Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Koukounaria 4 stars

Main Street, Alykes, 29090, Greece

#6 of 16 hotels in Alykes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff was great, helpful and the pool area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room 2 Pax
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was not as I expected. In the picture was different room. The good thing is you don't need to spent so much time in the room.

    The staff was great, helpful and the pool area and the restaurant amazing. My wife loved to spent evenings on the pool area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Big rooms, clean, renovated, big pool, perfect restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Room 3 PAX
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A problem with elevator... you need to press for 20-40 tines for button to work.... when we leave I needed to go 2 floors down to get elevator and to go up for my luggage.

    Big rooms, clean, renovated, big pool, perfect restaurant,free parking and all under olive trees. And location is good.They gave us voucher for discount in restaurant and bar for first two days. Very firendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning ladies are lazy, we had to ask for towels every single day same with shower gel and toilet paper. Its a pity having a 4 star hotel with 1 star hotel cleaning staff. I doubt our sheets ever got changed. Apart from that mothing really negative to say about the place.

    The staff at the reception was nice and cooperative. The breakfast was satisfying, altough the hours could be extended. The view and location were ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell around the apartment and swimming pool of sewers. The basic rooms were very basic they had no cooking equipment no kettle, toaster, hair dryer and all had to be asked for at reception. The bathroom had no toothbrush holder or shower curtain which made the floor extremely wet when trying to shower and keep the water inside the bath which was dangerous especially for children. When we asked if we could move rooms we were offered alternative room which wasn't really of any higher quality. We were informed that after this season our rooms weren't going to be used for guests anymore which is why they haven't been refurbished so you will be able to tell by this quite what a poor standard they actually are.

    The pool & pool bar (Tim the barman was a very nice chap) food was good & Tim was very helpful - he couldn't do enough for you - the view from the pool was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Great resort, but i would look for a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The photo advertised on your site are not the building we were put in. When you believe you are going to a 4 star hotel and the room is more like 2 stars and the bathroom would be lucky to get 1 star, it ruins the start of the holiday. This was a common problem when talking to others. The manager attitude was shocking. The hotel pool was used by people from other hotels.

    The staff were amazing and always happy to help all the time (Ana on reception/bar and Dennis on the bar). The pool area and bar are very nice, for the size of the hotel we never had to fight for sunbeds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful and smiley .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like some drawers in the rooms to put away personal items.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff were outstanding. Dennis and his cocktail making made our holiday extra special.The location is perfect. A very clean and comfortable hotel .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We have stayed at the location many times and we have been happy with the facilities. This year we were placed in a very small room compared to previous years which incidentally was more expensive than ever.

    Very attentive staff, very safe and clean. Perfectly placed close by the town and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    It was spacious, and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a self catering hotel I would expect a kettle and a toaster but they don’t supply them. Also they don’t provide a shower curtain across the bath and the whole of the bathroom gets absolutely soaked.

    It was spacious, and very clean. Staff were great. Location was extremely good also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    The ambiance was mainly due to the Manager, she was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room 2 Pax
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we given a room with a very lumpy bed but when I pointed this out, the room was changed immediately by the Manager!

    The ambiance was mainly due to the Manager, she was absolutely brilliant! and the staff were also friendly and efficient!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, good services, I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Style Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 10 nights

    -without mosquito net at the windows, just at the balcony door -very close balconies, so little privacy -the parking is in the sun, has no shadow

    +good location +good breakfast +big and modern room +nice staff +good restaurant +pool, garden, children playground +5 minutes walking to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Good all round value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Stylish Suite 3 PAX
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was harder than I like but that's a personal choice , room could have been a bit bigger as advertised as a suite but no sitting area

    Fantastic modern clean , family friendly staff great and very helpful. Near the beach and town of Alkyes large warm pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Will not return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room 4 PAX
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms are very old. The bathroom was very filthy and when unclogging the bath, the water came out of the gully onto the bathroom floor. The airconditioner filters were blocked with dirt!

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    They were limited the staff with the resource. They need to do refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room 4 PAX
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smell that we had in our room was incredible. We ask for a cot and they gave me a playpen with no matress for 1 year old

    I really like the breakfast and the staff was very helpful. They try their best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Rooms clean, and generally a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only half the menu by the pool and breakfast not very tasty, the hot tub is just a few bubbles in the pool turned on ad hoc, it was expensive to get out of the local area except on excursions. do NOT pay for an upgrade room because they are all basically the same. BEWARE extra charge 3 Eur per night that was not advertised to us in advance.

    Rooms clean, and generally a comfortable stay. Plenty of sunbeds. Staff speak good English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    The economy rooms should be clearly advertised as 1 star. Be prepared for excuses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room 2 Pax
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked the economy room. Upon arrival, my partner and I were immediately of the opinion that we had been mis-sold. This was not an economy room in a 4 star hotel; this was a 1 star room. In addition to this, one lamp was broken, we were not given the remote control for the air-con or the key for the safe, we only had 1 towel, there was no hairdryer, and the shower rail kept falling down. When we asked for these items at reception, we were told they would be delivered. They were not. We had to ask again, and only got around half of what we were promised. The room was in a state of disrepair; there was rust in the bathroom and the TV looked from the 90s. We chose not to complain, as we wanted to get on with our holiday. However, when checking out, we were told by the manager that a few other guests had complained about the state of the economy rooms, and asked what we thought. We said as I have stated above, and this was met with excuses such as 'we are so busy' and 'we included a photo of the room'. The photo does not show much at all. If the bathroom had been included in the photos, for example, we may not have booked. We said that the kitchen area was sub-standard, and were met with the excuse: 'you booked breakfast' ?? We also were told after first booking that transfers were not included, even though this was clearly stated when we booked. The hotel did eventually honour this. However, when booking the transfer from the hotel to the airport, we had to tell the hotel 3 times what time we wanted to leave. The hotel wanted us to view some of the 'other rooms' on our last day...why would we want to do this? To see what we could have had? I'm sure the other rooms are nice, but if you book an economy room: beware.

    The waiting staff were very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was good. The communal areas of the hotel were what you would expect from a 4 star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Ideal family holiday for week or more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room 2 Pax
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel has been refurbished so no baths as previously in rooms apart from missing a soak all good

    Great location 2nd year here friendly staff relaxed atmosphere ideal for young family ours are 4 and 8 reconnected with families coming back on hols which says a lot, pool is excellent location everything on your doorstep Alykes has a lovely beach and plenty of restaurants to discover all a walk away enjoy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Very nice location great for family, holtel is overall a nice holtel great restaurant and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are shocking very uncomfortable. Maybe in the suite (new part of holtel is better quality Maybe

    Staff, facilities( pool, breakfast bar), restaurant is awesome great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    could live on the cheesy bacon chips, the food was very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked we was told we had Half Board but when we arrived at the hotel they had no record.

    could live on the cheesy bacon chips, the food was very good at the poolside bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.2
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!

    In simple language the room we had was a “dump” and it was very embarrassing for me to let my wife stay in this room. Staying in the local jail would have been more comfortable. Old, no atmosphere, mouldy, low cost - rip off I would never stay here again nor would I recommend to anyone I know.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely fabulous week in lovely hotel and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked through booking.com as I have numerous times and was disappointed that I had to clarify our booking with the hotel that we had a child coming with us when I felt this had been made clear when I booked for 6 adults and 1 child! Clearly some problem there but the hotel sorted it out very quickly so thank you to Claudia for her help.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Apartments and areas very clean. Cleaners very good. We stayed in budget studio with terrace overlooking car park and it was beautiful crazy paved area trees shrubs and shaded area we loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Koukounari alykes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hopeless and the room was not clean not very 4*

    It is in a good location but you could see it was the end if the season, not too friendly except in the breakfast bar they were super.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    a very enjoyable holiday at a wonderful location and a very well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the bathroom needed some attention rather tired but still very clean

    pool area /staff /on site bistro /regular changing of bed linen and brilliant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a farm nearby and you can hear geese in the early morning. Also, there are 2 renovated buildings and 1 not, they said they going to renovate it by 2018.

    The location is very convenient if you have a rental car and want to be in the same distance from famous tourist spots. Alykes has very good restaurants around f.e. Asteria that is just 100 meters down near the beach! Very helpful staff! Very friendly personal at the bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Great set up, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find the room particularly comfortable to be honest. It was clean and spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the pool, so cleanliness is not an issue. We expected basic and we know the hotel is renovating its bathrooms in stages, but our bathroom wasn't great, it was clean enough, but not a nice place to get clean in, and the drains do smell a little. The bed was very small and short! I'm only 5'7 and my feet were off the end I don't know how tall people will feel.

    The location is fantastic, a short walk to the main town area and the really nice beach! We loved our days on the beach and our evenings in the village dining in the different restaurants. The pool was big and nice to cool off in!! Everyone was friendly and was a great base for exploring beaches nearby in the car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    loved the location could walk at night to the shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Front of the house hostess could use a little training I was not impressed with her at all. She had a bit of an attitude. When your at the front of the house you need Hospitality. I wasn't impressed and feared that this was a poor choice, until we meet the rest of the staff.

    loved the location could walk at night to the shops and restaurants. very family friendly staff at the pool and the Café Bar. The pool was clean plenty of toys for the kids to play with. Plenty of seating at the pool. The bathroom was a good family size as well. The view was great and my favorite was the Balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    loved the hotel and area,only downside was self catering facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    bed not very comfy,cooking facilities not great,had to pay for a toaster,no area to prepare food

    pool,snack bar,restaurant,shower area,location,cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel for a quiet holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe was pricey at €42 but nescessary for insurance so not an option .No toaster but knew this before we arrived one can be hired at extra cost. Alykes is also a very small town lots of places to eat and drink but not many shops for wandering around at night.

    Very Clean rooms and pool, friendly staff lots of facilities on site,lovely restaurant and food,and bar not over priced. sun beds not an issue even when busy. Very helpful and provided showers and towels on leaving day. Transfers quick and reliable. Beach is beautiful and water warm and clean No issues at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Acceptable but for 4 stars could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi room 5 euro ?, 10:00 check-out ?, 3 euro a beer at the pool?, 27 euro transfer to the airport with their van ?, with the breakfast they have only 2 breakfasts all days ? (continental breakfasts, english breakfast ...)

    Room, pool, AC from the room, 10 min until Alykes beach (that is with sand beach), they offer services if you in the last day want to stay at the pool ( wc, room to change your clothings, etc)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Overal a great stay and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The "fortress like" balconies allowing only a view of the sky (from a seated position).

    Very friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff. Large pool, ideal for a morning swim. Great pool area with a great view of nature around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a lovely 2 week stay at Hotel Koukounaria - it's very family friendly and our boys loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    These negatives are quite minor: The room was more like a very large studio apartment. It was a single large area with a screen dividing the double bed (balcony side) and twin (kitchen area). There was a large aircon unit on the balcony, this was the fan used to cool the room. It meant that when the aircon was on the balcony got very hot and wasn't useable. This was a shame for evenings in the room where we wanted to be on the balcony and the kids asleep. Note, not all rooms have the aircon on the balcony, we were in 432. The balcony had a very high wall with no lower or barred section. This meant the kids stood on chairs to look over the edge. Again this is quite specific to rooms on the top floor. The main swimming pool is very deep - 3m deep end and 1.2 shallow end. We had ants in our apartment on the 4th floor. There was no dustpan provided for us to clean our own room. Would have been good to have a shower screen as the water pressure was excellent.

    Room was large, beautiful location overlooking the mountains and a small sea view from ours. The bars were good and not overpriced. Swimming pools were clean and large. Lots of sunbeds that got sun all day. Staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel in beautiful surroundings, with friendly & helpful staff will definitely be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we stayed in was very basic & a little on the small side for 4 of us and you had to pay extra for a toaster & safe key. Overall however this did not impact out stay & we had an amazing time.

    The food in the snack bar & restaurant were excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly. The pools were great for kids & my children really enjoyed the pool party on a Wednesday evening. It was easy to book transfers at reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Over priced and wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower (dangerous), mini bar never re-stocked, towels and bed only changed every for days, included breakfast very poor (so you pay for a main breakfast), wifi poor, no complimentary water, Lots of hidden extras.

    Comfy bed, small but newly designed room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, with amazing pool and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms weren't particularly clean - not terrible but could have been cleaner. The bed we had was also not the most comfortable in the world.

    They have a beautiful swimming pool which is extremely and has tonnes of space. All staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. This was particularly the case when they moved us from a twin room to the double room Booking.com had failed to reserve us. If you don't fancy using the pool the beach is just minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Very friendly and supportive, available at all times. Great restaurant staff and cooking. Great location - more remote yet less busy/less full of tourist, creating an overall more authentic experience. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful, the hotel modern and clean, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very extremely firm!

    The staff were wonderful, the hotel modern and clean, the restaurant and snack bar offered excellent food at good value. The pool was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Just perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless....no complaints whatsoever.

    The fact that this is a family run hotel and they all work as a happy, smiling and efficient team makes it feel like you are part of this lovely family rather than simply a holidaymaker.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    excellent friendly family run resort in an excellent part of the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really, however if i had to say something it would be that the basic rooms a little dated, however they are undergoing renovation so i wouldn't let this put you off. They also have new suites where the wedding couple stayed and they were amazing :-)

    We stayed for a week while attended a civil wedding ceremony at the hotel. The hotel is run by nearly all family and they are just amazing people so friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. The food is yummy (especially the wedding cake) and prices are very good so all in all excellent value holiday. Also I need to mention Denis's cocktails in the Blue Bar are fab :-) but beware of the Zombie cocktail this is lethal Haha only joking Denis x

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel that is very well run, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and informative and the family apartments were clean and spacious with excellent views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had room with garden view (which is nice), but cocks had been crowing as early as sunrise. So sleeping with windows open was hard :)

    Food was excellent! Location was 7 min walking distance from sandy beach! Big pool with 3 meters deep spots - good for morning swim.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room 2 Pax
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water

    Staff are friendly helpful and very welcoming. The location is perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Request for adjacent rooms was confirmed by the hotel on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Request for adjacent rooms was confirmed by the hotel on booking but then completely ignored

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    The receptionist, Katrina, was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room felt like a coffin.

    The receptionist, Katrina, was amazing. She picked some flowers from her garden and put them my room. With a lovely card.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    great food, clean rooms, nice people, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great food, clean rooms, nice people, everything was renovated this year

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    great stay, very relaxing, amazing beach and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 9 nights

    very close walk to all the best restaurants and beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Totul ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totul ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chic Room 2 PAX
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    Exceptional decor - Magnificent choice for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place and lovely pool, just a shame that we couldn’t self cater from the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected that a kitchenette would include a hob for basic cooking. A kitchenette just means a small fridge, kettle & cutlery

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    The bed was super comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room but no WiFi

    The bed was super comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Friendly service, comfortable apartment, great food from the bistro and snack bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Accommodation was very comfy! All staff were so friendly and the pool was incredible! The airport shuttle was handy and a decent price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    GREAT Cocktails the Chilli Mojito is a must to try

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness, cleanliness, pool, location and Bistro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Good facilities. Not a great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable room with a need for refurbishment.

    Good facilities and friendly staff. We really liked the pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect place for families or couples looking for a quiet holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed-not comfy

    Good location in a small village of zakynthos. Lovely swimming pools with comfy sun beds, short walking distance to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect!

    Communication, love great communication, they were first rate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean accomodation with great views and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Had a lovely stat at this aparthotel. Location great just a short walk to where all the tavernas and bars were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location and friendly staff pool was lovely on a hot day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for Every thing extra - wifi, towel (changed onces in two days)

    Very nice place! Good location and warm staf- great resturant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel great location beautiful views of the mountains

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in Alykes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 -4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wife at the room only in the reception and there were also the mosquitos!

    The pool and the musicevenings!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Quiet location and good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds and pillows

    Location, restaurant and staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    6.7
    Good staff, good food, awful accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    awful bed. only one small window embedded in the door poor light

    Kind staff. Good food. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in chilled calm setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit pricey in comparison to the others.

    Beautiful hotel in chilled calm setting. Night lights creates unique atmosphere outside. Kindest personnel you could ever met.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    The setting at the koukounaria is just beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartments are very basic but view makes up for that!

    The setting at the koukounaria is just beautiful. The place is spotlessly clean and the pool is fab. We had a very relaxing holiday here.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    We loved our vacation on this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved our vacation on this hotel. The room was great and the staff was really amazing, so serviceminded and nice. Breakfast was so good and dinner at the hotels restaurant was amazing. Loved everything.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The farm animals (roosters!) living in front of the rooms were keeping us awake at night.

    The location is perfect. The pool was amazing. The restaurant was perfect. And the restaurant and hotel staff were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.7
    The Staff are wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The main pool is very large but has a very small shallow end . That,s great if you,re confident in the water, but for those like me who are not..it was a big disappointment. I ended up not using it all. They do have a lovely Jacuzzi pool too, but sadly that also was a no-no, due to the very deep steps in and out. Having Arthritis in my knees meant that too was out of bounds. I wasnt keen on the resort either to be honest. There are a lot of mossies too, as we were bitten half to death during our stay, despite using repellent. Also, for those who are light sleepers, the noise each morning from the competing Cockerels , Geese and Dogs... might be an issue!!

    The Staff are wonderful! Very friendly, accommodating and helpful . Also, the Hotel is kept very clean and tidy . We stayed half board and the food offered was good and the menu fairly extensive.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    We spent a week at this hotel, stayed in their brand new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We spent a week at this hotel, stayed in their brand new beautifull suites and enjoyed the warmth and dedicated hospitality from all staff members. The hotel is situated farther from Zakintos town which was perfect for us because we wanted a quiet relaxing vacation. The beach and the town of Alykes is 4 minutes walking distance, has shops, restaurants, car rentals and boat tours. The rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable, with great air condition, balcony with comfortable furniture facing partly sea view, partly trees nature view.There is a mini bar in the room full of goodies, bottled water, soft drinks, fruit, sweeets and wine, that is refilled everyday without extra charge. We had half board and the meals were the best we ever had in a hotels because it was't buffet. Breakfast and dinner in a restaurant served with such variety and quality. We thank everybody in Koukounaria Hotel, Hellen, Claudia, Mina, George, Panos, Xara and everyone else for a super awesome great vacation!!!! And we will love to come back!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.8
    big room - rather empty but that's not an issue, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no internet in rooms but in lobby

    big room - rather empty but that's not an issue, nice pool with fine water, good restaurant, take the breakfest - it's worth it:)

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    The pool was amazing & the location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was amazing & the location was perfect! Walking distance to shops & restaraunts & the beautiful beach. we have no complaints, would come back again & highly recommend. Such great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was amazing but VERY slow. 40 minutes to get a coffee!

    The staff were amazing! The walk to the beach was close. The rooms were a good size. The dinner was UNBELIEVABLY GOOD! The cats were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    The hotel grounds, good size room, friendly staff, near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air con not strong enough for size of the room, too hot in the main room during the day and at night.

    The hotel grounds, good size room, friendly staff, near the beach, good restaurant in the hotel itself and good ones nearby too. Lovely bathroom

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.3
    Pool was beautiful and so was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool view was blocked by an over grown tree and the pool closed early at 9:00 which I thought was too early. Had to use the wifi in the lobby. Wasn't available in the rooms.

    Pool was beautiful and so was the location. Staff very friendly! Rooms were nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Most helpful staff, pool and spatious room with panoramic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's only the bathroom that doesn't match up with the other high niveau amenities

    Most helpful staff, pool and spatious room with panoramic view

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    The location of the hotel was perfect for us, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a little disappointed with the lack of light in our top floor apartment due to a very low roof over the balcony however, the shade proved welcome on some hotter days.

    The location of the hotel was perfect for us, beautiful views and a lovely pool area. The restaurant food was fantastic and the staff throughout the hotel very friendly. The apartment was very clean and well equipped. We even hired the hotel car for the day at a great price. We enjoyed the short walk from the beach to the hotel and the sounds of the birds and animals in the surrounding fields, we loved our holiday here.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    we stayed here for a week recently and had to check out by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed rock hard! My back & ribs ached! Bathroom in 336 needs updating! More loo roll required, and towels should be available at reception, for those that choose not have their room serviced. These are only slight negatives to what was a fantastic 8 nights

    we stayed here for a week recently and had to check out by 11 am ehen our flight wasn't until 0600hrs the next morning, so we booked an extra night on booking.com, id advise anyone to do this, as the hotel can charge up to €60 a night and booking.com was £32!! We loved the hotel, it was clean, well maintained, comfortable and relaxing. Id stay here again when im next in alykes. Loved it!!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: