Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Iberostar Creta Marine 4 stars

Main Street, Panormos Rethymno, 74100, Greece

#14 of 27 hotels in Panormos Rethymno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I know the hotel wants you to spend all your time there and spend money but i would have liked to see more options of what to do locally. Panermo and Rethymno are really nice towns. The bar entertainment was not good - there was terrible, cheesy live music played 2 nights and 1 night I was told there would be Greek music but they never showed up. We were checking out at 12 and the flight was at 9pm so i wanted to spend the day in Chania (also a nice city) I asked for bus info and was suggested to take a taxi (for €100) when the bus was less than €10 from right outside the hotel. Buses leave from the hotel every 30 mins.

    Great facilities, great pool and safe beach, excellent choice of food on offer and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Check in was atrocious. They took payment and THEN told us that we did not have a room in the hotel we had booked (AND paid for, but were going to be going to be given a room in the main hotel next door!! This is not acceptable and after three days we were finally given a room in the hotel we had booked for. They also compensated us with 8 days All Inclusive deal, but since we had booked half board was not much compensation for the upset and movement which wasted 4 hours of our holiday time twice. This needs to be looked at and we have already cancelled our booking for next year.

    Nice room with good views of the sea. Very clean. Beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Thought it slightly cheeky that water was not provided but had to be purchased with the evening meal. Notices on the umbrellas saying not to reserve the sunbeds as your towels etc would be removed. It is a shame they did not follow through with this and remove items, so enabling us to find a sunbed while we enjoyed the large pool.

    Excellent evening buffet food with various themed nights added to normal foods. Breakfasts to suit every taste and more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The noise from the main National road was obtrusive. Better arrangements to soundproof bedrooms in the main hotel are needed. The noise from the refuse collection wagons at 0700hrs each morning was unwanted. The dining room was extremely noisy but possibly to be expected in a hotel of this size with buffet-style dining. The provision of sun-beds was insufficient for the number of guests and whilst there were notices forbidding reservation of those beds available, no efforts were made to enforce this. Would I return? No.

    The staff were friendly and efficient. Many went out of their way to assist. The bed was large and comfortable. Air-conditioning was efficient and quiet. The grounds were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't feel welcome. Unfortunately the hotel decided that overbooking was acceptable! Their preference was to accommodate a large group of French army and consequently overbooed. It felt like individual bookings (such as ours) were not considered as important. On arrival, we were asked to pay for our stay upfront (unusual) and only subsequenly told we had not got the room we booked (sea view bungalow). but offered a garden room which was dark and disappointing. (an upgrade to all inclusive was offered as compensation but little use to us as we don't eat lunch and would be out alot. Our first night we went to bed early in order to get up for a 3.30am departure for a trip. At midnight loud disco music still permeated the room despite visiting reception and numerous calls and being told it would finish at 11.30pm and it was for the benefit of the `group' booking. No apology and 3hrs sleep!! It set a bad tone for our stay......

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Overall, the food is ok. The breakfast buffet is very good but I got the felling that the lunch and dinner could be better. Poor selection of fruits and lack of fresh natural fruit juices.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Very clean. Relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start...? - Terrible gym facility as had equipment dated from the Sixties - Killed approx 5 mosquitos once we went into our room - Buffet breakfast was mediocre - Buffet dinner was so bad we decided to dine out in Rethymno (much better option) - Safety box was charged at 4€ per day which for a 4 Star hotel was very surprising considering every other hotel it was included - No tea/coffee making facility provided - Beaches are man-made - We won't be returning to this hotel should we visit Crete again

    The sea view & pools from the room and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    For the such class resort I expected fitness room to be better equipped.. Equipment is old and some devices are out of order. Room is a small and air conditioning is not powerful enough.

    Nice and big room. Excellent air conditioner - very quiet and powerful. Good food and good beaches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of mosquitoes, wifi is unusable after noon when hotel guests become active and hotel beaches aren't really representative.

    Hotel / Resort is excellent regarding facilities and staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was not even satisfactory. We purchased an "all inclusive" deal, which was not worth the extravagant price it costed, since it included only mediocre food (for instance, you can eat all the unbranded icecream you like, but if you want a tasty icecream, you have to buy it on top of the all inclusive ticket). Also, the place is 65 km from Heraklion airport, and there is no shuttle to the hotel. You have to pay about 90 euros for a cab there, or spend two hours trying to get there by buses-3 in total. At last, the bathtub flooded the bathroom during every shower, it was simply poorly built. There was a spider web in the room, sized as big as a dining plate. Embarrassing for the hotel!

    Our room had a spectacular sea view, and was isolated as well. We arrived late at night, and the crew arranged some food at the room for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One big bed, but with 2 small uncomfortable matrasses A little bit shabby bathroom Week internet connection All inclusive drinks at the bar are so-so

    Very nice big area with lots of flowers Good breakfast, lunch and dinner WiFi in all areas including beach and pools

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was excellent from every point of view. Good food, service and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Laundry prices ... ummm ... a bit steep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good breakfast and dinner buffet....better than expected. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If one is looking for a good beach - this hotel is not 100% choice

    Territory, food, staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    nothing

    Excellent service, would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    beautiful beaches. very nice resort gradening

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was bad

    Yes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The payment 4 euro for sunbeds in beach

    Everything was very very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Food was perfect. Location and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    view from a tiny beach

    everything. salt water swimmingpool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The big choice during breakfast and and dinner, but the quality of food is not the best. Internet is free only 30 minutes per day, the connection is low and awailable from time to time even for money.

    Access to the sea, beach, nice staff, big and beautifful territory.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Complete offer with super rooms/ balconies - calm beach + huge seawaterpools - exquisite garden with amazing trees and flowers - huge variety of tasty food at buffet - lovely professionnel staff - super nice beachparty + grillparty with music a dance show - good animation team. We had a beachfront room which was really amazing and highly recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - a bit too far from anything; after dinner not so many things to do, not even watching TV since it offers a limited no. of channels at a poor quality; - the only event offered within a week, the "Greek evening" was "offered" in exchange of additional charges (EUR 20 / person); - additional charges for internet and it works very bad (EUR 15 / week); - hotel's rules are not always respected (examples: 1. most of the sunbeds were reserved with towels by some clients despite the fact that it was everywhere written that this was not allowed; 2. dress code at dinner not respected by everybody - one evening a Russian guy managed to fool the restaurant's staff and entered the room dressed with short trousers even if this was forbidden). Staff should be more strict in applying the rules to everybody. - reception should inform clients at check-in about the main rules in the complex (like the dress code at dinner); not everybody is reading all materials offered at check-in. - welcome drink was a cheap orange chemical liquid; I would give up on this. It spoils the first impression on the hotel.

    - food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner; many options, very tasty, good quality, always changing (especially at dinner); - staff in the restaurant very nice, friendly and competent; - I had a complaint about the air conditioning in the room and it was solved very fast; - room was cleaned everyday before 11:00-12:00; staff very efficient. - free parking;

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fight for the sunbeds every morning. You are not supposed to reserve them but people were putting towels on the beds at 8.30 am!

    The food was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Iberostar Crete Marine for 4 nights in June 2015. The resort was well located in the island only a short drive away from the main attractions of Crete. The hotel had several pool areas and 3 private beaches with water sports available. Our room had an stunning view of the sea and the pool area. The buffet was amazing with a very large variety of food every night including local and Greek specialities. The fresh seafood and meats were particularly good. The activities were good and one night they organised an amazing beach party with an open bar plus food and fruits. The service was friendly, accommodating and welcoming with attention to detail. They surprised us with champagne and fruits in the room as we were celebrating our anniversary and they also gave us a complimentary massage at the Spa. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a first class resort experience in Crete!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a standard high-class hotel, but if you look for something special or unique, you will not find it here.

    The staff, the hotel equipment as well as the food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The buffet was good, but, most things a little cold.

    Rooms very nice. Birthday present for my husbands 69th birthday

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    VIP bungalows lovely

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Just great vacatiion lication especally for families with children. Godne polecenia.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful surroundings - gardens. Clean pool. Good quality of the food (HB basis)

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ta plakakia glistrane para poli stin pisina kai sto domatio. Einai epikindinw

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The paid wifi, which is working very bad !!! Uncomfortable and small beach!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a very hard bed also with a matras topper

    the hotel itself and the dinner

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - a bit in the middle of nowhere

    The breakfast was amazing, staff was nice and helpful, a lot of facilities

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the address; not able to be found by navigator

    the beach,swimming pools and the staffs

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Servis foods

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like being charged extra 15e a day for use of just the Sauna, !!!!!

    Excellent room, Breakfast good choice, Dinner, average buffet.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: