Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kalama Apartments

Kalamos, Kálamos, 37006, Greece

#3 of 4 hotels in Kálamos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 39 apartment reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Really great if you want to run away from the world and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    A small beach in front of the place is full of sea urchins, so you have to use swimming shoes or go to the other beach. Mosquitoes are a problem at night.

    A great hard-to-get-to place if you are looking for total isolation from the world. There is no crowd, no noise, no road, no shops, no Internet, nothing. The hotel (actually a few houses in a large garden) is a tucked-in paradise. The owner and his family and staff were extremely nice and willing to help in every way. We thank them again for making us feel so relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Just perfect!! Early morning swimming at the small private beach makes the difference!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Direct access to the beach. Just one step away!! Kate at the reception waited for us late in the night very polite and smiling!! Mrs Antonia the owner friendly and helpful plus she makes tasty honey "loukoumades"!! We passed a lovely week!! We will visit again!! Thank you!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice small beach, very clean water, there is no much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's important not to follow navigation, because road is very, very bad. To arrive to Kalamos you have to go to Argalasti and than go to Kalamos (that road is good), there is no bridge to Kalama apartments, so you have to go off road, wich is not to inconviniant, its less then 1 km.

    Nice small beach, very clean water, there is no much tourists so it's perfect if you want to relax There is two restaurants close by, but there is no market, the nearest one is in Argalasti. But every day you can buy bread, fruits and fresh fish (someone is bringing it by car).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Unforgetable Holiday, exotic and exciting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The matresses were very hard and overused

    Perfect location if you would like to reach some of the lovely beaches nearby like Potistika, Mourtia, Paltsiq etc. At the property there is everything you need for a relaxing holidays. The garden is amazingq equipped with all the facilities and you ay have dinner just by the sea or on the veranda looking over the sea. Quiet and charming place suitable for people who love fishing, diving and serenity. The staff is friendly and helpful giving information for the places around worth seeing. We enjoyed romantic dinners having fresh fish and watching the sunsets=. Do I reccommend it to everybody who wants to escape from noisy and crowded luxury tourist areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Despite everything, I would come there again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beach in front of the apartments is like sea urchin colony! It was not possible to walk into the sea barefoot. My children were negatively surprised and did not want to go swimming. We and people from neighboring apartments decided to clean part of beach, so we together collected sea urchins and made "a path" without them. Owners could have made that effort instead of us! Sheets and towels are changed once in five days, in between no one cleans the rooms. Because of broken bridge, it was complicated to reach the apartments - we had to drive one kilometer around on dusty and "adventurous" road.

    Apartments are between olive trees, in deep shadow. This whole place is very calm and relaxing. Closeness of the sea is great, there was always sea breeze, so we did not even have need to turn on air condition. Sea is really clean and water was just perfect for swimming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Would love to return for a longer stay here.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are just next to the sea, and there are plenty of mosquitos- would recommend putting window nets to more windows inside the apartment, so that people can open windows during the nights instead of staying closed inside & using air-conditioning. The climate of Pelion is really great, but mosqutos really persistant:) Another thing good to know for guests: take road from Argalasti coming here, not through Afissos as we did. It's also good to know that there's no shop in Kalamos, however, street sellers visit daily selling bread/fruits/veggies + nearby villages of Argalasti, Horto, Milina.... are just 10 minutes drive away, where you can get all needed supplies.

    Pelion is an amazing place overall, the amazing mix of mountain with sea side allows some incredible sights and many great rutes & surprises while discovering the peninsula. The best thing about it is that it's still not occupied by mass tourism- probably thanks to few factors: position in central Greece, mountaneous area, not so easily accesible roads/beaches... Kalamos is small gem on the west side of the finger. We loved everything about it: the nature, beaches, hills around, the quietness, the peace. Hotel Kalama was just as we imagined, simple charming accomodation just by the sea. The landlord is a charming greek lady who lives close to the property, she is around and friendly, offering her help if needed, but respecting guests privacy- made us feel comfortable & welcome. We would love to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Having breakfast and dinner by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Mosquitos. Hundreds of them, inside and outside. The two room appartment was in an older building. The insect nets were broken or missing at the doors. We brought from home net baldaqins, but the mosquitos managed somehow to get inside every night. Eventually we used mosquito reppelers with insecticide, but these are rather toxic. There are lots of sea urchins by the property, but there are great beaches at walking distance.

    Having breakfast and dinner by the sea. Nice sunsets. The place belongs to an old couple, very nice people. Good and safe yard for kids. Kalamos is nice and quiet and there is a very beautiful beach at the other end of the village, it is called Marmaro ( there is a sign to it before starting to descend to the beach alley.)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Magnificent place and wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Firstly the location of the house was literally on the beach, we got out of bed and took less than 30 breaths to be on the beach. The perfect balance between intimacy, seclusion and the necessary amenities. The house and the garden were amazing, with plenty of shade and sunny spots where we could move in an out of, like lazy reptiles. There was barbeque area which we used every evening, plenty of fire wood provided by the owners. The hosts were fantastic, we felt like we went on holiday to some of our relatives. Warm, kind and friendly, more than Greeks usually are. They gave us advice on where to go, bait to go fishing and freshly baked Greek doughnuts. The wi-fi was great, and it helped bridge the language gap with the elders. The road there was easily accesible, as long as we paid attention to the direction signs. Altogether it was a brilliant experience, made possible by the location and the wonderful people that hosted us. I would highly recommend the place, it was the equivalent of a year of therapy, physical and psychological.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Pelion is a mountain that you just have to see but not only once a lifetime!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    on booking com site there is no valid information of location and howe to reach it, there is the river to cross and the bridge was broken so we travelled throw gardens of olives all around. The owners does not speek english at all but for some time there was a young lady on reception helping a lot. Many thanks!

    accomodation is perfect, beds are large and new, kitchen is just what we need with big new refrigidator. but best of all is location, so near the see, all night you hear the sound of waves, never expirianced before! Also, very good WI-FI!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    2.5
    The studio is located near the beach, quiet place, but note,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - The owners are very incorrect. I had reservation for 7 night, but due to obvious reasons, we missed the first one night from the reservation period and we stay only 6 night. The old lady owner asked me to pay for one more night. Is unacceptable to pay for nothing, as the owners of this hotel asked. They do not speak any other language, which do the communication difficult. - One more thing - the water from the bathroom shower flooded into the room, also the first night there was not hot water, until we asked for. - In brief - good place, but bad owners, I would not go there second time.

    The studio is located near the beach, quiet place, but note, that location on the map /here in Booking/ is not correct - it is situated on the other side of the bridge.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    Simple accommodation, clean and adequate for a good holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple accommodation, clean and adequate for a good holiday. VERY friendly and helpful staff.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: