Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helona Resort 5 stars

Kardamena, Kardamaina, 85302, Greece

#12 of 42 hotels in Kardamaina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room is cleaned really well only after you ask for that. Just 2 restaurants at the territory (and only one is a la carte) + breakfast is always the same/small! choice of fruits Walk-in store staff is not friendly (all issues are hardly negotiated). Always a problem with the complimentary bathroom stuff (shampoo etc). No animation program for kids/ no field of play, the playgroud has no tent!

    one of the best hotels in the island. Beach is close and clean. Pools are amazing. A few people around in a high season. A lot of pools around, the good ones near the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    1. room is cleaned really well only after you ask for that 2. just 2 restaurants at the territory (and only one is a la carte) 3. walk-in store staff is not friendly (all issues are hardly negotiated) 4. always a problem with the complimentary bathroom stuff (shampoo etc) 5. no animation program for kids/ no field of play, the playgroud has no tent!

    1. one of the best hotels in the island (staff is friendly at the reception-nastya, maria/restaurants-dimitris, ioanis) 2. beach is close and clean 3. pools are amazing 4. a few people around in a high season (super!) 5. a lot of pools around, the good ones near the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so incredibly friendly. The airline lost my luggage and the staff were so helpful in trying to contact the airport, tips for places to go, attentiveness. The pool was lovely and the private beach convenient. Overall we had an excellent trip to Kos and I would definitely book at Helona resort again!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff, front office supervisor and and front office manager on the day we arrived were unfriendly, unwelcoming, unhelpful, unreasonable and took the easy way out by throwing "its Greek law" at us which we subsequently found out was just not true. Should management want to contact me personally I am very happy to relay our experience in detail.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff was somehow tired and grumpy.

    This hotel makes you feel at home. Full but not crowded. Very well designed. Staff honestly gentle. Beautiful and big accommodation. Very big selection of food for the breakfast. We loved it there. Much better than the other hotels in Kos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bus service offered to go to the small town close to the resort. If you have to take a taxi, be aware of the rip off (and illegal) approach chosen by the local taxi drivers to charge you 10 euro for a 2 min. ride.

    All. Everybody seems happy to work here and to be here. No stress and always time for you and your requests. The beach is very calm and quiet. The rooms with a semiprivate pool are amazing. However also the normal rooms are really big and confortable. The food is tasty and you have to force you to stop eating. We loved it here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information provided at check in about the kids events / animation club which would have been nice as we had our 3 yr old daughter with us.

    Lovely comfortable hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not the hotel's fault, but the nearby town, Kardamena, is a bit chavvy. Lots of boozy Brits abroad, etc. Also the tennis courts are next to some stinky sewage. The hotel has a fantastic swimming pool next to reception as well as a second swimming pool closer to the beach. Unfortunately the pool next to reception is roped off as management didn't want soggy people moving through reception. Fair enough, but a gigantic waste of a lovely big swimming pool and the one by the beach gets really crowded as its too small for such a big hotel. Room cleaning felt a bit half hearted and breakfast is like being back at school - get there early to avoid the massive crowds.

    Comfortable rooms, beach is nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room we found a lot of ants. Housekeeping services wasnt so good. In 5 stars hotel it have to be much better! And beds have to be double.

    Almost everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information given freely we had to ask reception for everything and even then it was conflicted! some staff said yes and were helpful and others just telling us to hire a car and drive around. We had to ask about activities provided by the hotel and partner hotel, to tours and maps of town and of the island. There was only a German tour person to explain tours My 12 yr old was counted as an adult in all pricing by the hotel TV guide was not available and sky channels were not available so missed a lot of Olympics and football :( most channels were in German and a lot of news channels Smoothie maker was visible at breakfast but when I brought fruit up and asked for one to be made I was told No! Taxi have to be ordered through the hotel but when we got stranded one evening in the town when we phoned the hotel to arrange one we were told to walk back to town for a bus or to the taxi rank:(

    The lady that made our bed folded my nightdress in lovely shape on the bed. Restaurant hostess and waiters/ waitresses very welcoming

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find, no signs at crucial crossings. Reception staff is very slow. Couldn't find a place in shadow unless the cafes and restaurants tables, where you are obliged to eat something.

    Poor dinner. Awesome breakfast. The pools all over the facility.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would appreciate two sunbeds on the balcony to enjoy the beautiful summer sun without being with others at the pool or the private beach.

    The staff was just perfect! The room was excellent and the view from the big balcony outstanding. Beautiful resort, made with taste. The restaurant a-la-carte was also very nice and not so expensive. The buffet-breakfast was full and delicious, the service was kind and pleasant all the way and always smiling. Mrs Vanna at the reception was very professional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only things to do are pool/beach/food. The location is isolated without a car. On the other hand, it self-selects the crowd and you can walk to the the adjecent hotel from the same group to participate in many activities.

    The hotel is amazing for its welcoming staff. Incredible treatment, never seen anything like in before. Our 2.5 years old daughter felt like everyone was her family. The buffet is good and extensive. We took B&B and added as many meals as we wanted along the stay. The hotel is beautiful and the pool is great. We were in the peak of August and didn't feel the crowds at all. Intimate and relaxed. There are options for water sports we didn't try. We took a car for a day (40 Euros, probably can get cheaper options outside of the hotel) to see the island and it was quite enough. All our extra requests for check in and out were fullfilled.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic liner on mattress makes you sweat like a pig, doonah on bed too hot. The hotel is 4 kms away from town, so you need to hire a car or catch the bus, which is down from the hotel, with NO shade, so you are frying like a sausage while you wait.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing accommodation and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too isolated. Complicated to find

    Quite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic pools and good food in the evenings. Really nice rooms. Very easy to get to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way back.

    The Beach,The Breakfast,Comfort,Silence,The Staff,The Management.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning was meh. Very bare rooms. Front desk staff were nice but not super helpful.

    Nice pools, good gym. Decent restaurants on site.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    boring

    good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way back

    The Room,The Sea,The Friendly Welcome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channel options and that one couldn't swim in certain pools

    Excellent service!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great stuff, thanks to the excellent pool bar girls!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in beautiful location. Well staffed but not intrusively so. Very clean, fabulous food, fabulous pools and restaurants. Right on the beach. Short distance from local town. Probably need a car unless you just want to sunbathe all day!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just small things... coffee quality is not as it should be the breakfast service (good at the swimming pool bar though) and sun beds at the beach shall be a little more comfortable.

    Staff was extremely kind to all the guests, helping to make our stay really unforgettable.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING

    The Helpful Staff, at every department, they are all to happy to help and are ALL without exception very pleasant We will definetly be staying here again, its so worth upgrading to the rooms with their ecxlusive pools

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service , and they remembered my birthday with a special cake , that had never happened This was something very personal to me , great job and thank you so much

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Conncections to the main cities

    Excellent location, infrastructure, buildings and service from the personel. I can hardly find the slightest defect

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi in bedroom

    Clean and comfortable room, very relaxing place, good food and service

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: