Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Sun

Main Street, Ios Chora, 840 01, Greece

#7 of 25 hotels in Ios Chora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Stunning pool and wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attempted the walk up hill into the village mid afternoon and was very hot. We should have got the bus or gone early evening. Walk back to the hotel in the evening was great and under 10 min.

    Efficient pick up and transfer from the port. On arrival at the hotel we were sat down with a lovely welcome and given detailed information about the island. The bus into the town, and anywhere else, was just outside the hotel. Awesome hosts, with breakfasts that are great value for money. Beautiful pool kept in immaculate condition and a great view. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing hotel with lovely pool area - friendly, helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom lacked a holder for the shower head - made showering tricky.

    The addition of a top mattress made the bed welcomingly comfortable, affording a good night sleep. Private balcony with view was great and the poolside are was extremely lovely and inviting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Golden Sun is a very nice family run hotel, only 5 minutes by foot to the harbor and beach, the Chora is reached in 10 minutes. Nice and verry ckean rooms, good beds, air conditioning and fridge.Very good value for money. From the balcony we had a great view of the ferry terminal, beach and the surrounding mountains. Our absolute highlight was the large pool, also with amazing view. The family Kladis, especially Adriana and Alexandros are so friendly, warm and helpful hosts. We felt very comfortable with them and say thank you for the hospitality and the great time, which we were allowed to spend there. We'll be back!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Had a fantastic week in a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the bill for food and drink that we had there was high,but I should have sorted myself while paying but they were to nice.

    The view and comfort of the hotel and Alex and adriana could not do enough to make our stay great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice position and the family that manage the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the day of arrival we had to wait almost 2 hours for having the room.

    Nice position and the family that manage the hotel was really friendly and with a lot of attention for the guests. They for example bring us to the port on the leaving day and they helped us for renting a ATV.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful, amazing location, facilities, pool and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the location as it was a 10 minute walk into Ios town. The hotel itself is picturesque with a great pool that looks out over the hills in ios and the sea. All of the family were lovely and accommodating helping us with everything we needed. We were picked up at the port and given recommendations of where to eat and visit in Ios. We were also dropped at the port at the end of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Alex and his family made our stay a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alex and his family made our stay a pleasure. Nothing was too much for them. We became stranded at one stage due to transport issues and we were picked up from the port and given our previous room back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.5
    Tranquil and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the greatest spot location wise but only 5 minute walk to the port area and can catch a bus to the town and beaches. The bathroom could use a little modernisation too but always hot water available.

    the room had air con with a balcony that looked over the port area - really beautiful view. The pool was amazing to swim in and lounge by.. staff were amazing and when we checked out we got driven down to catch our ferry. There is a bus stop right out the front and the bus comes every 15 mins. The area was really nice and quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Amazing stay in Ios and Golden Sun!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Golden Sun staff was great! It is a family owned resort, so the whole family was VERY accommodating and genuine! Not only it is reasonable priced but you are also in the middle of everything. The pool area has an amazing scenic view. Whether you are coming alonem with friends or significant other...I highly recommend Golden Sun to anyone as I am positive you will have a great experience!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. The pool was lovely with a good view. The hotel is close to the bus stop so it is easy to get around.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Great for the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it and didn't like leaving!

    Clean, comfortable rooms run by a very hard-working couple. They were always available to answer questions, give directions, and tell us about the culture of the island. Free round trip ride to the port made tranfers easy. Short walk to the beach and lots of good restaurants near (even Thai)! Fabulous scenic view from the terrace with an abundance of stars at night! We thank Maria, Michali, and daughter for our wonderful time in Ios!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Family run and owned so you were made to feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run and owned so you were made to feel welcome. Pleasant, honest and always willing to help. Close to the port which was convenient. Peaceful location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Really nice little hotel, staff 5 stars, Ios a wonderful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very sympathetic. The owner of Villa waited for our arrival at the port of Ios. He showed us the main sites during transport to the hotel and made a point of not accepting Tipping, everything was done by his sympathy. The hotel is 500 meters from a beautiful beach. The rooms are simple and always well cleaned. It is a quiet and peaceful location. We rented a quad bike which allowed us to visit the island. Ios was indeed a wonderful surprise. And to stay at this hotel contributed to it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    5.0
    Comfortable but staff unreasonable wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave us ridiculous rules , saying our friends couldn't visit or sleep over if needed be, these ridiculous rules weren't advertised and would have stayed elsewhere if we had known these rules existed

    Facilities all worked , nice pool area , cleaner came in and cleaned every day

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we stayed longer!!!

    Amazing service, convenient location, great pool and views, clean and comfortable rooms. 100% recommend for ios accommodation

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were way to big and stiff for my taste.

    The hotel was super nice. The pool and the area around it was comfy and the hotel even supplied beach/pool towels. The breakfast and snacks served at the hotel were simple but decent. The location was good, it took about 10 minutes (uphill) to walk to town (Chora) and 5 minutes to the closesed beach. The bus stop was right outside the door. The rooms were simple and clean. I would stay at the Golden Sun again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The best hotel in ios
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was as comfortable as my bed at home. Staff friendly and helpful. Exceptionally clean. Wished I could have stayed longer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Place was beautiful and the staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous clean room, wonderful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful properly, the staff and hosts were so welcoming and accommodating. 10/10 would definitely come back here and stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Excellent choice this family hotel really cares about you and your stay. I will return here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower gel and shampoo but Alex told me why rooms provide soap instead

    Location staff beds great hotel great value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Service was excellent, what a lovely family, felt very at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent, what a lovely family, felt very at home

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    great hotel and staff. If you don´t mind staying 2km from Chora, I strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recomendo muito!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect service. Picked up at the port on time. Had no efforts to do. We had à very Nice stay hère.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, very clean hotel and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff, very clean hotel and nice swimming pool. Ideal position in the island of Ios.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Very relaxing and successful stay at the Golden Sun Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location- 10 minutes from the main town and the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    The staff is really kind and familiar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really kind and familiar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Alex and his family are caring and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Alex and his family are caring and helpful. They make you feel welcome from the very beginning until the end. They took care of me like family during my trip including but not limited to driving me to and from the port where my Ferry was. The view of the port from the pool is awesome and very relaxing. The breakfast is delicious and the place was very clean. Thank you!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    We just love Ios, everything there is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We just love Ios, everything there is beautiful. The hotel is perfect: the room are very cleaner , every day, we had a cleaner service, the breakfast was good enough with a nice view, also we had a suprise, when we left the ferry, someone was waiting for us. We didn't know about the transfer it's same when we came back for the port. The owner is a nice guy , so friendly . He explained all question for us and gave many suggestions about the island . All staff are very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at both the hotel and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at both the hotel and the island. The rooms are quite, comfortable and clean with lovely views of the sea and located right in the middle, between the Chora and the port/Gialos. A 10 min walk to both locations, with a bus stop right outside to reach both destinations as well as a number of more distant ones. Alexander and his family are brilliant hosts, cheerful and helpful yet discreet, know the island inside-out and will accomodate your needs with a smile. Also very much enjoyed the pool, for an early morning or late evening dip. I could not recomend it enough, eventually became one of the reasons I will return to the island asap.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff were absolutely brilliant and such a lovely place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were absolutely brilliant and such a lovely place to stay. Felt so welcomed and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were tidy and well kept and the whole place was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hosts;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hosts; welcoming, friendly, responsive, helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, good breakfast, lovely swimming pool and within walking distance of beaches, Hora and the port.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    The owner Alex and his lovely family made our stay extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner Alex and his lovely family made our stay extra special. We extended our stay as we didn't want to leave this hotel. Excellent service and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautifull view from balcony, the owners are great and à...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are not in à great shape, maybe the climb uphill (12 min) is à bit though. But there is also à bus you can take

    Beautifull view from balcony, the owners are great and à nice pool

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    The room had a great view over the sea, you could easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    ----

    The room had a great view over the sea, you could easily walk to the beach and to the city centre and the staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the location the staff the swimming pool, the view...

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Really good and friendy staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really good and friendy staff! The owner, Alex, was really helpful. Great location with fantastic view. Hotel located in quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Great & very polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great & very polite staff Quiet place - conveniently near town by car & bus View

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location - close to the port and 10-15' walk to the village (chora). Very clean room. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    nice clean facility owners and well connected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice clean facility owners and well connected. view from the room over the bay of the port of iOS and wonderful pool

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Such a lovely greeting by pleasent hotel manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a lovely greeting by pleasent hotel manager. Everything was orginised and great

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    The owners and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was down but wasn't the fault of the owner.

    The owners and pool area.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: