Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Athens Golden City Hotel 3 stars

Marnis 46, Athens, 10432, Greece

#258 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 863 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice view from the roof terrace at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood does not feel really safe at night - not many people on the street, but quite a few guys hanging around in shady arcades. Better take a taxi.

    Nice view from the roof terrace at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.2
    smog smog loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rooms are full of smog. The rooms on the lower floor are very loud.

    After complainig we got one of the best rooms 710 (upper floor and on the opposide of the street)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    It was reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t very good but we chose there so...

    It was reasonably priced. There was a lovely, lovely girl who worked upstairs in the dining room who was so kind, helpful and cheery. When we needed a taxi the desk rang for one for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice enough hotel, poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a slightly rough area of town despite close proximity to a lot of the tourist sites. Did not feel wholy comfortable walking around the area at night and had to elect to get a cab to and from the hotel to avoid this.

    Nice clean room with adequate AC and wifi access. Good for a one night stay in Athens in order to catch a flight the next day but would not recommend it for longer stays as I have seen similar hotels in nicer areas for a similar price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The area around the hotel was rough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was rough. The safe in the room was not working. Some of the bathroom fittings were broken. Receptionists were very help but the chambermaids were miserable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Very mediocre hotel at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is unusable - no shower curtain, a tub the size you can use to wash a baby, everything splashes on everything. Room slightly larger than the full size bed it had in it. Horrible neighborhood around it, with riff raff, graffiti everywhere around it, feels like you're in 70s Bronx.

    Reasonable price, but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Athens Golden city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man at reception was very rude. No help at all. The lady we delt with later was much more helpfull. WiFi can.barely be advertised as that since it didn't work. Also neither booking.com or the hotel let me know that the HOTELS BANK would take 4.5 POUNDS directly onto your payment to change currency to Euros, ridiculous and the only time I've ever come across it in a hotel.

    Room was as advertised, location is in a.dodgy part but close to transport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Good for 1 or 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second room had shower with broken floor and mould. shower had small glass so hard to control water. There was a balcony with no chairs and table. Hard to find Greek restaurant in area all fast food

    Close to railway station and metro. English tv channels nice breakfast on rooftop good price great staff especially Elena who looked after us when we had an evening meal. A great asset to this hotel. We stayed at this hotel twice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Good price for a short stay,clean in overall,bar staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The."double" room that It was promoted in the pictures was really small,bathroom the same....5 minutes walking from the subway station but true a shady area.

    Good price for a short stay,clean in overall,bar staff downstairs friendly,cosi medium double large bed,close to subway and to the old town. They have a nice terrace restaurant at the last floor with quite a nice panoramic view. Breakfast buffet was reasonably good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no certain at the shower (which was not very clean) so the bathroom floor became very wet in a minute. Over all the hotel is much more an hostel than an hotel. A lot of noise in the night from other rooms.

    The bed is clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff at the reception was very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not very clean. Balcony faces the road side, no possibility to open the window at night because of the noise.

    Staff at the reception was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are very basic, but overall worth the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    horrible horrible area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AREA was Fulll of drug addicts -sleeping rough, i felt terrified in this area because I was very threated by the incredibly filthy drug addicted homel.ess people who littered the streets there. I stayed inside because I was tooo scared to leave the premises. Also the cleaners left the windows in my room open which let in lots of mosquitos who then feasted on me as i slept. i woke up and asked to change rooms when i realised what was happening (the front office guy changed gladly 0 only to arrive in a differnt room with the window open there too and the room (again) full of mosquitoes

    the breakfast and staff were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    There was no airport shuttle as advertised, which was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no airport shuttle as advertised, which was the reason we booked here. Had to get a taxi. The LED lights outlining the balconies shine into the rooms. It's way too bright to sleep well. Either eliminate the lights or get room darkening drapes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Bamboozled
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood (Omonia) isnt as bad as it used to be, but I would warn people to keep their heads on a swivel. The rooms are small but clean. I'm pretty angry, however, that I searched hotels in Athens with a specific filter applied (shuttle to the airport). Golden City said they have a shuttle on booking.com but I ended up having to pay 60 euro to get to the airport. You see, they do have a shuttle. A shuttle company that they will call on your behalf but you have to pay for it. I stayed at Golden City for 49 euro because it was cheap, but the real cost was 110, which could have got me a much nicer hotel with an actual airport shuttle. I will not be staying with them in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Finest hospitality for a great price point
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is a bit dodge and lousy. The main streets are OK. We walked from the nearby metro station to the hotel. But it is not recommended to take the side streets. All streets are filthy and littered. And you do not to want to bump into the mysterious people scanning for an infamous opportunity to misbehave. Uncomfortable to say the least. The hotel is a shiny star in her surroundings though!

    Very friendly hotel. Rooms with the amenities you would expect in a city based hotel. Comfortable and spacious . Fine, room based airco system. Balcony with street view. And our room had superbly insulated windows. So no bothering street noise. The rooftop restaurant (with an enclosed - and open part) is great and has an extraordinary view of the city. Nice place to dine and have breakfast. All employees are extremely helpful and polite. When one of the waiters was ill, the chef herself took care of us and other guests and managed the whole place by herself. Not only preparing excellent dishes, but still attentive and caring. Amazing! This is what hospitality is all about. Hotel/restaurant entrepreneurs in Amsterdam (where we come from) should all visit Athens and teach their employees about hospitality just by observing the people over there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stay to short

    the room was clean, had a little problem with the ac. but that was probably on me. staff was extra friendly and everything was very clean. breakfast on the roof, Nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay, centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated, but everything worked.

    We booked this place after being let down on another booking we had made for the night, we booked at about 6 pm and arrived an hour later, check in was a breeze. The place is centrally placed and right in between 2 metro stations. The breakfast was a good variety and a really nice view of Athens from the top floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    Ingenting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never replied my emails. Did not care about that other guests/maid stole expensive food from my room/fridge. The kitchen was a joke. No pans, just plates, glass and forks etc.Tiny bathroom and the smallest teracce ever. Way to overpriced!!! 5 euro just to store the luggage safely. No free Wi-Fi. No special breakfast for people on diet( they never replied any mail). Bed box hostel is waaaaay better and also in a very crowded central area. You pay less and are getting sooo much more.

    Ingenting. Absolutt ingenting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a leak on the bathroom roof. we went to reception to ask for someone fixing it or change our room. they said someone will come to fix it but he never appeared, so they never solved it. Moreover there were something in our room that bite us during the night... furthermore the neighborhood was horrible. we didn't like at all. finally, we wrote them because our arrival time changed and we were worried about any reception problem, they replied us the day we left the room (3 days later of our arrival)

    .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Yes, the bed was comfy, and the room was clean
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath is small with a hand-held shower. The bath could have been large enough with a separate shower.

    Yes, the bed was comfy, and the room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Good for short stays but pack light and be prepared
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little hard finding the hotel at first. But we got there eventually. Area feels a little dodgy at night if you are walking from Omonia station. I was on the 7th floor so I could hear the restaurant above bustling in the early morning. The waitress at the restaurant was a little rude, she tries to hurry people out and I was left thirsty. There's no drinking water available at 10 sharp if you happen to stumble in at breakfast a little closer to the end time and didn't get a drink in time. The waitress will off the water dispenser and just tell you over. Never been to place where you can't even order a glass of water. The toilet has bit of a smell of old pipes but it isn't much of an issue. Not enough power outlets were available in room we felt. My friend and I struggled to power our devices. Adapters were also not available from front desk, so come prepared. While we were there the elevator broke down, while they did have a back up one, it stop working when we were checking out so we had to climb down 7 storeys but luckily we packed light.

    Chanced upon this property as there was deal going on at the time of my booking. So price was really reasonable and inclusive of breakfast. The bed is really comfortable, though the room seemed a little smaller then the impression given. Pretty clean, and location is not too far from station. There are a couple nice places to eat nearby as well as numerous mini marts and a supermarket. Balcony view is just of the road and the buildings across but the windows are great at keeping out the noise of the roadside. Breakfast is alright with small variety. The patio of the restaurant is lovely to have breakfast on. Summer mornings and warm and breezy and the view is really relaxing. The man at the check in desk was pretty helpful with tips and tours. The bartender at the lobby bar was friendly and helped warm our food when we had some leftovers. It is good for a short stay if you don't need much but still want a hotel level comfort at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    The room very clean!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I been lied to there said when I asked if there had steps on the entrance to the hotel or towards the lifts there said no there was a ramp when got there there was no ramp there was a big step the taxi driver and a passerby had to help me to get into the hotel the taxi driver ask the receptionist to help me over step he saw I had a broken leg but walked away A young male receptionist

    The room very clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    It was cheap and kept clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was horrible. It was too scary to walk in the evenings and we were in the red district we soon discovered!

    It was cheap and kept clean. It was serviced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    The air conditioner was very weak and when we shower water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was very weak and when we shower water was everywhere. First night was great price but the other 2 nights it went up in price but same facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    It is a nice place to stay at, I would definitely return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only a single elevator which was slow and got quite busy during breakfast time so this was a bit of challenge everytime we wanted to get up or down with the elevator. Wifi was extremely slow and worked intermittently. Blankets were quite uncomfortable.

    The location is excellent,near to city center and main attractions. It is a very nice hotel with clean rooms. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety and nice view from the restaurant. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was nice, i would assume it is budget motel. It is close enough to the centre of the city but you need to go through a few dodgy areas to be able to get to the city, not recommended if you have children. Our shower has bugs in it and mould even after room service had been completed.

    Staff are lovely and buffet breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Genuine Feedback for Golden City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet Wifi is very bad. You hardly get network. Location of the hotel is very unsafe, too many robbers around the hotel location area. Room size is very small.

    Only the rates are good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    value for a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from the main road but not hotel's fault.

    value for a 3 star hotel. good customer service and location. clean. dont be deterred by the graffti around area; pretty safe. be street smart.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.9
    The bar area because it was affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception area more welcoming and polite. Property needs to be sprayed due to mosquitoes. Breakfast was below average. Staff in dining room like robots, no good morning, their hearts were not there

    The bar area because it was affordable. Night shift reception person really polite. Day reception woman was abrupt. Barista guy very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing at all at was awful stay awful hotel bad smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very very bad reception attitude he was a male one .. very bad neighborhood too much hockers too much fights too much noise.. and the room has carpet which is smells very very bad not clean bathroom at all.. in fact I don’t recommend this one to anyone at all . And the has no respect to those whom are sleeping at their room.

    Nothing at all at was awful stay awful hotel bad smell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean accommodation with excellent breakfast and kind staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated in a little bit strange/danger quarter.

    Clean accommodation with excellent breakfast and kind staff at reception. Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel. Location is close to subway but in very bad neighborhood

    nice staf. Breakfast was included although it was not clearly stated in the reservation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely loved it! It comes down to what we each make of our stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like any hotel I have stayed at, and I have stayed at many during my trips around the world, some people can be noisy and forget that others are trying to sleep. To be fair, I stayed at this hotel 7 nights and only experienced 2 nights where I was waken by those arrive back around midnight after a night out.

    There are a number of negative reviews against this hotel but don't buy into them. Stay and make your own decisions, the location, for my purposes, was perfect. 15-20 minute walk to Parliament from where everything else just takes over your day. 5-7 minute walk to metro train station from hotel! The stand are so friendly and will guide you with how to get anywhere. Some will say it's not save at this location at night, mainly pick pockets and homeless but I found it no worse than anywhere else I have travelled to including Paris and Rome. Just use common sense. I plan to return to Athens and I shall definitely stay at this hotel! Enjoy the hotel and Athens. Both are beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Pretty decent hotel, poor location unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room appeared to be very clean, the only thing that I noticed was that is seemed as though they did not vacuum the carpet. But the bathroom, beds, and balcony were all clean. If you prefer not to take public transportation to get to the heart of the city, then you would not like this location. It is about a 35 minute walk (if you know how to navigate) to Plaka, about 25-30 mins by train (this includes walking to and from the train.) The surrounding neighborhood around the hotel did not look ideal for travel late at night. So we always tried to get back not long after sunset. There are homeless people randomly located throughout the city (but I suppose that is common for any metropolitan city), and also an abundance of men hanging out outside many of the buildings near the hotel. I don't want to scare anyone because no one gave us any trouble, nor were we looking for it. But I just want to give a heads up to those who may not feel comfortable with an environment like that. Because there is about a 5 minute walk through the neighborhood to get to and from the train station. It would have been nice to be a bit closer to all the ancient sites and markets. But if you don't mind a little travel, you will be just fine.

    I liked that the guy, I believe his name was Andreas, was pleasant upon our arrival. The front desk staff was very helpful with answering all our questions. The hotel itself was very clean and set up nicely. The room was nice as well with a balcony and doors that allowed the fresh air in. The continental breakfast was the same everyday offering what looked like cornbread with honey, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, slices of cheese, eggs, a variety of different jams for your toast, crescents, and sausage. Not a very big breakfast but enough to not leave your hotel hungry. The view from the restaurant was very cool it gave a good 90 degree view of Athens facing the hills inland, (not facing the ocean). But still very nice to see the city, the restaurant was also very inviting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Bedbugs in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I saw some little bugs running on my bed in the hotel. Unfortunately I didn't know they were bedbugs as I had no experience with them so I didn't care there and just killed 2 or 3 when they appeared. Then a lot of the itchy bites appeared on my body the last day of my stay. When I came back home I went to the doctor they said bedbugs were in the hotel. So I paid another 300 EURO for the disinsection of my home as I brought them probably home in the luggage or clothes because more and more bites appeared after I came back home from the trip. So generally the hotel would be nice but this experience was horrible!!!!

    Good breakfast, nice view from the terrace, helpful personal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room a good size. Only problem is the location. Upon arrival immediately warned not to walk around at night or on the small side streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    This hotel, which has excellent front desk staff, is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel, which has excellent front desk staff, is an oasis in an area of Athens that shows signs of Greece’s financial, high unemployment and refugee woes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is 5 minutes walk from a metro station but the streets near to the hotel are some of the dodgiest that we walked in Athens. Would not advise for sole travellers, especially young women.

    Comfortable beds. Decent sized room. Good selection for breakfast. Lovely area for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    a fair stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room for improvement for receptionist ( girl ). Not very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Dinner buffet was fantastic. Food was good and value for money. Service from restaurant staff was also very good. Room was clean and comfortable. Good housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    good price - quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I asked for wheelchair accessible room and bathroom. So it was not really adapted. F.e. the shower wasn t accessible The staff was very friendly and helpfull (with exception of 1 female receptionist)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    I liked the rooftop restaurant, the information from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my flight back was cancelled at the last day of my stay and the hotel where i was staying was fully booked I had to look for anothe hotel for 1 night. The room was smelling very very bad - from the drainage in the bathroom (closing the door did not help); the bed was very hard - not comfortabel at all for a 4* hotel (as mentioned on the roomkey). When asked If there was another room I was told that the hotel was full.

    I liked the rooftop restaurant, the information from the extra services regarding AirPort shuttle service, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small

    I was clean and warm. Restuarant was spacious and clean on the roof. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful amd arranged a late check out. Breakfast was really good. Plenty selection for a greek breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Great value for the money, however would not recomment any woman to stay there on her own.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighborhood is pretty scary, especially if you are a woman traveling on her own - felt extremely unsafe to return to the hotel in the evening. Ok during the day, though.

    Comfortable room, cleaned everyday. Breakfast served in a restaurant on the roof top - amazing view. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    For the cost its ok but i wouldnt recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelled like smoke all the time even though is a non smoking hotel. The breakfast was terrible. And the are thats located in is very shady and i didnt feel safe walking around after 5pm

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Short distance to archeology museum, nothing to say against staff and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The absence of tea facilities in the room.

    The staff was more than helpful and cleanliness was excellent. Dining at the restaurant is good value for money and remains open till 11pm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    A home at Athens... I'll return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, but OK.

    Wonderful staff. Specially I wish to thank Andreas at the reception. I suffered an accident out of the hotel and the staff was really helpful (checking for pharmacies, helping moving, asking the elevator,...). I felt really helped in difficult circunstances.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    I'd say 7/10, in which the personnel is top grade.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the shower in my room wasn't in the best condition: it was leaking, so there was a bit of a lack of the water pressure. For some reason, after I flashed out the toilet, the water didn't fill up the reservoir again, so it was bit noisy because water would go directly to the toilet. If I wouldn't been as tired as I was, I would probably have had some problems with sleep.

    Reception personnel were very kind and helpful. I was looking for a KTEL and the man behind the desk, found me suitable time, suggested proper time due to my trip details and made my trip a lot more easier. I had to come back to hotel when the bar was already closed, but bartender who was making up his working place still served me with some drinks I badly needed. I can surely say, that the personnel is client-oriented and that is something you can feel. Public areas of the hotel and the room were very clean and that's a good job too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Very polite and helpful receptionist, Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went downstairs for coffee at 10am. Went back up to the room and found 2 painters on my balcony. I opened the window and one said WE ARE JUST WORKING. Ridiculous.

    Very polite and helpful receptionist, Mr. Alexandros.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was a bit strange surrounding of people from other countries.

    it was clean. It looks like is under renovation one of the part. WiFi very good. breakfast was good they could add the choice of nuts and also a toaster. Very close to the metro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    Near to city center but the neighborhood is horrible and scary. Do not leave your room after dark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reserved suite was unavailable at arrival and we were placed in two separate rooms. This was an inconvenience for us with our two children being separate. There was no compensation of any kind offered for this. One of the rooms was sub par, no shower curtain and water got splashed all over the bathroom. The heater did not work properly. The second room was more spacious and acceptable. From the second day on the suite was comfortable.

    The room was just fine. We have selected a suite with 2 children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Though the room rate is economical, but won’t stay there in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really Loud traffic noises throughout the night made me can’t sleep the entire night! Wifi connection is very weak, basically can’t eben use it.

    Near metro stations n good breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    View from breakfast room on the 8th.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When coming from Omonia square, you use a side street, full of rubbish and it doesn't seem too safe after dark. Also, there's just too much traffic at night in this area.

    View from breakfast room on the 8th.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    The service was excellent, very helpful, they are helping...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area where the hotel is locate is not good. Too many people from Syria and not Greek people, where they are looking you and your staff. You're afraid to walk in the night, because they are drunk and not smoking cigarettes.

    The service was excellent, very helpful, they are helping you for 24/7. The room is quit small, but very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    40 min taxi drive from airport, room was basic and comfortable but had been highly sanitized with spray, from a guest who must have smoked against the rules. I had to open all doors and windows to air the room of the sanitized smell.

    Extremely helpful front desk staff, who answered all my questions, arranged breakfast for me with my very early check out, took care of my requests quickly. I slept well and the desk staff followed through well on calling an early morning taxi for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Very satisfied with the value and service. The location isn't perfect but I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I traveled out of season, it was dark by 17:30 and many shops closed in the evening...Some of the back streets in the area are unpleasant and unlit at night. I didn't have any negative expirience but if walking to and from the hotel I'd suggest you stay on the main roads.

    A good reasonably priced hotel with all the facilities I required. Everywhere was clean, the staff were pleasant and helpful. It's not contempary, but the colour of the furniture didnt affect my holiday. There was a Continental breakfast, taken in a bright restaurant, giving me an excellent start to the day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy street, window didn't close very good so a lot of noise. The location of the hotel wasn't touristic. We didn't have fear to walk around at night but it gave us a strange feeling after all.

    Good breakfast. clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location, close to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower has no wall or curtain.

    Good location, close to metro. Very beuatiful view from the roof terrace where we could have the breakfast. Kind and helpful staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    2.5
    Not worth the money for a short stay. Too far from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service very poor. No one answer when you call for help.room was very odour smell. AC not working bathroom very small. Didn't like anything, except brakfast was good service and staff was very polite.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.9
    I do not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Bad attitude of staff - Charging the rate for the credit card (without approval) - Bad surrounding - Small room with smoking - Wifi not working - very noisy at night

    Nothing. One of the worst place that I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    No sleep from careless housekeeping left an extremely bad and weary impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not receive new sheets for the entire length of our stay. Housekeeping left windows open all day and throughout evening, until we came back to close them. That led to mosquitos in our room and constantly being bit. BED BUGS BED BUGS BED BUGS! So not only were we itchy from mosquito bites. We also suffered from bed bug bites. It didn't help that our sheets we're not properly change and taken care of.

    Complimentary breakfast was a great bonus. There were never enough croissants since they were so delicious but tiny! The young lady, with long dark hair and bangs who worked front desk was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! She was so sweet, caring, professional. She always had a smile and greeted us with a great attitude and positivity. Her and the gentleman with glasses were both so helpful and patient with us and our questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall I was happy with my stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed on the 7th floor and it was a bit noisy as I stayed a floor below the restaurant. Also, there was a few noisy people staying in the other rooms, but this was nothing to do with the hotel.

    Overall I was happy with my stay there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleased with the hotel, except maybe the surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt somewhat uneasy walking in the hotel neighborhood at night.

    The room, the breakfast were above our expectations. 5 minutes walk to metro station, about 30 minutes walk to most points of interest. 4 metro stations to Acropolis. 5 Euros from center to hotel by taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have had an iron and ironing board but apart from that the room was clean and the bed was spotless. The room itself had seen better days but one can overlook this as long as it's clean!

    The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing serious, only small notice if you try to have €500 exchange to small notes,, hardly you will find even banks refused to do it

    Nice and friendly staff, good rate,comfortable rooms,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    At all it's worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was stuck at room fronting backside the hotel but was fine.U suppose to be walking out whole day,no?

    Great location,near to metro station,railway station. Comfortable room,pretty good service.Lovely view from the rooftop.Wide choice of breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, good value for money on bookings.com possible not worth full asking price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged on card even though I asked to pay on arrival In cash. Staff need to smile more and learn hospitality, I cut my leg in restaurant and staff couldn't care less!

    Very comfortable beds, very clean room, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    Hotel in a dodgy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in a dodgy part of Athens. We were afraid to walk in this area even during the day. The room definitely needs to be renovated and the furniture was old and battered. I don't think that the hotel deserves the number of stars it claims to have.

    Service was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Basic all around, the breakfast was great though
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I expected more very basis indeed, something from the 1960.s I would say.

    Basic hotel for a nights stay before my tour. Room was very old, bed hard but had a good night sleep and went on my way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    `Great days of exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot,the system of using the card and not being able to leave on a/c after the heatwave made it really difficult to cool off after returning from a day of touring. The maintenance man got us a 2nd card,so we could leave a/c on. The area at night felt unsafe. We saw drug users and prostitutes when we went out late one night on dark,poorly lit streets.

    Excellent customer service. Andreas was beyond helpful on the desk. The morning breakfast,included with cost was excellent and the staff and view in the roof top restaurant was excellent. The maintenance person came quickly and was going to repair and clean the filter of the a/c. The room comfortably fit the 4 of us,the bathroom was modern and great water pressure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    The concierges especially the young man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood we didn't feel safe at night. The on and off bus sold to us from the hotel had no air on 106 f day. Smoking in the lobby.

    The concierges especially the young man. He was helpful kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable,convenient and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to keep room key card in slot to keep a/c going,was hot.Though also found is common at other hotels in Greece. Room not very spacious for 4 (family room) but ok for the few days we were there. The restaurant hours posted and in paperwork not accurate. Closed 2 hours earlier. Didn't feel safe walking side streets late at night looking for taverna but ok during the day.

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast in rooftop restaurant included every day. Enough beds and towels,convenient to several tourist attractions. Maintenance issues attended immediately. Andreas was beyond helpful and friendly. He should be commended for excellent customer service!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Fine for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite small and there was a strong smell of chemical cleaning products. The metro was about a ten minute walk - a bit far for some people. The area itself was not great.

    Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Great staff and breakfast, rest not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accommodations were not very comfortable: bed was hard, shower very difficult to use; elevator was slow and only goes one way.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.4
    Decent hotel in a sketchy neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sketchy area that is even more so at night! If I had known this before hand, I would have never booked this hotel as I have two small kids! Also, the front desk clerk, as we were checking out, told the taxi that we were going to the airport instead of the ferry port causing us to almost missing our ferry. The cabbie argued for us to give him the difference. Not sure if it was the hotel clerks mistake or the cabbies scam!

    Price and the breakfast. Top floor restaurant with a rooftop walkout and a very nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.5
    A nice hotel and excellent value in a central, if slightly edgy, neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the hotel is slightly 'edgy' and some people may not be comfortable strolling around. However, the reception can call you a taxi and it is a short £3.5 euro taxi ride to the centre of town.

    Buffet breakfast was nice. Room, clean and comfortable. A short (10 min) walk from the metro. An easy (20 minute) walk from the Acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: