Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Kokkino Spiti

Olganou 10, Veria, 59100, Greece

#2 of 10 hotels in Veria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 181 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It suited me being out all day but remember it is a small hotel and the amenities of a large hotel are not present.

    This hotel is a tastefully refurbished property near the river in a characterful part of Veria, in the old Jewish area, Synagogue nearby. It is towards the edge of the town but still easily accessible from most points of access. Driving to it and parking can be problematic, but not insurmountable. The staff are wonderful and full marks must go to Silvia, Vera and the team! Beware of the breakfasts! There was too much for me, but I'm sure some hungry travellers will manage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small but the room décor WS lovely

    Sylvia was lovely and really looked after us so very well and was charming. She was hard pressed to cope with breakfast and help people to check out and needs some one on Reception from 0730 to help deal with everyone. Also I feel there needs to be a member of staff on the premises overnight, which clearly there was not.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at this hotel before and was charmed by the air of grandeur it exuded. The main house is a mansion dating from 1844 with beautiful ceilings and furniture. This time we were housed in an annex, which was much more sober and rather modern, in spite of stone walls and a wooden ceiling. If I had not seen the rooms in the main house, it would have been fine. The room was spacious, and so was the bathroom. But it did not compare to the main house. Next time I will make sure that I get a room in the main house!

    The hotel is situated at a great location, in the old Jewish quarter of Veria, right on the Tripotamos river. The hotel and the surrounding houses are beautiful and it is very quiet. Breakfast was good, we were served more than we could eat. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Wonderful old building, beautifully furnished with lovely views. Superb breakfast. Staff very helpful. Hard to find initially. Good restaurant 5 minutes walk along the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not possible to find on our own; the streets are complicated. And at least in our building, we could hear people in the room above us.

    It is great to be in a revived historic neighborhood. It is in a quiet location, has a great bed, heating worked and the windows blocked out noise and bugs. Each room has a wonderful personality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared...they ...prefer... cash...a comment not a complaint! If from London where every thing is on a card cash needs to be set aside.

    The location is fabulous...a rushing river below...snow capped mountains in the distance (late March)...the aroma of wood smoke...warm Spring sunshine on the veranda ...a cosy well appointed room and generous,fresh breakfast. The town is a great visit as well. Not expensive for the quality of experience. I hope I come back some day soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the visitors upstairs because of the thin wooden floor

    The big room, the balcony, the comfortable bed, the friendliness and the great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kokkino Spiti is simply beautiful. Sylvia gave us plenty of history of the Jewish Quarter. It would have been hard to find, but the signs for the hotel are everywhere. The room was magnificent and warm with a lovely balcony overlooking the river. As we went through Veria, it seems like a dowdy city, then we hit the fabulous Jewish quarter. It was worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking location slightly complicated if you don't know Veria. Still, it's a scenic and pleasant drive.

    Wonderful location in the old Jewish quarter. Great views over the river and beautiful classical style rooms. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access issue by narrow road and bridge. Requires steps climbing

    Located in the old Jewish quarter close to the city center .The room is spacious and the rich and good breakfast is served in a lovely and charming dining room at the hotel basement

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking on the spot

    Room was huge - we got free upgrade, with beatiful view on the river. Host was really nice and told us what to see and where are the best restaurants. To the city center with bars and restaurants is five minutes walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That is a superb property to stay. Everything was just perfect. The room was so classy, so warm and so confortable. I liked the view on the windows. Boutique Hotel Kokkino Spiti is very close to city center in a very quiet neighbourhood. There is also a nice terace in front of the building. I recomend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location above a gorge with the sound of water to lull you to sleep, next to an old synagogue in a historic quarter of an interesting old town, very close to the Royal Tombs at Vergina, a world class archaeological site. Excellent room and shower with beautiful woodwork and original furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a big letdown. Not a sinle fresh item was put on our table. The bread was toasted because it was old. There was no butter, only margerine. We were offered some ham and cheese but it did not look very appetizing so we declined it.

    Renovated to a very high standard. The room and bathroom were tastefully decorated with nice pieces of furniture. Felt comfortable and homely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's map was inaccurate but it didn't matter... just work it out or ask the locals. Not too many places to eat in this area - but loads of bars! We found "Ouzo's" nearby - great food and service!

    We stayed in the newer of the two sites and it was great. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Attention to detail was obvious and hearing the river below was lovely. Bed was comfortable, bathroom bright and modern. Everything you'd want. Its situation in the old Jewish quarter was great..very atmospheric and historical. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    We visited Verio city in the spring. The Boutique Hotel Kokkino Spiti is located in the heart of the old town where are met different cultures for ages I really felt that. We spent a lovely time in a great room, relaxing atmosphere, delicious breakfast. There is a perfect parking place. Kokkino Spiti is the perfect place to stay when visiting Veria.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to our room was far from soundproof and as the reception desk was just outside we did not feel we had a great deal of privacy. Other guests were not noisy but this could be a potential problem.

    In a quiet old area of town with the little river rushing below staying at this hotel is almost like sleeping in a museum. The beautifully restored mansion is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Our room was reasonably spacious and very clean with a good bathroom. Nice to have tea and coffee making equipment in the room though the stern injunctions about eating anything from outside seemed a little draconian! Breakfast was extra and we only had it once in our three day stay but it was excellent, beautifully served and very substantial. The hotel is well located with the centre of town only a short walk away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location far away from the hustle and bustle of the town. 5 minutes' walk to the town centre. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast.Beautifully renovated property.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sylvia was very helpful and it was the best breakfast of our 10 day trip round Northern Greece. The guesthouse is located in the old part of town which makes for a very special experience.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Character and elegance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything perfect.

    Perfect boutique hotel situated in a very interesting location. Very kind reception personnel. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place, perfecy location, all was great!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with slightly better lighting especially in the bathroom.

    Just about everything! Lovely view. Great room. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing greeting on arrival. Full of information on what to do and where to go. Friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it was tricky.

    Quirky hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Style and character of traditional building. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access is difficult

    Small hotel. Beautifully decorated. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious and served rather than a buffet style.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was truly perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Everyrhing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the location is a little bit hard to find

    - friendly host - nice decorations

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very very beautiful and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was difficult to find. You need to cross a bridge with a no entry sign to get to it.

    Our room was magnificent, spacious and beautifully decorated. Excellent breakfast, the instant coffee was the only disappointment.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find without help!

    The inn Kokkino Spiti in Veria, located in the heart of the old part of town, in the Jewish Quarter, is a lovely place to stay but very difficult to find. Our gps locates the inn on one side of the river but the web site maps place it on the other. The web site maps mark the access point to the hotel, a small bridge (marked Do Not Enter) that we never would have found without the help of a very gracious local man who got into our car and directed us to Kokkino Spiti and then simply disappeared. Once found, the inn is really lovely and well worth the effort to get there. Our room (on the 1st floor) had a great balcony, and was spacious and well furnished, with lots of windows and a nice modern bathroom. The breakfast room, on the bottom floor, was very attractively done up, and the breakfast itself was outstanding – fresh orange juice, cheeses, home-made jams, bread and cake, fresh fruit, coffee, hot chocolate, rice pudding and, finally, an offer of eggs that we had to decline to avoid overeating. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we would very much recommend Kokkino Spiti as a great place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just minor inconveniences: It's a non-smoking hotel but they haven't disabled the smoking/no-smoking room option on Booking.com like other non-smoking hotels have. They offered us the junior suite which has a balcony at a discounted price as a solution, but it was a bit off our budget so we kept the room we had originally booked and tried to refrain from smoking. And another suggestion for improvement: the water in the mini bar could be free of charge, as in most hotels of this price range.

    The location couldn't be better, right in the heart of the picturesque old jewish quarter and right by the river, the sound of which made for a lovely night's sleep. The house itself is beautiful, very nicely restored. The decoration in our room was lovely, the bed very comfortable and the staff kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is an old building beautifully renovated in the centre of the city within walking distance from most attractions. The staff is very professional and friendly. The sound of the flowing river is the highlight.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a little tricky to find, but that's the only negative.

    It's a beautiful property - charming and traditional, and in a beautiful part of the city. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite various signs from the main road, the approach to the property is virtually impossible to find, even with technological assistance! Had it not been for a friendly local we may never have got there!!!

    The boutique style and character of the building. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and despite oversleeping we were still offered a massive breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit confusing location of the hotel since it is quite hard to find it, and you can't search it with the GPS.

    Hospitaliy of the staff. Breakfast was perfect! The whole ambient was quite romantic and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is renovated and decorated very tastefully in period decor and furnishings. We loved overlooking the river and being next to the Jewish synagogue. It was quiet and restful.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    it is tucked away in a dead end in old and picturesque part of town- if in car, ignore the "no entry" and drive over bridge-; short walk to town centre and shops.. it is comfortable, clean, and room was well equipped, with a lovely balcony; the only sound was of waterfall in stream that flows below hotel. tip...pay the extra and book suite on top floor- it is worth it.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location to visit Verea and Vergina. Lovely old hidden small hotel furnished in traditional style

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quaint hotel, great views, quiet setting, central, good breakfast/ good portions

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house was a very beautiful old vila. And nicely decorated. We wished to stay more, we were just passing by travelling towards Kalamata.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere of the house and the surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    beautifull boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, food, decorum, was just fabulous. Location was better than expected.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The charm of the renovation, it was quiet. Staff was well informed and most hepful.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception was unprofessional, doors did not close properly, no proper light in the bathroom, so my husband could not shave properly.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautifully restored, biggest breakfast ever, love the river noise

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: