Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herodion Hotel 4 stars

4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens, 11742, Greece

#42 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1468 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is a bit too expensive

    it feels like home .. most of people in staff care for their clients . this counts much ! i loved that they surprised me by bringing me a "Happy Birthday" surprise !! even if the date was not the right one i keep this present in my heart ! i like the simplicity of this hotel. There is a kind of honesty to it . and i like that ! no pretence..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Any people in the room next door (heard through the wall) or transiting through the corridor outside could be heard in the early hours 0600 ish on several occasions which was a bit annoying.

    The breakfast choice was very very good and was always a good start to the day. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. Room was nice with a superb bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is old, and very small, no view, team is not flexible for late checkouts at all...(you must leave at 12 or earlier)

    The location is perfect, next to the museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy the climate control by night.

    A good hotel in a great location. Comfortable and a walking distance to the unmissable Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis itself and Plaka.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing could be better for us, great value

    Location, service and view of the Acropolis at the rooftop restaurant made this a special experience for our 1st time in Athens! Hotel was so comfortable, clean, and easy to access in a quiet neighborhood setting but so close to everything. If we come back, this would be our pick again for hotels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated interiors, not the best cleaning and thin walls between the rooms...The school next door can also be disturbing if you want to sleep longer

    Great location, very nice top floor bar with views of Acropolis, delicious breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed not real comfortable. Noisy, busy street with buses going up the block to the Acropolis.

    Great location, easy walk to Acropolis and Museum. Great and varied breakfast and very nice restaurant. Professional staff. Perfect room safe, big enough for 13" laptop and camera. Nice balcony. Pleasant coffee shop across the street. Athens is a busy crowded city. This hotel puts you right in the heart of the Acropolis area and a short walk from the Plaka restaurant district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are very small!

    Amazing location and views from our room onto the Acropolis. The food at the rooftop restaurant was spectacular and the staff were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the school at the back of the property. I didn't feel well the first morning and needed extra sleep, which was challenging as the kids were outside. However, once I felt better their presence was enjoyable.

    The room with a view of the acropolis was quite comfortable and lovely. The triple room we moved to when our son arrived was a bit smaller but still very comfortable. The beds and pillows provided a restful sleep. The restaurant, breakfast room, and roof bar were outstanding, as was the staff. After a busy day exploring it was wonderful to have a cocktail on the roof and reflect upon the day while viewing the Parthenon and plotting the next day's adventure. The staff at reception was also quite helpful. And the location is quite close to the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. We will miss this place when we leave but hope to return in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was beautiful with marble floors and olive oil toiletries. The linens and bedding felt luxurious! The room size exceeded my expectation. Staff service top notch. Breakfast buffet included many choices. Only suggestion would be to have cold drinking water maybe with lemon slices in the lobby for those hot summer days. Not one complaint from us and we would definitely stay here again and recommend to our traveling friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little bit small, but that appears to be the norm with European hotels at this price bracket.

    Great location in Athens right under the Acropolis, very comfortable hotel and good breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant could of had more staff behind the bar

    Proximity to all the restaurants and the area of Plaka, also the staff were extremely helpful with all our questions and requests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One gentleman on the desk was not particularly patient or friendly with my mother when she tried to speak to him. Towels were not always changed when requested.

    One pillow was very soft, appreciated. Good breakfast selection. Most staff very friendly.Great interior design/decor.Clean. Good location, close to Acropolis metro station. Book a taxi via the hotel to ensure you do not get ripped off by the taxi drivers who charge far more than the journey and also do not put the taxi meter on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent long to check in as the staff said our credit cards(not one, all of 3) were not accepted. As a Signature card holder and a frequent traveller, we did not have any problem using credit cards all over the world and Athens as well excpt here. They finally figured this out but we had to call our card issuer bank back home which was HSBC Hong Kong.

    Perfect location. We loved the top floor bar area. Staffs were kind and the restaurant food was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i didnt like was that the heating was centralized. I know that technically it’s still winter in Athens but i woke up in the middle of my first night sweating. I just opened the window/door to the inner courtyard and i went back to sleep. So no biggie.

    The location of this property cannot get any better. It’s so close to the acropolis that you get the same view of the Parthenon as the Acropolis Museum. There is also a metro station 5 minutes away so getting around is quite a breeze. Since the property is ideally located, you can skip public transport altogether and just explore the city on foot. About the hotel itself, i liked that it was cleaned daily and the towels were immaculately white. You can also opt to have your sheets changed everyday, but for the sake of the environment, i hope no one requests to have theirs changed that often!;) The breakfast was also good. The usual fare but at least there is variety. I loved Herodion Hotel and will definitely come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fairly small.

    Very convenient location. Easy walking distance to the Acropolis Museum and the metro. Very clean hotel with a great buffet breakfast and a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel. Try the restaurant next door, too. Very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, cleanliness of toilet and room. Thoughtful staff to plan a little birthday note and sweets. Room had kettle, towels, slippers, toiletries, extra pillows. We didn’t have to use the air con as it was cooling in the night in March. Nice neighbourhood. Cafe opposite but there wasn’t much unruly noise that bothers. Great location and close to Acropolis, many restaurants (local ones) nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had a room that adjoined another. very loud. the sounds of sex in the room next dp=oor for hours kept us awake.

    places to sit around and play chess in the lobby; also the lobby bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had 15 minutes in the jacuzzi..wanted at least an hour it was so lovely and soothing!..

    Very comfortable..great location..stylish decor but cosy ..relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smaller than what we are used at a 4 star hotel in Europe. Old small TV, but had no need to use it, we just keep bumped into it, because it was placed on the wall, at 1,5 meters high on a small 1 m corridor between the wall and bed. Me and my wifi are both very slim. The air conditioning unit should be replaced, makes noise and need to be closed when you sleep. Maybe the above only apply to this room, maybe not all rooms are the same.

    I especially liked the staff, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good, a lot to choose from, as expected from a 4 star hotel. Very good location, if you plan to visit the historic center with public transport or by foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not as expected, a little poorer than usual for such hotels. Except this all the rest was great.

    The hotel is well maintained spacious and comfort. The regular rooms are quite small though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given, on the 1st floor, was noisy from the road traffic. In addition it was looking very tired. Could do with a coat of paint. After requesting another room, I was allocated one on the 4th floor ( By the excellent reception staff). This room was much better, but again, starting to look a bit tired.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful. The bar area was very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked this hotel so not much to say. Cooked food at breakfast and fruit juice not great

    The bed and pillows were beautifully comfy and we could see the Acropolis from our room- particularly good at night. Staff were helpful and welcoming. The hotel bar had a lovely chilled feel to it-lovely to come back to at the end of the day. Restaurant had very good food at good prices-even if some of the wine was a bit pricey . Breakfast area not as welcoming but breakfast was ok. I didn’t bother with the cooked stuff after the first day but the hot chocolate and mini croissants and fruit were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we booked an Exec room (No.305) with a promice of a balcony, but received a literally 2 steps balcony; no chance to enjoy a cup of coffee outside.

    We loved a view from hot tubs located on the roof.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small and dated TV with only a few channels Not great sound proofing for rooms with a street view - but not that bad, so we slept really well at night

    Great location, good price for value, very close to many attractions (Acropolis, Acropolis museum, Parliament, Temples of Zeus, Hefaistos etc). Metro station and tram station near the hotel Very good breakfast Some good restaurants within walking distance Lobby bar/restaurant (Atrium) is worth mentioning too Excellent cleaning staff. Great view of the Acropolis Many thanks to reception staff for both changing our room the next day of our arrival (the first one had joined twin beds and we asked for a large bed) and also for allowing us to make a late checkout (2h:30min after the mandatory check-out) A nice touch was also the greetings card and I guess traditional for birthdays water with "loukoúmi" for my wife's birthday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location : 5 mins from Acropolis Personnel: very kind and helpful Breakfasts: great variety with fresh fruits and homemade cakes. Free Jacuzzi with Acropolis view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was loud, and it was either too hot or too cold. We could hear the man next door snoring, so the walls were a bit thin.

    We had a lovely view. The staff were extremely friendly. The restaurant and room service were very good. The roof top facilities were great, Jacuzzi etc.. The bed was big and comfy. The shower was very nice. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, great design! This was our first stay in Athens and I was stunned. The location of the hotel, room with Acropolis view (thanx to the friendly staff upon arrival), food, December weather, the city vibe- everything was perfect for our longer weekend and city break chill. We will be back for sure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location within a short walking distance to the tourist attractions,bars, restaurants & shops. The room was well-lit, confortable and clean with all the necessary amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the pillow covers were not washed and gave me dust related allergic reactions It was not expected from such upscale hotel!!

    Breakfast was good with nice options. Location of the hotel is excellent, just next to Acropolis.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the day my room would get very hot and the AC wouldn’t turn on ( December). This made I very uncomfortable during the day Evan with the sliding door open to the huge balcony.

    Perfect location. The staff couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful, simply the best standards of customer care in the business. Five star service and five star hotel. Best find I’ve made in traveling in years. I will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great!

    The staff were excellent! We went to Athens for my mum’s 65th birthday and the staff (Anthony) upgraded my mum’s room and was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in the perfect location and we will def return on our next trip to Athens. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I understand the district is one of the better locations in Athens but there is still quite a bit of graffiti and it's not very clean although the hotel itself was very clean & modern.

    The staff spoke fluent English which was a relief as I speak no Greek. They were also very professional & helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only concern was with the beds, which are not comfortable. The mattresses are really thin, like mattress toppers instead of mattresses. Otherwise the rooms are fine.

    This hotel is in a perfect location, very close to the Acropolis and restaurants. The breakfast is good. The rooms were cleaned well and cleaning crew is very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the hotel provides complementary mineral water

    The hotel staffs were super friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Very close to the acropolis and acropolis museum. Plaka is just 10 min away and Monastiraki is 20min. 5min walk to the Acropolis metro station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were thin so I could hear the alarm clock go off in the next room...it woke me up. The bed wasn't very comfortable...not level.

    Great staff and nice clean facilities, nice bath towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not a lot to complain about. The room's temperature was indeed a bit hot but I managed to adjust it quite easily. Some equipment like TV and A/C could be replaced but I don't use them a lot (especially TV not at all) so no big deal for me on that. The only real issue for me is that I had troubles to use the WiFi connection for a quite long period of time after returning from my walk to Acropolis. I guess that probably the network was a bit confused on whether I have to sign in to it again or not (it didn't offer me the choice to sign in again though). I don't know the exact reason but had troubles to connect for around a couple of hours.

    The staff was really friendly and that is the main thing that makes a traveller's experience nice. As an example for the latter, I would say that I arrived at 22:30 at the hotel which is the time when they stop serving dinner. However, they had no objection to offer me a dinner (great food btw) with a free glass of wine as well. Extra plus the location as Acropolis and Acropolis museum are literally around the corner and a Metro station is also nearby. In general, the location is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated and the walls were paper thin, you can easily overhear those next door

    Excellent location and the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was short and somehow uncomfortable as I could not fit my feet in and I am not even that tall (1.82 m). Soundproofing was also poor as all the noise from the corridor was inside the room.

    Excellent, relatively quiet location next to Acropolis and the Acropolis museum, also great view of these from the hotel terrace. Delicious breakfast with lots of options to choose from. Neat lobby and helpful staff at the reception. Comfortable single room with a spotless bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    If you can see the Parthenon from your balcony, can you ask for more? The Herodion Hotel is in an excellent location to walk to everything. The Acropolis Museum is a block away and is a fantastic museum. Don't miss it. The Acropolis and other historical sites are a 5 to 10 minute walk. The room was spacious enough. The bath had a tub/shower with a glass curtain that covered half of the tub. As an American, I have never been able to figure out how to keep water from escaping using one of those. The breakfast, included in the room price, was great with eggs, sausage, breads, cereals, crackers, fruit – everything you would want. They do need to figure out a better system for getting coffee. There was usually a line. Admiring the Parthenon with drinks at the rooftop bar as the sun was setting was a treat. Due to rain, we decided to eat at the restaurant on our last night. It was crowded so we sat at the bar. The broccoli soup was wonderful. The staff was always available and helpful. If in Athens again, we would definitely stay at the Herodion Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little dated. The "double bed" was simply two singles pushed together - for the price, I would have expected at least a double topper and an effort to make it look somewhat like a double bed.

    Very friendly staff and a nice entrance to the hotel. Very convenient for the sights of Athens - especially the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the breakfast buffet were not very friendly or happy not a great way to start the day after a good stay.

    The breakfast was really good. The overall cleaniliness of the hotel was 10/10. Pillows were very comfy. Size of the room was ample enough with a small balcony to stand out on. Very helpful service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the jacuzzi area facing the Acropolis!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was upgraded but a bit small.

    The location was perfect for access to the Parthenon and the new Parthenon museum and the Plaka. The breakfast was exceptional with a wide variety of choices. The hotel also had a nice roof top bar and restaurant for viewing the Parthenon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. The location is within walking distance of a number of attractions, and close to the Metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Greek Breakfast"? Rooftop bar with no service and closed for restaurant at night? Busy hotel with tiny elevator. So much waiting. rude and snobby staff.

    Location is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, excelent service, clean, excelent decore. If you are interesed in all the archeological sites and museums around the Parthenon, then you could not find better place. I would say that its only drawback, was the size of the rooms. But I guess that in the area where it is located, one can not expect anything more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the rooftop restaurant is excellent. The location is literally right around the corner from the acropolis and acropolis museum. The bed was quite comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room rate was on the high side for what you got, but there was a major marathon in Athens that weekend and all the hotels in the vicinity were booked. The bed looked as if it might be uncomfortable, but in fact I had the best night’s sleep of my trip!

    Quiet hotel convenient to the Acropolis, museum, Plaka, restaurants etc. Staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Spent only one night there and had dinnner at the Lobby. Good food well prepared and plenty of it. Breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice: cold cuts and cheese, veggies, fruit, various hot and cold cereals, breads, pastries and cakes, fried eggs and bacon, scrambled eggs etc. All were tasty and the dishes were continually replaced. There was also fresh orange juice which was constantly being refilled. Oh yes, and a couple of loaves of homemade bread. The hotel is an older building but has been nicely updated. (I want their bathroom!) The rooms have new thermal windows, and when they are shut you cannot hear the kids playing in the closeby schoolyard. And the windows open! I did not visit the roof garden but friends tell me it is a great place to while away time with a drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were here with our adult son, so the room for 3 persons was somewhat small. The extra bed was too short for him, as he is very tall.

    This was our second stay at The Herodion Hotel. We were there 5 years ago, and really liked it. Their breakfast buffet is delicious, the location is near many sites, and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The allocation of time for the jacuzzis and its inconvenience of getting access, towels and card from the front desk

    I loved the location and roof top restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room (which have shared pool) were not really so awesome, because they were on second floor. Room on first floor looked much more interesting because pool is right in front of door. We were few times poisoned a little in canteen and restaurant.

    View from room was very beautiful, room itself quite big and comfortable. They did room cleaning twice a day. Restaurant is a good choice to have a lunch due to cheap and tasty dishes. I would hardly recommend to get a car because they have a big useful parking. There was the best sea i ever seen, water was clean and very calm, beach and entrance to sea were very soft.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great roof terrasse Bar/Restaurant with interesting (really an experience) food and great view... Clean, comfortable, quiet neighbourhood and a footstep to old market and Acropolis. Good breakfast, nice athmosphere. A good choice in Athens for a weekendtrip...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room standards lower than public areas of hotel

    Location is fantastic for seeing Acropolis and museum. Excellent roof top bar and restaurant with spectacular views of Acropolis

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses in room very thin. TV very small 20 inch. Booked a large double bed but received twin beds. (did not complain as not really important). Breakfast: two of four days the fried eggs were not replenished and we had to wait for more. Hot food containers,bacon etc obviously not "monitored" well enough. On asking, the wait staff were great in fixing the problems. Herodian through Booking.com sent me an email telling me my credit card was not valid. I only received the email after I booked in and successfully paid with the same card. I did not get the email because we were on a cruise and not contactable. If I had received the email prior to arriving at Herodian I would have probably "panicked" They could not tell me why this occurred. That said, I would certainly recommend this Hotel for a stay in Athens. The above matters are not really worrying at all.

    Excellent location, friendly and cooperative front of house staff, eg porters etc. Good size room. Great bathroom fittings, good shower. Staff generally very willing to help with any requests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    actually no specific season to unsatisfied

    Good hotel to stay in Athens, very close to Acroplis. walking distance to Acropolis museum. Tasty breakfast, nice staffs and good service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is unfortunate that the room is so small, we stayed in a triple room and it was a squeeze.

    The hotel was clean and the staff friendly, the room top Jacuzzi and restaurant overlooking the Acropolis was amazing. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was amazing very clean rooms everybody so friendly and helpful. It was so close to everything we walked everywhere to the museum the acropolis and all the cafes you could ever want. Also if your going do the 3 hour bike ride around Athens it was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is extremely small and slow.

    The location, as mentioned by other guests, is outstanding. The Acropolis Museum is next door, and you can walk to the Acropolis in 10 min and to the Plaka in 5. Yet the hotel is in a quiet area. Lots of good restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel staff is very helpful. Their brunch is plentiful and well managed (also very popular - you may want to get there before 9am so that you don't have to wait for a table). Their rooftop cafe has outstanding views of the Parthenon, as did our room, and the cuisine was very artsy. We traveled with our 3 kids (2 in college and 1 in middle school) and took 2 rooms; the triple has 3 good size twin beds which accommodated the kids very well and our bed in the double deluxe was large - not the typical small double/queen you find in many European hotels. The rooms have been recently renovated and the bathrooms are very modern. A very nice stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, right next to Megaro Attiki and the Acropolis Museum cannot be beat. Staff was really friendly and wonderful. Roo.s are we'll appointed with Cocomat mattress and pillows!.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed after arriving a little later than expected due to ferry schedule to not be able to have a drink on the rooftop bar, people still there but I guess I missed the last call. Though the hotel is solid, I'm not sure it was totally worth the price.

    The beds were comfortable and clean, great for a good nights sleep. Loved the proximity to all Acropolis sites. The staff was helpful with taxi and information. Breakfast was solid with a lot to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all! Overall good value for money.

    Fantastic location, literally three minutes walk to the acropolis museum and no more than a 10 minute gentle walk to Acropolis; other sites such as the Temple of the Olympian Zeus and so on are also within ten to fifteen minute walk. This made it possible to have breakfast, see one of two things, come back for a rest, cup of tea etc and then head out again for an evening meal or do some browsing in the market. Everything was very clean and modern; bed very comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant (booking recommended) and enjoyed the food and the view very much (menu interesting but perhaps not fantastic for small children - I'm sure the chef would be able to help if you've small ones!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was very originary. We only ate it once in our 5 night stay as we found a little cafe over the road for breakfast. The room service closed early at 10pm. The rooms were very small.

    Location is close to the acropolis, shops and restaurants. The roof top restaurant has good food and an amazing view of the acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very weak - couldn't whatsapp or Skype even from the desktop PCs at the business centre. the rooms are extremely small and stuffy. Had to wait more than half an hour standing in order to be sat at the table I had reserved. Lifts get very busy with roof terrace bar/restaurant so not conducive to guests' convenience.

    The cleaning team and front desk were helpful,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for a room that was rather outdated. I was hoping to relax in the hotel in the afternoon but the upstairs roof terrace (the main attraction) was closed till 6.30pm. There is no swimming pool as well, just a jacuzzi.

    The location was great - close to the old district and the Acropolis

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop restaurant was excellent. We had a short time in Athens , so the rooftop saved us time in finding a restaurant. The view was spectacular and the drinks were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small, A/C wasn't great, only one elevator slowed things down a bit

    Location is just outside of the real nightlife, but close enough to walk. Veiew of Acropolis was amazing, staff was nice, and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and no view of the Acropolis. We had a 1st floor city view which was basically looking at the buildings on the other side of the road.

    It was so close to the Acropolis! Great for a flying visit to do some quick sightseeing. The staff were helpful, warm and friendly. The roof top bar & restaurant was fabulous with view of the Acropolis and sunset. Jacuzzis looked great too, 2 very large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, noisy conditioner, crumbs on the floor, shower was flooding the bathroom every time we took a shower no matter how careful we were.

    The place has perfect location for exploring Athens. The rooftop lounge and restaurant are absolutely amazing. We spent the evening there gazing at the Acropolis with a drink in hand and amazing music in the background. Bed in the room was large and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location near Acropolis metro station, Acropolis viewed from rooftop restaurant and within walking distance of hotel; staff ready to help, great little local coffee spot across the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was overcrowded and seemed to small, while the Restaurant on the Same Level was empty. The staff nevertheless was managing well with the Situation.

    The friendly staff and the location, design and art

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    43,5°C due to climate change

    located right beneath the Acropolis and just around the corner of the splendid museum, unfortunately lacking the original marbles stolen by Lord Elgin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only disappointment was the breakfast, which was mediocre or worse. hotel could do a lot better here.

    location superb. I was upgraded to a lovely room with small terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Internet speeds are atrocious. Still don't know why I have to share my FB to get online. 2. Breakfast is rarely ready at 7 am. Eggs and ham straggle in. 3. Tight quarters. Small room and small bathroom. Other hotels with similar charge have more room, and faster internet, and better breakfast. 4. Conditioner missing in bathroom, though I had two shampoos and two shower gels. Soap dish missing at the sink. 5. Unclear rules about open air restaurant on top floor. Good view of acropolis, but as a single customer without reservation I was told to return after 10 (with hesitation), while a couple that wandered in after me (i have having a drink at the bar) who also did not have a reservation were shown a table. So .... are my Euros worth less?

    Good location from a sight seeing perspective. Good ambience. Great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed there many times and book through booking.com but this last stay our room reservation was not in their system.... very unusual. The staff made it right when I showed them my confirmation email. The staff made things right after about 20 minutes. We had traveled all day.... finding our reservation not in their system...upsetting but they handled it beautifully. Only other small glitz was the waiter in the lobby bar disappeared for 30 minutes after taking our drink order. We sat 10 feet from the bar.....weird!

    There is a roof top bar/ restaurant with a view of the Parthenon. Spectacular day or night. It rain while we were there ....the inside bar is very nice. The hotel also has a jacuzzi. In the Plaka so all Athenian sites are walking distance. A short walk to the underground.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, there is nothing I would fault on my experience of thc hotel

    That having stayed at this hotel last year, I returned to it for two separate visits this holiday. It is well placed for my needs and is clean and comfortable and on both occasions i was given substantially sized rooms. There is an excellent breakfast buffet with helpful and friendly staff. Reception staff are welcoming and attentive to one's requirements.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: