Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hermes Hotel 3 stars

Apollonos 19, Athens, 105 57, Greece

#44 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1655 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Simple, clean, pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is smaller. If there are several bags, send up one person with them.

    Pleasant and professional staff. There was a lovely breakfast. Parking was much simpler than I'd anticipated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for a family of 4. Breakfast can be improved. One particular male staff at front desk was extremely rude and inconvenient (unlike the majority of staff we've dealt with).

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable. Good facilities with access to rooftop views of Acropolis via their sister hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good location. Great breakfast. Can thoroughly recommend it and would stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    A good example of negative hotel evaluation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of staff are kind, except for a manager-like man in the reception. He never smile, never say hello and thanks, just took my credit card at check in. The other staff were afraid of him which made bad mood and uncomfortable. He was always in the reception when I came, unfortunately.

    Just location. The room and breakfast were OK, but average considering the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a quick trip to Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an issue with the guests next store to our family room. They said we were too loud and it is a family room. The hotel was wonderful in helping us deal with the issue and we could not have asked for more.

    This was a great spot to stay--great location center of the plaka and walking distance to fun restaurants and more

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great staff and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is tiny, however that is too be expected in Europe.

    The location was great and the buffet breakfast was amazing. Staff were very helpful and they had a great children’s play area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Great staff, but had some water issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately stayed during some growing pains...while the customer service was excellent, our ceiling started dripping water due to the AC unit (apparently a problem the staff was aware of) and there was no hot water during our entire stay (apprx 20hrs). Additionally, not as many fresh fruit/light breakfast options as we were hoping (in comparison to our previous Athenian hotel). I can see how this hotel could be a 9 or 10/10, but we didn't get to see that during our stay.

    Location is spitting distance from the Acropolis museum and customer service is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Well located boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that the elevator fits two comfortably and 4 at the absolute max (it's a squeeze). Not uncommon, but something to note for intl visitors.

    The location is hard to beat - walking distance from the Acropolis, Old Plaka, Monastiraki, and of course Syntagma Square. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the facilities are clean and the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Props for the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed felt itchy and uncomfortable

    The staff of this hotel is just amazing. I forgot my phone in the taxi to the airport. When I was already on the plane, Christina from the front desk, personally made sure the taxi driver brought back my phone to the hotel. Then she send it by courier to my home address in the Netherlands. Thank you Christina, you are an amazing person!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Fairly basic but good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom was disappointingly small for two people. The lift was also very small!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good advice. Also it's a good location for getting around and breakfasts were good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Everything was OK but it was wildly overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massively overpriced for its category. The room would have benefitted from a coffee machine at least.

    Simple, clean, comfortable room. Good location. Average breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast. Rooftop so so but their sister property has fantastic Acropolis views. Good value for money by Athens standards. Good location for touristing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    I loved everything about this hotel 👍👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been traveling around Europe in the past few weeks and have stayed at different hotels and I can say hotel Hermes is the best of all. Staff are extremely helpful especially Oana at the reception. Location is great 👍 only 5 minuets from shops and restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel is very good. I loved the fact that I didn’t have to look for an Internet cafe because I could use the computer at the hotel lobby to upload my photos 😁 they also have an scale to weigh your suitcase before you go to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Happy with my stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price perhaps not quite justified. Wifi wasn't great in room. Very good shower but bathroom floor sapping wet after every use. Need to fix this. Breakfast only OK.

    Excellent location. Nice place. No major complaints whatsoever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we had a shower cabin instead of a bathtub. It was very difficult to keep the bathroom floor dry.

    Hermes Hotel is a good hub for anyone that wants to see Athens on foot. It is just a short walk away from Plaka district, Monastraki and Syntagma. Breakfast had many options, enough for a kick-start of a touristic day. Our room was very clean, good-sized and a had a lovely little balcony. The staff were amazing, very friendly and informative. Thank you to you all, we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Plaka location, wonderful rooms and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Over three days and multiple showers, we simply could not find a way to take a shower without getting the bathroom floor wet. There was a gap between the glass wall and the bathroom wall, which was apparently done by design. They provide plenty of towels so it was not a problem, more of an amusing quirk.

    We really enjoyed this hotel during our three-night stay. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated, everything was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very professional and pleasant. The location in the Plaka is excellent, yet there is no undue traffic noise and the rooms are quiet. If you arrive via the airport metro to the Syntagma station, you simply walk straight a few blocks, then left a block, to get to the hotel. During the day, water/coffee/tea and cookies are offered in the lobby, along with a small bar. We also went to their "sister hotel", the Plaka Hotel, to enjoy rooftop cocktails with a perfect view of the Acropolis, especially near sunset. The Plaka Hotel is just a few blocks away, in the direction of Monastiraki.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    I was really happy with the location of this hotel, it was easy to get everywhere and it was safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle/teabags/coffee/milk in the room.

    There was no kettle in the room to make a cuppa in the morning but everything iléale was smooth. Great location, easy to walk everywhere and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended; can’t even imagine where the stains on the chair came from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff was not friendly or helpful at all. We stayed at their “sister” property; the Plaka hotel (wonderful place; great staff) & it was a completely different experience. If they are related; they should refer to this is the red-headed step child property, not their sister property. Breakfast was old. Look like the leftovers from the Plaka. Dirty.....over priced for what u get.

    Location was good. Convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, fantastic staff, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor Wi-Fi issues. I'm sure that going forward the Wi-Fi quality will be faster and better.

    Hermes hotel is situated in a quiet street in the very heart of bustling Athens. It is very easy to get to the hotel by taking the metro from the airport to Syntagma square. The picturesque Plaka neighbourhood with its traditional restaurants and little shops as well as the Ermou shopping street are just a stone's through away. All main attractions (the Akropolis and the Akropolis museum, Monastiraki, the Ancient Agora etc.) are easily reached on foot and the friendly, polite and courteous hotel staff are more than happy to give you guidance and recommendations re your stay and the area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the main hotel area is very well kept (true to the spirit of Greek hospitality they offer their guests an open bar with coffee and treats until 8pm!). The balcony offering a view to the Athenian skyline is also a great plus! The breakfast is rich and the staff take extra care to keep replenishing the buffet. I had a great stay and will definitely be coming back! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Hermes was perfect for our needs,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needs to be refreshed, once a year cleaning is in order. There was no art on the walls, which would have improved the ambience.

    I loved our room on an upper floor with a spacious balcony. Perfect location; we never took a bus or metro. All of the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance. Complimentary coffee & tea with biscuits were available until 8 pm. There’s a travel agency in the next block if you need to book ferry tickets to the islands. Rooms were cleaned promptly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to have had coffee in the room or at least coffee available later than 8pm at night. The coffee available in the reception area was only available until 8pm.

    The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was very central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only notice that the economy rooms are no capacity for extra beds.

    The hotel is with very good location and walking distance to the major attractions. Comfortable bed and clean rooms. The staff is helpful. Good breakfast and free all day coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streets around the hotel are a bit dirty, and there are old buildings and many vacant lots for commercial lease around, making it not pleasant to walk to and fro the hotel.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Very nice and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice and comfortable hotel. Very, very kind and helpful staff , especially Oana! Thank you very much Oana! Rich and tasty breakfast, some great cakes. Very well located, near Sintagma square, all the major objectives are at walking distance. Definitely I will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable and the best service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the best stay at Hermes! The hostess is so helpful and kind. The room was spacious and very clean, with good beds. The breakfast was perfect for a good start of the day. A pity that we only stayed 2 nights!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The hotel is very central, close to all tourist attractions, especially Plaka. The hotel staff was very kind, especially receptionist Oana, to whom I thank her in addition. Very varied breakfast - I recommend it! Do not hesitate to book at this hotel. You will not feel sorry!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for your Athens experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well of course 8.8 is a very high rate...so perhaps the size of the room I had was a bit too small but only if you are having a wrong expectation from a 3 stars hotel. In fact I had even a same size room 2 days earlier in a Divani hotel...which is supposed to be 5stars Perhaps the coffee could be better and please NO MORE THIS INTERNATIONAL AND USELESS TASTE FOR A TEA SELECTION....get rid of Lipton and find a local/more taste and probably same cost selection

    Location....professionality already from iona the girl at the reception: fast and extremely efficient....honestly having spent almost the last 20years traveling I can tell this girl is a first class. Silent evening sleeping at my 605 room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Discovering some history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in a great location. Very quite and easy way to get anywhere downtown. Breakfast very WOW... local products (very nice to find) and regular items. You will need to skip lunch if you eat everything available for breakfast 🤪 staff is amazing, always smiling and willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location with friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Excellent central location. Clean and modern rooms. Friendly receptionist Ms Oana who is most helpful in providing us with information around the area and assisted us with online check in for for our internal flight the following day. She certainly made our stay at the hotel pleasant. Please keep up the good work. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I left the inadequate lodging provided by the university I traveled with. When I found your hotel, everyone in my group (13 total) tried to get reservations, but the hotel was full. The staff made me feel like they wanted me to have the best experience possible. I will book with your hotel when I return to Greece.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Central location and very comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar would be useful however there are several locally so not too much of a problem

    Central location and very comfortable rooms. Free all day coffee in reception was a nice touch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent 3-star hotel in the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was quite weak on the 5th and 6th floors and we had to go to the lobby for any prolonged use of the internet. Our first room had some elevator noise (the shaft was beside the room) but the second room was very quiet.

    We stayed in the Hermes twice in February 2018. Overall it is an excellent 3-star hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Both rooms we had were very clean and well looked after by the cleaning staff. The location is excellent for all the main sites of downtown Athens and close to the metro and airport bus stops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, excellent service specially from the reception...Oana you are amazing and the other lady...i forgot her name i even ask for coffee out of hours but she was very flexible. And the guy when i checked out early was very helpful. Although i did not use much of my room, i always on the tour, it was a beautiful experience and i would definitely come back to book again and again.

    It was auch a wonderful place and accessible for most of everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    We arrived to the hotel after a long trip and we were...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to the hotel after a long trip and we were exhausted. The lady at the reception desk upgrded our room fot a better. The room was big and quiet, the bed was very conmfort. We slept constantly for many hours. The problem about the hotel is that you can't find room easily. Is always full. Otherwise i should stay there whenever i stayied in Athens!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Location perfect , wi-fi need improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel wi-fi was very bad , I stayed on 5th floor and I couldn't check my mails easly.

    Location is perfect , you are close to Plaka and also Monastraki. You can find the good restaurants near by the Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for money at the centre of Athens
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint is that WiFi was quite slow.

    Overall, a very smooth and pleasant stay. Room was comfortable, staff was helpful and polite. Location ideal for visiting the most central POIs in Athens. Also it is very good value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    A great stay in Athens!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was OK.

    Boutique Hotel. It is located in Plaka neighborhood, close to the center (Syntagma Square) and the best Ermou Street. The hotel is very easy to reach from the airport. The hotel is also close to the Acropolis. The hotel is on a quiet street. Very clean. Staff are extremely polite. Breakfast is superb. For the price you get excellent quality and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed Greek food and hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection is not that good in all rooms.

    Location is perfect, room is comfortable and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was so good. Its worth stay there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Friendly comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room, if on the small side, with newly done bathroom. We were welcomed with wine and cake! Guests can help themselves to coffee in the very pleasant lounge all day. Quiet location near the Plaka and Acropolis so you can easily walk to good tourist places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A kettle in the room would be great for late night tea

    First , the staff. Incredibly nice, efficient, kind and caring. Location is perfect, very comfortable bed and good bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    A good experience overall. Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the last night the ceiling in our room started leaking. This was an inconvenience, but the staff was really helpful and quickly moved us to another room.

    Very polite and helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Good base location to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just ok.

    Good location just a short walk away from Plaka and the rest of the main points of interest in Athens. No frill rooms, but who needs more? Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is great, only few blocks next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I was leaving the hotel I was told by the front desk that the hotel does NOT offer service to call cab/taxi for you. Which I find a little surprising for an hotel of this level, and the family had to walk down street dragging suitcases to find a taxi. Other than this, it was overall an very good stay.

    The location of the hotel is great, only few blocks next to syntagma, and is easily accessible from airport via transportation such as express bus x95. Front desk staff are very friendly, answering question you may have regarding nearby attractions or restaurant. There is also a helpful sign posted next to elevator giving you an informative overview of opening hours and admission price for list of famous attractions for the current season. Breakfast is really good with a lot of varieties. As guest of this hotel you may also walk for 5 mins to their sister hotel Plaka Hotel nearby to access an roof top terrace and bar with a beautiful view of Acropolis (Hermes hotel has its own terrace but not with view in the direction of acropolis). The size of room is rather small (not much space left other than the bed), which is understandable given it's location in the city center. Room are clean and comfortable though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    +Very comfortable bed and pillars for every taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Somewhat small room, but given the low price, it was fine:)

    +Very comfortable bed and pillars for every taste. We enjoyed sleeping! +Very close to all points of interest. You can go around almost everywhere on foot. +Pleasant and polite personnel +Fair breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    EXCELLENT friendly service - DELICIOUS breakfast - PERFECT location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AWESOME, personable customer service. Sooo friendly and helpful all the time. INCREDIBLE breakfast - yummy scrambled eggs, slices of feta cheese, Greek salad, delicious orange slices, pastries, and so, so much more!! Convenient location - no complaints - easy access to the must-see sites.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Quite good for a 3 star hotel in Europe but could do betterregarding cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t feel clean. The shower gel and toilet roll were already used when we went in and the bathroom itself wasn’t so clean. The rooms feel a little shabby. The pillows were not comfortable.

    The staff were really helpful, multilingual, and friendly. The location is perfect right in the centre and a very short walk from the airport bus stop. There was free coffee and tea and buscuits throughout the day. The terrace is nice and breakfast is not bad and rooms are quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    excellent location, clean rooms, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the first night we couldnt sleep because there was a lot of noise from the other rooms and corridors.The next day they changed us to a new room and it was better. Although, rooms are small and if you stay for more than 2 days its a little bit uncomfortable.

    Excellent location, the property is located in the heart of athens, only 3 mins from syntagma. Very close to Acropolis, Plaka, Monastiraki etc. Stuff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Nice breakfast & clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Very personal service which was for us the difference between an apartment and a hotel. We had a family room with connecting door which worked well. We felt looked after and everything was easy. The breakfast was a treat - so many choices and little Greek treats - spinach pie, filo pastry sweets filed with custard, cheese pie, eggs, salad, yoghurt, coffee, tea. Perfect start to a day of sightseeing. Definitely recommend Hermes Hotel. I wish we'd stayed longer but we'll be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has a cozy terrace where you can enjoy the sun and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a cozy terrace where you can enjoy the sun and a small sitting area with a view of the Parthenon. We stayed there over the New Year’s Eve and the location was so convenient, in a very lively area of the city! Also we were welcomed to enjoy the fireworks at midnight from the fantastic rooftop bar of sister hotel, Plaka. We enjoyed a glass of prosecco while watching the fireworks over the Acrópolis, it was breathtaking! The breakfast was delicious and so much to choose from! The people at the reception desk were most amiable and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Top choice in the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good hotel in the heart of Athens. An excellent location from which you can reach all tourist destinations by foot. The X95 bus to the airport is five minutes walk. Syntagma square with its shops and changing of the guards is five minutes away, Monastiraki with its flea market and restaurants ten minutes away, Acropolis fifteen minutes away. My room was spacious, very clean and quiet. Everything was new, the bed was comfortable. Wifi works perfectly. Breakfast is great - lots of choices, from international to Greek ones, meat and veggie options, lots of cakes and sweet stuff, fruit, tea, coffee, juices. It is open also overnight so when you have to catch a very early flight like me you can have a proper breakfast in the middle of the night. The personnel is realy nice and helpful. Also, it is absolutely worth to go to their sister hotel which is five minutes away to see the Acropolis view from the rooftop - amazing, you won't have any better view in the public areas in Athens. I recommend this hotel as it's above standard, has an excellent location and there's nothing I didn't like. Great price, great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location in heart of Athens!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in the heart of Athens! Staff is super helpful and attentive. Breakfast has wonderful selection of Greek items, including delectable yogurt and honey. Nice touch having cookies and water/coffee available all day in lobby. Rooms are comfy, nice bedding and great shower. Easy access to bus transport in main square and loads of restaurants close to hotel. We especially liked the young woman who checked in with us at breakfast each morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The location is excellent, the personnel is very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite cold in winter. Breakfast could be more diversified- at least changing scrambled eggs with fried eggs every 2 or 3 days.

    The location is excellent, the personnel is very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    The Hermes is a great place for everyone!! Very cozy and and in the perfect place!! Just wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is small.

    Easy to walk to the main sites. Top garden has a beautiful view including the Parthenon. The Breakfast is wonderful!! The staff is very helpful.There’s a 3 min walk to the wonderful restaurant The White Horse. There is also a joining family room that is great!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    In love with Athens
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we had problems with was the wi-fi which despite having a router outsider our door the connection was poor but we found this to be the case in most places in Athens. So not the hotel's fault but the service provision in general.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. I have never seen such helful staff in a hotel. They make a point of making sure that you feel welcome and to help in any way possible by offering assistance at all times. Wonderful staff! The location was superb - 5 to 10 minutes Walking distance from main shopping area Plaka, Zeus Temple, metro, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, friendly atmosphere, excellent location, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet pretty slow, difficult to work. Kettle with tea/coffee in the room would be nice. Room a bit small with no view but maybe because it was a special promo offer.

    Nice place, friendly atmosphere, excellent location, good prices and very tasty breakfasts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.3
    Just bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only good thing about this place is breakfast. The rest is just horrible, old and worn out. No noise isolation at all. The internet is incredibly bad. Do not go there. overpriced for no reason. Never again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    It's located in the best spot but don't expect very comfortable sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small elevator and small room. Thin walls which could not protect us from noisy neighbors or the elevator motor noise.

    Very helpful staff. At the first night we could not sleep well because of elevator motor noise which were close to our room, but the very helpful receptionist offered us a better room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location in central Athens, value for money, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The internet / wifi was not reliable at all.

    Value for money, the staff especially Oana were very helpful. The location was stellar too. Also free tea and coffee in the lounge was a nice touch

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.0
    Every day was an adventure so much to see and do ..great trips,friendly people amazing history
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    not enough room for long stay..room small and no drawer space..very expensive for facilities..

    the bed was very comfy and sheets fresh every day.. always plenty of hot water for a long soak n the bath. The lounge service was excellent and staff were outstanding in giving helpful information..got me special food for breakfast which was very much appreciated also a staff member did some sewing for me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great location and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to check out early to catch my flight. The staff volunteered to open up the breakfast area so I can have a quick bite before heading to the airport. The location in Plaka is superb. We can walk to most of the destinations. Plus the Syntagma Square is only 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Our hotel of choice in Athens, definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small lift was a problem but helpful staff assisted with access

    Lovely staff, consistently helpful and cheerful. Great breakfast and beds were really comfortable and the location was excellent for access to the Plaka and Syntagma Square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable, and a great choice for early morning departures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very convenient location for people arriving by metro or airport bus. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean, comfortable, and cheerful. The breakfast is excellent, and staff very helpful. Good value for the price compared to other hotels nearby. For people with early departures, a continental breakfast is available from quite early. I had breakfast at 5:30, and I believe that it was available a couple of hours earlier, even. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    The location was excellent with an easy walking distance to many major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegimite! That probably doesn't count. The room was very warm which was a little uncomfortable for us but probably suited most people. The wi fi was poor.

    Good variety of hot and cold breakfasts, sweets and drinks. The hostess was very welcoming offering tourist information as well as helping with our Greek pronunciations. The kitchen staff were also very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    A centrally located hotel in the heart of Athens shopping district and tourist spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing o didn't like.

    A very clean hotel with staff that went out of their way for you. Also the location was very central within walking distance to all tourist sites

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    As soon as we arrived, immediately the person at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast space was not the biggest but they had a baby chair. The breakfast was really varied and had definitely some exquisite products. The lift is quite small, will not fit the stroller and a big bag.

    As soon as we arrived, immediately the person at the reception told us what the best itinerary would be for what we wanted to do in the little time we still had. This allowed us to make the best out of the time we had. There was also no baby bed in the room since we did not request it but one phone call to the reception and the bed was there in 5 minutes. Very customer friendly - a 10 for all their help

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    In the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet would deifnitely needs a tweak from the hotel

    The location is just great and the staff were very friendly and welcoming plus the cleaness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Great little hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities. But well, it's a 3 star hotel after all.

    Small 3 star hotel with great service and comfortable room. Fantastically located in center of the Plaka. 5 star hotel free breakfast. Very tasty and rich. Good wi-fi. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location and stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room is maybe a bit too small, luckily we were there early but guests coming later could hardly find places to sit.

    For discovering Athens this is the perfect hotel. Reasonably priced, breakfast is excellent, a lot of yummy things to choose from. The staff is fabulous, they are extremely friendly and helpful and kind. The area is very safe and lively, lots of nice places to eat and Acropolis is also very close, so everything very convenient. We even received baclava and wine in the room, which was so sweet of them :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Would consider other options. Would choose October over September as it was 106 mid-Sept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting, closet area very dark. Petite room. Dark, rather dingy street. Only one slow, tiny elevator so needed to plan if you needed to get someplace quickly if on a high floor. Was a bit disappointed as hotel as described wasn't up to expectations.

    Bed was comfortable. Location fair, easy walk to cathedral and some shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would rate the stuff higher if the lady at the reception would not direct us to huge and very touristy and very commercial souvlaki place when we have asked for a recommendation of a good souvlaky place in the area. the one they sent us to was very bad tasting and operated as a production line. too bad,we didn't get to eat good souvlaki in Athens

    excellent location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    An excellent stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was slow in the room but a terminal was available to use in the reception area.

    The breakfast was included in the room rate and was of good quality. We had a superior room on the 3rd floor. The bed was comfortable and the a/c was good. Even though in the centre of Athens the room was quiet which allowed uninterrupted sleep. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was a comfortable reception area where you could help yourself to tea & coffee. The hotel was in a superb location with everything practically on the doorstep or a short walk away. There are good public transport links (metro or bus) to and from the airport only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location for walking to the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the Hotel made it easy for us to walk to all the major attractions. Staff were helpful with directions and accessing the facilities. The rooftop balcony with view to the Acropolis in the evening is terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved how close it was to any where you wanted to go,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved how close it was to any where you wanted to go, unfortunately it took us awhile to realize that. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Lady at reception was friendly and helpful, giving us tips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at reception was friendly and helpful, giving us tips on where to go and the easiest route to walk to. All sightseeing and shopping was within walking distance was within walking distance. Would defnitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, good position, felt safe, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom isn't very big, breakfast was average

    Friendly/helpful staff in a convenient location in the old Plaka district, very close to the acropolis & other attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: