Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ionian Emerald Resort 5 stars

Main Street, Karavomylos, 28080, Greece

Review score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Ther room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym had only one functional machine. As a couple that like to work out this was quite disappointing. There were also not free weights or mats so we just couldn't work out.

    Ther room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Except for the laundry situation, we had a nice stay at the Ionian Emerald resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like that free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel was only provided if you had a seven day stay. We reserved two rooms for three days each and we are a family of five. It is difficult to get transportation from the airport to the hotel and feel it could have been provided. However, they did provide it for 60 euros each way. Additionally, we needed some laundry done. My children and my husband and myself gave housekeeping two bags of laundry to be cleaned. The laundry was returned to us in much the same way that we handed it in. It was shoved in the plastic bags that we gave them in. The clothes were damp and wrinkled and smelled of must. We returned them to the front desk, who then tried to remedy the situation. They definitely put black in with white because a couple of our whites returned gray.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the view from our room was beautiful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Ionian Emerald is a super hotel and our stay is unforgettable and a 2018 highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It just need a firm hand to fix and keep up all equipment in good order. No walk in shower for our disabled daughter.

    Location is unbeatable, Staff very friendly, facilities good, breakfast very refreshing and a daily highlight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    5 stars? Really?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don’t understand me wrong, this is a nice place that definitely has some 5-star potential but (to sum up): breakfast room is cramped, or you have to sit in a room with no windows. Wi-fi is not up to 2018 standard. Shower is at about 1,6 meters, so only suitable for children (and no, this is not Greek standard, we had nine hotels and this was the only one with a hand shower!). TV has only 12 channels. There is no decent bar for evening entertainment and they had only two types of beer and no cocktails after 21:00. Best thing? The town of Sami is at walking distance (20 to 30 minutes along the sea shore) with ample entertainment and food! Average hotel and not worth the 200+ euro they charge per night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    A returning customer who loves this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was great really good selection, but the other food selections for dinner or lunch were very average. It is a shame as the outlook and staff are great, it just needs better quality for dining there.

    Lovely pool area and very clean,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was too hard. Woken at 1am with light coming on and air conditioning stopped working. Staff were very helpful and tried their best to resolve the problems but as hotel was full we were unable to move to another room.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a perfect 5 day stay . Relaxing , in a lovely hotel . Just what we wanted but maybe a bit qui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was pricey and not a great selection so we did not eat there . There could have been some entertainment . Maybe there is in the high season .

    Very nice hotel . Friendly staff and spotlessly clean . Excellent breakfast . In a quiet location about 15 mins walk to the small harbour of Sami . Seemed to be fairly quiet so always plenty of sun beds available anytime of day by the pool or on the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is perfectly located a short walk from Sami and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was a bit patchy

    The hotel is perfectly located a short walk from Sami and overlooking the sea. The staff (especially Elena) were brilliant, so helpful and knowledgeable 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel and facilities exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the type to enjoy a lye in getting up for breakfast before 10am was a struggle but nothing to complain about.

    Hotel and facilities exceeded expectations. Cocktails and food at the pool bar were lovely along with great service. Rod stewert and Elton john playing at breakfast topped it off, couldn’t ask for more! It’s a 10 from len! X

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all sure. I'd have to be really picky. The WiFi was poor and intermittent.

    Staff exceptionally helpful particularly Nikos in the restaurant. Jacuzzi bath was great. View from our first floor balcony was exceptional. Free massage wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    great to return , fantastic island, get the maintenance sorted and get the beer on draft
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed here 4 years previously and this hotel was our and our friends favourite hotel . we were so looking forward to returning. since 2013 there appears to have been little in the way of general maintenance, scratched paintwork stained walls shower attachments ill fitting ending up with flooded bathrooms no draft beer for our entire stay - "tomorrow" was always the answer 2013 pool staff delivered your order, 2017 they didn't leave the bar pool towels threadbare pool towels rationed to one per person (not big enough to cover the lounger! I feel mean listing all this but my disappointment from 2013 was big and remember this is a £200 per room per night hotel

    the pool the rooms the island the food the weather

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the price, better places to chose from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't able to connect to any Wi-Fi, there was a big yellow stain on our comforter (which looked like someone's vomit) and staff weren't too friendly, didn't allow any outside beverages around the pool. Not worth the price..

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for excursions, pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses a bit hard.

    Nice view of the bay with a palm tree-lined seashore, good starting point for excursions to Assos or Fiscardo, he pleasant toen of Sami is situated nearby, good breakfast, fun Greek tavern nearby, good gym...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    Not a five-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality for price - overall impression is that the hotel does not definitely look like a 5-star hotel Breakfast - limited choice of pastries Cleaning of the room Mattress too hard Wi-fi

    Pool bar - quality of snacks and foods

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel overlooking the bay and a short walk to Sami town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the hotel is very nice, it is not quite up to the spec of a luxurious 5 star resort found elsewhere in Greece/Europe. More a very very nice 4 star hotel than 5. Wifi was awful but we didn't mind too much about that!

    Great hotel overlooking the town of Sami and bay. Large, clean, modern room with a huge terrace. Food at the pool and restaurant is fantastic, fantastic cocktails by the pool. Plenty of sun loungers and beds to relax on by the pool. Short walk into Sami (15 mins). Staff are polite and keen to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel but (way) overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was salt water Fitness equipment was either not available or not working

    Hotel was ok, airco very good. Clean rooms Very good spa. Nice people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Great resort - night staff not very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a family of 2 adults and 3 young teenagers. We had specified this when searching on booking.com and hence were given two rooms as an option at the resort, which we booked. We arrived late and were tired after traveling all day, only to find the two rooms were in different buildings in the resort. The night manager was less than helpful. We indicated we were hungry and would discuss the room situation in the bar area. We were told we could only order off the restaurant menu (full meals), rather than something light off the room service menu. We were also told the room service menu finished at 7pm, only to find out later it ran through until 11pm. This was all very weird and unhelpful considering the situation with the rooms and how tired we were. In the end we decided to leave the rooms as they were for the three nights we were there and were given a packet of chips when we were at the bar, in lieu of any food. The check in experience put a bit of a damper on things, but it picked up from there. I'd have to say that Yannis who helped us with our cases was very kind and helpful.

    All of the day staff were very friendly. The resort was modern and clean with a great pool. Breakfast was very nice and the girls serving very friendly. The resort also had free laundry which was a bonus as we were travelling for 4 weeks. It's not far from Sami and Aggie Effimia, the latter which is very pretty. It is a long way from the airport. It was an interesting transfer late at night over the mountain range between Argostoli and the resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous location with a fabulous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not so comfy, we had ants in our room which they cleared up after we reported them. Also bedding seems to be feather as I have an allergy and it triggered an asthmatic attack on day 2 so that kind of ruined it for me. The shower in the bathroom had a mind of its own, it didn't fit the holder so you had to hold it all the time otherwise it splashed around. Not what you would expect in a hotel like this... Overall I felt it was abit pricey and the restaurant menu had few Greek dishes which is a shame.

    Lovely loungers around the pool, fantastic view of the beach from the restaurant, helpful staff who found me some gluten free bread for breakfast. Delicious food in the restaurant, chef must be good... and great service overall. They found us a lovely table even though we hadn't booked one. Nice cocktails.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    The website said there were airport transfers provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website said there were airport transfers provided. This was a key reason for my booking. In reality, they said they wouldn't provide, because our stay was less than 7 days. This wasn't made clear. I felt cheated and it cost me an extra 120 euros. Not acceptable. Breakfast could have been better

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    food, cocktails , pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    food, cocktails , pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely revisit and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet

    Everything was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    5 star accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the location

    5 star accommodation. One of the best in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyed our stay but wished it could have been slightly less noisy poolside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was open to non-hotel guests which meant the pool was often occupied by Benidorm crowd

    Good facilities and nice location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A real Emerald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helena and staff very heplfull , pool area fantastic ,beautifull view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was wonderful, would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Pool and food were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and quiet accommodation next door to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and quiet accommodation next door to a delightful waterside taverna and 5 minutes' walk to the cave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very good residential hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good residential hotel. Good rooms and very well appointed pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good in June but probably gets noisy later in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant extremely expensive.

    Pool Bar good value as is small taverna across the road. Liked the beach. Staff generally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Staff are really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are really friendly and helpful. Hotel was beautiful. Our view was also amazing of the pool and sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    We loved it all !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all !!! And we,ve extended our stay 😁

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    3.8
    Was expecting a 5 star hotel but instead encountered a run down and tired place. 3 star at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving the hotel was the best thing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    A 3 day stay at the Emerald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spa-free treatment on arrival, polite and helpful staff, luxurious pool sunbeds, delicious breakfast-especially the omelette, perfect view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Food poor, no staff, generally needs a new Management, 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food poor, no staff, generally needs a new Management, 5 star its not.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Room was good with mosquito netting on balcony door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor restaurant with no atmosphere and mediocre staff and food

    Room was good with mosquito netting on balcony door. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Facilities great, location great, cleanliness spot on, most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very much at all. The hot water wasn't that hot in the morning but red hot at night, doesn't really seem worth mentioning

    Facilities great, location great, cleanliness spot on, most off all staff couldn't be more helpful, anything we asked they did their best to help. First class. Oh and quite impressive sea views

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    I will never forget walking in our bedroom and getting our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I will never forget walking in our bedroom and getting our first view of the swimming pool and out to a beautiful turquoise sea. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I cant recommend highly enough.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Everything was first class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Everything was first class!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    The location and view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and view from our room

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.1
    modern hotel with sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of privacy on balcony

    modern hotel with sea views

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Very Friendly Staff, Lovely Rooms,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very Friendly Staff, Lovely Rooms, Gorgeous View

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: