Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kalypso Cretan Village Resort & Spa 4 stars

Karavos, Plakias, 74060, Greece

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was very slow and sometimes we didn’t have connection at all. The tv as well but it is because of the location. We didn’t like the animateur’s sketches, we found it childish.

    The sea view was amazing. The room was spacious and the balcony as well. The room and the facilities were exactly as in the pictures. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    A dreamy resort which really needs a renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wifi even in the public places. Rooms have serious problems. They really need renovation asap.

    Location was shocking. A cliff hotel well adjusted among the mountains with a very nice private beach. The outdoor facilities are great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Great location but very badly maintained and outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All inclusive package is not all inclusive at all Everything in this hotel is either broken or worn out

    Great location but very badly maintained and outdated hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice place but with a lot to improve!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent 12 days visiting this hotel. It was our honeymoon. The structure looks beautiful outside, with a very good position, but once inside it seemed to have taken a step in the'80s. The WiFi didn't work where it needed to work and in the room it was absent. Being a place outside of nowhere, if you don't have the car you're out of the world! Rent your car also because there is really a lot to see in Crete. Although the 3 swimming pools were not enough for the guests and you will find the usual sly that occupy the sun beds in the early lights by placing their towels above. When we pointed this out to the manager we were simply told sorry they are tourists! It is also ridiculous that they charge the beach chairs for the figure of 10 €, also know it’s also open to people not staying in the hotel. Speaking of rooms, nothing particular but more a year 80 motel for a hotel that should be four star. Also the bath towels were changed one day yes and one no, and if you asked (as it happened to us) to change them every day the answer was: we don't have enough. The rooms were not properly cleaned in my opinion. The buffet was not very assorted but all I want to point out of excellent quality. It ' still unthinkable to put to breakfast only one chef, every morning if you arrived after 8:30 you could not find bacon and eggs. Drink: Just water! The rest was all paid. (We had a halfboard that included breakfast and dinner) get well informed for the policy adopted for all inclusive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Fantastic location and nearby beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy swimming pools. Run down leisure facilities (games room, tennis and basketball courts, table tennis), outdated /non existent room features and services (e.g. tiny old TV set, hair dryer, no internet access)

    Fantastic location and nearby beaches. Loved how the hotel merged into the sourrounding environment. Friendly staff, great range of breakfast foods.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel desperately needs a renovation. The rooms are spacious but it’s obvious in the infrastructure that they need a touch of freshness The lack of mobile signal in the majority of the hotel premises as well as the WiFi that’s available only in the reception area and in the pool bar also constitutes a drawback.

    The location is picturesque. It’s very quite and ideal for a couple of days of relaxing vacations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Points to be improved: fresh water shower in the other two pools, replacement of beach chair cushions (unhygienic), waiter service on both the beach and in the pools. The internet access, in fact, is terrible. In addition to not having access to the room and the pools, we could hardly get access in the hotel lobby. For us, we suggest a larger variety if fruit for breakfast.

    We opt for the half board system in view of the location away from the center. If you do not have a car, the hotel is served by taxis in the area. The hotel has 3 saltwater swimming pools, one of which is child-friendly. The other two, with infinity edge, are in the upper region of the hotel. In all, lots of sun. Only the children's pool has a freshwater shower. The access to the beach (stones) is easy and has beach chairs, umbrella at the cost of € 5 per person and souvlaki at a cost of € 1.5. Inside the hotel there is a 5-star Padi dive operator, but the sea is limited to little marine life. It's best to just snorkel. In the vicinity of the beach there is a freshwater shower and a path to stroll along the front of the hotel. The look is fantastic. The restaurant, in the buffet system, exceeded our expectations. The food was fresh and tasty. It is possible to buy additional meals at a cost of € 13 per person. The room we stayed in is spacious with a sea view. The hotel also has recreational facilities for entertaining children. Points to be improved: fresh water shower in the other two pools, replacement of beach chair cushions (unhygienic), waiter service on both the beach and in the pools. The internet access, in fact, is terrible. In addition to not having access to the room and the pools, we could hardly get access in the hotel lobby. For us, we suggest a larger variety if fruit for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    Sea is the best part but you have to pay sun beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs maintenance Needs new and clean towels Needs internet connection Needs 3G telphone Needs more open space for restaurant

    Sea is the best part but you have to pay sun beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    outstanding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some refreshness of design may improve a little bit the room atmosphere, but they are very confortable like that.

    The hotel location is outstanding. The "pirate's fjord" is wonderfull for swimming. Rooms are large and confortable. The service personnel is agreable and helpfull. The buffet improved a lot compared to previous stay, putting effort on offering Cretan dishes. Plakias is reacheable easily by car or shuttle and the village is enjoyable too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Spectacular views, friendly helpful staff, spacious room with huge balcony, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cold salt water pools. The literature implies that Kalypso is an Activities Centre but in fact many of the advertised activities (bikes, boats etc) are centred at Plakias, 5km away.

    Pleasant relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, very good room, generous with towels and housekeeping services, nice food with plenty of choice. Prices reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Quite disappointing; not for roadtripping tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this resort because we assumed it would be close to Plakias, and we've always wanted to stay at a resort for once. It ended up being on a cliff with a very windy road leading up to it. It was about 10 minutes from Plakias. Nothing in the immediate neighbourhood, they have their own restaurant, bar and mini market so if you don't want to leave the resort, you do have everything you need. The beds were a bit hard and old, with one thin pillow. The beds by the 4 (!) pools are completely occupied with towels that are missing their owners who just leave the pool for 3 hours, which is an issue every all-in resort has I guess. We were also abruptly woken up by the cleaning lady who barged in at 9:15 who didn't even give me enough time to get up and answer the knocking (there is no doorhanger to let them know not to clean your room yet or anything, and we like to sleep in on holiday). There also isn't an actual sandy beach, by the way. The "beds by the beach" are beds on the rocks by the seawater. There isn't Wi-Fi in your rooms, only in the public areas. Also not even any reception in your rooms so 3G/4G also isn't possible. There's also a reason they don't show any pictures of the bathroom; it's very basic, old and it's seen its best days; time for some renovating.

    We ordered a massage which was fairly cheap for the amount of time we received. This pretty much was the highlight of our stay. The only downside is we wanted to enjoy the massage at the same time as a couple, but there was only one masseuse. The view is also pretty stunning, and the staff was always very helpful and friendly. And the breakfast! Everything you can think of and so good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurant was nice however the manager for this restaurant was noticablly unkind to his the waitors. In my observations during the 4 meals he yelled at them infront of guests, correcting them by pointing and humiating. May be his approach is why his there but I did see some staff upset and have to leave the dinning area. Correction can be done in a respectful way.

    The view, the rocks around the hotel, water and waves. Wonferul. One of the waitors was awesome and bar tender friend and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Totally recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kalypso is a very relaxing place. We enjoyed the professional treatments at the Spa center of the hotel. The food was great and the staff very friendly. Our room was very clean and with amazing views!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    It is all about location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and facilities in need of refurbishment. Disappointing food for dinner, very poor quality, could do so much better given the fact that food in Crete is cheap and good quality in general.

    Location is simply stunning. Excellent for hiking. Beach next to the hotel is very clean, perfect for snorkelling, diving and swimming. Lovely for sunset hunters.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    missing a couple of stars to reach 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi didn´t work properly in public areas. No telephone/internet signal in cel phones. Not a very good buffet, repetitive, medium/low quality and too far away from any place to have dinner. Warm meals were cold. No double bed, just to single put together. Outdated in infrastructure and decor.

    The manager was very kind and tried to solve all the inconveniences. Very nice views from the insufficient parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent hotel, perfect for a calm family vacation, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel's beach is not free - 10 euro per dau for two sunbeds and an umbrella. The wifi is very poor and the mobile network works here even worse because of the rocks.

    An excellent hotel, perfect for a calm family vacation, the crystal clean sea is right next to you if you stay here. The food is ok, nothing special, but well served and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful location from the top of the rocky hill down to the sea, great for scuba diving and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Except the fact the hotel beach is a rocky one (no sand) but that is why it is full of fishes for snorkelling!

    Beautiful hotel, fantastic remote location with the sea all around. Bungalows are clean and modern with a lot of charms. This hotel offers a lot of pools, activities and services, but still has a human size. The food is really great for a buffet, and the staff is very friendly. The Spa is great too and at a very good price. Fantastic location for scuba diving with a great team, snorkelling is also excellent at the hotel beach. Really above my expectations! And there are a lot of friendly cuddly Greek cats ;-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Spectacular location...hotel needs updating!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated and has not been updated for a number of years. The bath is especially dated. The room needs a fresh start in this century. No wifi in rooms only in public areas. Most walks are up or down hill or many steps. No real beach.

    The location was spectacular with high rock formations jutting out into the sea! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet [both dinner and breakfast] were massive and quite a lot of variation in food. With this much food there should be something for everyone. The room was clean. Three pools with sun beds. Bar and restaurant and lots of sitting places. See my full review at travelspirit.ca

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    Good if you want to have nothing to do with local culture - very isolated and quiet, away from every
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the toilet flush mechanism was broken, so we had to lift the lid every time a flush was required. Not good for a 4 star resort. A guy came by to look at it and did nothing about it. The bathroom window was fixed permanently open so that did not fill us with confidence - insects got in at night.the food on offer was very poor - no genuine Cretan dishes - it was all very bland, and catered for a very general market.

    The room was sea facing - very good. The a/c was very quiet.the receptionist was efficient and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular location under cliff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel looks a bit outdated. Rooms have new windows, but that's about it. Bathroom sure can use a refresh. Don't get me wrong - it's clean, but for years and it shows.

    Location is unique - hard to describe, you need to see this secluded hotel taking advantage of the terrain. Very nice setting. Breakfast is good. If you book individually this hotel, be aware that you will be in "all-inclusive crowd" of holiday makers from different countries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Kalypso is ideal place for recreation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. There is no WiFi in the rooms - only at the reception! 2. Not much seafood you can find in the restaurant.

    The hotel is located in isolated place. It is very nice to look at sea when it is windy or calm. The small gulf near hotel has very clear water. The water transparency is about 20 meters. There is a scuba diving station in the gulf. There are also 3 water pools. The food was good and staff was hospitable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice view and beautiful nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor food at the restaurant - and we had to pay in advance. I am wondering how and why the management of the hotel arranged shooting with airgun in the wonderfull nature, with lead bullets after plastic bottles at the cliffs - nobody picked the battered bottles up. A lot of waste in the nature around the resort - sadly.

    Nice View

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Dreadful, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very old and not at all how they were depicted in the pictures. Smelly bathroom, very old towels. Staff stresses and unfriendly welcome. Weird vibe at the whole place, awful food and a little boy had his arm practically sucked off in the filter system of the swimming pool - very traumatic for my family. I would not go back to this resort

    Location besutiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    hope to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service staff comes into the room just after knocking at the door. I mean they don't wait even 10 sec, they just come in. Since there is no notification signs in the room (like "do not disturb"), you have no chance to warn them against disturbing you. I hope it will be noticed by management. Also, we would not mind having wifi in the room, not in the public places only.

    Hotel is just amazing. Not too big to be overcrowded. Surrounded by mountains and cliffs along the shore. Lots of opportunities to go around along the sea (actually, above the sea, along the path in the cliffs - great views!). In fact, you can reach the next public beaches if you want. But the small cove downstairs is nice place to swim, indeed. The room was spacious, with big terrace and sea view. Breakfasts and dinners were good, though due to buffet dining there was some mess in a restaurant. Famous Preveli beach is 20 min away by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    the place itself is very simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place itself is very simple. the rooms are basic but the beach is big wow... and also the area around...the spa are very good and we order best massage ever

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    A very special place to stay. Professional family run accommodation in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Such a beautiful peaceful location, close to ruins & famous beaches, wonderful hospitality, breakfast swimming pool, enormous balcony, loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    A good impression overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathrooms could use a makeover because they are indeed a bit outdated but at least they are clean. The main thing that was a bummer for me was that there is no real beach (with sand) near the hotel. The bay area though looks very nice and interesting and the pools at the resort are really nice with salt water.

    I loved the fact that the staff was really helpful and overall very positive and friendly. There was a nice variety of dishes for the meals which was also very nice. The other thing that was really fun in the evenings was the entertainment provided by Tom and the DJ. Remember to book your sunbed by the pools in the morning because people put their towels on them before going to breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!! Wonderful place & beautiful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything in kalypso hotel. They have daily maid to keep our room clean. Amazing view. And the managers & staff? Excellent!! Very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Fascinating nature and location vs. very poor hotel room and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room, facilities, cleanliness and service was nowhere near the fascination we have received from its location and beautiful nature. The bathroom was leaking water from all possible and impossible places, the water was not timely passing through the bathtub hole, the towels were grayish, there were small red ants crawling in our room, no WI-FI was available in the rooms, only in the lobby, which was the hottest place in the whole hotel complex and if there were more than 10 people sitting in the area, the WI-FI was becoming useless.

    The location of the hotel is really fascinating, very impressive, unforgettable and unique! While on the road to the hotel, one may find himself in a slightly frightening condition, as if driving to and being in the middle of nowhere and all of a sudden, after a couple of turns you just bump into a piece of nature which looks like heaven! Worth noting that the beach near the hotel is not free of charge (5 EUR per person) - only the swimming pools (not very inviting) located near the lobby area were free of charge, but one had to get up at 7 in the morning to find an empty seabed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Like being in an episode of faulty towers but in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was terrible although I cannot fault the cleanliness it was in the old block which left alot to be desired. You couldnt walk through the front door and turn left without closing the door first. The wardrobe door wouldn't open because it hit off the bed, the room was also very dark. The food is terrible. No WiFi in the room and only one English speaking TV channel which was unsuitable for kids. VERY windy my youngest got hit by a wooden pool lounger that was lifted by the wind. These aren't major gripes and I wouldn't let it put you off going because the overall experience was good

    I liked the location of the hotel if you like to snorkel or scuba this is the place it was truly amazing. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the airport is quite far and to get a taxi is expensive, but it isn't difficult to find. The beer could be served in bigger glasses!

    Lovely staff Good selection of food for the price you pay Beautiful surroundings Well maintained pools Good number of sun beds, never struggled to get one even with people reserving them with towels The bay was beautiful and safe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We'd looked at the photos, not reviews, before booking, and were quite disappointed on arrival: many things seemed tired and in need of updating/replacing (e.g. really stained sunbeds), and the overall feel was quite downmarket. We arrived at 4pm on a Sunday, starving, but there was nowhere to get food until the restaurant (serving an all you can eat buffet) opened at 6.30. Also, although you can swim in the sea, there's no beach, just rocks, so it wasn't suitable for our 4-y-o.

    Great for children with three possible pools, including one (complete with pirate ship and a very gently sloping shallow end) clearly aimed at kids. Lots of different areas to explore too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    For less we had more in other Creta hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay the umbrella and chair on the seaside! It is free only on the swimming pool. Internet is not available except in the hall and restaurant.

    Beautiful nature and the possibility to dive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    The only thing we liked about the property was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very overpriced, hotel facilities badly maintained, swimming pools dirty, sun beds were rusty and worn out

    The only thing we liked about the property was the location. Amazing sea view and built right above a magnificent small bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Amazing site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic and old but very big.

    Amazing location. The resort is embedded with the nature and the pool are very nice. Nice place tp snoorkel and dive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.0
    A lot of promise, but very dissapointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was SO noisy, you could hear every conversation, movement or TV, and other noises I could not say.. walls absolutely paper thin, very dissappointing. I would not reccommend because of this to anyone, you can not relax or sleep properly due to this. Also look at the pictures it shows the little sea bay part and sunbeds, they are NOT the hotels and are 10 euros to rent, we also did not realise that everywhere is smoking so even on our balcony the next rooms below and at the side smoked so we got that wafting over to us, also outside when eating or around the pools there are not any no-smoking areas or non smoking rooms. There is no wi-fi unless in reception free, unless you pay other areas, you get a fridge but nothing in it, not even water. In pool area, you will not get a sunbed unless you get up at 6.30 am and put your towels on, as we never got one once as towels were there and unless you want an argument whilst on holiday, there is nothing you can do about that, most of those with towels there were not being used, there should be someone from the hotel managing that, it was ridiculus. We solved it by going to another area beach and you will need to get a car, otherwise pay for taxis. There was no card or anything in the food hall above each food item to tell you what the food was, so it was a case of try it and hope for the best. A very annoying thing was that you get a band for All inclusive and also a card, you have to give this card EVERY time you ask for a drink, even lemonade?....around the pool the plastic glasses were so flimsy it squeezed and of course spilled. Very steep access to pool area and food hall @ 1 in 5 ish climb descent. I could say more but I think you get the general idea. Not a pleasant or relaxing 3 nights and we were glad to get away from there even though we spent most of our time off the site, thank goodness we got a car. I would rate 2.5 stars MAX

    The staff were mostly Good helpful, + sea view although we did have to pay extra for that.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect hotel to relax, isolated from crowd, covering a seafront valley location , with his private rocky cove, seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - you need a car to go there but the road view is spectacular - except very nice divings, don't expext too much activities, just rest - rooms can be distant away frol reception (price to pay to be quieter)

    - the spectacular location of the hotel, covering a small seafront rocky valley - very good and famous dive center in the hotel - private cove rocky beach, isolated from crowd - 3 different cosy swimming with seaview - confortable elevated rooms with seaview - various and tasty hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Quirky place to stay, beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests putting their towels on the sun beds and then going in for breakfast

    The cove for swimming and snorkelling, the lovely gardens around the bungalows, staff were friendly and helpful, the area was beautiful, however you do need car to get around. Read lots of negative reviews before we went, but we were happy, people should realize you don't get champagne for Brown ale money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A little piece of paradise in beautiful Crete, not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was just one thing that could have been improved upon.. there was a real lack of lie- beds by all three swimming pools & normally you were expected to 5€'s per day If you wanted a bed & sun umbrella even as a guest in the hotel.. in our case we were not asked to pay as I explained about the lack of beds by the pools.. so we were very happy..the girl on reception was extremely nice & very helpful.

    The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful.. the pools were gorgeous.. very clean & with salt water filtration systems installed. Though the location to their private sea water cove was quite far it was so beautiful & worth the walk. The young guy organising the hotel entertainment was fantastic& there was a very happy atmosphere at this hotel. A very enjoyable stay & even though it was quite far from the airport we would definitely return here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of the hotel has not been recently refurbished and indeed many amenities inside the room are lacking, especially the bathroom and the air condition. The common area and restaurant have also been eroded by time.

    Amazing location behind the mountain, the seaview is breathtaking and the nearby beach is unique. The exterior of the hotel is very nicely decorated with stones and the swimming pools are great with sea water. Indeed the best part of the hotel might be the swimming pools.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Wild silent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Non-smoking zone is necessary in open-air of the restaurant, in lobby, near the swimming-pool. Apartments for not smoking guests aside from smoking apartments would be nice!

    Silence. Size of the apartment. Variety of food. Picturesque walking paths in the mountains. Different types of beaches and pure sea water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Club alternative with a good price vs quality. Very good for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom becoming old + 2 chairs/umbrella at 10€ on the beach

    The package including 3 swimming pool, great big refreshed rooms, buffet option, marvelous cove and site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Great outdoor, activities and food, but the room is far from 4-stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated interior of the room Very old and small TV No Wi-Fi

    Very good breakfast and dinner Nice place for snorkeling and diving Outdoor pool Nice view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views, crystal clear water at the diving lagoon. Easy access stairs to climb the cliff above the resort and hike in the area. 3 pools. Good food and very friendly staff especially Angelo the manager who was excited to meet us and Marina who was helpful at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    Very beautifully located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor management. Heavily deteriorated infrastructure. The kitchen is disgusting, save on everything: oil for frying foods; dirty dishes in the dining room. Staff is lazy and not a doer.

    Very beautifully located hotel. The road to the hotel is finally repaired. Interesting place to swim (bay among the rocks).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Good good good ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra price for the sun beds 5€/per one Even for the hotel guests 😪

    The food and the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    The entire resort needs an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire resort needs an upgrade...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Kalypso Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The Laundry Service is too expensive. The machine coffee for breakfast is very bad. I recommend the greek coffee at the pool bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    special and unique location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit dated but this can add to the charm

    Beautiful and unique setting, professional staff and nice meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was insufficient in quality in a very big scale. Dinner wasn't any better. Do visit but bring your own food.

    the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    breakfast was mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was mediocre the setting of the hotel is amazing the hotel is simple

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light in the shower. TV is locked, no access to USB pen

    Perfect location. Clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Food was very decent for hotel standards, good job cook!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very decent for hotel standards, good job cook!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    We chose this hotel for the SPA, but due to a group staying at the hotel it was mostly booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too steep location for bad knees.

    The friendliness and service of the staff. The exciting setting of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    All
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel,the sea ,good place for diving

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, friendly staff, but something needs to be done to improve the quality of buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet food in the evenings was not good. The pool bar offered very little variety in food and drink.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    diving and swimming only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    house keeping was so bad and there was too much insects inside the rooms specially ants dinners was poor and not good enough

    location and room area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.5
    Annoyed and hated it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were dirty. It smelt like the sewer. No wifi. Horrible rooms. Awful experience! Horrible unhealthy breakfast!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty Pool and seating around pool disgusting Buffet dinner really poor

    Balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi to and from the Airport reckless and dangerous driving

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Aging Resort has the Most Amazing Swimming Cove
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort food was not great.

    The cove for swimming is absolutely breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Sub Club Med
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, facilities, furnishings.

    Dreadful food, cheerless rooms with cheap furniture. Poor man's Club Med.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    Like being on set on The Flintstones
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The other guests....who seems surly and unfriendly

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    The sunbed ans umbrella at pool are free for the hôtel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbed ans umbrella at pool are free for the hôtel guet but the charge 10 euros for the on at the lagon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    4.6
    Εξωτερικοί χωροι
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was of bad quality ingredients. Very oily food and cheapest possible cheese and coffee. Service was non existent at breakfast time. Not even to make a coffee on extra payment.

    Εξωτερικοί χωροι

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    9.6
    Amazing setting, spacious room and good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast orange juice drink, what about real orange juice !

    Amazing setting, spacious room and good breakfast and evening buffet.Especially the pancakes cooked by George !!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    Nice food, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No drinks included in dinner.

    Nice food, beautiful place. We had problem with room (it was freshly painted and has paint smell) staff changed the room. Hotel has very nice private lagoon.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The "village" feel as each room is separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "village" feel as each room is separate little house surrounded by water and trees in a stunning location and with its own private creek for swimming and scuba diving as well as two lovely pools.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.5
    Incredible location among the rocks with lots of pools and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very good food at buffet. Unfriendly and unhelpful staff on the whole. Bar wasn't friendly, didn't have many drinks etc. Very expensive drinks!!

    Incredible location among the rocks with lots of pools and a cove to swim in the sea.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but not extremely luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No free wifi in room, only in the lobby

    Nice hotel, but not extremely luxurious. The food was good. Location is out of the way but the pool/view was gorgeous

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    4.2
    access to a rocky beach for swimming, views out to sea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slippery tiles sloping onto bar area, general atmosphere of managed mass tourism. faded paint on doors, splintered hole in bathroom door frame where door should have locked. wifi did not work in room. impersonal service, typically to instruct me on hotel procedures.

    access to a rocky beach for swimming, views out to sea, garden

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.8
    The location is wonderful, but unfortunately it seems a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I never met in my life a such unpolite, unfriendly, unfear staff.. especially considering that is a Village. They tried to mess around us in different occasions, every time with the goal to get more money..unbelieveble.. Lunch and dinner are quite awfull, the quality of the food is uncomparable with any Cretian restaurant you can find in the Isle: I really advice you to drive 5 min to Plakias, where you have to opportunity to choose many different great restaurants. The room was big and with a great seaview, but we found hair and dust on the floor.. be carefull: don't forget door or windows open, a lot of cats live in the area and they are use to enter in the rooms.. (we really like cats, but ...) we were lucky because the Village was quite empty, but in case you would find it full, there are no enought sunbeds/space for all the guests. WIFI: available only in the lobby area.. if you want to use it in your room, you have to pay an extra amount (3 euro 1 hour, 22 euro 10 hours)...........

    The location is wonderful, but unfortunately it seems a bit abandoned .. Breakfast is good!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    4.6
    Good variety of food but no seafood unless you wanted to pay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The deal we booked said all inclusive but this was not the case. The three meals were but most things during the day were extra. Iced coffees, iced slushies, bottles of water and Wi Fi in your room. You had to carry a card with you which they issued on arrival and show it every time which was irritating when you are in swimwear! The room was supposed to be a family room for 4 but it was the same size as other rooms with 2 tiny beds added. There was not enough room for us all. The shower was broken and pointed at the wall so it was ridiculous to use. This was not a cheap place to stay at €270 a night for the 4 of us. Not value for money as other people have suggested. We stayed 2 nights and left.

    Good variety of food but no seafood unless you wanted to pay extra

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: