Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Isabella Country House

Agios Loukas, Gouvia, 49100, Greece

#9 of 41 hotels in Gouvia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely gardens, pool and staff but apartment a bit too too small for us,Gouvia is awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had no wifi in our room and had to go outside to use our devices which was very poor but could not be changed by the staff. The aircon did not work for a couple of days the staff did what they could to repair it and got someone out to look at it but it never properly worked. The apartment was very small, kitchen a bit pokey The jacuzzi looked very dirty and nobody ever used it for that reason. Gouvia itself was vile, it had no charm or character and awful English bars with football on all day. You had to cross a massive dual carriage way to get to it and the whole area was really scruffy with litter in all the hedges and bins overspilling with rubbish which is not what you want to see on holiday We have been visiting Greece for our holidays for 35 years and love the islands but there is a major issue with litter and rubbish collections now, which is ruining the country and making it unattractive to visitors. It may be due to austerity , it's a terrible shame. We would never return to Gouvia, just not our cup of tea.

    the garden and swimming pool area were fantastic, beautiful and well kept. The staff were excellent and always willing to try to help with issues. The place was kept beautifully clean, fresh towels , bedding etc The apartment was decorated quite nicely, plenty of cupboard space Some recycling facilities The bus service is fantastic there are buses to all parts of the island and corfu town is delightful , apart from the litter and rubbish collections

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    The place itself was really nice and the staff was kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the price and the room was not in the same level. Room was quite basic and there was also little stale smell when we get the room. Air condition was also quite loud and it worked a bit unevenly.

    The place itself was really nice and the staff was kind. Garden and the pool was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    It truly beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It truly beautiful place. Very quite and beaututifuly arranged. The owner and whole staff is very nice and helpful and willing to make every effort to make your stay positive experience. The swimming pool area and the garden are gorgeus and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful view from the junior suite, spacious room, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If somebody in another apartment was using the tap or shower, the water in our shower almost stopped and became cold. Sometimes it was even impossible to take a normal shower. Several times somebody was sent to fix this, but the problem wasn't solved in the end. There was also a very weak flow of warm water from the tap in the kitchen. In the beginning we also couldn't use the damper in the kitchen, because when using it, the electricity in the whole apartment dropped out. After a few days this was solved. Even though they did their best to fix everything, the water problem was really causing inconvenience during our stay.

    Beautiful view from the junior suite, spacious room, nice balcony, friendly people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable holiday, combining beaches, a boat trip, and scenic drives around the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Both Irini on reception and Maria the owner were very hospitable and ready with advice on where to go and what to see. The property is secluded but is ideally positioned for visiting all parts of the island by car. The town of Gouvia with it's harbour, tavernas and other facilities is only 500 metres away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a good size and had a spacious terrace. Overlooked the garden. Irini, who deals with all communications, both by email and on site, was really lovely and very helpful. Great to have air con in all of apartment, other than bathroom. Could not have survived without it. Maintenance guy was very quick if you needed anything sorted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Such high hopes but left feeling disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no iron and ironing board in the room which you would imagine would come as standard in a self catering apartment. There was no ventilation above the hob (the electric vent was broken) in our room so the whole place would end up smelling of food for hours after any form of cooking had taken place. The shower cubicle was very small and at a size 10 (dress size) and 5ft 2.5 inches tall that is tricky!! There were lots of screaming children taking over the swimming pool area and as a result we felt we had to go out every day to get some peace and quiet on our holiday. The pool bar is not staffed and you had to walk over to Reception if you wanted to order anything - it was easier not to bother and go elsewhere. Gouvia is a very touristy and ugly part of town - Isabella country house is off a main road / dual carriageway so a hire car is definitely recommended rather than a moped.

    Irini's customer service! She couldn't have done more to help us enjoy our stay. The gardens were very pretty too. The daily room clean was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Great pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sunbeds at the pool. WiFi not great.

    Great pool area. Clean rooms and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Very nice pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the only room not open on the garden

    Very nice pool and garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    2 big balconies with nice views, nice pool in a well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    2 big balconies with nice views, nice pool in a well maintained and spacious garden. A great lounge set in the garden. The appartment is cleaned on a daily basis.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful location just outside of the town in a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds a bit firm for my taste. In the 1 bed apartment, the shower was very small and shower curtain short so water went outside.

    Beautiful location just outside of the town in a lovely green quiet garden. The pool was very clean with plenty of comfortable chairs, loungers and umbrellas. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful, welcoming and multilingual team and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were not briefed enough (or did not understand well enough) that cleaning was not necessarily done on a daily basis (towels daily, cleaning every other day, bed linen once mid week) and got trapped with the fact that we were supposed to order breakfast the previous evening! But the next door supermarket (400m) helped feed us!

    Very helpful, welcoming and multilingual team and a wonderful environment remote (yet very close) from the mainroad and the beaches. Outstanding equipments, whether common (pool, garden...) or in the appartment (one of ours had a terrace with a bed so we could rest during the hottest hours. We spent one night in the Suite: a not to be missed experience! Best price/quality ratio on the island. By far.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work in main bedroom, had to use air conditioning in the lounge room and let it filter through into our room. Would be a problem if lounge door was shut at night if used as a second bedroom. Wifi signal very weak in our room, but worked fine outside or around the pool. It wasn't clear at first that for breakfast if you want omellette or greek salad you have to ask; otherwise it is just bread, jam etc. Tasty breakfast once you know it's ok to ask!

    Comfortable room and bed. Nice balcony and quiet garden environment. Lovely pool. Nice friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    9.6
    Quiet location yet close (less than 10 mins stroll to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Quiet location yet close (less than 10 mins stroll to shops/bars/restaurants. Excellent facilities. Fantastic staff. Easiest check in and out ever!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    It was a lovely experience we had there :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a lovely experience we had there :)

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic site and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic site and facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Owner obviously took pride in the complex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owner obviously took pride in the complex. Everything of a high standard and very clean. All staff friendly and hard working.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: