, a large swimming pool, beautiful rooms and set in the midst of landscape awash with mountains, forests and rivers. The staff, led by the owner Thimios, are attentive, friendly, relaxed and kind; we hugely enjoyed getting to know them during our four days. The cocktails are fabulous, there's excellent beer and wine, alongside a traditional, sumptuous menu of fresh and delicious Greek food: trout, pork chops, burgers, tzatziki, halloumi and much more. Hugely impressed with Hotel Gefyri, and look forward very much to coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    We love this resort and we love konitsa 😍🎉🌈
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't allow more time in this awesome village

    It is in an excellent location with a great view of the old bridge, the staff are very helpful and polite. There is a bar near the pool where we would hang out and meet the locals

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Mountain break in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi was a bit slow at times so we tended to use 4G (fortunately roaming is free across the EU now). The tranquility by the pool only lasted until about 2pm when they turned music on - mainly it was low tempo covers of coldplay/adele style songs. Some of the local kids used the pool for an hour or so in the afternoon and the bar staff put pop music on at this time - it didn't bother us too much but might some. If we wanted to avoid the noise we either used the balcony at the top of the stairs inside or sat by the river. Not being big walkers, we would have struggled to get to the centre of Konitsa without a car/taxi. It isn't that far but is up a reasonably steep hill!

    The room was great with a large comfy double bed, dressing table, wardrobe and two small beds made up as sofas. The bathroom was clean and modern and had a bath which my partner was very happy about although the shower head lifted out of the bath and you had to hold it over you if you were standing for a shower. There was a fireplace although we stuck to the aircon as it was 38C while we were there! The staff were really lovely and attentive without bothering us - when we went by the pool they would bring us a jug of iced water and ask if we wanted anything from the bar, if not then they didn't keep asking but kept bringing the tap water which was really appreciated. The staff were extremely kind, nothing was too much trouble! One day I asked the manager if they could wash a few clothes for me and it was done the same day - I asked how much but was told it was a gift! The restaurant served really good food - starters included halloumi on grilled bread with honey and sesame seeds. Mains were great because they were more adventurous than the majority of restaurants around Konitsa - while others just serve grilled meat with chips (seasoned with oregano), the restaurant here also offered their meats in sauces as well as offering a range of excellent pasta meals. We loved that the food could be served anywhere in the hotel including in the room/balcony with no service charge. Meal prices were good (starters big enough for 2 people from 3-5 euros and mains from 6.50-8.50 euros). Snacks were also available including club sandwich/burger for about 4 euros. Drinks were well priced on the whole (5.50 euros for a strong gin and tonic, 2.50 coke, 2.50 Amstel bottles, 5 euros local greek draft beer Mythos). Overall we found this a great place to relax for a week, broken up by some sightseeing at the various attractions the region has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Perhaps the best in Konitsa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious but the variety was small.

    Very comfortable beds. Terrific location right next to the river. You can hear the river crossing at night. Very friendly and helpful staff. The food was great. Right next to Konitsa's Stone Bridge. Easy Parking. Recently renovated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    A quiet small hotel next to the old bridge and Aoos river.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is a bit small.

    The breakfast is good and plentiful. The coffee is filtered, which is OK, could be a bit stronger to my taste. The yogurt is excellent, very thick, good with jam or honey. Our room had a large balcony. The double bed was really of a good quality, the mattress is orthopedic and the linen of fine cotton. The hotel location could not be better, next to Aoos river and to the famous To Gefyri old bridge , which gives the name to the hotel. Very quiet and you can hear the birds in the morning. A pedestrian trail to Stomio monastery (5km) starts right from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location by river and old bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location by river and old bridge. Spacious room, clean, warm and very comfortable. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Perfect place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Definitely to be recommended! Great value stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor thing but the hot tub in the bathroom needs fixing....

    Beautiful rooms and hotel close to the historic stone bridge in Konitsa - we had a great stay there and can only recommend the awesome breakfast that comes with this very good deal!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel near the Old Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel, highly recommended, close to the Old bridge, has a good restaurant on site and great pool, will definitely go again !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great location,the best place we stayed in greece
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,the best place we stayed in greece

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent choice for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor playground was not opened during my stay.

    Family-friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, very friendly and kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, very friendly and kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and kindly staff. The room is big and clean and the restaurant is great!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience such a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no balkony.We have been informed that quatrable rooms have no balkony

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Will come back again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Good starting point for an adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious room, very clean, very comfortable. Very good restaurant in the hotel. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Great location next to old stone bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location next to old stone bridge. Very friendly staff. Nice modern clean rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Likely to return if I'm in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was too close to the sink

    Very friendly staff, nice and large room, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    Very beautiful place, amaizing room and amaizing team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was empty

    Very beautiful place, amaizing room and amaizing team.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ......

    Stuff.location.swimming polla.bed.food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Everything was much more better than I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was much more better than I expected. The ambiance of hotel is really great, the location for my opinion is the best compare all the area. The only problem is the fresh air, you feel always snoozy :)

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    It's actually our second time visiting the area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's actually our second time visiting the area and the hotel. We are amazed by the fact that even during autumn it's a miracle!! After walking 12 hours through the forest we got to relax by the fireplace and taste the delicious traditional trout with vegetables. It tastes like heaven!! the staff of the hotel was always kind and ready to be in place to offer us their services. breakfast included everything!!! Literally everything!! So delicious!the hotel's location was amazing with a great view at the river. An excellent choice to relax and enjoy yourself and the glory of nature.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.3
    Cheerful friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    generally a bit tired. No hot water, electric problems with lights, wifi intermittent. empty pool.

    Cheerful friendly owner. Good evening meal but no cooking on Fridays.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to the stone bridge and river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    ATTENTION: No invoice or receipt for evening meals (36 euros) and next morning for accomodation!!!!! 71 euros

    Close to the stone bridge and river. Nice restaurant and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Location at the bottom of gorge right beside ancient bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location at the bottom of gorge right beside ancient bridge. Easy access to 5 km hiking trail to Monestary. Well worth the hike. Lovely little taverna right beside the hotel is another great option for meals. Hotel pool, rooms, restaurant, all wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Gefyri is a wonderful hotel in a perfect position, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Gefyri is a wonderful hotel in a perfect position, just below the traditional bridge of Konitsa and the river. The hotel has a pool that is very useful especially if you travel with children in a mountainous region at summer (our daughter loved it) and a restaurant under the trees where you can eat listening to the river just beside you. The position is perfect for exploring the area. Our walk from the hotel to the Moni Stomiou was one of the highlights of our trip, do not miss it! The room is large, cozy and very nice decorated with really comfortable beds. The owner is very friendly and hospitable. The homemade breakfast served is under the supervision of his mother a very sweet and gentle Greek lady.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Lovely little boutique hotel, idea for exploring the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked room only, but decided to have breakfast on one day. Breakfast was good, but way overpriced as an add-on. In hindsight we should have booked bed and breakfast from the beginning, which was much better value.

    Lovely little boutique hotel, idea for exploring the region. Comfortable, big room, nice helpful staff, good food and wine, and a swimming pool to provide relief from the heat. Owner upgraded us to a superior room on arrival, which was fab. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent, nice variety, fresh, immediately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No soaps in the bathroom, bathtub difficult to use for tall people..

    Breakfast was excellent, nice variety, fresh, immediately refilled, homemade cakes. Nice big pool Comfortable couches, places to sit and relax

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    A beautiful hotel in an excellent location in nature, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A beautiful hotel in an excellent location in nature, lovely walking path near the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Charming and inviting garden, a restaurant which is active all day and offers local food wiche a very high standard. Very pleasant to sit the garden, with good music. Lovely staff. Good breakfast and a nice pool for children. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    The owner was friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Early impressions were not good. Loud music being played around pool for benefit of local youngsters. Previous reviews had mentioned the peace and quiet. It did take two requests to the owners (I think sister) for it to be turned off. Never the less a lovely hotel.

    The owner was friendly and extremely helpful. The food, breakfast and evening meal were very good. The fixtures and fittings are outstanding, real quality. The whole area is outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect, nice room with nice balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect, nice room with nice balcony, whirlpool bath, good bed combined with a swimming pool, bars, good food and friendly staff. And there's the great surroundings too of course. Just perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.1
    The location and building are great, the room was big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The balcony table and chairs were full of pollen, and the hot water didn't work - even after a request to check it.

    The location and building are great, the room was big and well decorated.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.8
    Comfort bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At night the heater stopped working an it was cold.

    Comfort bed. Nice and quite location next to the river. Facilities like rafting and horse riding available through the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Great almost luxury hotel with family atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends

    None

    Great almost luxury hotel with family atmosphere! Beautiful stay !

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    All the staff was very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast was delightful. The bed was very comfy and the room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    The staff very nice and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Location was perfect by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location was perfect by the river. The staff was very nice and polite, the room was big enough (we had a triple room).

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Every thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Every thing!!!!anszing place amazing hospitality

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not applicable

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. Very peaceful and quiet in June.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Gefyri Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: