Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Koala 2 stars

21, Harrmilou str., Kos Town, 85300, Greece

#8 of 78 hotels in Kos Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far from the beach. Poor noise isolation, in my bedroom I could hear every single word from my neighbor's bathroom.

    Modern comfortable room with a cozy balcony, good light in the bathroom. Breakfast included. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Feels like being at home with family and friends 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s our 4th time here and the staff and the owner are super helpful the breakfast is wonderful ,it also has a roof garden which is very good if you don’t or can’t venture too far

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Best value for money in Kos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little small, and i am of average build. But it done the job fine.

    Fantastic family run hotel, great location, bonus of pool, great breakfast, smart bar n sitting area. Sun terrace great, staff are amazing and informative and genuine, will come back here on next trip to Kos for definite. Also supermarket across the road is really friendly and we had many a chat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. Comfortable room, with private balcony toward quiet street. Good breakfast. Very nice and welcoming staff. Fantastic location near a wide choice of tavernas, car and bike rentals, and not too far from port.

    Shower curtain needs replacement, to avoid flooding the bathroom after each shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    PERFECT quality for the price!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would offer to change something in the bathroom. Shower is very small and uncomfortable. Water runs through the shower curtain everywhere.

    Absolutely amazing and helpful staff. They gave as all information about the city and island, things to see. Always with smile and good mood;) Thank you for great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    The owner Dimitris and the rest of the crew in the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was fair and ok, but could be a bit more variable.

    The owner Dimitris and the rest of the crew in the hotel is fabulous and very helpful. The hotel is clean and seems to be safe, as always one is on guard. The pool is clean. The hotel is in vincinity of the yacht harbor. Best to go to the city is to rent a bike for 3-5 € / day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a good walking distance to a proper beach with no rocks, but because it's a holiday there's no rush anywhere. The shower it's small(for me)

    Nice, friendly and helpful staff. I don't have enough good words to describe them. From 1 to 10, I give them 11 Clean rooms Small price's at the bar Close to supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for the marina, good price too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good for the marina but a bit far from the centre

    The price was great ! A good breakfast included too. Nice rooms and beds, a/c, everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Very Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast. Al lot of choices. Hotel is new and very clean. A 10min walk along the beach to go to Kos town. In the street is a grocery shop, bike rental and laundry shop. Hotel with nice and very friendly people!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    A nice, small hotel runed by a Kos family that gave a special flavor to the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes loud speaking in the corridor and from downstairs. Necessary to close the balcony door at night.

    The family staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast with scrambled eggs, greek yoghurt, honey, olives, tomatoes, tahini etc and different bread etc... possibilities to sit both inside and outside. Very nice and welcoming porch and reception. You got towels and soap which I didn´t excpect. The room had Tv, fridge and an air-condition and a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice, clean, comfortable family hotel in peaceful residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't take the advantage of the pool because it had sunshine only mornings/early afternoons. However, there is a large roof terrace for sun bathing that works around the clock. The location of the hotel is a bit outside of the city center (which makes it peaceful) but walking back and forth takes a while - great physical exercise if you can take it like that. :)

    Very friendly service, good and tasty breakfast, nice swimming pool, spacious room, peaceful location, as an extra bonus and surprise our car rental agency was just opposite to the hotel, loads of free parking slots along the streets

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    A welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The towels were a bit hard and scratchy.

    Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Quiet road close to sea front. Very nice breakfast room with quiet background music giving a relaxed atmosphere. Also a pleasant terrace .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    What made my stay extremely pleasent was the staff always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What made my stay extremely pleasent was the staff always kind and helpful. I felt welcome from the moment I stepped into the hotel till the moment I left.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Every year, we're going on a holiday to Kos Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Every year, we're going on a holiday to Kos Island. The Koala hotel we prefer in Kos. Because it's very clean and the family hotel.. The owners of the hotel and the employees are great people. We were very satisfied and we would recommend it to everyone. Regards Koala

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel was very nice. They let us stay after check out, and we used the pool and toilet/showers all day. We could also leave our luggage there. It was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Cheap price and decent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, but overall functional and in line with the price. Far from Kos center.

    Cheap price and decent accommodation. Near the Marina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    İ will come again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, clean, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. The owner/manager even gave us a lift in his own car when we were unable to get a taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning agent used in the room left a chemical smell

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Really nice and considerate staff & amazing Greek...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice and considerate staff & amazing Greek breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    airconditioner was blowing against 1 bed only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    airconditioner was blowing against 1 bed only. Other bed didn´t get to cool at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    the shower to small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower to small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Definitely recommend the Koala Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff made you feel at home , were very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, would definitely stay there again 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    We loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel. The friendly owners were an absolute delight and so helpful with their suggestions. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and polite. It is not like a hotel, it is just like your friend's house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    The staff is really nice and helpful and they have a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is really nice and helpful and they have a nice breakfast! :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice hotel with pool. Friendly staff speaks perfect English. Price was very good so it is very easy to recommend Koala to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    If you want to stay in a hotel that is like home here it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was home from home

    The owner and his family were so nice it felt like we was almost at home

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    One of the greatest hotels that I had stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the greatest hotels that I had stayed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Clean, modern and great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern and great shower

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little bit basic.

    Enjoyed the top floor sun bathing area. Friendly staff. Nice balcony in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Great wee find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ideal Staff friendly Clean Has all you need Cases can be left

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Good location, lovely and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, lovely and very helpful staff! Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Very helpfull and friendly staff, good location/just 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfull and friendly staff, good location/just 10 min. walking distance to center, clean but old stylish rooms,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice and calm place, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rough towels; little variety of breakfast

    Calm location, friendly staff, clean room, great price!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel near the port, rooms are renewed recently. Nice pool. Breakfast are basic but good. Perfect stuff. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    It's a family run hotel and Dimitri really made me feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. The Koala hotel was a perfect stay for me and I hope to be back!

    It's a family run hotel and Dimitri really made me feel at home, he helped me with everything, from the bus schedule to the best beaches to visit. Dino, the night doorman, is also very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good and the room was clean. The hotel is slightly out of the very center, so it's a very quiet position, ideal to sleep well and eat in the nearby taverns that are generally better than the touristic ones in front of the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Its a no frills Kos hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The first room we had had a terrible bathroom - way too small. However, we were moved to another room the following day and it was much better.

    Its a no frills Kos hotel. Location was fine and staff pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Very good price, lovely sun terrace, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast generally good, but could use a bit more variety.

    Very good price, lovely sun terrace, friendly staff. Good AC and strong Wifi signal in room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Hotel Koala is a very nice small family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel Koala is a very nice small family-run hotel. Very good value for the money. The personnel is warm-hearted and they listen to your wishes carefully and make them happen. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. You will learn to know the personnel by their names and they yours. If I return to Kos, I would definitively stay at Koala's.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Its really family run hotel, everybody is extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its really family run hotel, everybody is extremely friendly in hotel and everything works great. Room is big enough and A/C works well and Wi-Fi connection is good for room also. Really rich free Greek breakfast, location is not centrum but only 10min by walk so :) Absolute you got more what you pay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.3
    Very small bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very small bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Air conditioner is working well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They dont change towels daily

    Air conditioner is working well

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Proximity to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to city

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    Near marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near marina. Clean, friendly, good breakfast. Good price

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    5.4
    Bathroom was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was terrible.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: