Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Katerina 3 stars

Karolou 20, Athens, 10437, Greece

#79 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2182 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady was starting her job very early in the morning (8 am daily)....it it was impossible to sleep a little bit later than 8.

    Room was cleaned daily, free parking close to the hotel (owned by hotel),a very good breakfast and nice location ( close to city center)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, walking distance to the train station if you are catching train to Meteora, very friendly staff on the front desk, good size rooms for a family traveling with two children.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly small. Location is a bit far out from the main tourist attractions, but it is close to a metro stop. There is not many restaurants in the area. There are many more interesting areas to stay in by far. Not even much shopping close by. Breakfast room is not big enough. Hard to get a clean table in the morning. They only have one person running the whole breakfast area. It's too much for one person to handle.

    The staff were helpful. Proximity to public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good with hotel and staff. The only downside is the rundown and dirty neighborhood. You see many small groops of refugees between hotel and Omonia square as well as on the way to Plaka

    We booked a junior suite and got the top floor with huge balcony with very decent views. bed was very comfortable and all staff very helpful and friendly. A particular convenience is free car park in fenced and secure side yard since we rented a car at the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The liquid soap in the shower was almost empty when we check in, and unfortunately wasn't check and refill the entire stay (3 nights).

    Good location near subway station, very clean hotel, friendly and polite staff, good value for money, tasty breakfast, very good water pressure in the bathroom 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small greek detail with the bed sheets :-) Seems that the habit is to leave your feet uncovered: quick fix is to turn the sheet upside down. Noise of the fridge (stopping and starting all over again): quick fix is to unplug it (if not useful for you)

    Perfect location (close to subway, less than 10min to akropolis). Super friendly and helpful staff. Very nice and clean rooms with retro charme. We had a family suite (2 rooms with small private corridor between) and it was just perfect. Large and tasty breakfast you don’t expect for such a hotel. Small balcony to enjoy the sun during a snack. In a nutshell: perfect location for visiting athens or (like in our case) stop-by hotel before and after the island boats.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had were the bed rests n lights above which r so low that we kept hitting our heads. It has to be rectified or else they r playing with fire n one day will have to deal with a big case

    The location, amenities, breakfast and value for money is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite dated, in both furniture and decor. Staff was fine, a little aloof and not overly friendly, but helpful enough if you ask them questions. The 2 elevators are tiny (fits 1 person plus luggage), and very slow; they're also quite ancient in their design. There are no real amenities in the hotel other than the lobby. The neighborhood of Metaxourgeio is very bland and a little rundown, not much interest to the tourist, although cheap restaurants abound and feels like a place only locals would frequent; it is also right by Omonoia, which is somewhat sketchy (with lots of vacant storefronts, immigrants, peepshow theaters) -- but I did not feel the hotel and surroundings were dangerous in any way. Overall, Katerina is a hotel that's solidly in the 3-star category for continental Europe, pretty much no frills and not very special, but fine enough and conveniently next to a subway station -- I'm actually a little puzzled why it has such a high rating on Booking (8+).

    breakfast was pretty good, and included hot foods (eggs, sausages), feta cheese, and pastries (as well as halva). room was kept clean and serviced daily. The location 1 block from Metaxourgeio subway station is very convenient to get around the city (and walking distance to the National Archaeological Museum) -- the M2 line will whisk you to Acropolis and Syntagma Square in just a few minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The soap container ran out in the shower.

    There were 4 of us but 2 left after 3 days and 2 more came for 6 more days. The hotel was great in changing the bedding and towels for them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff - very helpful and attentive Great location, convenient but also removed from the noise of tourist areas; easy access by metro to/from airport and Acropolis / key places of interest Great wi-fi Comfortably-sized room Many conveniently placed electric sockets - I can charge everything at the same time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having two rooms we were still very limited on space. The elevators are tiny so we had to go in groups of two and three to get up to our room.

    The hotel was very nice. We had to connecting rooms for us and our three children. That made it very convenient and it gave us two bathrooms. The rooms are very clean and the hotel is quiet. The hotel is a 20-30 minute walk in to the city center or only 2 minute walk to the metro stop. The staff was very kind and very helpful. The breakfast options were amazing. I loved sitting out on the balcony in the evenings and watching everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fair amount of traffic noise from outside that light sleepers may struggle with.

    Great value for money. Location is very good for exploring Athens. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Good and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smaller than expected. The lifts were very small. Cannot accommodate more than 2 people

    Very convenient location. Breakfast was good. Room was clean though smaller than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little sceptical about the surrounding area but that is about it really.

    The hotel was pretty commendable for a 3 star lodging. Comfortable bed, clean rooms and nice hot shower. The balcony had good views and a hot, fresh buffet continental style breakfast served between 7-10 providing eggs, omelette, mini sausages and cereals/pastries. The receptionist also offered my Dad and I two complimentary beers each which I thought was a nice touch. Also the hotel was very convenient for the hop on hop off bus and was a two minute walk to the nearest metro stop. Also ideally situated opposite is a mini supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the rooms are quite small. We had no problem with this but some may Also the elevators are quite small so once we had our luggage in our room I opted to take the stairs that way I could eat more!

    The staff was very friendly and the room was exceptionally clean. Though it was a bit of a walk from the main sites it was easy to do and we got to see more of Athens. We also took the metro twice. It is very close to the hotel and extremely easy to navigate Also the breakfast was quite nice and had a nice variety of foods to eat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noice from the a/c but not so important

    Everything was so clean from bathroom, room and public wc. Friendly staff. Very close to Metaxourgio metro station. Value for money hotel. To be honest It overcame my expectations. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is at an intersection and is very noisy outside. It will get sometime to get used to it. But with windows closed things are much better.

    The location is very pleasant, clean, very good staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * Main issue was the temperature in the room. There was an AC in the room but it only had the 'cold' setting. I travelled in May where the AC made the room too cold. However, turning off the AC made the room too hot. Opening the windows brought in the mosquitos. So a fan would have been nice. * Room felt boxy - there was not much room to move. * Main tourist areas of Palaka/Acropolis are far - have to catch a metro there.

    * The two gentlemen at reception were very friendly and helpful. I was a solo female traveller and they provided information on 'to do' and 'not to do'. * Breakfast was good. * Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not find how to switch on conditioner as at some point it was very hot in the room due to sunny weather outside. We did not book a breakfast but decided to have it in the morning: unfortunately for EUR 15 some of the items from menu were not available. Finally we went to eat outside.

    Good location, clean room, nice and friendly staff. It is recommended for solo travelers as the room itself was tiny but cozy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single drawback was that the water temperature in the shower fluctuated between hot, warm, and cool... thankfully never cold.

    The location was very convenient and within walking distance of the Acropolis and the Archeological Museum. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Free, secure parking was a definite plus. The breakfast was very good and all in all we were very pleased.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply a personal preference .. the bed was hard and I didn’t sleep as well as I would have liked. On my wish list, I wish there had been a complimentary coffee/tea station available downstairs 24/7. That would have been great.

    Very clean, European, substantial continental breakfast, relatively close to all activities, centrally located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was kind of a small size side, but in a lot of Hotels in a Europe it is the case.

    Convenient location near Metro station and Larisa RR station. Good room cleaning service. Very good breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic was quite loud until early hours of the morning.

    Only a quick stay as arrived late and left early morning. Was a half an hour away from train station so found it easier to get a taxi. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly as I had to make last minute plans to book bus trips. Can walk to restaurants and had a nice small balcony off our room and view of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft for me; woke up with back discomfort. I wished I had a couple extra or firmer pillows.

    I loved the cleanliness (immaculate room and bathroom- fluffy nice smelling towels- great shower), breakfast, staff efficiency and friendliness! Mostly appreciated the convenient and fast access to the metro station!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only down side to this hotel was the bed. I found it a little uncomfortable but that may just be my preference of a really soft bed.

    The staff here were so friendly and helpful - it really made the experience extra special. The hotel was decorated beautifully and we had a large balcony which was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less spacious room.

    Superb breakfast Great location near to syntagma square and many nearby restaurants for food. Overall very good and satisfactory experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the small side and there was a strange overhanging headboard that we banged our heads on regularly. It was impossible to sit up in the bed.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, especially as we had passports stolen on the metro. It is a city centre hotel, it was clean and had a small balcony. The breakfast was adequate, but fried eggs were cold!!! The hop on bus and the metro station are very close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was VERY unconfrtortable. If anyone has a back problem and stay in a hotel with a bed like the one I got in my room, watch out. I couldn’t sleep all night in pain. Not suprtive at all the mattress. Very soft. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel if all the beds are the same

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny lift. Daytime the area is ok but at night I would stay on the main streets and avoid shortcuts through the smaller streets.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is located close to metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevators are small, do not try to crowd more than two persons or even one if has luggage.

    Nice hotel for a city break. Positioned right near a metro station, 2-3 stops from city center. Good breakfast with enough variety to get a good morning start. Very polite and attentive staff. Cleanliness is exemplary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old furniture, room needs refurbishment, tiny room no space to walk around bed, Lightning in the room is average, no safe deposit, bulky keys to the door, Tiny lift for only 1 person at a time, poor TV with 1/2 English channels

    location, proximity to the metro station, internet, helpful front desk staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -I booked the hotel for two persons . My collegue had the flight delay so he was on-site at the next day .Before check-in the hotel was informed that we need two separate receipts and invoices for our accommodation and also I let to know the hotel staff about late check-in of my colleague due to flight delay. Inspite of this they clean out the account from my credit card for one night in favor of my collegue accommodation. - poor breakfast

    This hotel is located close to the metro and all sightseeing. You can easily reach the historical part Acropolis. 40-50 min to airport by metro without traffic jam. Good hotel room with all the things needed. Few rooms has a balcony. -extremely clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location. Very old decor and tiles. Seems outdated. Only bathrooms reovated. Not fit for families at all. The room size is very small. After 3 cots noone can walk. Also the ceiling is low. Almost claustrophobic.

    Good staff. Upgraded after giving a terrible room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area surrounding the hotel is not fit for family. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner though they have buffet breakfast available

    The people at reception: Stefenos and George were really polite and helpful. They really guided us well in case of any doubts. Facilities were mostly adequate though not lavish. Taxi could be booked by just telling the reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not good, just 5 minutes walking from the hotel we found ourselves in a street of drug addicts and dealers, pretty scary. It was incredibly warm in the room and we could not sleep at night, there's something like a fan but it doesn't help, just buzzes loudly. Many of the rooms face a road with intense traffic, which could be very noisy. The shower was very small.

    The staff at the reception were helpful and nice. The room was very basic but quite clean and the bed comfortable. Close to a subway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are not very big, but they are enough for spending evenings after all day trips. They were very clean and well equiped. Very close to metro station and also walkable distance to city center. Parking available as well. We would stay again at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee at breakfast time could have been stronger.

    Welcoming, professional, friendly staff. Very comfortable real double bed; not too singles zipped together. Good bespoke furniture in bedroom. Lovely lounge and waiting area. Substancial breakfast. Good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators tiny - not good for strollers Parking is Abit tight but ok Metro is really close but nearby area is a little scary at periods.

    Friendly staff Close to Metro Nice breakfast Good service Clean, fantastic showers !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    There was good variety for breakfast, the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Really nice place to spend a few days. Subway 5mins walk and Taxi rank 3mins from the hotel. jj

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About a kilometer away from Acropolis. But it's fun to walk around. Bathroom is a bit small though.

    It's so cute and classic! Staff are really nice, accommodating, there's free luggage storage. They gave me free lighter when I needed to smoke. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in the room was very loud we had to turn it off in order to sleep at night, the room a bit small. We also noticed some small ants in the bathroom...

    The staff was very friendly giving recommendations and suggestions about the stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better, its what you expect for the money. No soy options though for the lactose intolerant.

    Great location next to the metro! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice and clean rooms for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    I should recommend hotel Katerina for their hospitable reception, responsive personal, good location, clean rooms and tasty breakfast. We leaved for 1 week and very happy that choosed hotel Katerina.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was very good.The Location, the food ., you cant ask more for the oney. I really loved the Stay at hotel Katerina in Athens. It had all the things that we needed.I loved the antique look.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception Staff was generally OK but I think the lady at the breakfast room could be a bit friendlier. Although we greeted her in greek she did not even bother to smile. There was no supermarket around the hotel. The area is not very beautiful but in fact I believe the whole Athens is like that. It is not the safest city on earth but still a charming one!

    Location was good, very close to Metaxourgio metro station. Our family room was very good. It was actually a connected room composed of 2 different rooms but overall it was very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful. We stayed here at the start and finish of a cycle touring holiday in Greece. The hotel looked after our bike boxes for the two weeks we were touring which was great. They also have a private car park where we were able to keep our bikes securely overnight. Room comfortable and very clean, breakfast great choice and copious. Location walking distance or metro ride from main attractions such as the Acropolis. Close to central train station which is why we chose it. Taxi ride from airport for around €50.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very nice and well situated near metro station and 20 min walking from the city center. The breakfast is very good and with enough options. The rooms are small but very clean and with comfortable beds. The staff is nice and helpful. Great quality for the price! I totally recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At booking.com is stated that the hotel offers service of private shuttle. This is not true. The hotel offers to book a taxi. But this is what any hotel can do. In case of hotel Katerina, taxi from airport is more expensive (50+ euro) if it is booked by the hotel than if you take a taxi by yourself from the airport (30-40 euro).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like walking to/from our accommodation to/from the city center, but the neighborhood between the hotel and the city center was definitely not nice, so we used the metro. This has nothing to do with the overall hotel stay.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff friendly and helpful, and although the room and toilette were not very big, they were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A nice place to start your holiday ,friendly people at the reception area and ready to help you all the way. Good selection of food for breakfast.It is close to restaurants.Many thanks for making my stay a pleasant one .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mattress was old and very uncomfortable. At Breakfast the coffee was lousy and the eggs usually cold. If there were lots of guest having breakfast at the same time food wasn't refilled in time.

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more maps and tourist in formation available in lobby or rooms.

    The hotel staff were helpful in a very quiet gentle way . They booked a forwarding bus for me as I couldn't use the Greek website. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is kettle provided in the room, but no cups or tea bags??. When asked for cups from reception they were provided and there a small shop across the road for tea bags, beer and other supplies.

    Authentically Greek environment, the room are not plastic like other tourist Hotels, they have character. The staff while they got a few things slightly confused were wonderful and personable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of stale smoke in a room that was pretty cramped for two people. Shower gel and shampoo had not been topped up for our arrival. Breakfast room was not big enough to cope with the number of guests. Hotel is in a noisy area that is far from Athens' nicest, although we were fully aware of this before arriving so not fair to criticise the hotel for this.

    Having stayed in Athens several times, this hotel is located in an area packed full of mid-range options in a city that is fairly expensive. This was our second stay at Katerina, which is a reasonable option if you're not worried about too much luxury. Staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No good restaurants around, location is not fantastic, far for all attractions and staff is generally polity. Price is expensive, considering there are other hotels in the same price level with better location. But there are always 3 or 4 people in the reception and they keep talking about guests in Greek language and laughing. It doesn't means they are saying bad things, but it is not very comfortable. They have to understand that even if their language is different, there are some key words that are the same, so it is easy to understand they are talking about our country, culture and habits. It is not polite to act like that.

    Location is ok, near the subway. Family room is very nice, since it is actually two rooms with two bedrooms connected by a corridor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very small we could hardly move the room. The 2 lifts were so small and old that one person with 1 suitcase would fill it.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be some variation on the breakfast menu

    The view, amazing balcony, the apartment was small but very clever shared in 2 rooms with enough space for 4 persons (we were only 3), the location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic! Location was within comfortable distance from Omonia Sq and Syntagma Sq, the room and bed was nice. It had a very interesting lift that I find it fun to take everyday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a tub with hose attachment, could have been better with a shower.

    Insufficient time spent to give true indication of what hotel may have to offer. The room however was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located close to metro station. Excellent wifi. Good air con. Two english tv channels including BBC World News. Good shower and hair dryer. Nice breakfast. Room had balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - definitly localization of the hotel is very unfriendly/dangerous for the traveling single girls!!! I have heard I should avoid Omonia subway station but apparently the station close to Katerina Hotel is not nice either... For couples and men it should be fine. But as a single girle I have been accosting several times by guys in the neighbourhood of the hotel... So I decided to stay after the sun set at hotel room - not the best option if you want to see the city overnight... - room was extremelly small - not for two people! - I could hear any single word from the corridor - price/quality rate is negative

    - very varied breakfast - the staff was very friendly - very close to subway station ( less than 5 mins by foot)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing that I did not like except that the lifts are very small, even for two persons without the luggage. However, there are two lifts close to each other so when me and my wife had the luggage, we used both lifts.

    We had a very comfortable room and although it was overlooking the square of the Fallen Aviators monument, it was very quiet. The breakfast was very good, sometimes more expensive hotels do not have the type of breakfast we found at Hotel Katerina. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit more imaginative, e.g. ripe fruit!

    Ideal centre for the tourist spots in Athens, e.g. Acropolis, Museum. Very friendly and helpful staff. Aircon in room which was needed because of traffic fumes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was a bit small, found a (dead) cockroach in the room but that is not surprising in warmer countries.

    Next to the Metaxourghio metro stop (red line), so very easy to get to, also has a few restaurants nearby in case you arrive late in the evening. Staff was friendly and speaks good English. Good shower, decent facilities and excellent value for money. Breakfast has quite a lot of choice. Wifi also worked quite well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area surrounding the hotel was a little sketchy (particularly during the evening/night time) but the metro station is very close to the hotel with good connection to city center. The hotel is near to a big intersection (Karaiskaki Square) and so the noise in the room could be annoying at a certain point but this was not a problem for us as we were out of the room all day visiting Athens and during the nights, we closed the balcony door so problem solved again.

    The check-in was very fast and professionally performed. The reception staff was always very helpful, offering tips & tricks: what to visit during our stay, places to eat that offer good food at reasonable prices, the best way to reach a certain touristic objective from the hotel. The room (and most importantly for me the bathroom) was spotless clean. The cleaning services were excellent and towels changed daily. The breakfast was very good for a 3* hotel with yogurt, cereals, milk, coffee, boiled/fried eggs, cheese, vegetables, fruits, fresh juices, butter, multiple choices of marmalade, pastries. I would say there was a choice even for the pretentious eaters.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firm bed mattress.

    Convenient location on walking distance to most tourist attractions; Spotless cleanliness; Private parking; Fast internet and good WiFi coverage; Big safe in the room that can hold even the largest notebook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with giving more detail on local safety The area is fine but we were advised to avoid certain roads by local shopkeepers when we were taking the google maps shortest route to a location we were advised that there is a bag snatching problem in some of the back streets.

    Great Breakfast - Comfortable bed and pillows - Very close to metro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beside a metro station, in a lively neighbourhood in the city center. The room en-suite was very confortable, clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with lots of choice. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection was poor. First floor can be noisy in the morning since it is close to the breakfast area.

    Breakfast was quite good - but in the average for this type of hotels, nothing out of the ordinary. Staff was very kind and responsive. Location is quite good - close to the metro and direct line to Acropolis. The room was quite big. Bathroom was well supplied. The place was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is not the best to wonder around but we chose it because of good transport links to the centre and other parts of the city, and it worked very well for us. Room doors do not block the sounds from the corridor so I could hear noises which was especially annoying in the morning when cleaners were cleaning rooms.

    The hotel is quite small but very charming and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The rooms are tidy and are cleaned every day. Breakfast is nice with a good selection of food. Furniture is in good condition, comfortable bed. Friendly and very helpful personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money! It's only a couple of subway stops away from all the main attractions so it really isn't too far out. Subway station is just across the roundabout from the hotel too! The breakfast had a good selection and the staff were friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable bed Clean shower with great water pressure and hot water Airconditioning Close proximity to metro Luggage storage Friendly staff Great facilities - everything you could ever need

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only improvement would be - if the hotel was right under the Acropolis!! However, I would imagine that it would cost more then!!

    The front desk staff were always there and very helpful. The bedroom & shower room were both very clean and were cleaned every day, including change of towels. The hotel seemed to be very well run and it really was a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like smoke even though it's supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. The light switch had to be explained to us.

    Generous breakfast, very close to the Metro, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Update room safe. Very small elevators.

    Great hotel. Would stay there again. Close to metro but not touristy. Staff recommended a local taverna restaurant and we ate there almost every night. Traditional Greek food and a GREAT price at a neighborhood grill. Even saw police picking up food, so you know it's gotta be good :).

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: