Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grecotel Creta Palace 5 stars

Missiria, Rethymno Town, 74100, Greece

#32 of 50 hotels in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable break with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearer communication of skybar and skybar restaurant opening hours. We missed an opportunity to eat there. Would have liked a kettle in our room and were unsure why this is not included?

    Great hotel with friendly approachable and helpful staff. A very pleasant spa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There couple have been a bit more food variety at the hotel. However there were still plenty of options to choose from

    I travelled to Crete for a friends wedding. The hotel was recommended and the best part was that the staff were so friendly. They made our stay amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ants in the room and bathroom a slight problem.

    Beautiful expansive hotel with a stunning beach. Excellent facilities and plenty of dining options in the hotel. Very accommodating and attentive staff and managers. Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and especially the beach and plan to return in the future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need refurbishing as the general decor and bathrooms are looking a little tired, tea and coffee making facilities and more plug sockets would be useful! Generally the facilities are very good but a few microwaves and coffee machines around the hotel for guests to use would be great!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The beach and mountain vista is amazing and the proximity to Rethymo is excellent! We enjoyed the buffet style meals and the bars in the hotel and on the beach provided the drinks and snacks we wanted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -ants colony in the bathroom -hotel needs renovation badly -tents on the beach are not free (€68 per day!!!!) -free umbrellas do not give enough shade -hotel restaurants are extremely expensive (you can have a lobster in retimno harbor for the same value as the usual main course in the hotel restaurants) -free water and fruits upon arival. Have to pay for every bottle the rest of the stay. In a 5* hotel? Really??

    -beach -location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.3
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were a let down little old and needs to be made more modern like the rest of the hotel

    the breakfast was amazing and friendly staff the hotel grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was humid and smelled a bit like a wet cave. The restaurants in the hotel are quite pricey.

    The kids pool and the kids club made the stay very comfortable for us. Very friendly staff and direct access to the beach. Small children eat for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend it- overpriced- awful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food was absolutely awful and ridiculously overpriced. Both breakfast and the restaurants. The restaurants served what tasted like over salted microwave meals and they charged an extortionate amount for it. We also booked a double room, in which they stuck two single beds together. We had to ask 3 times for this to be switched to a proper double bed. One time they though sticking double sheets over the two single beds would be enough and that we wouldn't notice. Awful. But mostly the food was the issue. We paid about £1,600 overall for 6 nights and i think it was only worth half that cost.

    The private beach and swimming pools were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Lack of Wi-Fi in Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very poor wi-fi, Very frequently no wi-fi in room breakfast room very noisy with too many clients and children decorations in bungalow shower curtain around bath

    breakfast buffet roof top restaurant the staff the beach beach bar swimming pool interior deco in reception area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely holdiay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little expensive in terms of food for the adults

    Really good room and that children are free with constant buffet and hot food at lunch. Lovely well kept area of the beach too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    6.7
    Wonderful staff, mediocrity in everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pool, very poor kids waterslide, people would pre-occupy seats in the pool and the beach, go for breakfast, and come back in a few hours...! Mainly focused on German and- especially- Russians. Not really being noticed if you are a local...

    Excellent staff, very well trained Atelier was very nice, several activities for children.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    We had a great time here, just what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some of the facilities looked a little dated. The kids pool area could be prettier and needs a ladder to get out of the pool near the lawn area. We went to the "Asian" restaurant one night and it was just the same place where we had eaten lunch but now had Asian decorations!

    We had a great time here, just what we were looking for. The rooms are well furnished and very clean. The beach was beautiful, the pools were spacious. They had kids activities planned and our 7 year old son had a great time too. There was live music at night on patio. On site market for small purchases. Coffee at the little coffee shop in evening. All nice touches. The town of Rethymno is not far away and is adorable. Definitely make the trip.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    The best front desk staff , best client relation manager ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The best front desk staff , best client relation manager , best in every way and what a fabulous location and stretch of beach. Creta Palace Grecotel got it all.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Very good main pool with sea water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor WiFi, need to make reservation in restaurants well in advance.

    Very good main pool with sea water. Good cuisine in restaurants, but quite expensive. Special pool with aqua tube for children. Lots of programs and activities both for adults and children. Small shop on the territory. Clean beach.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    5.4
    Excellent and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms even the superior bungalows are not up to the standards of a 5star. Bathroom poor quality, small and dirty. Poor room cleanness. Way to many children in all areas. Pool facility poor.

    Excellent and extremely friendly staff. Good restaurants and good to excellent food, esp. SkyBar. Wonderful amousebouche at restaurants. Nice beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many kids . Not enough beds on the beach in August . Have seen a few quarrels between clients for beds

    Fantastic staff! Caring and friendly Good sleeping; a lot of green

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Very good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    poor internet connection (and this was only in lobby area), I was expecting to have it all over the place (should be a standard for 5* hotel); fitness room quite small, we had to wait for other people to end their workout; only one beach bar and nobody from their staff came to sunbeds for order- we had to go every time to the bar; very expensive drinks (one fresh orange juice 10 euro!) kids club not close to main beach or pool area, personnel from kids club speaks only Greek and Russian;

    Very good location; friendly and helpful staff; excellent breakfast; good spa area; clean beach;

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.6
    The service at this hotel is AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family bungalows could use some sprucing up and there is no wifi in rooms and very poor wifi in public areas. Not quite a Five Star hotel but certainly Five Star service.

    The service at this hotel is AMAZING! They are wonderful to adults and children alike.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Loved everything, it was great for us and my 7 yr old son,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was nice but last couple of days really crowded. Needed tea and coffee making possibilities in room!

    Loved everything, it was great for us and my 7 yr old son, liked the separate areas.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel and fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were nice, but could use an update soon - other than that nothing of note and was just a lovely stay!

    Great hotel and fab location. Was such a wonderful get away. The staff were just fantastic and really made our stay. The hotel is well managed and the food is excellent (which is rare for a half board buffet!).

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.9
    - Staff is really well trained, my compliment to manager at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant: this is seriously the worse part. The food is repetitive and believe it or not they served salmon (did not know it was a fish of the region) - really poor internet connection - got blocked in the old elevetor - main block is 40 years old apparently but the reception is renovated - old swimming pool

    - Staff is really well trained, my compliment to manager at the Beach and the maitre at the main restaurant - nice access to the sea

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff and service is excellent, the hotel grounds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just very, very many children and babies!

    The staff and service is excellent, the hotel grounds and facilities and decor amazing. The breakfast perfect in a nice outside setting, and 3 more excellent restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.5
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Uneasy to reach the hotel from the airport (100euros by taxi for 1h15 drive or buses with several connections) - Very poor wifi connection (very slow every in the hotel and no wifi in my room) - many Russians with bad manners

    Great staff Nice beach Nice indoor pool Food was fine but not amazing Nice fitness room

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything was perfect. The hotel , the room , the service

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    The stuff very friendly,the hotel is very good located and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The stuff very friendly,the hotel is very good located and the beach is very nice lot of activities to be done.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    Great holiday with my 2years old son and my wife, we realy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great holiday with my 2years old son and my wife, we realy enjoy!!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: