Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Istron Bay Hotel 5 stars

Istron, Istron, 72100, Greece

#24 of 31 hotels in Istron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a problem with wood louse and they were everywhere in the bedroom. Staff did their best to resolve the matter.

    Location was lovely overlooking the ocean and the gardens were in full bloom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could probably do with a little updating and there was a smell emanating from the bathroom on our last day.

    The location was awesome,the staff were excellent but the rooms were a little dated and the bed frame was smaller than the mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The food was good, but I would have loved if the breakfast buffet offered more kinds of fresh fruit. There is free WiFi in the hotel, but in our room our iPad could connect to the internet only if it was near the door, but not if it was a few meters further away. So I guess the signal is not strong enough in all parts of the hotel. That's why I gave the second-best mark for comfort.

    The hotel is practically on the beach, there is a swimming pool with sea water and a big and well kept garden in which you can find shade if you want to escape the hot sun. The lawns are beautiful, with soft green grass! There is a pool bar, a beach bar/restaurant offering good food! Everything is near and easy to access. All in all, the outdoor facilities are great! And the staff is wonderful! The service really couldn't be better. Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the view from the balcony was to die for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small thing i didn't liked is that we had a market AT 2km from The hotel.

    The view is breathtaking. The rooms are big. All you would want. Staff was great. Salute to The manager for The kindness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed in Istron Bay hotel with my partner in October 2017. We paid about 10% more for the superior room and it was well worth the money. We got Room 106. It was 1 minute away from the beach and we had even a shorter walk to the pool. The room had a great balcony with sea views. The room was huge and it had a kitchenette, which we didn't use except the fridge to store cold beer there ;-) The bathroom was equally large with a bath tab and a nice shower. The bed was super king size and comfy. The only negative was that the TV was too small for the room size and it had mainly Greek channels. The breakfast was good. We paid a buffet dinner one night and it was ok 2.5 out 5*. The beach was beautiful and it had plenty of free sunbeds and parasols, but the hotel wasn't busy so I can imagine when it's full the beach can get busy. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and the hotel grounds are well maintained. We loved our stay and fully recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was average apart from the last night which was great. The website stated wine and fruit in the room on arrival there was none. In the bathroom it mentioned bathrobes there were none. A bar-b-que every Monday night there was none. Small things but on first arrival dissapointing.

    The staff were great and the hotel was clean and comfortable. All the facilities were good. A short walk to the beach which was clean. We were upgraded from standard to a superior room which was large and airy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ants in the room. Only 1 English channel on TV. Have to park your car on a hill. WiFi does not work at all in the bungalows.

    Rooms were clean and spacious. New towels everyday. Welcoming fruits are nice. Location is pretty. Private beach. Breakfast is good with a lot of choices. Friendly staff. 15 minute free message.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5* hotel. Because: The small variety of food In the dinner time if you want a coffee you have to pay for it, only soft drinks are free, but the women in the restaurant is looking at you how much do you drink. I think we were too young for this hotel because all people were at retirement so maybe it was our mistake for choosing it. Because it was too quit for us and we didn't have what to do in the evening because all the "entertainment" was the piano. To sum up all things, I think it could be maximum 4 stars hotel but not 5* in the market of Crete.

    The view from the room was stunning Stuff is quite friendly Room were very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle to istro city center but it is 10 min walking distance.

    Extremely calm. Newly renovated room.Amazing view on the see.The bu s stop is on the road just in front of the hotel.Incredible all you can it breakfast and diner buffet. Very nice and profesional reception staff.The ideal place to get disconected from a stresfull busy life.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don't have wifi. Air conditioner didn't work and had bathroom plumbing problem. Poor value at onsite restaurant for dinner.

    Breakfast. Beach and pool. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps and inclines buffet breakfast not hot enough but plenty of choice if you prefer cold meats cheeses

    Location fabulous food quality good staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant: the main restaurant can get quite busy, especially during dinner time, although the staff are quick to clear the tables when the first wave of hotel guests leave. May help to come when the service is starting or some 90 min later. Beach: the sunbeds sit on fine sand but the seabed is mostly pebbles and (smooth) rocks. This is great for a bit of snorkeling on a calm day (the water is clear!) but less than ideal when going in for a swim. Bring your watersports shoes if you think you might need them. If you fancy a different beach, try Voulissima beach which has a shallow sandy bottom. You can walk there from the hotel or take the bus. Facilities: the hotel has a lot of character, meaning some of the equipment may be old even if the rooms have been otherwise modernised. Our A/C unit stopped cooling some 36 h after arrival. It was not fixed after the first request we put in - resulting in a somewhat sweaty night! - , but a second request did the trick. We were given a temporary unit to use for the following night, until the A/C unit was promptly dismantled and repaired (with what appeared to be a new circuit board) the following morning. After this, the A/C worked beautifully!

    Location, location, location - stunningly beautiful scenery in a relaxed atmosphere overlooking Istron Bay. Excellent customer service re: special requests and dietary requirements (allergies). Room: beautiful view overlooking the Med, comfy beds, effective A/C, bathroom with a bathtub and plentiful hot water. Food: Good selection of healthy options for breakfast, lunch and dinner at the main restaurant with local drinks included; staff were happy to provide information re: allergy-safe options. The beach restaurant has an Italian pizza chef and the pizza is super tasty! Pool/Beach: large saltwater pool for swimming. Plenty of sunbeds at the hotel-run beach at no extra cost to the hotel guests; beach towels available for a 10 € deposit (returnable at check-out) and could be exchanged daily for fresh ones at the hotel reception. Activities: varied international program, in part organized by the Italian tour operator Bravo. Grounds: beautifully landscaped private grounds, great for taking walks in the evening. Public transport: bus stop located on top of the hill, near the hotel entrance, for an easy day trip to Agio Nikolaos - or Voulisima Beach with fine sand, if you don't want to walk some two bus stops. A single to Agio Nikolaos was 1.80€. Restaurant: the main restaurant can get quite busy, especially during dinner time, although the staff are quick to clear the tables when the first wave of hotel guests leave. May help to come when the service is starting or some 90 min later.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner buffet could be a little more richer.

    Incredible sea view. The beach is awesome and the sea crystal clear. The swimming-pool and the surroundings are pretty neat, offering relaxing moments. Overall, it's a very quiet place. The hotel building itself, although built in early nineties or so, is well renovated. People were very kind and always glad to help. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a lot- not that keen on buffet evening meals in in main hotel; standard could have been better and better choice. We preferred evening meals at the beach restaurant; less of an 'all inclusive' feel. A low point, despite a well cleaned room, was the appearance of a cockroach(which died), and the following day a more sprightly specimen, which evaded our attentions. We accept we should have informed the staff- who we are sure would have been great- to avoid disruption and possible room change(it was a great suite!).

    Breakfast: Fun squeezing our OJ; excellent selection of food- and the stunning view at window tables. Staff: our first choice of room, as requested for best view, turned out not to suit our needs due to mobility issues. Staff response to this issue was superb: we were speedily offered a great room; staff most understanding and helpful. Loved the large pool, enjoyed swimming and relaxing at the picturesque beach. Oh yes- the grand piano was a)in tune; b)available for playing; and c) a classy feature- Well done!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place looking tired.Wifi poor. No hot water(Cold showers )Had to wait halve an hour after check in for someone to show us to our room.Only redempting feature is good location for getting on the road to Vai

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms "tired" and dark (lights over sink but none over bath/shower area) mould on shower curtain generally facilities could be upgraded

    Beautiful views and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and rooms are a bit old and tired. Very short staffed which made check-in painful.Restaurant staff were rude as well. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but ok. The beach was pebbly and rocky so not ideal to get in and out of especially for kids...

    The view was fabulous -the pool was big and mellow - never an issue to get sun beds. Coffee at breakfast was lovely! Our junior suite was very big and ideally located for pool and beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, it appears to have been neglected over the years. We had several issues with the room, broken lights, broken sun umbrella cold water. The staff didn't seem interested either when we pointed this out. We paid for a junior suit with sea view. We could hardly see the sea, but out terrace chairs were so low all we could see when we were sitting on our patio was the white concrete wall!! The meal in the restaurant was so appalling I couldn't eat it. Over cooked fish and greens. We live in Crete so we know about the great local produce. However, when we checked out they did refund the cost of dinner as I pointed out I would have refused to,pay in a restaurant for such a poor meal. Sadly, we will not be returning to the Istron Bay Hotel.

    We stayed here 14 years ago so we knew the location to be beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Many things you wouldn’t expect from a 5-star hotel : No minibar, cockroaches in a bathroom, old and week furniture, leaking toilet. You have to ask for towel change, for extra pillow, etc. You have to climb one or two steep stairs before you get to an elevator. Breakfast buffet looks like in 2-star hotels. Food is good, but monotonous. You have to wait for spare plate or cup. If you have a car, you can park it almost in front of you room. But if your room is on a ground floor (like we had), you have to have a good mountain driving skill. At least one turn can be passed only in two takes . Stuff is kind and friendly, but too slow for 5-stars.

    Brilliant location – pleasant and beautiful bay, comfortable beach, clean blue sea, no problems with sun beds. 1 hour driving from Heraklion airport, and 5 minutes walk from a village with restaurants and bars. In general, if you are not too concerned about service and room comfort, Istron Bay is an excellent place to stay for a beautiful sea&sun vacation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi Toilet

    This is a great hotel with a beautiful beach and pool. The view is spectacular. The food is excellent and the staff is awesome. We want to come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet is not working almost all the time, restaurant dishes are very limited and looks cheap, restaurant is very bad, tablecloths are not changing for days, restaurant windows are dirty and nobody cares. Everything in hotel is overused and requires good reparation, but again, nobody cares. Room cleaning service is also bad: they clean floor only partly, balcony floor never cleaned, bath soap and shampoo never added. Room interior is awful, it looks like the one from soviet hotel in Crimea in 80-th. They give for free room upgrade but I suppose there is no real upgrade just psychological move to de-stress customers because of hotel bad quality. The only good thing in this hotel is sea view. But you have -1 hour of sun in the morning because of mountain.

    Sea view

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular view to the bay; good variety at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information how to find the place could be better. In fact there is no name of the hotel on the building.

    Excellent view. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rich breakfast great view spacy room very kind personel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is VERY OLD! and rundown.

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet. Very friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Welcome drink and fruits.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old school style, but everything is fine and nice.

    Very big bad. Rich breakfast with fresh orange juice. Big and nice swiming pool. Nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facility. air conditioning is 90s style, old but sadly still working.

    staff, location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All very good for us

    Wonderful views and outstanding gardens with generous balconies. Staff going the extra mile to be helpful. Bedrooms well serviced - lovely atmosphere - pool fresh and clean - beach experience refreshing. Felt like a speciall Greek experience- not just a bland holiday resort.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was drab and supposedly an upgrade ! Dread to think what the room before the upgrade would have been like. Bathroom mirror smeared and generally everything felt it needed a good clean.

    The Location

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and premises are a bit dated. To be fair: this is reflected in the price. Nevertheless it is still very charming, and the location more than makes up for it.

    Magnificent location, all rooms with sea view. Very large pool, also with sea view. Private beach, directly accessible from the hotel premises. Nice restaurant/bar directly at the beach (fairly simple, but very good menu). Very friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a well positioned hotel with it's own private beach and within easy driving distance of Agios Nikolaos, Spinalonga and the Lasithi Plateau. The hotel had regular special events such as a barbecue with musical entertainment. The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the only disadvantage of the place is that every evening from 20:30 for roundabout two hours there's an activity for the children which takes place in the open air and makes a lot of noise, very irritating and disturbing.

    this place is paradise on earth. amazingly beautiful, one cant but relax and enjoy every single minute. most amazing beaches, butterfly accompany you as you walk those beautiful paths to eat breakfast... stunning view, simply fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Group

    1. My room was not what was represented on the website. 2. There was only one very uncomfortable pillow on the double bed. 3. The air- conditioning broke on the first night (was fixed after a second request). 4. My room was outside the gift shop and stairs to then snack bar - then noise was ridiculous. Especially on Monday morning when they decided to drill and do maintenance immediately outside my room when I was trying to rest and sleep. 5. The food at the 'snack bar' was awful. Worst pizza I have ever eaten. 6. One night the people upstairs decided to tip all of their rubbish (cigarette butts, dip and biscuit packets, water bottles etc) over the side onto my balcony - it was a disgusting. I have photos. 7. Expensive and poor Wi-Fi.

    The female Dutch origin lady on the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, old building, very old room furniture's, uncomfortable, not clean at all. weird construction. most guests are old couples...

    A big problem to find a "real" positive point

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation and plenty of sun loungers, and extensive grounds. Watering plants would be a good idea.Meals in a la carte restaurant were the only civilised way to have dinner.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach of the hotel (as indeed most beaches at Istro bay) are with pebbles.A disadvantage for those that prefer sand.Watershoes needed!

    The view from our room over the Istro bay was spectacular,the staff very helpful, the amenities excellent, the breakfast buffet very varied and the different water sports on offer at the "private" beach of the hotel completed the picture of a great vacation spot.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Miniumum 4 Euro for wifi and it must be used up directly, far away from other restaurants

    Private beach free sunbeds, very large pool, wonderful view

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is at best 3* not 5* !

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absence of Internet access

    very friendly welcome and an unexpected upgrade made for a very memorable stay

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: