Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kastraki 3 stars

Kastraki, Kalabaka, 42200, Greece

#19 of 52 hotels in Kalabaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1153 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place, very close to the main tourist attractions of...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, very close to the main tourist attractions of the area. Very clean, nice and comfortable. The personnel was very helpful. The location and view are amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay in Kastraki!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish the room was a little bit bigger!

    The staff was sooo very friendly and helpful during our stay. The breakfast is €7/person but all homemade and totally worth it! So delicious. The room was great and clean and overall very comfortable. The best part was that each room has a balcony; that means that everyone gets an incredible view of the mountains at Meteora! So beautiful! The circuit buses come right by the property and it’s very easy to walk around for food or shop for souvenirs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    This was our second time staying in this Hotel which is the nearest one to the monasteries .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower mat should be provided especially for older people who could very easily slip in shower. Only Greek channels on TV. No instructions as to how to use Safe Box. Room 13 which we stayed in for two nights was very small and no room when getting out of shower, hence wash hand basin was broken due to people leaning on same while getting out of shower.

    Room 36 was quite nice with a nice view of Meteora Rocks. Much more spacious than Room 13 but there was no balcony. Furniture was lovely. Very clean and pretty comfortable bed. No outside noises. Breakfast was nice with staff on hand for any special requests. The two receptionists we met were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff who gave us a map of the Meteora...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff who gave us a map of the Meteora monasteries and important info about visiting them. Our spacious suite was clean and bright with fabulous views! Breakfast was excellent. It was well-located being at the base of the Meteora monasteries. Free parking on premises was very helpful, too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no negative comments

    excellent starting point to visit the monasteries beautiful view from the balcony parking places taverns nearby where you can eat very well good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in Kastraki with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were wonderful, but the bathrooms could be updated a little bit more.

    Beautiful hotel in Kastraki with amazing views. There is no elevator if you're on the second floor. But the hotel is beautiful and a great location. The staff was very friendly. We had a room with a view from the back of the hotel and requested to get a view of Meteora and the monasteries, and they were able to accommodate us. If you stay here, definitely request a room with a view of Meteora! The views from the balcony are amazing and well worth the little extra we paid. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well and had no complaints at all. I would definitely recommend staying here if your heading to the monasteries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Very close to Meteora and very clean room with good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received an information from the reception about a "good place for dinner" that was incorrect( we have a bad dinner there).

    Very close to Meteora and very clean room with good beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Just loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just loved everything about this place. My husband and I were there just last week and it was simply awesome. The helpful staff , the breakfast, the location.... just made Meteora a wonderful memory for us. Set in the pristine location of the foothills of those huge mountainous rocks ... we felt we were very close to heaven. Loved Hotel Kastraki and will ask all our friends to stay there if they are going to Meteora.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Good place close to the monasteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because we were a family of 4 persons we had like a studio with a sofa than is also a bed. For one night it's okay but it is a little too hard.

    Good place where to stay, quiet. Location is good, on the way to the monasteries. You have a view on the mountain. There is a restaurant across the hotel where you have good food for a good price. Breakfast is good with fruit, greek food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for this lovely hotel, we had a wonderful stay💖
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything~ Breakfast was so great Best location to visit Meteora Clean room and comfy bed Worth my every penny so stay here, Love this hotel very much💖

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in a vintage style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the Room is somewhat "kitsch" The breakfast is served inside. Too Bad as the geographic location is just next to the Météores.

    The advises of the Hôtel to visit the Météores.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic and hotel is peaceful with access to plenty of taverna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one staff member spoke English - and she wa very helpful. Our room was a bit noisy - there was some sort of boiler nearby that ran in the night

    Comfortable and great location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Greek taverna very close to Meteora
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was ok. It could be better

    The staff was extremaly friendly! They helped us to arrange the tour to Meteora plus pick up service for luggage. Top service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel fit to match the magnificent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really lovely hotel right at the foot of the Meteora. Great local advice from the wonderful Effie on the reception desk. The hotel was immaculate and very well priced. Nicest place we've stayed on our two month trip around Europe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little smelly.

    It was very nice. King size bed, good breakfast, nice balcony and lighted pool, large paking lot, shower with a nice aromatic shampoo.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    The other desk girl who was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning did not work. Desk girl comes up to the room and says "oh yes, it works,you just have to give it time. " Told her twice - same answer even though I waited an hour ! I insisted they fix it. Went to eat - came back. " OH you were right sir, it was broken!"

    The other desk girl who was very helpful. The surroundings and the restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    excellent location to experience Meteora from
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Technical problems with the room could maybe have been solved sooner

    Excellent location, very nicely decorated, friendly and helpful staff. Had some problems with the room but they solved them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C

    We rented this room because it was so close to Meteora. The air conditioning wasn’t great, we opened our windows each night, it got a little loud since it was on the main room. The ladies at the front desk were amazing and very welcoming. The breakfast buffet was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C unit in my room was old and having trouble keeping the room cool. For the price and level of hotel, breakfast should be much better. It was a lot of packaged food in a region full of wonderful fresh food options.

    Great location. The hotel is nicely designed; rooms are comfortable and staff is helpful. You couldn’t be closer to the monasteries of Meteora.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful with a style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some soundproofing

    The place was very nice, clean, and the views incredible. The staff was very courteous and helpful. My daughter forgot her favorite toy, so they shipped it to our next destination in Israel, and for free. The breakfast was very good, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Awesome little hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome little hotel!!! The staff was so very friendly and helpful, and the location couldn’t be beat!! You’re as close to the monestaries as you can get- just a short little drive up the road. The breakfast was great, and the room was comfortable. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and convenient with very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very convenient and walkable to most monasteries. The breakfast was good and especially nice before siteseeing. The staff was VERY helpful and super. We needed assistance with changing our ferry reservations. They called the ferry company and translated everything for us which saved us a great deal of strife. I room was comfortable with plenty of closet space. The only issue was the air conditioning which never got cold. We opened the balcony doors during the day but closed them at night due to mosquitoes. Nonetheless, it was a pleasant experience overall and the staff is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel , friendly staff , the breakfast was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was dirty in check-in but the problem was dealt immediately

    Comfortable hotel , friendly staff , the breakfast was great !!!! The location is very convenient for visiting the monasteries, If you have time - take the sunset tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay but maybe look elswhere if we visited the area again, as there were plenty of other
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed in our room was awful, noisy creaking frame and hard mattress. The shower worked OK but very old, with no shower door.

    Great breakfast and helpful staff in a great location for accessing monasteries and local restaurants/bars. Nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived much earlier than expected but we were given the key to our room anyway. The hotel is ideally located and looks up at Metéora. The breakfast is sumptuous. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The staff is very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very kind and helpful. The room is very comfortable and cozy. Very good breakfast and coffee. Perfect location. No problem for car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to visit Meteora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is a bit cramped, but typical style for the region.

    Excellent spot to stay when visiting Meteora. The location is perfect for accessing the monasteries and there are great restaurants just steps away from the hotel. The staff was awesome and even packed an early breakfast for us as we left before the service began. We visited Kalabaka and were glad to have stayed in Kastraki, much quieter and less touristy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, good breakfast, nice hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was actually two single beds that had a space in the middle. That was the only thing we would have changed. We didn't have a room with a view, but there was a balcony.

    The room was nice, clean and good for a short stay. Bed was comfortable too. Breakfast was great, an assortment of cookies, pastries, bread, cereal, eggs, cheese, salad, yogurt, nutella, honey, juice coffee and tea. The location was excellent. Very close and easy to visit Meteora, 5 min or so drive to the Great Monastery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Worth it I would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small showers and no elevator to second floor.

    Very friendly and helpful with info about the area. Quiet good location. Just across the road from a coffe house that had simple meals and music in the evenings. The showers were smal and no elevator to second floor Great view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    A very nice, clean and central located house with an extraordinary attentive, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the visit. This is a nice, clean hotel with an always ready to advise and helpful staff. A really good breakfast as well as very attentive and friendly hosts made our stay very pleasant. Unfortunately, the view from our rooms were not (looking at the house next door) what we wanted. But since we spent the entire day outside the hotel, that was to get over. We highly recommend this hotel, although we would not book these rooms again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good experience, will recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been perfect 10/10 if we got the room on upper level facing Meteora.

    Was given a room facing Meteora mountain - very good view. Slightly downside is that the room is located on ground level, hence privacy level is low when the room window/balcony is opened.. would have been excellent if we got the room on the upper level which we understand has limited supply.. Receptionist is friendly (family run business). Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay here! Just below the monastaries the hotel is well located and offers fantastic views as well as a comprehensive and complete breakfast. The staff was very helpful giving us all the most up to date information on when to visit the monastaries as well as other things to do in and around town. Would highly recommend staying there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Both good and bad things to say but overall good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like how small the bathroom was. Additionally, there was no mention about extra payments and upon checkout I had to pay another 1.50eu. Not that is a lot, but it's nice to know beforehand about any possible additional charges. Breakfast coffee was not good.

    Huge room with amazing view even though it was a family room of 4 that was supposed not to have a view towards the mountains. Also, the home made pastries over breakfast were absolutely amazing!! I have no words! We were also 5 minutes late to hand the room's keys and the staff was okay with it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect for us.

    Very good breakfast. Meropi and her family ready to accommodate all our needs. Location perfect for visiting the monasteries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Tremendous Easter break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly small but the view more than made up for it!

    We had an amazing time! Extremely friendly staff with great activity suggestions about the local area! Went onto a truffle hunt thanks to them! The hotel itself is particularly elegant and clean. The location is very convenient, close to the monasteries, close to the center of Kastraki and within a small distance from Kalabaka. 100% would visit again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We have been traveling Greece and this is definitely the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been traveling Greece and this is definitely the best place we stayed in during this trip. A perfect location with beautiful design, large lobby and comfy rooms make this a great place. The staff is extra nice and helpful and the breakfast is great. Would definitely come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    We are so happy we found this lovely hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are so happy we found this lovely hotel .The staff was excellent and friendly...they made our stay here even more pleasant. Wifi works well. rooms are comfortable ,large, clean and the bed was comfy.We would definitely recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Simply awesome!! lovely, cute hotel and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We fell in love with this little town of Kastraki! So awesome to leave so close to the monasteries!

    This hotel is a gem!! The lobby is so cute decorated! Breakfast was great, fried eggs, bacon, yogurt, coffee, etc. The location is just perfect! it is the closest hotel to get to the monasteries! And the girls at the front desk will give you all the information you need and more. We loved Kastraki and Meteora, they were definitely our favorite! The hotel recommends a restaurant that also belongs to them, you can't miss it!!! They speak English also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Great View, spacious room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say the property was a little pricey for what it is, its a little old and they charge as if it was all new! small negative though.

    The room was spacious and provided a great view of the Meteora Monasteries, it was beautiful. Breakfast was very nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel in quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Super room and wide choice at breakfast. Home-made pastries specially good. Staff most helpful and recommended a lunch place and their own taverna nearby for evening which was super! Perfect situation with views of rocks and monasteries perched on top. Away from tourist hordes in Kalambaka!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very basic and needs to be refurbished. Shower was open to one side, which resulted in spilling water all over the floor. Some rooms on the ground floor to the back of the hotel, face a concrete wall.

    Staff was very friendly and supportive. Hotel is located in the quiet and beautiful village of Kastraki, very close to the monastries. We did not have a car, so discovered three close-by monastries by foot, which was an amazing experience. We had a room on the first floor with a view over the garden in the back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift but the staff helped with our luggage.

    The view was amazing. Breakfast was ok. The place was clean. We only stayed 2 nights so it was ok. The lovely lady at the front desk was very helpful with information of what to see and even gave us maps and timetables for the monasteries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and smelled very strongly of cigarettes- but I'm fairly sensitive to that. The view of the meteora rocks was much more obstructed than it looks in the photos online with a street and several restaurants in front, but it's still nice.

    Nice enough place. Bed was comfortable and room was spotless. The lady at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful and loaned us a guidebook with the history of the place. Breakfast was opulent and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    Shame - nice staff but out-dated facilities and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear everything that was happening in the rooms either side and above us all night long and got little sleep. The balcony doors make such a racket that every time they are opened all the rooms around can hear it and we could hear people using the bathrooms in the neighbouring rooms.

    Good location for seeing Meteora. The hotel room was a decent size and on first impressions perfectly acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We loved our stay in Hotel Kastraki. Helped us enjoy the majesty of Meteora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have been bummed to be in most any other room. Many rooms don't have a view of the rocks.

    Our room was the best in the place. Try to book room 35. It has the best views of the Meteora rocks and a nice patio on which to enjoy them. Also, we hadn't realized (or had forgotten) that breakfast was included, and what a comprehensive breakfast buffet! Nice job, Hotel Kastraki! When we brought in wine, they opened the bottle for us at the bar. All the staff were friendly and professional. Lastly, the hotel is in a great location. Highly recommend it. Would return again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall not a great experience. I booked a room with a view thinking it would include a view on Meteoras but instead had a view on the garden. I booked a double room but was given a triple. Heating did not work, the bathroom was dark and the wallpaper in the room quite old. A bit depressing and not up to the magic of the location.

    Nice little family-run hotel which reminded me of my childhood. Good breakfast and very clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    We stayed here, as it was close to the monasteries and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought we booked a room with views of the monastaries

    We stayed here, as it was close to the monasteries and had free on-site parking. It was only a 10 min drive to the furthest monastery of St Stephen which we visited upon our late arrival per information given to us by the staff. Excellently priced accommodations with breakfast included. Recently refurbished and have a very classy feel. The staff are excellent and very friendly. Breakfast is very good and the dining area was spotless. Some good restaurants within walking distance. We thought we were getting a room with the views of the monasteries but Not.The rooms with the views of the Meteora rocks are better. Very clean and highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Easy and fast to get taxi from hotel to/from train station. I listened in- fares run from 5-8 euros
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is past due being replaced. Lights on front of building left on late and showed through curtains - I had to cover slats in shutters with towels. The hotel really needs to install black out curtains if they want to leave lights on all night.

    Location was excellent, easy to find along road to Meteora near city limits, close to several excellent grill restaurants. Staff was extremely helpful planning routes and providing maps for 2 days of hiking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Worth to stay for one night but not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark rooms, little bit outdated, high prices (but in whole area the restaurants, bars, souvenir shops are overpriced)

    Good position for Meteora visit, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is close to the road leading to the monasteries of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The hotel is close to the road leading to the monasteries of Meteora. Across the street is a tavern where you can serve an extraordinary barbecue prepared by Senior Costas. The hotel offers comfortable rooms in a quiet area. Breakfast is very good, varied. It is extremely clean. The atmosphere is very beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location can be hit or miss depending on what you are looking for. It was very close to the hiking trails of meteora but food options were limited in Kastraki and Hotel Kastraki was on the edge of the village. It was great for our purposes but might not be as convenient if you want to be near good restaurants or have services like a western union. You would need to go to Kalambaka for those.

    Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of things to eat. The view from our room was amazing (room 35). The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful. The rooms were lovely and light with view over Meteora and the monasteries. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Very solid establishment, spacy rooms, comfortable sanitary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the hotel attracted by its position and "mountain view". We've got the room with the balcony to the opposite side and found us lucky: сomplete with mountain views our balcony would get a strong smell of grilled meat from a restaurant, located 15 metres from the hotel entrance. In the hallway of the first floor felt a very strong smell of disinfectant to wash the floor.

    Very solid establishment, spacy rooms, comfortable sanitary block, professional friendly staff. On the day of departure we asked for cutting a melon - and got it not only cut, but also great packed for two persons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no drawback .

    On arrival , we discovered that our bedroom didn't have a view on the mountain . The manager upgraded us with a superior bedroom .with a beautiful view. Excellent breakfast with a lot of dishes .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Quiet mountain side hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little dated--- but clean and simple. I would recommend getting a balcony room. Those were all booked-- otherwise you'll get very tiny window with no view. Try to get to breakfast early as they do not replenish once something is out. Snooze you lose.

    The staff was friendly. The location was quiet and near the entrance to the mountain views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location for quick start to Meteora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may not be convenient for small children or people with big luggage - the stairs to second floor is not for that. The problem at my experience is managed in good way - people with such difficulties are being accommodated on the ground floor.

    Great location for quick start to Meteora. Whole hotel is kept clean and shiny. Personal is helpful and polite. Breakfast wasn’t something really special for Greece but it wasn’t bad by all means. I’m mentioning it just to manage one’s expectation. Despite the close road it was really quiet place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location in front of the Mateora rocks. The view from the balcony is stunning. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. The staff is right to assist in all. strongly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in a perfect position for Meteora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Double with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly larger fridge and a kettle in the room.

    Friendly knowledgable staff. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in Greece, choice was very good. Rooms and decor is old fashioned but perfect for the area, preferred it to contemporary. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and ideally positioned for trip to Meteora. Their off site restaurant was also very good we ate there both nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice loaction ideally situated for visiting the monastries
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Taverna also belonging to he hotel was "understaffed" for the amount of guests resultung in long waitung time ...

    The room had a small nice balcony. The staff was very freindly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Exellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is rather poor.

    Very clean room and comfortable bed. There is a small garden with the view of meteora where one could spent hours enyoing the view and breathing clean air. If u add a ouzo or raki even better. Staff is helpful and smiley.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Outstanding place to enjoy the Monasteries in Meteora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nice but during the night if you open the door of the balcony there was a strong noise making very difficult sleep, we think it was the air conditioning machine from other rooms but we are not sure about it really.

    The location is perfect if you want to visit the Monasteries, you can go to the nearest walking in 15 minutes. The staff was very kind and they gave us all the information we needed related to the buses, they also recommend us very good places to have lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Good location to start hikes and very helpful & kind people!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a swimming pool would be a good idea :)

    Very nice people always helpful, and willing to give us advices on where to go / hike. They even provided a book and a map ! Good location to start hikes in the Meteora

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Very nice hotel in a perfect position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was small and with French bed very uncomfortable

    Very nice hotel in a perfect position. Charming building. Good breakfast included in the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Loved the traditional look of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the traditional look of the hotel. It was perfect for Kastraki. It seemed like it was a family run hotel as well, which is really nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly and well run hotel in a fantastic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful position. Very clean, comfortable and the ladies on the desk were very friendly helpful and informative. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and presented very well. Highly recommend this hotel. Would love to return someday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Our host was very friendly and helpful: she pointed us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our host was very friendly and helpful: she pointed us to the most important monasteries and also informed us about the beautiful sunset that without her, we would have missed. The breakfast was unreal: so many different choices to make, and it was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    The staffs there are very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The staffs there are very helpful and friendly. Also, the garden restaurant opposite to the hotel is an excellent one. The hotel is close to one of the monasteries, about 10-15 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good location for a visit to Meteora
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit old fashioned but everything worked well

    It was a nice simple room and the air conditioning was a life saver as it was really hot outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    quiet place, friendly staff, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    opening hour of monastery St. Nikolas and Ιερός Ναός Κοιμήσεως της Θεοτόκου was out of date. nothing to complain else.

    quiet place, friendly staff, they gave me several instruction regarding opening hour of monastery, churches and preferable restaurant. breakfast is also good enough. air conditioner, refrigerator works well too. restaurant in front of hotel is also nice. it is nice view in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The village of Kastraki is a bit isolated unless you want to hike Meteora. However, it is a peaceful village.

    Very helpful staff arranged transportation, tours, and held our bags the day of departure. Beds were very comfortable, air conditioning was excellent, breakfast was delicious - especially if you like pastries - and had Greek and other styles of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Very well located, with walking distance to the monasteries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather tired and old fashioned. We were there during the hot summer and the (1970s style) aircon didn't work properly - leaving the room hot and sleeping difficult. The staff were unable/unwilling to help in this respect - telling us that it will cool the room in time and we just had to wait longer - well we waited for two days and the room was never cool....! We were quite disappointed with their attitude in this respect and no effort was made to fix the aircon, or offer any other solution. The hotel also provided the wrong timetable for the bus to the monasteries, meaning I missed the last bus and had to walk. This was clearly unintended and a genuine mistake - but there was no apology, which I thought would have been nice. Overall OK, but not worth 110 Euros.

    Very well located, with walking distance to the monasteries (if you are up for a steep, up hill walk!). Friendly staff (although see below) and decent breakfast. Nice balconies providing a view of the rocks and monasteries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was clean and the room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and the room was very spacious. The breakfast has a lot of variety and was really good. The reception was amazing, she even prepared breakfast for us as we left very early in the morning and gave us all the details we need as we only stayed there for 1 day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel from where to explore the monasteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel in Kastraki. Rooms were comfortable with good facilities, ours was a good size with a seperate sitting room and a nice little balcony with views to the Monasteries. Staff very helpful with information about the monasteries, opening days/times etc and a good map..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    A good choice in Kalabaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is good and the staff are nice. It takes around 5-10mins from the train station to the hotel by taxi and it costs about 7-8 euro. There are restaurants and small store near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Good three stars hotel in Meteora
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are comfortable but updated. TV did not work properly. Breakfast looked wonderful but tasted basic. Generally speaking, from our point of view is better to stay in Kalambaka that has more to offer regarding entertainment, restaurants and bars - then Kastraki

    Good location up to Meteora. Reasonable price. Reception staff was very helpful. Good three stars hotel. Nice views from the hotel area.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kastraki traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: