Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Katerina & John's Hotel 2 stars

Main Street, Perissa, 84700, Greece

#17 of 19 hotels in Perissa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location, value for money for a budget conscious traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cutlery or anything in the kitchen

    Location to the beach was good, maybe a 10 min walk and right by the local shops, had a little pool which was nice. The shuttle service they offered was much more convenient than the bus or other 3rd parties

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Me and my friends are very satisfied with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Me and my friends are very satisfied with this hotel. Everybody were nice and room was clean. Hotel have good location, black beach si close, like the bus stop. Too, there are 2 nearby supermarkets and very good bakery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    No hot water. Uncomfortable beds. Noisy doors. Bad bus connections.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water. Broken and uncomfortable facilities. Uncomfortable beds. The doors are dated and they are noisy at night (we had to block them with our suitcases). Perissa is only connected by bus to Thira (no connections to Oia and other centres).

    Cheap, but you spend 4/5 euros for extra buses every day to reach any other place on the island, because Perissa is exclusively connected to Thira. Wouldn't recommend, unless you travel by car. The building would be nice, but facilities would need to be totally renewed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    Dont bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were terrible Springs sticking up on both of them Hardly slept We paid the man 20 euros to be picked up from the airport and another 20 euros to be taken to the port at 8 30 the following morning Over 100 euros for one night Very dissapointed with the bed Also the shower door was a three section slide along which didnt slide easily !!!!!! I thought i wouldnt be able to get in Or once in couldnt get out !!! Room number 16 Avoid it !!!

    We liked the air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The location nearby the Perissa beach , supermarket, bakery...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location nearby the Perissa beach , supermarket, bakery shop 24 hours , bus stop outside the hotel for the gift shops cheapest compared other locations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Super price, but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need a bit of renovation...

    By saving on room prices, we were able to spend more elsewhere. The area is perfect for those (like us) who want to drive around the island

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    The most basic you can imagine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to begin. I tried to contact the hotel before I arrived to arrange a taxi transfer from the airport. They did not reply to messages I sent through their website. I rang them from the UK and unfortunately, the member of staff I spoke to didn't speak any English. I wasn't able to sleep well as the aircon was ridiculously loud. The pillows were essentially a bag of lumps. The shower had no water pressure and rarely had warm water. There wasn't even a place to hang the shower head. I'm no princess, I just needed shelter for a short visit, but really, I wouldn't recommend it.

    If you need some where basic, it will do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Iannis is very helpful and problem solver man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iannis is very helpful and problem solver man. He is a kind of swiss knife. Hotel is next to bus stop. There are a lot of bus to thira. And around hotel, you can find a supermarket and a 24 hours open bakery. I advice this place. Beach is walkable, this black sanded beach is less than 10 minutes to reach. And pool is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to beach, bakery and restaurants in Perissa and pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/bathroom water smelt like sulphur and was undrinkable

    Close to beach, bakery and restaurants in Perissa and pool was clean and great value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Close to the beach, supermarkets and many restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe beds was a little uncomfortable, but just at first night

    Close to the beach, supermarkets and many restaurants It has small pool Clean rooms, cleaning was done often than i expected Cheaper than the other accomodations in my time Good check in and check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable and was only a double not a queen. Bathroom very unclean and shower did not work well at all Outdoor pool did not seem very clean either.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Dropped us to port for 20 euro. Sheets were clean. Room had fridge and aircon which was good Close to beach and a supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Average. Price too high for the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from Perrisa center. Perivolos is overrated. Go close to the mountain (Perissa) instead, it is more lively. Here you have to cross an empty field to the beach, in the night it has almost no lights. Too expensive for what it offers. The water from the bathroom is salty.

    The owners are nice. They made a 15 euros airport transfer (even if the price was 20). The yard with the pool is also cosy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Very nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very moderate room ( in fact only beds and wardrobe ), but clean and taking into consideration prices on Santorini, it is considerable for this price

    Very nice hosts. We had asked for transfer from the airport, our flight was deleyed 3 hours, but John waited for us even thought it was after midnight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    The innkeeper can arrange trips to various places by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on the main road: too noisy, exhaust gases, etc. The WiFi connection is the worst I ever seen in Greece. Everything is very shabby. The sink tap was broken: water jets in arbitrary directions.

    The innkeeper can arrange trips to various places by motorbike or car which save your money. Actually a 'rent a car/motorbike/etc' is right in front of the hotel. The innkeeper is always there, 24h. The hotel is close to the bus stop, the nearby 24h bakery is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Stayed here for two nights, it was clean and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for two nights, it was clean and comfortable however the location is a bit out but for what you’re paying it is fair enough. Staff are lovely and will organize you transfers at a discounted rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location so close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mattress was quite uncomfortable, but the other one in the room was fine.

    Amazing location so close to the beach. So glad we stayed here rather than the busy Thira and Oia. Perissa is lovely. The hotel is right outside a bus stop with transport to Thira and beyond every 15 mins. Nice outdoor area. Good cheap restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Big room and near to the bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night and maybe that’s why the staff didn’t put in any effort to treat us nicely when we checked in. Also we couldn’t tell if the sheets had been changed or not and the staircase in our room felt unsafe to walk on.

    Big room and near to the bus stop. Nice pool even though we never used it. The place have potential and is affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    This is a no frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom and the shower consists of a spray shower head that you use in the bathroom with no curtain. The whole bathroom gets wet. It is very difficult to find at night.... the sign is not lit so you can't see it. You have to know that it is next to the motorbike shop or you will never find it.

    This is a no frills hotel. The price was good but actually could have been a little better after I saw the room/bathroom. It is close to a very good 24/7 bakery and a supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Fiendly staff and helpful, the room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should have breakfast included.

    Fiendly staff and helpful, the room was nice and clean. The internet works very well, close to the beach, bus station and many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    A great choice for a budget friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small, but manageable all the same.

    We were offered amazing hospitality, the hosts very very polite and helpful a tall times. It is a beautiful little hotel and at a convenient location too, so it was a very comfortable for us to move about. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    We call this place the Mould-ives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would advise not to pay in advance and to inspect your room first to make sure that it is acceptable to you. Also make sure that you turn on the taps and shower. We paid for 3 nights and could barely stand spending one, found other accommodation immediately for the next day. Our first room stunk of mould. Every tiled surface had the grout green with mould, including the kitchen. The shower head was missing bits and it was like using a hose, no spray.

    Cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location and excellent hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom are a little old but I didn’t mind this considering the location and the price.

    Amazing location. The hotel is right across the street from a bus stop, a 24/7 bakery and a Co-op supermarket. John was very hospitable and tended to all our questions. The rooms had air con which made summer nights bearable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    The rooms are around a closed yard, which keeps some of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room, minimally maintained for the past many years, with occasional bugs visiting. Nobody answers the phone to provide directions (for future visitors who want to avoid the 20 euro per person pickup: it is bus stop Ag.Antonios in Perissa). I had a decent stay, but wouldn't choose to come back.

    The rooms are around a closed yard, which keeps some of the noise away (the area is noisy and busy). There are tables and patios/balconies, and a fridge available. Note: the island is beautiful, but absolutely not worth visiting in the summer. Too many people everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place.
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real kitchen, got a foot punctured by a sharp piece of plastic that was near the swimming pool.

    Cosy, nice little swimming pool, very nice owners, rooms cleaned daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    John and Katerina are very kind and open to meet your needs. The place is quiet, the rooms are mini apartments and you can have rest in the courtyard next to (or inside) the swimming pool. Perissa is not the most amazing town of Santorini, but it's better to stay here saving money and then go everywhere you want in a short time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for, check elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in I did not get a receipt, so I think the lady owner did not pay the tax on me. She was not friendly at all. When I asked if I could stay 3 hours longer in the room, she refused. Not even one hour. The hostel was almost empty. Room 4: There is no shower curtain and no facility to hang up the shower head. The water in the shower is salty. The watertank of the toilet has a problem, water fills in all the time. Had to ask the owner for a glass as there is nothing in the room. The water boiler was not clean, so the boiled mineral water had a thin film on top. The TV is very small and has only Greek channels. The AC is damaged, so the cold airflow goes only downwards. There is a useless safety box in the closet as there is no key for it. There is a window at the door without curtain to darken it, so the sun shines direct on your bed from 7 in the morning. The swimming pool looked cold and dirty, so I did not use. There is noise from the street.

    It was just beside the bus stop from/to Thira. The fridge was big. There were 2 chairs and a table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    fair place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absence and detachment of staff (no English spoken), no sign for reception, nor on the street and the hotel that is located somewhere else on the app "maps" and I had to look around for ages, no cooking possibility, lack of nice atmosphere in the hotel, the floor was not very clean. It was hard to sleep because of the wind, as my room was in a tower on the 2d floor, very exposed.

    good price, I had an interesting room with a stair to the bedroom and two terraces. Nice to have a swimming pool at that price. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Located within walking distance of the volcanic black sandy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was clean / tidy and comfortable with great balcony view from bedroom. To access bedroom I had to negotiate ‘hand made’ wooden stairs( not advertised) but for the money it was ok. They provide fridge and kettle but no cups/ spoons - this was easily rectified by asking and getting but , in my opinion, should be automatically provided. Katerina is lovely and welcoming but English( like my Greek) is limited.

    Located within walking distance of the volcanic black sandy beach, local eateries, supermarket and bus/ taxi stops. Also many car, bike and quad hire shops. Tour and info shops too. All buses from port and Airport go through Thira. Its easy and cheap. Transport links are great. €1.80 from airport to Thira , then €2.40 to Parissa. Buses can get busy but luggage is stowed underneath and the buses are more like coaches. Listen out for Katerina and Johns or ask ticket person ( I missed stop 🙄). Nice sized pool for dip from beach !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing location in an inexpensive part of Santorini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing location in an inexpensive part of Santorini. Convenient for shops and restaurants and beach. Also close to buses to Thira. Possible to do a fantastic circular day hike up the mountain and back without taking a bus or hiking on a main road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room maybe should have something for protect the water for going the floor

    Have a market very close and the best bakery of Santorini, close too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    In short its a great options for peope who like to hangout more at beach and like the local life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were informed that there would be hot tub in our room which wasnt there.

    The distance from the lovely perissa beach and the bus stop. There is a 24 x 7 bakery near the hotel which serves great baked items.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall, great value for your money and a decent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could have been better. They were a little cold, and the bathroom was full of flies. We felt like we were unable to use the bathroom because of this. Our blankets smelled a little of cigarette smoke, and could have been cleaner.

    Katerina and John were very nice and provided great transportation around the island. We were able to see so much of a island at a cheap price because of them. The pool was amazing as well. It was a beautiful little spot and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Necessary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could give this a higher rating as I liked them but it wasn't very clean,a bit smelly and very noisy both from the road and other guests. I was staying one night in transit but I would not recommend even for that. The location is on a busy unattractive road but there are some useful shops nearby. I didn't have time to explore so may be better Han I thought. Good reliable pick up service from ferry and airport but if you are travelling alone you might want to think about cheaper options. You may find somewhere where the room is more but the transport is free.

    John was a cheery and helpful host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Best choice for santorini hands down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    John was the best host, even gave me a kettle to make coffee each morning. It's directly across the street from the best 24 hour bakery in the world! And steps from the beach, three steps from the bus stop, ATM at the door, scooter rental at the door. This was the best hostel of our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, welcoming, beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is beautiful. John and Mary are really sweet and helpful. Two minutes walk to a secluded beach with beautiful sand. Beautiful room with balcony. Quiet surroundings. Definitely coming back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice place in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it says they have TV on the description, there wasn't any. Is near to the beach but far from the main areas in Santorini, however the bus will take u there very easily.

    Is close to the bus stop, and the room was big. John is really nice! And they also lend us a power adapter. Is near to a 24 hrs bakery, so is easy to get food at any time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Quiet place with charm and nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on both booking's map and googlemaps is wrong, the real location is at 15 min walks from the pin location on the map. Should be updated.

    Quiet place with charm and nice pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for the get up and country explorers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid we couldn't expect too much but a kettle would have been nice to make a cuppa in the morning as they don't serve breakfast.

    Katerina and John were were incredibly friendly and helpful, loved the price too! John collected us from the airport for a lot less than a taxi would've cost. It was very basic but very clean. Perfect for us that like to be out exploring all day. If you are wanting luxury then this isn't the place for you but if you're open minded and just need a bed and a good shower then this is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    no comment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is close to the street that goes around the island.They come to pick us up from airport .We arrived very late at night we needed just a place to sleep few hours because in the morning we had the ferry. The place is not clean, the rooms are dirty, bed not comfortable, the bathroom was awful. Its a place for young people probably but the price for what you get is very high.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    A one night stay at Katerina&John's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very new. Water supply was cut off for a while in the morning, but soon the problem was solved.

    Very welcoming staff. Great view. Swimming pool on the premises. WiFi in the room. Nice location. Not too far from the beach. Next to a bus stop. Accept payment by card or cash. Absolutely great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    Last resort. Very, very basic and poor. Hostel-like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Signes outside. No signs to reception, resulting in wondering around in the heat, not knowing where to be/go. Dripping shower, cockroach in the bathroom, noisy, old/worn out. It in more a hostel than a hotel. It was the worst I have experienced on this trip (out of 6 different ones in the same price range).

    There was not much I liked about this place, unfortunately

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    More of a cheap hostel than low price hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right by noisy road (noisy 24/7) , filthy bathroom, not very clean rooms.

    John is friendly and serviceminded, but knows how much $ that is worth too...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is in Perissa, for us the best beach of Santorini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition was broken for one day and we will couldn't sleep because it was so hot, even with the fan they gave us for the moment. There was no cleaning room service at all, they just change the towels the second day. BE AWARE: they are going to offer you a transfer for 20 euros and tell you that is the cheaper way or cost the same that the bus, but is not, there is a bus from the port that takes you directly to the hotel for 2.3 euros.

    The hotel is in Perissa, for us the best beach of Santorini because of all the atmosphere, there is a very good restaurant, Tranquilo (it's a Pardise to eat, drink and by relax), just in front of the beach, 400 meters from the hotel. Beside the hotel there is a Moto rent, very convenient, best way to go around all Santorini.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Great value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a lot of bugs at our first night but later it was fine, and there was no curtain in the bathroom

    John was very friendly, he picked us from the ferry to the hotel and vice-versa and for a rate of 20 euro which is great because taxis there are so expensive. the location was great just nearby there is are lot of travel agencies where u can book a tour to all the important sites in the area and way more cheaper than to reserve them online, and there is also a bakery and a market facing the hotel that opens 24 hours, and just a walking distance from a local bus station that takes you to the area nearby. the black beach is also 4 minutes walk from the hotel, and there's a lot a lot of restaurants and travel agencies and shops around the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    This is student accomodation not for adult travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were not clean and they were not cleaned at all during our stay, the courtyard had rubbish blowing around it. This started off the trip badly. The toilet seat was cracked

    Location to beach and restaurants was good, pool is a nice added bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    The location was very good:
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it wasn't that comfortable and the wifi is too slow

    The location was very good: Very close to a 24 hours bakery and supermarket, an atv/bike rental shop, and to the black sand beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Close to Perissa beach for a small price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our studio was not so nice, it had old fashioned furniture and unstable stairs to the bedroom, but the price was so low so... no complainings

    - close to the Perissa beach (5 min walk) - supermarket and 24 hour open bakery across the street - good restaurants around the hotel - bus station in front of the hotel - possibility for cheap quad/ATV/scooter rent - air conditioning - fridge - price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Great place for budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't strong in our room.

    For sure this place is not brand new but for the price we payed we thought it was a great value. The room was super clean and we were really comfortable. The location is the best, away from touristy Thira and close to the bus stop, a 24h bakery, the supermarket and the beach. Great option for backpackers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is small. You get what you pay for really- the older rooms have a smell.

    John offers a lift from the port and other places on the Island for a decent price. The wifi is good. Good value for money. It gets cold at night so the extra duvet was great. They were really accommodating - I wanted to change rooms due to the smell and they agreed without any problem. The black beach is 12-15min walk which is great There is a 24-hour bakery/ mini supermarket nearby, the owner is lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Basic accomodation with lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are clunky and a little uncomfortable, also our kitchenette didn't have even a kettle or utensils.

    Katherine & John are lovely and the communication was amazing. We had a cancelled flight & they happily changed our accomodation twice. They are located really close to restaurants, buses, and beautiful Perissa beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.8
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location. great price but honestly the filthiest place I have ever stayed in. Stained towels that were damp when I arrived, dirty sink and toilet,I didnt even want to shower here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    John was very welcoming, giving us a transfer to and from the airport! The room was extremely close to the beach and next door to a very reasonable rental place for vehicles to explore the island! The room was clean and comfortable and had a lovely balcony!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Katerina & John's Hotel, conviniently located next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Katerina & John's Hotel, conviniently located next to the bus stop, big market and beautiful bakery, only few minutes from the beach, perfectly suited our interests: sunbathing/swimming and sightseeing. Our quad room had a beautiful little terrace, where we spent most of our mornings enjoying coffee and sunrise. John provided us with a kettle, and the room had the fridge. The room, bathroom and common spaces were clean, Katerina and John welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Excelente choise to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't had the chance to meet Katerina or John personnaly :(

    Very close to Perissa beach (black sand, very beautifull and one of the best in the Island. Many services close by, like 2 bakeries open 24h, restaurants (Papa's grill house is near, nice and cheap), rental, etc. Nice swimming pool, free and easy parking available near the entrance, quiet and safe area. Good wi-fi signal for internet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.4
    John the owner was really nice and helpful, everyone in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was not clean, it was infested with roaches and bedbugs. the next day John changed our room which at least didn't have any roaches but still had bedbugs, I told John but I don't think he understood what I was telling him.

    John the owner was really nice and helpful, everyone in the staff was also nice, the hostel is really nice and it's close to a 24hr bakery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    3.3
    It was very close to the beach, bus stop, supermarket and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very close to the beach, bus stop, supermarket and the shops and bars. It jhon very friendly, we went looking and took us to the port free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Was expecting better, given much cheaper stays on the Greek islands
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat, aged apartments. Cleaned every 2 days. Owner only spoke Greek, so communication not the best.

    The hotel had potential

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Everything was good !
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good !!!!!!👍👍❤️❤️❤️😀😀

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenience while in transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flexible hours for checkin and great service with transfers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    John is very kind-he has brought us from the airport and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    John is very kind-he has brought us from the airport and to the port:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.8
    The bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.9
    For us it was a place to sleep the night, never again though.
    • Family with young children
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating, pool was dirty, shower barely worked, noise from the road.

    The linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noises because of the road just behind our bedroom

    Beds are good, Air conditionning, swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    relly dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    La stanza

    Just the position cause the toilets room was really dirty.solo la sizione il bagno della stanza era sporchissimo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Katerina & Johns hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other guests. Lack of kettle.

    Conveniently placed close to beach, restaurants & stores, bus stops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    Swimming pool in th shade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool in th shade

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Good price and Great John
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple structure

    Low price, good welcome, mini tour in top location at reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Simple but correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't feel very clean

    Katerina and John are very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great location great hosts great service great holiday many thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Perfect location nice rooms great family of hosts transfers to and from port and airport marvellous . Had a wonderful stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Best affordable accommodation in Perissa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff made you feel right at home. Excellent value for money, short walk to beach. Very basic rooms but exactly what we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Not recommemd
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't use wifi firstly. Room is not clean. I saw some dead bug in the room. There was no breakfast.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection

    Very friendly polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Lovely family run business owner John was so helpful, would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run business owner John was so helpful, would definitely recommend this place to other travellers 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    It was not far from all amenities and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was not fixed to the wall so when you had a shower the bathroom flooded

    It was not far from all amenities and beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    cheap price in low season, spacious room, clean, small pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good for the price

    cheap price in low season, spacious room, clean, small pool. close to shops, beach and friendly tour and rental agency next door

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: