Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Horizon

Plaka Beach, Plaka, 84300, Greece

Review score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Into the beautiful nature of Naxos but with some little issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even if the position of the building allows you to enjoy the nature far from the crowd of the well known beaches such as Prokopi or Agia Anna, there are some issues to mention. First, the closest bus stop is the terminal (Plaka) from the port of Naxos. But from that bus stop, there are other 20 minutes by foot through a dirt road until its end and then by the beach! Very beautiful during the day (if you have not so many luggages) but a little bit dark in the night if you're looking for a nice Taverna. The best solution to reach the building is the car, considering that is necessary to take a dirt road to reach the place. We used (for the next two days) a 50cc scooter; it was ok but in some spots a little bit tough (due to the sand on the road).

    The building is very recommended for the people who are looking for a total relax far from the crowd, into the nature, hearing the sound of the waves. The structure is in front of the beach and provides its guests with umbrellas and sun beds (free of charge). Rooms are basic but clean and spacious (our the double bed is not too big). The view from our room (number 3) was one of the best of the building: from the little balcony at the first floor you can admire the beauty of the sea and the sunset. Lucia (member of the staff) was very kind and efficient to prepare us a basic but good breakfast (that you can choose to have in the room or in the verandah) and lunch (there's not a wide variety but the Greek salads and toasts are tasty) that you can have directly on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Lutvia's (hope I'm getting the name right, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing we did not enjoy so much was the shower (there are no curtains or any other such thing, and the whole floor of the bathroom gets seriously wet...).

    Lutvia's (hope I'm getting the name right, but probably not, and sorry for that) efficiency and niceness (and also her bread, just ask her when it's fresh and it's an excellent choice for breakfast). The location, In front of a beautyfull beach (and not too packed) with free access to the hotel's sun-beds and umbrellas. It's nicely decorated and provides a relaxed and cozy environment. The view from our room was breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Big thanks to Dimitris and Lutfie for their hospitality in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big thanks to Dimitris and Lutfie for their hospitality in Horizon’s summer paradise. Excellent location. Great service with a smile. Proximity to the sea. A value for money choice for a truly relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Stay on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No curtain or anything in the shower, so had to shower very carefully not the get everything wet.

    We had a lovely view over the ocean. The towels was super fluffy and soft! And clean towels everyday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice room in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - a lot of dust -almost all beaches in naxos has dirt roads -you need vechicle for trasportation

    +in front of the beach +sunbeds and omprellas +clean +wifi +helpfull staff all day +equipment for protection against mosquitos

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful all in all :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly helpful people and a place where you can really have your peace and rest your mind right by the beach. Oh and the owner Dimitrios is a fantastic cook. Be back for the moussaka I missed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public transport 15 mins.walk away,but it didn't bother us

    The staff where excellent, we enjoyed the quietness of the location. Great place for a nice quiet holiday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place, the beach is right in front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place, the beach is right in front. Nice views, clean and beautiful room. You need a car or motorbike to reach the hotel, and to explore Naxos of course. We had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like all there. The hotel, the beach, all island IT is just wonderful! Everything's great. The beach very closed to the hotel, the sand very fine, the superb sea!!!. So much quiet!Only the waves and the sea are heard. The old city is very, very beautiful! From the hotel there is bus station at 600 m to town. Zeus sure grew up here!!! About the hotel,it is all you need!. There are no "staff" here, they are just PEOPLE who want you to feel good, and they do that. Dimitrios and dear girl, who served us with everything we wanted (only to ask), are very careful and always made all for you, only to feel good. Dimitrios is a good chef. You just have to say what you want to eat and the time you want to eat,and the rest is their job. We spent a wonderful vacantion here and we come back home full of good energy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great place on Naxos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet access on the top floor is sketchy - but the restaurant and lower floor has great signal. However, if you need internet access that bad, you're doing something wrong in Naxos.

    The staff (Dimitri and Lutvija) prepare meals at the hotel - Greek breakfast and lunch/dinner from the fresh ingredients and home-made bread. They are there to answer any questions about what to see and where to go. Really great hospitality experience. The property has its own stretch of the beach where you feel like you have a private piece of sandy coast just for you - which is a plus when compared to the beach in Agia Anna or Plaka, where it is much busier and more crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location but difficult to get to without a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needing to order your food so far in advance.

    Beautiful location but difficult to get to without a car. Really excellent bar staff member.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot during our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot during our trip. We recommend 100%!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    very nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is difficult if you arrive without a car, in order to find transportation u need to walk through the beach for a few mins

    very nice food. next to the sea.isolated for young couples or people with families and kids

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    The owner (Dimitrios) was amazing - always asking us every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only MINOR complaint is that there were so many small lights in the room that stayed on at night - a light in the switchboard, permanent lights on the main light switches (so you can find them at night), lots of lit symbols on the air conditioner...it made it quite light in the room and I found it hard to sleep (that said, it didn't bother my partner at all!).

    The owner (Dimitrios) was amazing - always asking us every time he saw us if there was anything we needed. Our favourite beaches were along Orkos and Aliko so this was a great location and about 10 minutes drive into Naxos Chora.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    We had a wonderful vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet

    We had a wonderful vacation. The owner, Dimitri, is extremely kind and the room was clean and comfortable. The quality-price ratio is very high. This place is a little bit difficult to find but it's the perfect location for relaxing. Try his Moussaka! The best we have ever had!

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    The food, service and the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The food, service and the location! The beds in the beach are a nice extra. You can walk to a few other restaurants. Or rent a motorbike to reach more places.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    On the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the beach Close to other bars & restaurants Friendly and helpful owner

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: