Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Handakas 2 stars

September str. 3, Amoudara Herakliou, 71414, Greece

#40 of 48 hotels in Amoudara Herakliou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    people are smoking inside, even some of the employees, right next to my 2 year old son. that was the only time I felt uncomfortable. Kinda boggles the mind how people can do that while simultaneously smiling at my son. i also didn't like the chemical smell from the floor in my room after is was mopped. Despite all this we had a blast

    it was wonderful. really enjoyed our stay. short walk to the store and beach. the food on the menu is equally delicious as the restaurants on the strip, but for half the price(not sure about the breakfast). perfect place for a family (other than the pervasive smoking). there are children's books and games. The staff was amiable toward my son, alway bringing him potatoes and watermelon upon request. my son enjoyed his time (the most important thing). we stayed there 9 nights, I strongly recommend this place for families

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    OMG Loving the place, as it is ideal for the family. Especially suitable for lovely breakfasts and dinners together! whats more: it's peaceful, as there was no music and parties around, so it is rather best for being in peace!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel 5min walk from the main street of Ammoudara and 20 min drive to Herakleion. The staff was very nice and friendly and the room was basic but very clean. The swimming pool was lovely. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FYI- Handheld shower (not mounted to wall)

    Amazing family-run, small hotel. They always have someone on staff who speaks English. Beautiful pool, flowers, & shady area. Most rooms have balconies. Generous continental breakfast included. Management was very gracious & thankful for having us. A few WiFi routers to ensure entire hotel coverage. 25 Euro ride in taxi from HER airport. Buses close by to take you to Kronos or downtown. Beach is not too crowded in their area of town. Would definitely recommend & stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable, rooms a little dated with only one powerpoint. Wifi only available in reception area. There's also not much to do in the iraklion region, so you'll be having to get buses to the nicer towns such as Chania and Agios Nikolaos or guided tours which cost a lot . I wpuld comeback to Crete, but not in this region.

    Great staff, clean rooms, a friendly atmosphere. The hotel has a pool and bar and breakfast available in the morning which is convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to our late arrival there were no English speaking staff. As a result there was confusion over our rooms and it turned out the next morning we had been put in the wrong rooms. The wifi didn't work on our floor but did on the floor below which frustrated our daughters. This may be because the rooms we were meant to be in were on the floor below. There is no lift so be prepared to carry your cases up the stairs. We were on the third floor.

    We only stayed one night as a stop over due to a late flight arrival before heading on to our final destination. As a result we did not use any facilities apart from the rooms. The hotel was happy to accommodate our late arrival. The rooms were fairly basic on a par with a premier inn and good for the price. The staff who greeted us were friendly and welcoming. We didn't use it but the the pool looked very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.But it would be fine, if the breakfast is more variable

    Everything was fine, Sofia, and the entire staff was very friendly, and helpful. The hotel is really close to the sea, and supermarkets/restaurants. The pool and the bar is also really good. Definitely stay it again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to manage in English. Don't know booking.com though I booked with it. Suspicious

    Low price. Easy to get by car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly people, quiet place, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    very good staf , location close to the sea, and supermarkets,restaurants , clean , thank you Handakas hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from Heraklion, only really good to stay the night cheaply.

    Pool looked ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower.

    Not so far from the airport, but very quiet place. Friendly hoest. Nice garden. A few minutes walk from shops, resturants and the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovey friendly family run typical Greek place. Very hospitable. Would return. No frills

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, feeling of old facility

    Price, proximity to Heraklion

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food can be improved. Go for outside tavernas is the best option.

    Low budget hotel near to the beach and friendly stuff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator, no kettle.

    Good welcome, off season. We seemed to be the only people there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family busines. Great people, welcoming and makes you feel liked home. I loved it cuse it is authentic .. is

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money, basic breakast but you get what you pay for!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Good wifi, balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean, bed lovely and comfortable, staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasnt cleaned not one time during four days

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    If you have no car, you are a good 5 min walk to the tourist street.

    If you want to discover a more traditional style of Cretan hospitality, then this is the place to stay. It's family run, and is simply what it appears to be a hostel style hotel with private rooms and ensuite facilities. It's 5 min drive from the University Hospital pagni and the owners couldn't do more to help. Some travellers are out off because they only speak Greek. But who cares when they are this friendly- it's time you learnt some Greek anyway!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast coffee is bad.

    The owners are very nice.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: