Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Cyclades hotel reviews
  4. Fira hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lignos

Reviews of Lignos 2 stars

Main Street, Fira, 84700, Greece

#73 of 76 hotels in Fira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 575 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    4.6
    Don't book on Lignos Hotel nor Bluesky
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at lignos hotel and there was a paper sticked at the door that reads "for check in call at my mob phone or go to bluesky hotel". It was raining and after calling for more than 20 minutes whe went to the other hotel. Nobody was there either. After ten minutes they checked us in but in that hotel because lignos has "water issues". The bluesky was 300 mts away from Lignos and away from the center of Fira. On the phone (the only way to reach the personal of Lignos) they told us that if we had something to say we should use booking.com and hanged up. Don't go there! Such bad attitude and different room than what we paid for.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location and totally no-frills. Not for the picky
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was sticky so I had to wear shoes in the room. The shower area was tiny and was not walled; it was curtained so the curtain kept getting in the way and didn’t do a good job keeping water within the shower area. Breakfast wasn’t included so I went to a 24/7 bakery nearby instead. The WiFi could be better too.

    The mattress and pillows were firm, which is what I prefer. Room was big and well lit. Location was fantastic. 5 minutes walk to the bus station and there’s a coffee shop 3 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    4.2
    Low budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Santorini was disappointing from the minute we stepped out of the ferry. The chaotic tiny port, the bargaining to get a transfer to the hotel, falling from a crazy 50 euros to an acceptable 20 in a matter of seconds… We are a mature couple in our seventies avoiding steps and stairs like the pest and arrived at the Lignos hotel on a minibus that left us across the street. After dragging our luggage along the street nearly cried at the sight of the stairs from the street to the front of the very modest hotel. Fortunately there was a ramp nearby and after more penurious dragging along the horrendous Santorini little cobblestones we made it to the front door to find it locked and no one there to receive us, despite our 4 months advance booking and having emailed the day before announcing our arrival. There was a handwritten note at the door advising to ring the owner for attention...??? We finally located someone and were told our room was not available. We had to undo the ramp and proceed to another nearby hotel some 15 min away, the Blue Sky, down a slopping alleyway and up some steps, and further away from where we wanted to be, dragging our luggage all over again. Interestingly, 3 girls that arrived with us had the room ready for them at the Lignos...This set the frame for the rest of our too-long 3-day stay. The room was of a good size and clean, with a comfortable bed and pillows, opening to a small balcony with 2 chairs, with no telephone or tea making facilities. There was a pipe of some kind coming out of the floor next to the bed. The bathroom was very small and outdated and although everything worked, the shower space was only a 60cm square with an ancient hand held shower head and a short plastic curtain that leaked water all over the floor…very uncomfortable to say the least. Nevertheless the hotel served its purpose and allowed us to visit Fira relatively inexpensively. We had mosquitoes in the room.

    Nice little balcony, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.5
    Stay Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked Lignos Hotel, but when we arrived there was a handwritten sign at its door saying that check-in should be done at Blue Sky. As it turns out, we were told to stay at Blue Sky. We had booked a double bed, and were put in a twin bedroom, allegedly for lack of rooms. We had made our reservation months in advance, so how could they not have a double room for us? The towels left in the room were damp, smelly and beyond warn, actually being ripped at the edges. Also one of the pillows was damp. The room was dirty, especially the bathroom which still had hairs from previous occupants..... The doors have huge glass panels and no curtain, so we used the smelly towels as impromptu curtains in order to sleep in the morning. The room leads directly to the pool and door had breaches, so we could hear everything from outside. Close to our heads, there was a power plug coming out of the wall. Oh, and there were mosquitoes inside the room. The worst Hotel we have ever stayed at. Stay away!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Fine, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, tidy and functional. Good reception on arrival. Reception book the taxi for transfer (28 euros)

    Te Hotel advertised a Port transfer for 10 Euros. It dosn't exist!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    fridge in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room, small bathroom, shower drain gets stuck, toilet smells from the drain, no water glass, no kettle or coffee, pool in a different building entirely

    fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Actually the host had a problem and gave us the choice to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually the host had a problem and gave us the choice to stay în Blue Suites Hotel where everything was great. Large rooms with good beds, great view from the balcony and quite close to Fira center, only 7 minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Room based in centre of Fira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom was very small. After showering the bathroom turned into a wet room. The location is great for central Fira and bus terminal but the downside is the noise of traffic and local bars.

    As mentioned, the location is central for Fira and the bus terminal. Very handy if relying on local transport to travel around. The room was pretty but very small. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    The place was really beutiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, too expensive and not so good

    The place was really beutiful! And the guy who work there was very kind giving us a lot of good advice about what to do ib Santorini and where to go

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but the overall service of the staff made it a stressfull and little enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The reseption and overall communication with the hotel was insanly horrible, we could not get contact with our hotel at all (not even trough booking.com), which made it hard for us when we had to have a late arrival and were told to meet at another hotel, to later realise that the keys where put out for us at our original hotel (we had not gotten any information about this). The hotel also tried to charge us an additional 600 euros, so i would higly reccomend to keep anextra eye on your bank account if you order.

    very clean and nice room, with great and central location. Cleaning lady came every day, and we could adjust the "service" how we liked it. Safe neigborhood as-well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.5
    Rude !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude !!!! So we were originally suppose to stay at lignos hotel but when we arrived they told us they were over booked, so they moved us to a hotel called blue sky. They said they did not have our room ready and told us to come back in hour. When we came back they moved us to the hotel next door called new Haroula. They told us they have 5 hotels and they are all family owned hotels. When we entered our hotel room they smelled like mold. And we could tell these rooms were not commonly used. On the second day of our stay we found 3 cockroaches in our hotel room. On our last day staff yelled at us and accused us of stealing 2 bedsheets and towels. We told them to check our luggage and after they found out a maid took them for cleaning , and they were still disrespectful the wifi did not work in the rooms. In the end it was just a horrible experience but the island itself is gorgeous but would suggest staying elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location in the centre of Fira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and the pool was at another property, however the person at check in assisted with one of our bags to the hotel. Had to programme the air condition remote (if remote is not working check that the model number is correct - from memory it was 121, however a quick google may also help).

    Good location in the centre of Fira.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Review for Blue sky hotel, not hotel lignos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were in dire need of an upgrade. Unfortunately our bathroom had a weird smell for the whole of our stay. PLEASE CHECK IN AT BLUE SKY HOTEL !!!!!!! instead of hotel lignos.

    A note we found on hotel lignos upon check in told us to check in at blue sky hotel which was down the road. Luckily we were moved to blue sky hotel which had an amazing locating, spacious rooms and a nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location, 4 mins walk from the bus stop and 6mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The 24 hour reception and the swimming pool were actually in a different hotel 5mins away! Absolutely Ridiculous. Also they kept turning off our mini fridge, even though we had food inside!

    Great location, 4 mins walk from the bus stop and 6mins walk from Caldera

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Fair stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not what it is in the pictures at all. They have moved us to an other hotel.

    I liked the fact that we were clise to the center. Also the swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    There isn't enough facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't give us 3 bed eventhough we had booked triple room. They gave twinroom with extra bed and they said it is ours triple room. Extra bed was too uncompartable to sleep so we needed to share 2bed for 3people.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    We arrived in the evening and the reception was closed, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in the evening and the reception was closed, so we had to go to another hotel to get the keys. There we were offered to stay in San Marino suites instead of Lignos. We did and it was excellent, thank you very much. We actually did not see Lignos in our swift stay in Santorini, so the hospitality comments are for a different installation!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Budget hotel, good for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and opposite rubbish bins.

    Budget hotel, good for price. Only really slept in it as was off exploring and sightseeing. It's located On a busy main road but good location for city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Basic and cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.3
    Poor customer experience - not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to communicate with the Lignos several times a week for eight weeks before our stay, both via Booking.com and directly. They simply didn’t respond. Communication is appalling. When we went to check in, there was no-one there and a small notice directed us to a hotel ‘opposite’. This was nowhere to be seen and was, in fact, down the hill and completely out of sight. There was no one there to help us. During the stay, two of the staff were kind and helpful. But mostly management at the Lignos and at their sister accommodation, Blue Star hotel, have no concept of customer care. The beds were hard and the toilet leaked when flushed. It was unsanitary. We left a day early. These two places are not recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Everyone is very friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says that our room has cooking facilities but when we arrived they said that we don’t have anything to cook with

    Everyone is very friendly and kind. We were a little scared because of all the bad reviews but in the end everything worked out well for us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay at Blue Sky Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally booked Lignos hotel but on check in were shown room at Blue Sky Hotel. We were so grateful as we arrived in the middle of the night, tired and not feeling well. Both hotels are owned by the same person. For us budget travelers room was comfortable, air con was good, private bathroom was bonus! Staff were friendly. Pool was amazing! Blue Sky Hotel is close to the main street so location was ideal. Bus station is few minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    It was cheap and in a good location. That’s it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady who seems to be the daughter of the owner is awful..she treats you like s*** without any regards about their poor “hospitality” skills She yelled at us in the morning and ask for an imaginary payment...No matter what happened she was right....we booked at Lignos got moved to blue sky and had to move again in the morning back to Lignos with no apologies...This lady at the reception asked us for an extra payment coming from nowhere...when we declined she yelled at us...it was 8am in the morning ....she then called her “Mama” to at the end move us where we actually booked without any apologies....All their advertising is fake...they v got no hospitality skills or even common sens...or just human feelings...they just want your money

    The cleaner was nice and that’s it ...No windows in the room...electricity tripping....Awful lady at the reception when she is around...3 hours a day 3 hours of rudeness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.9
    Worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like anything specially stuff was so rude. First of all there was no one for the check-in and we need to go to the other property for the check-in and the front desk representative (Yota) was not cooperative and just ignored whatever we said. She was actually busy doin her personal stuff instead of taking care of the guests. After settling in we find out the iron is not available so we requested if we can get the iron as our clothes need ironing after coming out from backpack. She said they don’t have it and she can’t help us. I said what we’ll do without iron, she replied it’s not her problem and go to the laundry. It was Sunday and laundry was closed. So we wore all wrinkly clothes. When we checked out they said we can only place our luggage till 2pm, but our ship time was 19:25hrs they didn’t care about that so we picked up our luggage before 2pm. It was the worst experience ever in my life. I’ll never recommend this hotel to anyone. If I can rate this hotel in negative I’ll definitely do that.

    Nothing..only the location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone !! Terrible service! To begin, we arrived at the place and found a note on the door saying that we should look for the other hotel of the owner. As if it was not enough to walk down the street, full of bags, looking for the other address, there was nobody at the reception!! I waited more than an hour and no one appeared !! I went out looking for someone who could help me with the check in until the maid called a relative of the mistress to open the room. I've never seen anyone at the front desk and I know that other people have waited for hours too. Lack of respect, almost ruined my trip !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded my expectations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    I was so nervous about staying here due to previous reviews but it was my first solo female trip to Santorini and I will definitely be booking again when I return. The staff waiting for my late night arrival, kept me at the hotel I requested, did not bother me throughout the full two weeks I stayed with them. I didn't take advantage of the breakfast because there are so many great options in Fira, but I did walk down the hill to Blue Sky to use the pool which was very nice and quiet. The room was a bit small but everything in Santo is that way so I didn't mind. Room was cleaned daily, showers were hot, good AC, location was excellent! I'd definitely recommend, but if you have late early arrival or any concerns before the trip, email them far in advance so they can accommodate. They aren't quick with replying but did their best to meet any needs I had along the way. Thanks for a great stay! See you again next year hopefully :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice time in Santorini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen was a bit short so bathroom floor got flooded when you had a shower. Beds a bit uncomfortable.

    Great location. Clean. Nice people. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was kinda weak Breakfast was not excellent but it was 6 euros par persone so way less expensive than going out to have it.

    I liked everything about the place. We booked lignos but we stayed at Blue sky that is their other property and I was very happy about that. The pool is at Blue sky and it was right next to our room. The room was sooo pretty and big, I felt in love for real.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Great for budget travel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was terrible in the room. You could only access it from sitting outside. When we first arrived we went to Hotel Lignos, and there was a sign on the door telling us to go to Blue Skies, which was down the hill. The bathroom floor was not cleaned when we arrived.

    Great location to the central part of Fira. The outdoor area with the pool was great. Check in was super fast, and our room was ready before the suggest arrival time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    We changed properties than what we were originally thinking...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed properties than what we were originally thinking but the staff at Lignos made it really easy to understand where to go. Pool facility was clean, rooms were clean, everything was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in the middle of Fira, so it’s near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to do the check in at the Blue Sky Hotel, down the Street and they told you this when you arrive at the Lignos.

    The hotel is in the middle of Fira, so it’s near to the square and the shops. It’s also near to the bus station. The room was good and clean. The WiFi worked well and the staff is very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.3
    A shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are misleading. There was no swimming pool, it was at a hotel down the road which was supposedly their sister hotel. Upon our arrival we found a note on the door advising to go down to the other hotel for check in. Check in info was your key is hanging on your door... Towels were hard, rough and smelly. Right outside this place was a massive garbage bins - not how you picture Santorini..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Next to Bus terminal so easy to communicate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle, booked double room gave us twin beds .. , old property, swimming pool is on the new property, no breakfast included

    Next to Bus terminal so easy to communicate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    location is the only good thing about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay here was terrible. Firstly there was no reception, no staff ..only one cleaning lady who was there during the day. We had to walk till another hotel to get the keys and to find out where our rooms were during check in. We saw other people face similar problems. The image of the pool is a LIE. There is no pool in this property and rooms are in below average conditions and also no toiletries were provided. To make things worse, water from the shower was absolutely cold even though we informed the management twice, there was nothing done to fix it!! I would not recommend this to any traveller.

    location is the only good thing about this hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Bait and switch to better property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no check-in desk at this property. Check-in is located 2 blocks down the road in another hotel owned by this family called Blue Sky Hotel.

    Free upgrade to other property owned by same family in less busy street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    The housekeeper girl is very nice, helpful and hardworking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been nicer if the curtain won‘t flood the floors. Check-in and the pool is in another hotel several meters away in a slope street, might be a problem if you carry lots of bags. The towels and bed sheets are thin and old but clean.

    The housekeeper girl is very nice, helpful and hardworking. The location is near bus station and the Fira center with lots of cheap food choices nearby. The balcony facing the street is nice and the room is always well cleaned. We have everything we need in the room with tiny fridge, TV, and hairdryer. It‘s not a luxurious hotel like the others but it’s a good deal with the price you pay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Be very careful in crowded bus station for pick pockets as this spoilt the stay somewhat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You had to check in at a different location 150 metres down a steep hill. There was no kettle in the room as promised but this did arrive after second day.

    Location slightly away from crowds but very close to bus station for trips out around the island

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Affordable and not too bad, but not highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon our arrival, there was no staff at Lignos but a small sign on the door referring us to another property. The directions to here were not very clear and we had to ask around to find it. Upon check-in we were told that there was a booking problem (although we booked well in advance and pre-paid). We were told to stay in another hotel for one night, thereafter back to Lignos. After insisting, we could stay in one room after all. This is not very professional, since our booking was confirmed. The toilet did not flush properly. The drawers of the clothes cupboard were missing, not replaced during our stay, even though we reported it. The remote control of the air conditioning system was missing, it was brought afterwards. The bed duvet did not have any covers at all and it was clear that they were not washed after each different person staying in the room. The towels were old and torn, but clean.

    The location is convenient, walking distance to the Fira bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were accomodated in another hotel- Blue Sky, that is really super close to Lignos hotel, but it was not described well how to get there and the host does not reply on the phone. It was 1 am and thanks we found a person on the street who told us how to get there.

    The hotel Blue sky where we were accomodated actually is very good- renovated and clean rooms + a nice swimming pool. Great quality for a good price! The staff is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room at this property and when we arrived got sent to another hotel as they where full and had to walk a very steep hill the water pressure in shower was a trickle

    Balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    How could we evaluated lingos hotel when we didn't even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How could we evaluated lingos hotel when we didn't even had the chance to enter ...? This place almost turned our trip in santorini into a nightmare. Me and my friend booked every hotel and hostel in advanced for our trip in Greece and particularly santorini where we expected to have the best time. Unfortunaly, we made the terrible mistake to book and prepay our nights in lingos hostel. We wanted to have some details about our arrival so we kept calling the hotel for an entier week before travelling but we never had anyone on phone, not the owner or even the receptionist. The phone number and email where useless. We had no idea if someone would be here the day we will arrive. Indeed, when we arrived the first day, tired and full of heavy bags, the hotel was close. A little paper on The door Was saying the hotel was close and we had to go to their other hotel "blue sky" further away. In blue sky hotel, we have been "welcomed" by a woman that didn't speak English or any other language than Greek. The woman gave us a key saying we should stay here now (for what we understood). When we asked for explanation she sounded pissed and finally called the owner who spoke to us in English on phone and said we should stay here now because the other hotel was close. Nobody contacted us before we arrived to say anything about that even if the hotel has been closed for a while apparently. We took the key and arrived in a room that was really dirty (hair on the floor and in the bathroom, black liquid in the shower, dead mosquitos on the walls, dirt everywhere). We asked to the woman at the reception to call again the owner that speaks English. We told her about the dirt of the room, she seems to not really care but change our room in the end. The new room was cleaner ... until we had the bad surprise to discover a full trash in the bathroom (full of feminin protection product....).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    How could we evaluated lingos hotel when we didn't even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How could we evaluated lingos hotel when we didn't even had the chance to enter ...? This place almost turned our trip in santorini into a nightmare. Me and my friend booked every hotel and hostel in advanced for our trip in Greece and particularly santorini where we expected to have the best time. Unfortunaly, we made the terrible mistake to book and prepay our nights in lingos hostel. We wanted to have some details about our arrival so we kept calling the hotel for an entier week before travelling but we never had anyone on phone, not the owner or even the receptionist. The phone number and email where useless. We had no idea if someone would be here the day we will arrive. Indeed, when we arrived the first day, tired and full of heavy bags, the hotel was close. A little paper on The door Was saying the hotel was close and we had to go to their other hotel "blue sky" further away. In blue sky hotel, we have been "welcomed" by a woman that didn't speak English or any other language than Greek. The woman gave us a key saying we should stay here now (for what we understood). When we asked for explanation she sounded pissed and finally called the owner who spoke to us in English on phone and said we should stay here now because the other hotel was close. Nobody contacted us before we arrived to say anything about that even if the hotel has been closed for a while apparently. We took the key and arrived in a room that was really dirty (hair on the floor and in the bathroom, black liquid in the shower, dead mosquitos on the walls, dirt everywhere). We asked to the woman at the reception to call again the owner that speaks English. We told her about the dirt of the room, she seems to not really care but change our room in the end. The new room was cleaner ... until we had the bad surprise to discover a full trash in the bathroom (full of feminin protection product....).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, peaceful and efficient; not recommended if you can't walk up a steep hill or don't have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My reservation was indeed for the Lignos Hotel which is very conveniently located on the main street, but when I arrived from the ferry there was a note on the door that it was closed for painting and to go to the Blue Sky Hotel but with no directions. I had not received any email information about this and found it extremely inconsiderate and unprofessional. I had to ask at a store for directions and the "new" hotel was down a steep hill which had to be climbed 2 or 3 times a day..... I opted not to get the breakfast for an extra 5€ as it did not look nearly worth it. I think this breakfast should have been included.

    My room was comfortable with en suite bath. The bed was fine. There was usually someone at the front desk who was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    2.5
    The only good thing about it was that it is very close to...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - There was no staff in the main reception and it was locked and there was a phone number written on a paper stuck on the door for contact but it didn’t work . We waited there for more than half an hour and then a female staff came out of a room. - The hospitality first of all was awful. The staff looked puzzled. Didn’t say much. Gave our keys and then after we went into our rooms after ten minutes she came asking for payment which I initially had that would have been taken from my card. When I went to pay with my card she said they only accept cash. Then I had asked her for a receipt and she didn’t provide me with one and said I had to go to another address to get one. Checking out the hotel in few hours I was restricted with time to do so and had to leave it with no choice. As a hotel it is their responsibility to make sure to have someone at all times at the reception and also provide receipts for payments instead of telling customers to go and get one at another place. - The room itself speaks for the money we paid. It’s so cramped and had an awful smell. Honestly having been to two other hotels in Fira I believe that you can pay an extra €10 and get a much better hotel with a pleasant clean room and friendly honest staff unlike this one. - After I returned back from my holiday I realised they have taken money from my bank card as well and now when I am trying to call them and email them they are not responding. - It is a shame after Fira being such a nice place with nice people to come across such a dodgy place with dishonest people on our last day of holiday. - If you want your stay to be a pleasant one and worth the money then please don’t stay here!

    The only good thing about it was that it is very close to the shopping centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok room, nice little balcony and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I got to Hotel Lignos there was a note on the door which said I had to walk to another hotel. Then they gave me a room there; I guess run by the same owner, which was a little weird and was given no explanation at all when I asked about it (even though the room was similar to the one I booked).

    Ok room, nice little balcony and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    We paid for a triple room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a triple room ! The third bed was horrible, it was a sponge mattress ! We stayed in the end in blue sky the same owner ! For us wasn’t good that change was a bit far and no conftable !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    where i had to walk from one property to another to check in but its not a big issue.

    everything was perfect. room was clean it was in calm and silent place. everything was in working condition. receptionist during check in was really friendly and charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the city centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn´t get a good internet signal in our room. Also be aware that Lignos Hotel is from the same owner of Blue sky hotel, and if you stay at Lignos you will need to walk down a road for 2 minutes to have breakfast and use the pool.

    The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the city centre of Fira and is far away enough so that you don't hear the noise from the busy streets. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay! I recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Fira for a few nights and don´t want to spend a lot of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The location of this place was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower curtain was a bit too small making it hard to shower but thats it!

    The location of this place was great. We were so close to everything and nightlife was just down the street. The hotel was very beautiful, we loved the designs and our room was a tiny bit smaller than what we expected but the balcony made up for it. They would clean our room everyday and the hotel was spotless. I have not a single complaint and would definitely stay here again when I come back to Santorini!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Also they did not include shampú or shower gel wich I didn't know. And there is not kitchenet facilities. I have not seeing the pool either. Two girls from the staff were lovely and very helpful, one a bit not very nice. Some guest were really noise but they did not have concierge to control them.

    The place was very central, easy to find and full of amenities and shops around, 3 minutes walking from the sea cliffs. Was clean and have ensuit, fridges and hair drier available. It was quite inconvenient that I have to sleep the first night in one of the rooms in a totally different hotel and I have to check out and in again to move to another one in the morning after all the trip and with very limited time to visit the island. I have to unpack and pack again my things and leave all my luggage in the reception to be able to leave at 8am as planned for my visits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    For the price paid, it was ok - it is a very basic place, but enough if you just need a bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up staying at Blue Sky, the other hotel by the same owner. The directions on how to get there could have been clearer. There was absolutely no wi-fi, even in reception area, which was a big issue. The hot water was also not consistently available - at all times of the day, it was never guaranteed it seemed. Most of the lightbulbs in our room were not working. To be fair, we didn’t raise our concerns to hotel staff while there, but some things you just expect to work, like hot water.

    The location is excellent - walking distance from bus station and main area of town. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location for 1 day use
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changed property by the hotel walking with my heavy luggage, Early arrival but need wait for keeping my luggage until the reception opening

    Location and A good receptionist

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.5
    It's a scam! Do not not book Hotel Lignos!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are tranferred to a mouldy dungeon in different hotel called Blue Sky. Hotel is no longer in Bookin.com's lists, check the stories about this crappy hotel in tripadvisor. Towels outdated and felt like cardboard, room moist and hot even in march, rusty and wobbly fridge, walls are bubbling in moisture where the electric boad is. Closet's drawers are broken, bathroom window can not be closed. Hardly any natural light in the room. Not even drinkin glass in the room. Staff is unreachable and they accept only cash, no receipt given. I demanded one, got it after one day waiting with a grumpy face. It' a scam, don't bother.

    Hot water and electricity provided

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    I were really disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel moved to new address and changed new phone call, new name is Blue Sky without any notice to me. We tried to call all numbers but couldn't because no one puck up the phone and spent almost 2 hours for asking and looking places and someone would know and help us. When we found out Blue Sky, i just saw a noted on the door of reception with my name. New property look not nice, all lights not work except one for room and one with a bit light for bathroom. Reception : Receptionist was not often there. It almost no one with closing door after 12pm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    cozy bed,location was good,in the center of capital!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was bad signal..because the gave me the back room ..althought the hotel was empty,they could give a better room as a wrote the visit was for prof reasons!

    cozy bed,location was good,in the center of capital!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I went in winter, some part of the hotel was under construction. Ther was noisy during daytime.

    The room is clean. The staff is very nice and kind. Breakfast is acceptable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location but wrongly charged twice (resolved)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked lignos, but the hotel was closed and a faded sign (which I had to climb over to get to the door) to reach to get to blue sky after asking nearby grocery store for location. Self check is as nobody was at the reception (key left in door). Everything was ok until the end 1h before I had to check out when I realized that I was double charged (paid cash, but my credit card was also charged. The reception is not manned (The boss comes one like 1 or 2h a day only) and I could not reach them. The cleaners were not able to contact the boss regardless of how I asked them to. Luckily I had asked for a receipt when I paid cash (she would not have given automatically I believe) and I had proof. Given the uncontactability (note the same number given if there is any check problem during check in and what's not) even by the staff, I decided to take the key with me when I checked out and ask the cleaners to get the boss back in the next 2h before I had to leave to catch the ferry. They were apparently shocked and said no but I was adamant. At which point of time miraculously they suddenly managed to now contact the boss and I got to talk to her in which she remembers me because I asked for the receipt. The double charged was because the 1st charge attempt did not go thru and I updated my card details in which the charge got thru later, but I feel that it was the hotels duty to check and not double charged customers. And at the very minimal, should be contactable at all times! Ultimately just before I left the boss came back and refunded me the cash I paid and asked for the receipt back at the same time. I believe I managed to reach this only after I threatened to take the door key with me only then did her cleaners managed to finally contact her despite many failed attempts at my initial request (very suspicious there). But at least I got the money back finally. Booking.com was less then helpful with automated responses (robotic even without reading customer reply).

    The location in fira (the only active town off season) was value for money for the price. Housekeeping everyday which I didn't need but welcomed nonetheless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    A disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking information was misleading.

    We found the Lignos closed for winter when we arrived. I had to climb over a low wall to get close enough to read the note directing us to hotel Blue Sky. I could not find Blue Sky on my phone app, but luckily a passerby directed us. Blue Sky was about 100 meters away. There, we had an OK room. Quiet, clean, but with ants about and the bathroom light not working. WiFi was very weak in the room but good in reception. Cash only.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location and amazing view from the hotel to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness was just okay..If u put it as valuable for money then its really good in this point..

    Excellent location and amazing view from the hotel to the sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is good for people, who low-cost travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tiny walls, so we had bad sleeping. Hotel is on very rush street, too. Tiny shower. No kettle or microwave.

    Hotel is good for people, who low-cost travel. Room was spacious, cosy and well-organized. The hotel is near the bus station and city center. Very nice cleaning leady. Daily cleaning. You can sit at the terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable, convenient stay. Very good value for the centre of Fira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A diagram showing position of Blue Sky Hotel on the door would have been helpful. We rang the number given and someone appeared within a few minutes to let us in. Help up the steep stairs with cases would be appreciated by older guests like us.

    The good sized room and en-suite with TV, fridge and air-conditioning. The tasteful furnishings and decor and use of pool at the Blue Sky Hotel if we wished. Excellent location in the middle of Fira.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was juggled around 4 different hotels before finally being given a room at lignos (which did not have the facilities we paid for) after we insisted they put us in our hotel. Spoke to other guests and same thing had happened to all of them. Our room stunk of wet towels/mould for our entire stay Reception was not located within the hotel, but a few hundred metres away - this needs to be listed somewhere Staff at reception + housekeeping were not helpful, and talked down to us that we weren't thanking them for 'upgrading us'

    Good central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    I had made a reservation for Lignus, which happens to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had made a reservation for Lignus, which happens to be located on a very busy and noisy main street. They were very nice to put me at another property they have, located a little further away but on a much quieter street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Poor treatment, avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    First of all, on booking.com is mentioned that the hotel can arrange transfers for guests, for 10 euro. Nothing more erroneously, when I asked for a transfer they told me to take the buss from the airport and find my way to the hotel.. Then, in the first day, the owner didnt want to check us in at Lignos, but at Blue Sky, another hotel owned by her. Afterwards she changed her mind and we got a room, at another hotel, somewhere at the basement, horrible.. only after we argued, we got to stay at Lignos. She did the same to everyone that booked at Lignos, I don't know what games she plays, but no matter what you book, you will get something else when you reach the hotel. She owns 3 hotels in Santorini and she just places you wherever she wants...Needless to say that, because we arrived at 6AM (we had to wait till 13:00) and we had such a drama going up and down the hill, with the luggages, we lost a whole day of our vacation. Very rude owner, very bad service, to be avoided. Please read the reviews on tripadvisor, you'll see what I am talking about. Don't know why Booking.com includes such "surprises" between the hotels they advertise, should I get another treatment like this, I will definitely avoid booking.com !

    cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Everything we needed for our four night stay and great value for money. Would have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the other hotel which you had to check in with was a bit difficult at night but didn't take too long. Awful communication with the hotel they hardly responded to my emails if at all through Booking.com.

    It was private, and like having your own apartment whilst there but with a cleaner. Great location, literally right round the corner from everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money in the center of thira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a small renovation

    The hotel is very close to the center and the stuff are very friendly. The room service is very good.small tip if you want to communicate with the hotel you must call them 8am-4pm because the reception works to another place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Close to the centre of Fira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife found the Beds to be uncomfortably hard and the Shower Curtain tried to make love to me constantly when having having a shower.

    Close to the centre of Fira.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    False advertisement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing, arrived to lignos with a note on the door, asking us to go to Blue Sky. Stayed at Lignos one night then transferred to Blue Sky. Was told I paid for three rooms - no refund - but could have breakfast which consisted of ham & cheese - had once, terrible & coffee was Luke warm. Shower was awfull, no kettle in the room as stated. Air conditioning was not very good. Then was accused of using the pool during early hours of the morning? I really would not stay at this place again. Not very friendly at all.

    The room & pool when relocated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    Avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the facilities old. We were not housed in the hotel we booked and was passed around 3 hotels, for which nobody accepted responsibility. When finally when given our rooms one stank of smoke and the second double turned out to be a twin. The garden view of room number 2 actually had no windows. Though if I opened the door I had a view of what looked like a prison wall. The description of this property should be updated to prison chic. The facilities are old and shabby and soured our stay in Santorini. Do yourself a favour and don't stay here. I'm easily pleased and my experience of this hotel was terrible.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Difficult check in and no water in sink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one available to check us in. A note was left on the door to go to sister hotel across the street. There wasn't a hotel across the street and it took about 30 minutes to locate the sister hotel. Also, the water in the sink was a trickle. When we informed the staff, she said that she had already informed the owner. It did not appear that this was going to be resolved anytime soon.

    The room was clean and close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    The only good thing is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst possible breakfast ever, which is not even in the hotel, you need to walk 150 meters since its served in another hotel of the same owner. Also the booking page shows a swimming pool, again totally fake or maybe its on the other hotel? who knows since there is no one available at the Lignos Hotel most of the day to ask anything. When you arrive there is a handwritten note on the door telling you to go do the check in to this other hotel. I know Santorini is a theft in every sense, but this hotel is simply too much.

    The only good thing is the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Kiwis give the thumbs up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Beds too firm for us. Breakfast menu by the end of sixteen days we were over bread with ham and cheese.

    We all found Doina (our housekeeper) absolutely fantastic. She made our sixteen days very enjoyable and kept our room lovely. Thank you Doina. She is an awesome lady and an asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.6
    Not good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have reception. We (me and my parents) arrived and there is nobody to receive us. We had to wait outside and it was raining. The accommodation is not new and the owner of the place was a very rude guy. In the hotel presentation on the site there is a pool but there just has a very ugly terrace used to put clothings on the sun. I think for the price we pod there are many other accommodations to choose.

    Cleaning and local.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    The cleener service is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel don't have reception service. Don't have breakfest and In the Booking site is showed a pool and the hotel don't have any pool. The owner is crazy. When I entry In the reception room, he shouted at me.

    The cleener service is very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had room downstairs, which means lack of privacy - when we opened window, everybody could see everything what was going on in room. A little bit noisy because of the street nearby. Shower was small and only with curtain, which caused a flood in bathroom everytime when we used it.

    Hotel very close from center, with a lot of restaurants and mini market next to. Room clean and comfy, cleaning was every day. Big bed comfortable for couple. All in all, I totally reccommend it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi has a poor signal in the room.

    The hotel has a very good location, in the centre. Good service and friendly staff which helps you with everything you need. Very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay. Surely would come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: