Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hydra Hotel 4 stars

8, Petrou Voulgari Str., Hydra, 18040, Greece

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that getting my luggage to the hotel and back he port was at an extra charge of 30 euro was unacceptable when you pay a high rate per night. It should be complimentary and they should definately remind you before arrival to arrange for transport knowing that there are about 100 steps to get to the hotel from the port.This is especially for people that bisit the island for the first time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Steep walk to nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult location to get to with the steep climb to the hotel

    Manager extreamly friendly. Bed very comfortable and room spotlessly clean. Breakfast was of a good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and well made up each day, it was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We felt that the breakfast was ordinary and the overall service from the hotel was completely lacking. It felt more like a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel and we were really left to our own devices after we arrived. We had a power outage and no water on the island for 36 hours, and while this is unfortunate for everybody (and not the hotel's fault), the hotel did nothing to check on our welfare or to assist us in being more comfortable. We had no functioning toilet, no lights, no air-conditioning, no cash and unable to use EFTPOS, so we couldn't eat for 24 hours. The least the hotel could have done is offer us some bottles of water, ice, a sandwich, for example. Or at least knock on our door and check we were ok and give us information on the black-out. We were really left to our own devices and not spoken to unless we made the approach. When we did so we didn't feel the service was friendly or accomodating.

    The room was clean and well made up each day, it was also relatively large and the location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there are a lot of stairs to get up to the hotel. Recommend donkey service up to the hotel with luggage.

    Great staff. Beautiful room. Good Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great view and large rooms. Nicely situated high above town. Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAIRS. You have to be reasonably fit to be able to trek up to the hotel from the town centre. Once up though, the view and quiet are spectacular. Worth the climb and got used to it after a while. Spend the 15 Euros for a donkey to take your luggage up and down. Its worth it. Bathroom was clean and large but could have used brighter lighting.

    Amazing view of Hydra town. Room was huge and spotless. Very airy and comfortable. Excellent air conditioning. Quiet and elegant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little darker than expected with small windows. Try to get the room with the terrace deck!

    Beautifully renovated place. Cozy bed and nice living room. Clean bathroom. Good location to port center. Friendly staff and nice breakfast provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.8
    Better avoid it.. Very poor value for money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the staff said this isn't an Hotel as they don't have kitchen.. The Hotel is located in a very high position so you'll always have to climb a lot of stairs to get there, but that's due to it's position. The breakfast is Terrible.. The location, with the food located at a counter where during the day the magazines rest. The cereals that nobody buys nowadays.. The coffee horrible. The tea with no hot water, then you have to descend to ground floor to ask for it, as there's no staff there. The bread that finishes, besides the old one with at least a few days. I know the hotel offer in Hydra is scarce and expensive, but if you have the chance avoid Hydra Hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great room, great view, lovely staff. Would recommend & stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - shower could be better & more powerful. - more variation for breakfast, as it was the same everyday. option to get a hot cappuccino instead of cold coffee in flask at buffet display. - we didn't mind the 100 so steps to the hotel everyday... but make sure you are aware of this, if you have joint /knee conditions.

    -loved our balcony looking over the port. We had breakfast on it every morning!! - comfortable bed - we had everything we needed in our room, from efficient air-con to drinks fridge! - the shower gel in the bathroom was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A big, big deception. We will not go back. I have found much better locations. Very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor service : nobody at the wharf with a cart to welcome you (although there were three other hotels carts) and take care of the luggage. There are no taxis in the island and the mules are very expensive. Hotel is not very far as indicated on the booking.com web site but it is very hilly with difficult and numerous steps. Old and/or handicaped persons : beware ! Breakfast was not installed on a buffet or a table : in the staircase ! We found a living spyder in the bed ! There was no view of the port in the room. There was no view at all. The room was closed as well as the adjacent patio. Too bad at this price. We were charged for a studio that we did not ask for. And the price was not discounted. and there was no reason for a verification to check the error Please exit !

    The Hydra island is nice but this is not the hotel ! Otherwise : ???

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Beatiful suite with balcony. Great view. Disnt have the favilities of an hotel( breakfast, phone)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breafast was very poor( no option for eggs, croissant was not good, orange juice not fresh) we had to go down the reception each time we needes something ( salt, pepper, water...) No phone in the room to call reception Bad smell when you open the kitchinette section

    The room The bed The balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It is a small hotel with friendly staff trying to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a small hotel with friendly staff trying to accommodate requests. The hotel is indeed a number is steps up from the port as indicated on the website. If you have heavy luggage, you will probably need one of the donkeys. The rooms were very nice. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The room was charming and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the stairs (great work out). However, if you're not a fan of stairs, this is not the hotel for you. The safe didn't work, but I'm sure others in the hotel worked fine.

    The room was charming and comfortable. The donkey transport to and from the hotel was not only a necessity, because of the stairs, but it was so much fun. The room was quiet and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed ourselves in this relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not very syrong.

    The room was wonderful - spacious, light and airy with sitting room as well as bedroom. A shared terrace which was a lovely place to eat breakfast and to sit and relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, spacious, clean and well equiped rooms and a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of common spcaes besides terrace. Reception a bit strict on previous booking of “donkey-taxi” (15 euro’s per ride) and direct payment. You Will need the donkey taxi for luggage as it’s quite a few stairs up to reach the place. Location not recommended if you have any health issues, even though it’s quite close to everything.

    Beautiful, spacious, clean and well equiped rooms and a nice little terrace, where breakfast is served. Quiet place, ideal for a relaxing short stay. Good value for quality of rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couch cover was dirty with dead bugs on it. The shades(curtains) could not block the light sufficiently, so our sleep was destroyed everyday by the early morning daylight! Moreover our “double “ bed was comprised by two singles that at one point completely opened up in the middle... we had to push them back together from time to time and to be careful while sleeping so as not to open again!! very uncomfortable... Not to mention the breakfast that was mediocre the least... half-baked croissants, slices of cheese only! (no ham or meat of some kind)... boiled eggs, some half-boiled... standardized indifferent marmalade and some bread to toast... All so disappointing.

    The stuff was eager to please. We got delicious fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful small hotel in Hydra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    An amazing place, very comfortable and with great staff! Delicious breakfast as well! Rosi was very helpful when out ferry was delayed, making several calls for us and helping us with travel plans! Thanks so much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Loved it ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rosie is incredible and definitely makes a huge difference in your comfort. She was extremely helpful before our stay and during the entirety of our holiday. The room was very nice, we especially enjoyed the balcony. The breakfast was expansive in the options of beverages and food choices. The steps are a challenge, but were easier with each outing. They are part of the ambience of the hotel 😉 We were also truly pleased with the efficiency of the gentleman whose horse took our bags back and forth from the port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    I would have given this 3 star at the most and the room rate should be a lot less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star and expensive rate it was well below expectations. Without a view, and with delaminating basin, it was disappointing. The mould at the base of the shower and the tiny (smaller than a single bed) did not allow a good sleep and the place was overpriced. Cheaper backpacker places have better beds and cleaner showers. We were given confusing directions on two occasions and this detracted from our stay. The breakfast was a basic continental breakfast not up to a 4 star rating.

    Rosi was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would like and it in minor is fresh honey at breakfast.

    Beautiful property in Hydra. Excellent host. The views from our room were amazing. The room was clean and spacious. Perfect for our two night stay. The staff was great. Always willing to help and gave us wonderful advice on what to do during our stay. Hydra was one of the highlights of our trip. We will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    A perfect introduction to Hydra!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason our email address got corrupted by booking.com so all communication with the property was lost. They needed our arrival time so their donkey transfer service could meet us at the harbor but we did not know they could transfer us.

    All suite facility in pristine condition with wonderful views of the harbor. The staff offer a great deal of info to first timers. It is an easy walk to two or three swimming spots. A top rated restaurant is a few steps away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Staying at the Hydra Hotel was the highlight of our month in Greece! We were welcomed cared for 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hydra Hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel managed perfectly by Rosy and her staff! It's location has exceptional views of Hydra while the rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming recently renovated boutique hotel with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautifully perched on the hill, you can get the help of a mule to carry your luggage up to the hotel. Very well maintained, still feel like it was fairly recently renovated. Our superior double room had a very comfortable bed and nice handy closet kitchen, it did not have a balcony but still benefited from a nice panoramic view on the island and its port. Very friendly staff and manager Nice breakfast which can still be enjoyed very late which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, quiet and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish all rooms had a view of the harbor.

    Conveniently located just above the harbor (please note the steps). Very quiet and clean. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful and there was a free laundry service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water wasn't free

    Staff were very helpful and there was a free laundry service! Location higher up on a hill so very quiet and peaceful. Handy to swimming spots and good restaurants on western side of port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great time at Hotel Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    The hotel staff was fantastic. Extremely nice and gracious. The room we booked was large and had a direct view of Hydra's harbor. It even had a small kitchenette. The breakfast was amazing, with wonderful selection from croissants and other baked goods to meats and cheeses to yoghurt or muesli. Pebble beaches are within easy walking distance. As are great restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Magical Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious bedroom. Very clean and quiet. Staff delightful. Beautiful courtyard where breakfast was served. An excellent experience, we would go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Place to stay in Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are steps, but the view makes it totally worth it, and they really are not that big of a deal.

    Spent two nights in the Deluxe ocean view and loved it. This room does not have the balcony. There are only 12 rooms. This one is on the corner so it has two windows, one overlooking town and one overlooking the ocean at an angle. It rained while we were there, and I spent my day sitting on the inside window ledge just taking in the city! The shower was perfect, the bed comfy, and the sitting room and private breakfast area were a plus. The host is wonderful, when we arrived she made a fresh plate of cut fruit that was perfect, and when it rained she had umbrellas ready! Made dinner reservations for us at Sunset, which has the best sunset views. Hydra is a quaint little town, if you have the option to take the 3 islands in one day cruise vs spending a night here, do spend the night. You will have time to really enjoy and walk beyond the shops on the waterfront. While there isn't a lot to see, it is one of my favorite islands and worth 1-2 nights. And they take care of their cats!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Boutique Hotel in Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the room on booking. com did not match the actual room. This was disappointing as we thought we had a patio with chairs, and a seaview and city view. The only good view was outside of the front door. This applied to the Junior Suite Split Level. Rozie offered to move us when a room came available, which was nice of her. Next time we would chose a double room with a balcony view.

    Rozi the receptionist was so kind and willing to please.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    When in Hydra.....This is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Gorgeous hotel with breathtaking views of the harbor/port. Within walking distance to restaurants, shops, cafes, etc. It is located in a quiet area high on the hill-top overlooking Hydra Town. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard garden that is perfect for morning breakfast, or to just take a break and have a cafe. The island is magnificent, words don't do it justice. This hotel gets a 5 star rating in my book. I look forward to my next stay at the Hydra Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Hydra's hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A really great place to stay.

    Though the hotel is up a bit from Hydra port, it is an easy mostly level walk to best swimming close to town at Hydronetta. Our room was beautifully cool and airy, with high ceilings, kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and excellent bathroom. The staff were very friendly; they did our washing, gave us beach towels at no extra cost, and suggested good places to see and a place for horse riding. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is better than it appears in its photos online. Breakfast was delicious, available until late morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we had to climb 112 stairs, the view from the room 203 was s t u n n i n g. The room had a small kitchen, fully equipped to cook an elaborate meal and had a large very comfortable living room and table to eat to. Great bed and linen, huge ceilings and big wonderful windows, where cool breeze could flow in all day long. Wonderful quiet terrace to enjoy our breakfast or afternoon coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A Very Good Choice I Will Make Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like. We all hate stairs, but the donkeys will get you there with no problem.

    I asked for a premium room with town view as well as harbor view. It was amazing and totally worth it. I would book this room again in a heartbeat. The staff is perfect, there when they need you and invisible when you don't. Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever booked. The gentleman managing reception (I think Demetrius- I am so bad with names, I'm sorry) was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.0
    Really enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a long hike up the hill to get there

    Fantastic view from our balcony room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but needs to fix water heater issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water

    Staff and the room in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet hotel in heart of hydr a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing the stairs

    Nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ground floor room was a bit dark and without a view.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice view from the suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiring to go up and down the many stairs to reach hotel.

    The view was amazing from the suite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Lovely breakfast, boutique feel and gorgeous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast, boutique feel and gorgeous views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A brilliant hotel! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel provided everything we needed. Excellent location in the town, wonderful room, very clean, very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in an idyllic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hostess who attends to all details to make her guests comfortable. Personalized service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent very cosy and charming hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent very cosy and charming hotel! Staff is SUPER friendly and shows you the best spots in hydra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, especially Rosi at the front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, especially Rosi at the front desk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Loved the staff and particularly the manager Roxie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the staff and particularly the manager Roxie. Shen often went out of her way to assist us. Such a lovely person

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced Lacked view and access outdoors

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Stairs and Walk up to the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and Walk up to the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for the money. Paid twice as much for same quality hotel

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Best spot in Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service was fantastic. The hotel gave such a relaxing feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    View & ambience perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view Good size rooms Delightful ambience and made to feel very welcome by Rozi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Quiet area, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to walk to get there unless you take a horse

    Quiet area, very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Very caring and lovely host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very caring and lovely host! So special!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Hydra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower a bit ropey and no view

    nicely decorated, modern spacious room and comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Worth The Steps!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The staff! The service!! The location!! The candy!! Absolutely everything!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.5
    Lovely place on the quintessential Greek island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The people are great. The hotel is very clean and beautifully located. We enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent little boutique hotel in Hydra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    141 steep steps could be a problem with luggage and with older people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is not suitable for elderly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The amount of dangerous steps up to the Hotel 146

    Normal continental Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Everything about the hotel was special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was special

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    The Hydra Hotel is what people come to Greece to experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike except leaving....

    The Hydra Hotel is what people come to Greece to experience! Up the hill from the port (Yes, there are stairs and a climb, but Mario and his donkeys are there for you !). Every detail of the hotel has been attended to with care and creates maximum comfort for the guests. We had the room with the balcony and recommend it very highly. Breakfast with excellent pastries, yogurt, eggs, and cheese was delivered to our room immediately following a call to reception. The lovely breakfast area was across the hall but we opted for comfort and the view. The staff were readily available to answer question or provide additional bottled water or make restaurant suggestions.Hydra was everything we had hoped for and the Hydra Hotel was more than expected. This is a great choice.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Very comfortable with huge rooms for the island, we enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very comfortable with huge rooms for the island, we enjoyed everything about our stay. Katerina is an amazing woman with a great spirit, and staying here is like being a guest in her home, even though it's a hotel. We cannot wait to return. Everything was very quiet (the walls are very thick with the old unfrastructure which was full of character) and sleep was restorative.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautifully designed small hotel, great personal welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many steps to climb to get to the hotel but worth it.

    Beautifully designed small hotel, great personal welcome throughout our stay, delicious breakfasts, great views, very relaxing. Close to great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Great location amazing view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location amazing view . We Loved the breakfast . The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly . I will definitely recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    Hydra was our last island destination in Greece.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good - from our perspective.

    Hydra was our last island destination in Greece. We wanted to end the trip in style - the Hydra Hotel was a great choice. Even though we had the only room without a view - we were not disappointed. Outside the room was a small table and eating area. This was a perfect place for enjoying a quiet breakfast or sitting outside to read. The property is immaculate and Katerina was very helpful in arranging transport of our luggage and in recommending restaurants. We loved our stay at the Hydra Hotel and appreciated the opportunity to have the beautiful view of the harbor each time we arrived at and departed from the property. Thanks Katerina for your excellent hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    We stayed in the sea view apartment with private terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the sea view apartment with private terrace. The apartment was spacious, beautifully appointed and very clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Thank you for the delicious breakfasts!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    The rooms were very very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    100 odd steps we had to walk up and down each day. With a baby, pram and nappy bag, this is not for the faint hearted.

    The rooms were very very clean. We had a town and sea view with terrace which was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    Very courteous, immaculate, very clean and classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The steep climb till I got used to it . It made me stay in town longer instead of to and fro from hotel to town and back. Town only 10 minutes away.

    Very courteous, immaculate, very clean and classy. Manager Katerina is super efficient. My departure transport came on time and gentleman was efficient and very polite.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Absolutely loved the location, room itself and especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing I can say is the wifi was spotty at best but it was due to the storms and windy weather.

    Absolutely loved the location, room itself and especially the staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Great breakfasts, amazing view from balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfasts, amazing view from balcony!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.6
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was perfect. Katerina is one of the most smiling and positive person I have ever met. The hospitality was an amazing experience.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location. The staff are friendly and most accommodating. The breakfast was of the highest quality produce.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Balcony view room has stunning views and staff are terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Balcony view room has stunning views and staff are terrific. Rooms are very private and hotel is close to everything you need.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    Great location, beautiful view, rooms gorgeous, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, beautiful view, rooms gorgeous, staff very friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    Pretty much everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Pretty much everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.8
    Room, space and decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have been perfect if there had been a balcony but garden terrace was perfect for breakfast

    Room, space and decor Facilities and lighting

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    The staff were fantastic and great with small children,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were fantastic and great with small children, fantastic location, delicious breakfast, clean, spacious, relaxing and friendly.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: