Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kouros 1 stars

Main Street, Apollon, 84301, Greece

#2 of 2 hotels in Apollon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful landscape, good location, wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A lot of waves during that time, so we couldn't really take advantage of the beach close to the hotel. Room furniture maybe a little outdated, in the end it's a question of taste.

    Nice hotel, the hosts were very friendly, felt like being inside a family. Cleaning service every day. Wonderful breakfast - good cocktails at Flex Bar. Overall idyllic place. My best wishes to Khristos and Kostas, the owners, they really tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    I'd recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was quite old and there was a small shower where you could't move yourself properly.

    The owner paid attention to us in every moment. He recommended us many places and things to do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location! The rooms are clean, staff are friendly and prices reasonable. The delicious breakfast bar is filled with a variety of homemade goods. We enjoy the special events that Hotel Kouros hosts for guests. A sea view room guarantees cool breezes and the sound of waves rolling on the rocks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    An ideal choice for the vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not very strong, the distance from the center of Naxos.

    Polite staff, great breakfast free of charge, nice location close to the beach and cafe and restaurants, the hotel's beach bar was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    We feel blessed to have had the opportunity to stay at this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We feel blessed to have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. The owners Christos and Costas are wonderful and full of great advice on local recreation and restaurants. They hosted a complementary dinner for the whole hotel one night giving the international guests the opportunity to connect. We recommend staying in a lovely second floor sea view room. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast is the best we’ve had so far in Greece. This is Greek hospitality at its finest. We plan to return next winter. Long story short - stay here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, but far away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very very far from Naxos Town (2h by bus) and the bus just runs at 7am, so you have to rent a car or wake up extremely early to go to other places. If you like to be isolated from the world, it’s the place for you! If not, better to choose another hotel.

    Friendly and helpful staff - Christos does everything he can to help the guests with tips or car / squad rentals. Clean room! Good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    It,s clear at first sight that managing this hotel is a way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It,s clear at first sight that managing this hotel is a way of life -not an ordinary job .Christos with a little help from Family and ,,circumstances of nature,, makes you fell that you're a special guest. Eating / even breakfasts were the feasts/ Be sure at Kouros Hotel you'll forget about all your worries!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Peace and quiet and a relaxing stay - with staff that go out of their way help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A totally relaxed atmosphere where everyone is like family. Costas and Christos and their family make you feel very welcome. They did everything they could to help. The hotel has it's own beach and you are right on it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Apollon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a complaint just info. Book a ferry arriving in Naxos before 1.30pm to get the only Ktel bus for the day to take you to Apollon. If not it's a €60 taxi fee or hire car/quad bike. The other hotel offers a shuttle for their guests which we used and was €12.50 each. Good and cheap alternative to a taxi or the early bus into Naxos.

    Beautiful family that make you feel welcome and right at home. Delicious breakfast full of traditional Greek food. Great facilities, the beach is 150m away, snorkelling gear, kayaks and sun beds. The Flex bar is available for drinks and light meals, Christo makes a superb omelette. It's a peaceful part of the world for those who want time away from summer chaos. Also the other hotel Hotel Apollonas makes the best, inexpensive, most authentic Greek dinners in town. We ate there every evening and loved the wholesome delicious food. Their details are on the Kouros check in counter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent! Best place we stayed on our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want bars and city/town amenities, this probably isn't the place for you. Would be difficult getting here on public transport - 3 or 4 buses in the morning I think, so you probably need your own vehicle, but this will also allow you to explore the North of the island more anyway.

    The Kouros hotel is a great place to settle for a few days, so much so we booked for 2 night and ended up staying for 6! The hotel was clean and well looked after with excellent grounds and gardens where the owners grow their own fruit & veg. The breakfast was great and we were invited to dinner with other guests on the first night. The dinner was traditional Greek fare and was free! The owners use it as a way to bring together their guests and we enjoyed meeting and talking with other people who were staying at the hotel at the same time as us. This really helped to break the ice for the rest of the stay and socialise with other guests. Flex Bar is the on-site bar and is open most of the time, so a good place for a party! The music is great too & you can generally play what you like as long as its not too pop! The Kouros is situated right on the beach in Apollonas. The beach directly at the front of the hotel is pebbles, but there is a sandy beach 5 minutes walk. The good thing about the pebbles is that it keeps the beach relatively quiet, so no problems with overcrowding. Sun loungers, umbrellas, kayaks, body boards, snorkels etc. are all provided to guests for free, so there's plenty to do. Apollonas is a nice, quiet little village with limited amenities - a few restaurants, a small shop and that's about it! You're well away from the hustle & bustle here. There's a Kouros (statue) about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    No room for improvement, honestly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we did not like. From the location to the cleanliness of the room, from the glorious neighborhood. To the parking lot. We had occasion to change room because of a booking mistake in my part, this was taken care of with the minimum of inconvenience and no extra charge!

    I already wrote a rather laconic review, now I can expand. The place couldn’t be friendlier. Tho co-owner informed us of a dinner provided by his sister-in-law the same night. It was delicious, the atmosphere was great and warm, the conversation non-stop. It proved a precursor to a most enjoyable short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The stuff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The stuff was excellent. Warm, hospitable people! Excellent view, beach in front of view! While being in Kouros, I have been working on paper on Aristotle' s account of tragedy! The entire family, particularly Christos, helped a lot!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Forgotten paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was wonderful, you have all the beach to yourself. Owners were very friendly and made sure that their guests would have a lot of entertainment. There are bicycles, canoes, snorkeling equipment for free. Family invited all the quests to their famous dinner, there you are almost forced to socialize with other guests and it is a good thing, otherwise we would be to shy to start a conversation with strangers, but Greek food, glass of wine and shared table helps a lot 😃 We had to wait 6 hours in Naxos town before the ferry to Athens, Apollonas with it's chill atmosphere is way way better than Naxos town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Spent a great two nights at Kouros in the best company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent a great two nights at Kouros in the best company. Special thanks to the hotel's staff that made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The hospitality was something we won't never forget. If you're searching for a five star luxury hotel, it's not the place to be. But if you can cope with modest and want to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing, laid-back atmosphere and beautiful sea scenery, with drinks, start booking! Using a public bus to/from hotel will give you overwiev of different small villages of Naxos. At Flex Bar, next to the beach, we enjoyed the best omelettes ever!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Great host, superb breakfasts and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Christos was an excellent host, very friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were formidable and the choice was huge from full England breakfast to pancakes and continental breakfast and everything in between.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Great location, excellent host who made you feel at home and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Great location, excellent host who made you feel at home and is very informative about this part of Naxos, superb breakfasts, the best we've had in Greece.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Quirky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rough unmade track leading to the car park (which crosses a river bed) proved a challenge for our small hire car. It would be fine in a 4x4. Outside the main season it is possible to park on the road. The wifi signal was weak on the 2nd floor.

    This hotel has a fabulous location, right on the beach. The building is around 40 years old and it has changed little since it was built. However, the important things like air conditioning and hot water all worked well. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The manager, Christos, makes a big effort to get the guests to socialise - even cooking dinner for everyone on one evening. Breakfasts are also a communal affair. This would make the hotel ideal for single travellers. Christos is full of information on Naxos, especially its many tracks and footpaths and he has also written a book on the history of the island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location of Kouros, remote from the hustle and bustle and right at the sea. Christos is extremely welcoming and made us feel at home. Loved the hammocks and beach bar with great music and easy going atmosphere. The breakfast is heaven and you meet easily other travellers because of the shared breakfast at one big table.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very nice, the breakfast was excellent and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice, the breakfast was excellent and the view from our room was stunning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A special place with special people and special vibes!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Everyone is professional and will help you make your stay the best one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kindness of the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    To meros.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To meros..... Monadiko.... Den yparxei allo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great place on a exceptional location.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Moutain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the bar. Great Mojitos

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything, location, people, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, location, people, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Everyone makes you welcome. Location perfect. Everyone is super friendly. So peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Kouros Hotel is located in a lovely village in northern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kouros Hotel is located in a lovely village in northern Naxos. There are a number of good restaurants, a sheltered bay for swimming and great hiking. It is also a fairly short drive to some wonderful mountain and coastal villages. But what really made our stay special was the hospitality of its owner Christos. We really did not feel that we were hotel guests but rather at a friend's house who went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Thanks for everything Christos.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    My stay at the hotel Kouros was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My stay at the hotel Kouros was perfect. It was exactly what i have been looking for: a small village, few people, quiet place, and plenty of beaches and sea all for yourself. My window was overlooking the mountains, and every time glancing there I felt how peaceful the atmosphere is. The staff is very friendly, coming to be sort of a family for the guests by the end of the stay. The most astonishing thing is the charisma of the hotel's owner, Christos. He knows how to find a special key to everybody's heart.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful stay at Kouros- i felt very at home and welcomed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful stay at Kouros- i felt very at home and welcomed. Both Mountain and ocean views are splendid, the surrounding area is geourgeous with the bright seA and tall green hills. Also the village is cute and quiet. Best food!! Fresh, local and very tasty. Christos was such a genuine and helpful host- i hope i can make it back again soon!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    The Kouros hotel is one of the most especial places I´ve...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Kouros hotel is one of the most especial places I´ve ever seen. Because the hotel is so far for Naxos town, Christos is always helping to make yo feel at home. Two nights he invited all hotel to have dinner and when we had to leave the hotel because the wea, he did´n charge us the nigth. A place to remember, a family to remember and all the friends we did. ευχαριστίες!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    It was a great hotel and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a great hotel and very friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and if you are lucky to be there for a Kouros dinner party then you will experience a delicious dinner. Great place, location and great value.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Location was fantastic, about 30 meters off of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fantastic, about 30 meters off of the sea., The owner, Christos was very friendly and helpful. The best night was sharing a home cooked meal with everyone staying at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    I like the staff a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The day I got their was a little windy, and beach was stones. It is good the ones who like stone beaches.

    I like the staff a lot! Manager of the hotel was very welcoming and understanding person. As mentioned in previous reviews he did really invite all the guests around mutual dinner table it was very interesting to communicate to all other travelers, hear their stories , and sharing yours :) It has great nature around.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff was great, lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There wasn't a parking lot to park my car.

    The staff was great, lovely people. They had love for their hotel and job. The breakfast was amazing, it fueled you easily for the adventure of the day.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    4.6
    Peaceful and lovely scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking close by. Very remote and deadly roads. A very dull and out dated property.

    Peaceful and lovely scenery.the breakfast was first class. Very helpful when we decided the location wasn't for us.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic atmosphere created by Christoph the manager makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic atmosphere created by Christoph the manager makes this place great and unforgettable. Together with his hard working brother they really create The best place to stay and rest. I highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    This was definitely the nicest surprise I have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was definitely the nicest surprise I have ever experienced while vacationing in Greece. The owners of this family run hotel will treat you like family. There is something special about this place that will make you want to come back again and again. It's not only the superb location on the beach (almost private, with free sunbeds and umbrellas), or the magical view to the sea from your balcony. It's not even the free dinners that they regularly offer to all (!!) of their guests (don't forget to thank Mrs Yiouli for the amazing food). It's the hospitality and the atmosphere and the relaxing spirit in everything. You can enjoy your breakfast (hand made, with local products), swim in the sea, relax under the trees having a cold coffee or the awesome omelette made by Christos (try the local salad too, amazing) and enjoy the evening at the bar drinking cocktails, listening to music and mingling with people from all over the world who can't believe what a gem they have found here. This is a place where you can forget about anything. Here there are enough books for you to read for a lifetime (Christos used to own a bookstore), enough sea to swim all day and enough sun to keep you warm all winter until you come back. And, indeed, people do come back. Most guests are regulars, some of them have even bought property in the village or built their own summer houses. What a magical hotel!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    We stayed from the 19th to the 22nd of June 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We stayed from the 19th to the 22nd of June 2015. The hotel is situated in Appolonas which is a quaint and beautiful little fishing village about an hours drive from Naxos Town. The owner Christos welcomed us with open arms and made us feel at home in the beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean and has the most amazing sea views over the small village. The hotel is walking distance from a sand and pebble beach and also lots of restaurants and a mini market which is well stocked. The breakfast was good and had some variaty. The best and most memorable was the dinner we shared with Christos and the staff and laughing and talking around the big table in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    Super friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.8
    Loved the atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Loved the atmosphere. The hotel and bar tender is so nice and likes to gather his guests at his bar or for a surprise dinner party.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.8
    L'accueil chaleureux de Christos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'accueil chaleureux de Christos

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    You will never find a more generous and kind-loving staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You will never find a more generous and kind-loving staff!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    I felt like in my home not at hotel, nice family around,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt like in my home not at hotel, nice family around, nice food,quit area for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything. Kouros attracts special people, because it is a special place

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Quiet, secluded beach-front location in a nice, small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, secluded beach-front location in a nice, small village. Friendly and welcoming staff.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: