Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heliotopos 4 stars

Imerovigli, Imerovigli, 84700, Greece

#33 of 52 hotels in Imerovigli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Amazing views and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was amazing especially the views just surreal. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great and we would definitely book there again 😀

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was perfect. We had the room in front of the pool and it was amazing. The pool is not busy and it looks like private, the sunset is stunning and with no people around (so much better than crowdy Oia). The food from the restaurant was lovely and the staff gave us the best advices on what to do. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay here. It was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Magnificent hotel with excellent and caring staff. Eleni and Hope were a big help as were the rest of the staff. Views were incredible and the location was great. Room was really great for our family of 5. Plenty of space and unique in its own right.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, traditional lodging sculpted into the caldera and truly lovely staff. Eleni and Hope could not have been more gracious.

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location on the caldera with exquisite views but out of the Frey. Just about perfect in my opinion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great view and great hospitality!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like!

    Extremely friendly service from one and all on the property who went above and beyond in all respects! View from the room and the restaurant was phenomenal. We enjoyed Sunset right from the hotel instead of wasting several hours at Oia sunset point. They serve the best pizza in town and also had fantastic breakfast that got us all started for a nice hike between Imerovigli and Fiera. Hotel is also close to a bus stop that made it very easy to get anywhere on the island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Awesome spot, best sunset on Santorini all for yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s more an improvement than something I did not like. Heliotopos offers two sets of towels. One also for the beaches. But they did not provide 4 new towels when you took them to the beaches. That would have been nice as well as a new supply of shampoo. But this is super minor, because the location and service beats anything else!

    The hotel is on a fantastic location! Simply amazing. A bit on the end of the walking pad (which is a must do on Santorini!) which makes it less crowded than other hotels I think. The sunset from the restaurant but also appartments gorgeous, I don’t think there’s a better location on the island. The staff is friendly and helpful and they do know the island very well. The hotel just has 11 rooms, so it will never be crowded which is a + given the massive amount of tourists on the island. Plenty of good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adorable rooms, unbelievable views and the friendliest, most helpful staff you can imagine. Ate dinner in the hotel restaurant two nights and absolutely loved the food and views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    This is a definite, return to hotel. Loved it and will recommend it for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was the old bathroom tub and maybe a large rug in the bathroom could make it a bit less old and rough looking. Everything worked fine but the bathroom was a bit "rough around the edges".

    Location, view, staff, breakfast and dinner dining was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and the view from your balcony is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard and was hard on my back.

    Excellent location and the view from your balcony is breathtaking. The daily breakfast was AMAZING! The staff were all so friendly and helpful. We checked out early in the morning to catch a ferry and because we missed breakfast the staff pre packed us a lunch bag each it was so lovely of them. Overall I would strongly recommend this to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are excellent. When we arrived the room facilities were not in working condition, eg Toilet flush, lamps etc. But they were quick to offer another room and also did this room up for us to compare. The staff are very polite and friendly. And very helpful. Struck a good rapport with Valentine, Hope and Joseph, who deserve a special mention. The room was a little musty and the the owner explained it was the smell from the caldera. Not suitable for very small children as steps are steep as in most places in Santorini. Overall a wonderful experience and will certainly return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only little thing that bothered me was the room we stayed in that was the very last room at the bottom smelled of the end of a sewage pipe or something of that sort. The smell would come and go but it was pretty strong.

    Breakfast was delicious. Their dinner was delicious. The rooms were wonderful and comfortable. The view was incredible! The staff was awesome, helpful and informative. The location is great as well..it was a cute little town with little shops. Nice walk to Fira. Short drive to Oia!! So nice! My mother and I loved staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Amazing views and great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Panoramic Caldera View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were visiting end of March and repair and cleaning was ongoing all around the property. The repair and construction noise was disturbing our time. Be mindful you avoid the 'repair season'. (Note pool is also closed during the winter)

    Amazing views and great location, great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Like staying with family friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to have seen a few more options on the menu, but what was provided was delicious. The homemade banana jam was fantastic and we've already attempted to replicate it since having come home!

    This quaint little hotel is nestled in the cliff side of Santorini and the views are breathtaking. The staff is small and friendly so you feel like you are staying with a family and they go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. They made transport recommendations, attempted to edit travel reservations, made recommendations for things to see and provided delicious food and drink in their cute cave restaurant. Upon arrival we were accidentally shown to the wrong room, but they offered an additional option to make up for it and we ended up staying in an upgraded 2 story "room". Traveling with my husband and our 12 year old - this was a nice option as he felt cool (as if he had his own apartment) and we had some quiet time. Loved staying here and recommend it to everyone!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The Heliotopis is a family-owned and operated hotel that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Heliotopis is a family-owned and operated hotel that sits on a cliff overlooking the Aegean Sea with a view to die for. The Hotel boasts 10 suites, brilliantly designed into the cliff wall as well as a lounge and restaurant tastefully filling a natural cave. The hotel is situated on a ridge between two of the most interesting towns on the island--both within easy walking distance on a footpath, mostly down hill, with no vehicles. The beds were comfortable, the food, excellent--most of the dishes third-generation family recipes. We spent 2 nights there in March 2018 and found the staff unfailingly helpful and anticipating our needs in an almost magical way. The only way to explain this is their genuine desire to make our stay on Santorini perfect in every way. And on reflection, they succeeded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Simply loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right at the top of the caldera providing the most amazing views. The rooms are very clean and well done. The restaurant is beautiful and food very tasty. Most importantly, the staff is very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Heliotopos has got to be one of the best in Santorini for its location and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Views from the room was out of this world. We booked a triple share room. There was sufficient room for 3 adults without us feeling like we were cramped in. The breakfast spread is outstanding!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    What’s not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like! We arrived very early and Eleni helped us get our room before so we could rest before our expiring sessions. The rooms are very comfortable, the bathroom is super clean. Breakfast was amazing and the attention is the best. Did I mention the views? Because they are BREATHTAKING! Our experience at Heliotopos was great. We are definitely coming back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the price tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of stuff wasn't at the level that the price tag commands. I have already written a long review on Tripadvisor, and can be seen there

    Fresh orange juice, and nice views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The staffs of Heliotopos are very friendly and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs of Heliotopos are very friendly and hospitable. They gave tips that are worth trying for. They also arranged transfers we needed. The hotel has a breathtaking view and the sunset is a must see. Our room was right by the pool and the beds are very comfortable. There is mini mart just outside the hotel. Our experience with Heliotopos is A+!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool could have been a little warmer. It was cool at first but you get used to it. We have a cottage and swim in a big lake so it was nothing to us.

    The staff. They were/are incredible. All of them are genuine, friendly and informative. They did so much for us our whole time there. From insider tips to booking things for us, and organising others - they were so helpful. And from what we can tell, they all have been there for a few years - and that says a lot. For us Imerovigli was perfect. Fira & Oia are just SO busy. We had excellent places to eat close by as well as a couple of mini markets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electrical setting: if you turn too many things on, the fuse goes down. They gave us a room without fridge. The internet went down for a few hours one day.

    There is a path right through the hotel into the neighboring villages. Many interresting books in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Amazing location, friendly staff, stunning sunset views, could do with a little more luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to sleep in a cave. Musquitos joined us. Bedroom was bit claustrophobic. Could have done with a bit more luxery: coffee / tea maker, fridge, own jacuzzi. Dinner was so so.

    The sunset view and helpful staff. Amazing location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    One of the best views over the caldera!
    • Couple
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breathtaking view over the caldera! Very polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Excellent experience! Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Friendly service, location, food, rooms..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very king and helpful staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very king and helpful staff ! Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Quirky but luxurious accommodation with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really comfortable bed. Loads of space on 2 levels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Beutiful location,excellent treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps

    We had excellent time with one of best natural views I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views and thoughtfully decorated accommodation. Most of all very friendly, polite and helpful staff. Also, tour with Spiros was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    So helpful staff and very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    I can’t find a single thing to complain about. It was a great stay at Heliotopos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was very hospitable. Nice breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay and visit the Islands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all helpful and friendly. Everyone communicated wonderfully. The views, including the amazing sunsets, were breathtaking!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast, views, staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, views, staff friendliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Best customer service EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best customer service in our lives. Staff was amazing, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Incredible views and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in midsummer

    Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The readtaurant food and view were incredible !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Must Do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view says it all ... Spectacular

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Best hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with a Loft and Caldera View (2-4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not heated. It was a bit cold, even when the weather was hot.

    Beautiful location! The hotel staff was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at Heliotopos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger area next to pool.

    Excellent view ver good position between Fira and Oia not too noisy. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Caldera View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WIFI

    Great views, large rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise

    Homely and warm

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Everything I perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Cave Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything I perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Excellent service, gorgeous view and fabulous room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Caldera View (2-3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything is awesome!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.2
    Lovely location with a beautiful view of the caldera, away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs to be redone completely.

    Lovely location with a beautiful view of the caldera, away from the crowded parts of Santorini, cheerful and friendly staff! Right on the walking path to Fira.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Staff we're very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not comfortable. Our private balcony was not private as it was on the waking path.

    Staff we're very helpful. View from the wine bar and pool are amazing!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    We liked the location of this hotel, if you stay here you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked the location of this hotel, if you stay here you don't need to go anywhere to see the perfect sunset and it's only a bus trip from anywhere on the island. The staff were great, helping with advice on travel, and very friendly. We would go back here.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming, smiling and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No free shuttle for the guests (value for money) Swimming pool was closed and the kids were (temporaly) disappointed

    Welcoming, smiling and helpfull staff Fantastic view and sunset on the caldeira Beautifull and personalized cave rooms with private terrace The paintings !

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    5.8
    good atmosphere good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel was at his off season period and was busy for preparing itself for the opening so the pool was closed breakfast very poor.high of humidity caused a drops of fresh paint to fall beside we found a huge amount of bugs near our bed and the shampoo tubes hven't refill although its were empty.

    good atmosphere good location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff amazing - Views AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were poor! Room service food was poor! Swimming pool tiny with only 4 sun loungers.

    Staff amazing - Views AMAZING!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing views The stag are what make the difference. Friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    The staff were wonderful and the view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathrooms were very old and need to be updated.

    The staff were wonderful and the view was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Incredible views over the caldera, staff who would bend over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    Incredible views over the caldera, staff who would bend over backwards to help, beautiful décor.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.1
    Very good breakfast, spacious house, & great seaview...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom facilities were old

    Very good breakfast, spacious house, & great seaview from balcony

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly team managing it including the owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly team managing it including the owner. Make you feel at home.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: