Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hippocampus Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Kamari, 84700, Greece

#2 of 118 hotels in Kamari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Hippocampus is Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much about the property itself, but just all the cigarette smoking ... it’s everywhere it seems!

    The entire staff were kind and very helpful. We were made to feel welcome and as we stayed a week there we became like a part of the family! We were always greeted on a first name basis and felt comfortable and safe the entire stay. Spyro and Andrew both went out of their way to make our time there a wonderful memory we will cherish for years to come!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Nothing was too musch trouble for staff which made our stay perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We cannot think of anything which didn't meet or exceed our expectations.

    staff were always cheerful and very helpful. The pool was an absolute delight and it was close to some fantastic restaurants. We arrived at 4am having missed our earlier flight. A member of staff was up and waiting for us. and got us in our rooms at once so we could rest after travelling all night with young children. Absolutely the best service one could ask for.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Location is great as the beach is just a 2 min walk and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet - definitely needs an update with the speed. Even normal webpages took ages to open. Sometimes there was a strange smell in the bathroom (similar to sewage) but couldn’t place where it was coming from.

    Location is great as the beach is just a 2 min walk and the restaurants are within stone’s throw distance. The host Spiros and his brother were fantastic and really friendly. Spiros took a lot of time to explain the best places to visit, watch the sunset and where to eat. The bed was super comfortable and the rooms very clean. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxed place to stay at beautiful volcanic Kamari Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - everything was great !!

    Very enjoyable place to stay within about half a block from the beach. Beautiful swimming pool and courtyard with bougainvillea and drink service from the poolside bar. Free public parking across the street, and the area is filled with wonderful restaurants and bars. The beach is rocky but beautiful and very swimmable. If you don't want to bring water shoes, you can pick up a pair for around 8 to 12 euro at one of the many shops in the area. We stayed a few days at Kamari beach as a base to drive around the island, and then moved over to Fira for a cauldron view of the Ifestia fireworks. Make sure to visit the archaeological site at Akrotiri which is covered by an amazing structure so your visit is indoors and not in full sun.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Total recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the location directly at the beach is really nice. The rooms are clean, cozy and the bed ist comfortable. Elias Grill at the opposite of the street is a good opportunity to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location just off promenade.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for what you get, although that can be said for Santorini in general

    Great location just off promenade. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. Staff were very attentative and room spotlessly clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Back in my second home on earth ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all ...

    Back in my second home on earth .. Together with so many other returnees from all over the world .. So the best awards of all awards is all of us who return year after year and .. after year to this amazing hotel .. Love It ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is perfect little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer arranged through hotel was expensive. The gentlemen met us at the airport with sign and then put us in a taxi with another customer. Still charged us 20euros

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for beach, resturants and transport. The price is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great 3 days...very relaxing and enjoyable. Highly recommend this hotel and destination. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great and the room and bed were very comfortable. Alex and Spiros were fantastic and I wish we had spent more time there. Next time. Thank you :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    LOVELY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked EVERYTHING! Only thing that would make it better is a sea view and we weren't expecting that so it didn't matter, plus the sea was under 2 mins walk at end of drive.

    Excellent friendly welcome and service, great hotel, gorgeous location. Highly recommended! Rooms spacious and even better than expected. Really clean.. just couldn't fault Hippocampus, will be returning again and again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    breakfast was more then OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was more then OK. Rooms were clean and very nice Warm welcome and a great excursion that the owner of the hotel advised us before arrival. We had a wonderful time and come back to the same hotel next time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great Kamari Hotel Option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Wife and I got stuck on Santorini an extra day (oh darn!) due to the ferry strike, and we booked the Hippocampus Hotel last minute via Booking.com. Upon arrival we were even greeted as 'you must be the couple that got stuck on Santorini?' haha It was great! We actually liked this hotel better than the hotel we stayed at up in Finikia. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, AC worked well, we had a balcony with a clothes line, shower was BIG, as was the bathroom, and the room looked to be recently remodeled. We hung out at the pool, got some food and drinks, and then spent the evening walking along the Kamari beach strip. Tons of restaurants, bars, souvenir shops, coffee shops, gelato shops, on and on. Great location. Oh, and we used the bus, so just an FYI that the bus stop is close to the hotel. It all worked out great. If you're not a pool person, the beach is a short walk. Again, the staff was SO NICE and FRIENDLY. Oh, breakfast was your standard stuff. Coffee, juice, cereal, pastries, fruit, eggs, and some meats. Plenty of places close by if you need an alternative, but we were very happy with it. Kamari is a very nice area. Thank you for helping us out in a pinch! We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airconditioning was not very cold, even with all the doors closed. It could be colder. The pillows could also be less hard. There was a musty smell in our bathroom that didn't go away.

    The staff was extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable. They gave us some great recommendations and were just very approachable. The bed was very comfortable. The location was excellent - a bit quieter than Fira but with the beach just a block away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Staff was realy nice, very polite and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was realy nice, very polite and helpfull. The accomodations were very clean. Location is perfect, very close to the beach, restaurants and grocery stores. Realy good breakfast with a lot of diversity. Great pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    5 star for staff, cleanliness, location and comfort !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at hippocampus made the holiday they couldn’t do enough for us and on our last day styros came over with our favourite drinks on the house , Alexander styros and all the other staff where so helpful as I travelled with a 4 month old they couldn’t do enough for us !! Would go back here tomorow lovely hotel 5 star for cleanliness and location !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay with young kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is closed by a crossing road and not far from a car park, so it is a bit noisy during the day.

    The staff ! Alexander and Spyros were amazing. Honestly we weren't convinced about staying in Kamari to start with but they were so nice and friendly that it changed our overall experience. The facilities are really good and completely family-orientated. That's a "feel-good" place. It is very closed to the beach and the path along it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Awesome for family with kids, less for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - impossible to relax at the pool, it is like a summer camp with kids yelling, dada-ing, crying, yepee-ing every single second. - woke up by kids at 8am every day and noise up to midnight. - bed hard and a bit uncomfortable

    - super kindly receptionnist, he can order you taxi and car rentals in front of the hotel - great pool - great room, a lot of space and good shower - breakfast is ok - 50 meters next to the bus station - good restaurants next to the hotel - supermarkets next to the hotel - black beach with small rocks/sand next to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Couldn’t have asked for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t have asked for more! The hotel is in a great area. Staff was excellent, answering all our questions and arranging services when needed. In general got a very good vibe from the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    overall enjoyable,great location and would book again ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    childrens play area, and poached eggs ha that says it all .

    location excellent ,pool area spotless ,plenty of shade , Alexander and Spiros couldnt do enough 10 out of 10 would come back ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Stayed at Hippocampus with a friend for 3 nights to attend a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at Hippocampus with a friend for 3 nights to attend a wedding. Polite staff, lovely pool, absolutely clean and spotless, perfect location right near the beach and main strip but very peaceful at the same time. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in Greece and I will definitely be returning. Thank you for a great stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Hippocampus stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great little hotel, close to the beach, delicious breakfast, friendly helpful staff, clean and cosy room with lots of space and storage. I would highly recommend this hotel and be happy to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Best holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like it all.

    The hotel is in a good place in Kamari. Near you have the beach, shops, bus station, restaurants. Everything you need in 100m radius. They have a pool which is taken good care of and never overcrouded. The room was clean with AC and balcony. The biggest plus was the friendliness and availability of Alexander and Spyro. They were very helpful with organizing our trips (rent the quad, ship trip etc.) and full of tips what to do in Santorini. If we come back, this is the hotel of our choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful little hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent and helped with anything we needed. Location was perfect and the pool was great. It was never overcrowded which we liked and everything you needed was close. The hotel was right in the middle of everything but it still felt very private.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, even better staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel and even better staff. The staff were so great, wanting to do anything possible to make the stay perfect - which it was :) Thank you for creating beautiful memories.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Clean, helpful, just awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors don't close easy so the slamming can sometimes interrupt naps.

    We can't say enough about this hotel! The staff were extremely helpful, professional, and genuinely caring about our stay. We received assistance getting an airport taxi, ATV rental, dining recommendations, and so much more. The room, breakfast area, pool, and lobby were spotless clean. It was such an easy walk to the beach and the area had many shops and bars. This was the relaxation we needed and Hippocampus was a huge help in making that happen, we will return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Delicious breakfast, helpfull staff, swimming pool, private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing DND on the door, we didnt know, when will be our room cleaned..

    Delicious breakfast, helpfull staff, swimming pool, private balcony, nice room, good location...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved everything - location, people, room, pool and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything - location, people, room, pool and the breakfast was delicious. Great spot away from the main bustle of Thyra, but still a lot happening. Would stay again 100%.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Good rest in a family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a balcony in the room, but it was on the ground floor just opossite the supermarket. However the place is full of beautiful terraces where to stay.

    Very comfortable matress, good breakfast next to the pool, parking facilities just 50 m from the hotel. Many restaurants all around the hotel and just 3 minutes from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, helpful staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have a kettle in my room to make tea at night. Otherwise the rooms are really well equipped. The fridge was great for keeping cold drinks and snacks for children.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff at the hotel. Good location. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice rooms. Near the beach but set back a bit so we did not get all the noise at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, 100 m to the beach, 30 seconds to bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, there’s nothing to complain about.

    Location is perfect, 100 m to the beach, 30 seconds to bus stop and supermarket and in the middle of everything. Clean, nice pool area, friendly staff and a great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great location and lovely private pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too full and firm but they did try to find a flatter one for me as I have a neck problem.

    Great location and lovely private pool area. All spotlessly clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Hippocampus holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Fab hotel. Very clean. Lovely pool area. Central location. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, clean and family run hotel - top quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This small family run hotel exceeded our expectations, with the manager emailing before we travelled to ask if he could help with any transfers for us, etc. I asked if we could have our room early as we would probably arrived around 10.30 am. Whilst not promised we were directed upon arrival to a lovely room with a lovely balcony. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our 4 day stay and we would definitely go back to the Hippocampus Hotel. We also got beach/pool towels - a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful oasis of a hotel. Thank you Hippocampus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't understand why Kamari is so popular as a resort. Ugly black gravel beach, crammed with competing bars and tavernas, with sunbeds in ranks eight deep all along the stretch. Almost no remaining natural beauty. But never mind, you can just enjoy sitting round the pool at the Hippocampus with the bougainvillea and deep green shade trees.

    NO MOSQUITOS ! Friendly helpful professional staff, pleasing modern decor and plumbing, sophisticated lighting, good light exclusion at night; good varied and big breakfasts; near supermarket, bus stop, and promenade. Very welcome beautiful trees and flowers around the pool. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Mixture of nationalities. Kids playing. Marvelous deep shade under the trees. The hotel was a beautiful oasis. Welcoming and good-natured staff at local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    best bed I've ever slept in at any hotel I've been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    best bed I've ever slept in at any hotel I've been to. The staff is extremely friendly and super helpful in being our own personal Santorini advisors.. we felt like it was more of an airBNB because of how personal it was and how it was family-owned. Great experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent stay at this friendly hotel! Aleksander and Spiros were very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The room was comfortable with a small balcony. Our room was quiet facing to the back of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The location was great as close to the beach but near to various nice restaurants away from the more expensive beach front. We went on a wine tour which was lovely; arranged by the hotel. They also arranged a boat trip on the Thalassa which was brilliant. It was also lovely just hanging out around the pool and heading up to ancient thira/cave which was in the local area. I would happily come back to this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    My second home is first.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    -

    A great place for relaxation from work and everyday life. Returns more than happy like many other returnees since many years. Best location throughout Kamari, everything fresh and nice, wonderful pool and … a fantastic staff. Highly recommend from me. Love it ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend, good value for Your money and exeptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff was super friendly and helpful with good sense of humor. Nice and clean room and pool area, exactly as shown in pictures. Stayed in family room with 2 kids and size was optimal. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Location perfect - close to beach, bus-stop, shops and restaurants close by. Very satisfied and definately recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike

    The hotel was beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean, well cared for, elegantly furnished and the buffet breakfast was delicious. A big thank you to Alexander and Spiros for all your help and recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room above the breakfast area was really lovely, a nice view over the pool and a private terrace covered in beautiful pink bougainvillea. The pool was stunning too, such a nice area to relax in. We loved our stay at Hippocampus in beautiful Santorini. Highly recommend everything about this hotel and the Island as a whole. Unforgettably fabulous honeymoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    I wouldn’t return but great pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not cleaned well at all and the pillows sooo hard! Some days beds made and some not. Fixtures and fittings very dated and some broken. Breakfast including drinks was not of great variety or quality other than the Greek yogurt and bread. Some of the staff not particularly friendly which was a shame, didn’t smile or say hello.

    Pool was lovely and clean and a good size. Some pretty planting on the grounds Hotel is in a good location very close to shops, many restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! It exceeded our expectations, rooms were beautiful, clean and wifi was very good, the breakfast is great too! Special thanks to Spyro and Alexander, they were always so nice and helpful, definitely would stay there again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous location, clean, really helpful staff, would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to leave the electric on when we left the room, key card

    Fabulous location, clean, really helpful staff, would definitely recommend this place and we’ll be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    This hotel was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    This hotel was lovely! Basic but modern and clean, had no problem with wifi, close to beach, bars, restaurants & bus stops but far away enough to still be quiet & peaceful. I was moved to a sea view room without extra charge. The staff were lovely & friendly & couldn't do enough for me with booking airport transfers & day trips & knowledgeable about the island and activities available. I was travelling alone & they made comfortable & were so helpful. If I ever visit Santorini again I will definitely stay here!!😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place, staff and location for our engagement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I can't stress how amazing this hotel is.

    Where do I start. I contacted Hippocampus prior to arrival, as I planned on proposing to my partner whilst out there. They leant over backwards to help me out, and after doing the deed in Oia, we came back to champagne in our room, rose petals on the bed and candles setting the mood. They truly helped me make this event perfect. It is a small family run hotel, so they are always polite and help you when they can. 10/10 would recommend, and will hopefully be returning once we are husband and wife.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The staff were so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely. They were really helpful and nothing seemed to be a hassle for them. The location of the hotel is great. It's close to the beach, close to lots of restaurants and on the quieter side of the island, which I really liked. The hotel itself was spotlessely clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Was overpriced for what it was. Luckily we're only staying a couple of nights before flying home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find the owners very friendly or attentive compared to most Greek run hotels

    The hotel rooms were lovely but the trees & shrubbery are to overgrown now which leaves the pool area virtually in the shade all day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel with excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing!!!!

    Everything! Staff were friendly... hotel was perfectly located... breakfast was superb.... It was clean... grounds were immaculate... All in all excellence!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Cute hotel in Kamari, typical grecian property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cute hotel in Kamari, typical grecian property. Both receptionists and owner were very helpful. Breakfast was good with a selection of food. The hotel was a walking distance from the beach, just 1 min walk. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During a power failure on one of the nights the emergency lighting in our room and in some of the public areas was not working. Also sometimes a little noisy, doors slammimg. There was not always hot water in the shower.

    The staff were amazing, room very clean, stunning pool and relaxing area, comfy location, pleasant breakfast, enviromentally aware. Come with a good book and relax!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful holiday, in a great resort, staying a characterful, local-feel hotel. Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Noisy fridge in the room; pillows were a bit hard - & aircon (FREE!!) was a bit fierce overnight.

    1st-off, the location was EXCELLENT: well placed right in the middle of the resort, within a few steps of the beach - but quiet at night. 2nd: the staff were wonderful - special thanks to Spyro & Alexander in particular, who went out of their way to help in anyway they could An elegant, boutique accommodation: not 5* luxury, but it doesn't claim to be - but it's comfortable, beautifully decorated & comfortably kitted out. Had a lovely stay - & would definitely recommend to other couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Kamari and hosts are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Location is good, Hosts are amazing very helpful and insightful that helps you navigate your travel within the Island. Breakfast spread is lovely. Bus stop is nearby hence it makes it very convenient location to access the capital of the Island Fira and Oia. Best Stay on our entire trip to Greece.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Fab hotel in the heart of Kamari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    A great 3 nights stay in the heart of Kamari. A fab hotel very clean and comfortable in the centre of Kamari yet quiet. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and very obliging. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The facilities are just what you need. Unfortunately our room wasn't available for a late check out but it didn't matter as our bags were stored and there is a private shower by the pool so we felt like we had an extra day to enjoy the sunshine and resort. I have no qualms in recommending this lovely hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Super stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very lovely and clean and everything you can need is available The staff was very helpful ... So close to the beach and the bus station The internet is great I m So unhappy to just stay for one day ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, a small family run hotel in the heart of Kamari. From the warm welcome, to fantastic pool, immaculate rooms to the reasonably priced drinks at the bar. Don't hesitate to book your stay in Kamari at the hippocampus hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    amazinf thank you
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a little small. but was ok for the few days we had.

    The staff were wonderful. our apartments was gorgeous very big perfect with our kids. the pool was quiet (until we arrived) always got a sunbed breakfast was ok. there were toys for the children in reception which I thought was lovely. We will return again and recommend to everyone. location could not be better thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Amazing first time experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good breakfast. Some of the previous reviews mentioned the poor internet, but it was really fine. A nice pool outside. The restaurants, bars, beach, market and bus stop are within 50 meters. Alexander and other hotel staff were amazing really! Always here for us and helped us with a lot of things like printing, renting the ATV and organizing our day-trip. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Hippocampus is a beautiful hotel with staff who go out of their way to make your stay memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously, can't think of a thing. Would highly recommend this facility.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. .... comfortable quiet location very close and accessible to all tourist locations..... far enough away from the tourist crowds to be an oasis of calm in the midst of tourist overcrowding. Restaurants in area were well priced . This is an afforadable hotel with a delightful breakfast. This is definitely not a tourist trap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic came out to meet us from the taxi, welcomed us in and gave us a little map and pointed out the best restaurants attractions and travel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Our favourite hotel from our budget trip around Greece!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We absolutely loved our stay at Hippocampus. The location was great, room and pool were lovely but the highlight has to have been Alexander and the lovely bar man (wish we could remember his name). They were like family and couldn't have done more for us. Great value for money. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money, everything was neat and well taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was very warm and welcoming, made us feel almost like family. The staff was very honest in their suggestions and eager to help out with arranging activities for a good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Superb Hotel, loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing!

    Attention to detail second to none, the staff were great, location was good in fact we have struggled to find anything negative about this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    This hotel perfected me and my husbands honeymoon stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff are out of this world awesome! They are so friendly and they help the guests make excellent sight seeing plans to get the most out of the island. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The location is also great as it is close to the beach and many restaurants. Definitely ask the staff for restaurant suggestions!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean and polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for the basic service that they offer

    Really comfortable bed and pillow , the hotel was clean and the staff available help you , polite and kind

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    We had an amazing holiday in Santorini and Hippocampus was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had an amazing holiday in Santorini and Hippocampus was a big part of why we enjoyed it so much! Aleksandros and Spyros are great hosts: very knowledgeable about the island, approachable and, above all, lots of fun to chat with! The rooms are very clean and of an incredibly high standard. The boardwalk (with all its nice restaurants) and beach are literally a minute away and the bigger cities are easy to reach by bus. If you are unsure about what you would like to do during your stay in Santorini, the staff is very patient in making recommendations and explaining the options (for all budgets). We were sad to leave Hippocampus and will definitely return in the future. PS: the sailing trip that is offered is out of this world!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and really friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were very friendly and both Alexander and Spyros could not have been more helpful with advice and helping us arrange trips etc. They even contacted us before we arrived to ensure that we had our transfer to the hotel arranged, which we didn't, so they did it for us and also for our friends who were not even staying at the hotel. I would say they went the extra mile and would definitely recommend the hotel to friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more hangers for clothes...but I'm sure if I'd asked they would have provided!

    This hotel exceeded all my expectations. Staff were more than helpful, all areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean And modern. Super comfy beds. Guests, staff and locals were so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and an excellent start to our island hopping holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We loved everything about the hotel. The owner and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The owner even printed our boat tickets off for speedy ferry boarding o To our next island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is very close to beach and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning of rooms is ok, was better in other hotels.

    Hotel is very close to beach and restaurants. With open windows it can be a bit noisy at night time, but if windows are closed and aircon is on, it is quiet. Great pool, very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    I'll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con & chargers only able to work if you were in the room ( might be a common issue throughout Greece though?)

    Alexander & Spyros ran the hotel in such a professional & friendly manner, always able to offer advice & a great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Extended my stay for another three days at the best hotel of all
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Extended my stay for another three days at the world's best hotel. Can not find a better place for relaxation from everyday life and work. Five stars from me to Hippocampus and their amazing owners and staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, the staff was extremely helpful and made our stay very pleasant. The facilities were very pretty and clean. Located perfectly, close to restaurants, shops, beach. I would highly recommend this place for everyone who wants to have an amazing time in santorini.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, good position, lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Beautiful pool and surroundings. Our room was clean and attractive with extra large double bed and excellent fittings. The staff were helpful and friendly. Delicious breakfast with plenty of choices. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend.. great beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hot and cold. Good breakfast, but monotonous. Not your usual hotel but more of home stay - so if you are looking for 4 star facilities, it's not there ( like room service , telephone etc)

    Very near to the beach. Right next to the bus stop. The hosts were fantastic. The bed was really soft. The cafe opposite the hotel was fabulous. Appreciate the free wine. Good swimming pool. Recommended overall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic place,great location and very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place,great location and very friendly and helpful staff!Perfect place for the kids,good size swimming pool,walking destance to the beach!Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay - See you next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NOTHING

    Great pool, fantastic staff, Alex and Spiro looked after us very well. The room was beautiful. The bed was huge and the balcony was a great bonus. The hotel is located perfectly in Kamari. Close to the beach and all the restaurants and shops. Most of the restaurants at the beach close to Hippocampus offer now free sunbeds if you eat or drink something. I would definitely recommande this hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: