Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ifigenia Rooms

Antoniou Gampa 23, Chania Town, 73131, Greece

Review score

Based on 305 apartment reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The general areas were clean but the room was falling apart. The matres was supported by wooden beams which are used for construction, so no suspension, after the first night we placed them in the right positions because there were huge gaps (not an exaggeration!). Still the floor would make noise so much that it would wake us up very time we moved in our sleep.

    For the island this was one of the better breakfasts we had, with fresh REAL orange juice and good bread, yoghurt and cheese and many more things. The location is perfect in a very pittoresque part of the city near to the harbor and a balcony to have a last drink before going to bed. We met three people for this establishment. Two of them were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect in the old centre of Chania...if u travel with your partner you are gonna enjoy the jacuzzi next to your bed and romantic atmosphere of whole place. And breakfast outside of apartment were amazing. Many thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was way too uncomfortable. Electric wires were plugged just next to the shower handle so it was scary to think what could happen if there isolation broke.. water pressure way beyond comfort..the room itself just for one night..

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a unique opportunity to stay, if you are looking for a local, not touristic place. Located on a central but not too busy street, all we heard were birds and sometimes the music from the place around the corner. The apartments have the authentic feeling of the past. The bed is in very good quality. The breakfast is really perfect for 'salty breakfast' fans. Filter coffee is above the average of standard hotel breakfast coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so smelly and the humidity was so high! The area was noisy. Slow wifi connection. Jacuzzi bath did not work.

    The location is perfect in the heart of the old city. Nice design and decoration. Fair breakfast and value of the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower rooms could do with a bit of updating, a little tired and wouldn't want to stay here for very long.

    The location of this apartment is excellent. It's right in the middle of the beautiful town of Chania , but yet down a quiet road so a good night sleep. It was a nice quirky apartment with a spiral staircase , so not suited to people who aren't fit. The breakfast was lovely and in a beautiful setting . The staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room at top of rickety staircase, difficult to negotiate. Floor so uneven that the bed had to be propped up with old magazines to stop us rolling down or climbing back up when turning over!

    Location is great, breakfast would have been really good but everything is served cold, apart from the coffee. Freshly squeezed orange juice and varied breakfast items each day. Private terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite noisy through the night as there is a lot going on in the port but to have such a fantastic location that's something you just have to put up with. It's a very beautiful, old building but it could do with doing up a bit on the inside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The man who owns/runs Ifigenia is dishonest and rude. First of all, our reservation was with Ifigenia Rooms, but he put us in another hotel that he runs, Captain Vasilis. Beware that the room you think you are booking on the site is not the room you will get. The owner must own half of the hotels near the old port, and he will put you in whatever one he wants. We booked an 18m2 room, but got one that was tiny and completely different from the picture. When I complained he said that he had lots of "economy" rooms and he couldn't take pictures of all of them. But this is false advertising! We asked for a different room and he showed us one that was even worse. The bathroom smelled of sewage, the mattress was hard and thin, the pillows were lumpy and old, and the air conditioning leaked. He said we could cancel, but he had already taken payment for one night from our card. There were other places available in the same price range in Chania--avoid Ifigenia (all of them!) at all costs!

    The woman who showed us to our room and who prepares the breakfast is lovely. That's about all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our apartments was on the ground floor and the ceilings are wooden. We could hear every step of every human coming and leaving at night or early morning.

    Authentic interior and perfect location. Very cosy and so Greek!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were given was not in the pictures, nor it could have been, as it looked as if it was taken from an horror movie. The furniture was sooo old. The floor was shaking with our steps. Staying in the city center means that sometimes you will be in ancient buildings, and that is OK, but in this case, no renovation whatsoever had ever been done in the property. However, this property seems to have a lot of sites within the old town, so it is hard to know which building will be given to us.

    The breakfast was good, served outside in a small street. This is right in the old town of Chania, and the location is great. The room also had a private terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and very good breakfast. The room was rather old, bathroom terrible and bed very uncomfortable. It was also very noisy at night, but we expected this since it is in the old center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They clearly would need one more person as a helping hand - especially for the breakfast, when it takes quite a time (around 20 minutes) to prepare all the dishes for you. Saying that, it was not a big deal for us (we at least had a time to soak up the atmosphere of the morning Chania), but for the families having their daily trips scheduled it could be a bit of issue.

    The location was truly perfect - right in the center of Old Town of Chania, bring you back into the history, making you feel like you are living some tens of years back. What I truly liked was the opennes and friendliness of the people around and their trust in others - they had no problem leaving the whole apartment open for the whole day, meaning that "the door is always open for you". We just loved it. Extra - breakfast outside in the morning was just a cherry on the top of the cake :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that bothered me a little bit was the low light in the room, there was only one lamp and it was a bit dark. I would add some table lamps. Everything else was exellent

    Nice room in the heart of the old town, clean and quiet. Left the hotel too early both days so can't tell anything about the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs can be a real challenge with luggage or for somebody with some mobility problem.

    We liked the view from the top terrace and the lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That's on of the most romantic athmosphere places I've ever been to! Kind personal, very good room, Raki battle for free!:)), good breackfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the location of the hotel right in the middle of the beautiful narrow streets of the Chania old town. The breakfast was very nice. Giorgos, one of the manager of the hotel, was very friendly and helpful. Good quality-price ratio. For one nigth is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an Excellent location in the old town, the room was with a view to the old harbor and we had a great evening on the terrace. Breakfast was delicious with tasting of local specialities and the staff of apartment was very kind. Next time we visit Chania we will book it again. Thanks for everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we first got in our room my mouth felt open, WOW! So gorgeous, romantic, authentic with atmosphere! Never saw such a historical beautiful room like this! Than the bottle with Raki as a welcoming drink staying there for us, really great! The breakfast next morning was excellent too, both sweet and hearty, including a fresh cooked egg. Too bad we could only spend one night in this place. The location of this hotel is perfect too, you can park your car in the near area at a public (free) parking and only walk a few minutes. You are in the middle of the old town and close to everything what is nice to have a look at. The local streetmarket on Thursday morning was very nice too, we bought perfect Graviera cheese, honey and fruits of local farmers, it was al delicious. Thank you @ Ifigenia Rooms for you great service, hope we will come back one day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very humidity.We couldnt breath and sleep all the night.2.night we changed the room but it vas late.We had a night likw nightmare:(Very old house,electric gone 2 times and very noisy area.Otel in the old town is nit a good idea.Breakfast was limited also,you don't take yourself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on booking.com was not the same as the accomodation I received. Not good. My accomodation had a strange configuration I would not have chosen. It should be clear what you are getting. Shower was very weak.

    Friendly staff, central location. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were bits of used floss left by the sink, but other than that it was properly tidy and they made the bed and delivered fresh towels daily. The boss/owner was unfriendly and we felt like we were being a nuisance anytime we asked for directions or a taxi, but the rest of the staff were great.

    The buildings and rooms were charming and classic. Good Wifi and A/C (if you need that). The breakfast was lovely and the location was wonderful - a stone throw away from the old harbour and about 15 minutes walk to Nea Chora beach. The staff were friendly! Always helping us with directions and helping us book tours! They walked us to the taxis to make sure we got the right one! Would recommend!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty average, felt slightly like back packing. But staff was very cool and friendly, had air con etc just the room was fairly interestingly decorated but in a cool way. The location was fantastic in the old town. Though slight drawback is of you go bed reasonable time can expect the single glazing may not keep all the street noise out

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Authentic rooms in old buildings, great for a holiday with a character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the warm hospitality and kindness of the owner. Loved the location which is in centre of old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Lovely breakfast, nice hosts, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great host, tasty and big breakfast, clean rooms, perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead plants on the roof top

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ok for the price and the location, we had a nice stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location minutes from the harbour, value for money and nice breakfasts. Helpful staff, clean and tidy .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the house beside was under contruction

    exelent breakfast in a romantic street of Chania

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 bathroom without door, both without window 3 floors of staircase

    Terrace Air conditioning in bedrooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely dirty, disgusting not fit to be rented

    Nothing to like , absolutely horrible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cockroach found in bed squeaky bed visibly stained blanket poorly maintained room noisy

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are wonderfull, really awsome breakfest!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view snd location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view over harbour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel hookers in the bathroom.

    Fantastic staff! Cozy studio! Excellent location! Amazing house made strawberry jam at the breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great place!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location nice appartment nice stuff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity in the room

    Jacuzzi in the room nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM A LITTLE SMALL1 NIGHT OF HEAT AND CHANIA

    THE TERRACE VIEW OF CHANIA HARBOR THE BREAKFAST

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower area could have been larger, furniture a bit dilapidated

    Plenty of room to spread about, good size fridge and a kettle

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be better.

    Right in the heart of the old town. The old style.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment with living-room (1 to 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be tricky around here. Be patient

    Beautiful authetic room in great location. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Firstly the staff was very hospitable and helpful ! The apartment was really nice and its location was perfect as it was in the old town of Chania. Really close to the harbor as well as lots of nice cute shops around!!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First of all the location of the hotel is magnificent, right in the center of the old town. The room was very clean with a good relationship between quality and price. The breakfast was delicious and plenty. The staff was very helpfull and polite. We will DEFINETELY visit it again. Chania is a wonderfull city.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a room for one in the center of Chania and payed 45 euros for it, which in Greek standards is much. The room (Ifigenia III) was very old, cranky and most of all noisy: it was on the ground floor in front of people's homes, and everyone there was hanging out on the street till late. It was impossible to rest! Moreover, the wifi didn't have any connection in the room, nor could you get any decent mobile signal. A Bermuda triangle basically. I can not believe that with the same money I got a 4 star hotel room in Rethymno which was perfect. Please so not stay at Ifigenia Rooms! There's much better options if you book in advance.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small room but normal as we booked an economic room ;) one negative point: cold shower twice (at night and in the morning)

    the location, the room (cozy and romantic) and the breakfast in the streets ( really charming)

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had a bad smell due to humidity, poor ventilation / air, bed ready to break / not stable, poor toilet door, low quality of breakfast

    Free Jacuzzi, nice position in the old town, free breakfast, free internet

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment has an nice roof top terrace where you can see the entire city. It is located in the center, near all the interesting places. The breakfast was perfect, sweet and salad!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy construction works next door, super dusty room interior, though the sheets and bathroom are clean, breakfast on the roof top with a nice view is mentioned on the web-site

    Just in the middle of the old city, inspirational to sleep in the 500-600 year old house, excellent breakfast in the street, attentive staff - ready to change the room when we asked, wine as a complement

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paintwork on balcony railings badly needs doing

    A very good and plentiful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room and bathroom not clean .Matress and pillow way too old and unconfortable .

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom needs a fix

    Great location, beatiful old building, very friendly people

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No outside space.

    Convenience. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is great ,amazing breakfast they offer so many things!, quiet room, very helpful staff, clean

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Couple

    The staff were sokind and the clean was okay we enjoy our stay there

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: