Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macedonian Sun 3 stars

Main Street, Kallithea Halkidikis, 63077, Greece

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.9
    Not recomandet at all, poor rooms, poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recomandet at all, poor rooms, poor service. Reserved double rooms and find two single beds into a completely different room from the foto description when booked. The answer of the recepsionist was : Take it, or you can go, we will keep 30% of the already payed amount 😣😣

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing Vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. I feel like home....

    Great Hotel Personel always with a smile. Very nice breakfast and dinner choices. Very close to nice sandy beach. Very close with walking distance to the best night-life area bars and clubs. Always feel at home at this hotel and always return to enjoy the piecefull surroundings/gardens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Близо до нощен клуб ! Near to night club !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every day we eat one and same food ! 7 days - one and the same ! That was terribly . In this hotel there is too many Ukrainians ! they are rough, rude and noisy . I have never seen people so bum and plunder with full dishes of food. That was discussing !!! The beach was payed 7,50 euro ! No free space anywhere , so you don’t have a choice . This hotel is 2 kilometers far away from Kalithea ! there is no place to walk beside the beach. If you don’t have a car you must to pay 5 euro to taxi to drive you into Kalithea or Kriopigy . the air conditioner in our room was not working😱😱😱😱 that was bad , because the day temperature was 33 degree , and the night was 29 😳😳 the air is no move !! And you cant sleep well! There is too much noice from the disco club ! Not even Friday or Saturday !

    Location ! Was on 10 min. Walk from the beach Big and nice room with big terrace. Veery nice garden at the hotel . Pool for baby and kids on the beach . Very nice beach , No rocks , clean send , nice umbrellas .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    never stay it was horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was not clean they wasn't even tidy the room. air condition was not working. foods were not good enough to eat. never think to stay there.

    it was full of trees and good garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    The staff was very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed for 6 nights. The first 3 nights were unfortunately unpleasant as the aircondition was poorly functioning. We couldn't sleep well because of the that. Also, the room was very small and definetly not worth what we have paid for (700 EUR). After we complained about the aircondition they moved us to a far bigger room and everything was fine! (if we had spoken earlier perhaps we wouldn't have to spend those 3 nights in the first room)

    The staff was very helpful and polite. When we complained about the aircondition they changed us room. The new room was decent and comfortable. The aircondition was properly working and the amenities (e.g. shower) were good. We also liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.3
    Nothing in the hotel or the room even tried to come close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in the hotel or the room even tried to come close to reflecting the price or -at the very least- the very fundamentals of hospitality as a concept. Apart from the seriously lacking services which include and are not limited to: 1. No WiFi in any of the rooms and terrible reception at the "WiFi area". 2. Only one (!) power plug available (we had to take turns in charging our phones). 3. Most importantly: no hot water during the evening hours and later (it's unacceptable to be forced to have a cold shower after a relaxing day at the beach). We immediately raised all issues to the reception, and throughout our stay, day after day, we spoke with three different receptionists regarding getting hot water to our room. With the exception of the night shift receptionist (who was obviously embarrassed himself with the horrible state of the property), we were constantly lied to in a very condescending tone by everyone else. There was absolutely no management available to talk to and we ultimately filed an official complaint (which of course did nothing, as noone there seems to care). We got different excuses from different staff members regarding the hot water situation and were assured that the problem was being looked into, while the truth is that the particular hotel simply does not offer hot water when the sun goes down, as is evident by other rooms also not having hot water (other reviews we've seen after the fact also claim the exact same thing). On top of that they really don't care to provide any kind of comfort to their guests (e.g. we were promised a simple power plug extension in more than two occasions, which we never saw). We chose this hotel as a better option (cheaper ones where available at the time of booking at roughly the same location) and we were extremely let down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    no wifi, breakfast ends at 09.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi, breakfast ends at 09.30 am! On vacation i dont want to rush to my breakfast - Then better not to offer a breakfast. Inacceptable for todays standards

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at the evening after beach! To much bees during brekfast & dinner outside, it is not posible to eat calmly! No Wi-Fi in the room, also very poor in loby!

    Hotel Style, garden! Quality-price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    A good choice for a last minute reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - Vineyards above the hotel's restaurant have bees. It was uncomfortable for eating. - Wi-fi only in the reception area. - Not available iron in the hotel at all. When asking for one, the reception lady responded impolitely. - Near the hotel, there is a large area with disco clubs. The noise can be easily heard from the hotels' rooms. - Beach is about 10min far by feet, crossing a road. Plus, it is not hotel's property and is paid (7,50 euro for 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella).

    - Sandy beach - Delicious food - Available parking area - Since the hotel is a part of a hotel chain with 3 other hotels in the same area, guests can use each pool (freely). - In the hotel, there is a good market.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing we did not liked. The receptionist was very helpfull -with a smile- despite all the messages i've read before... Generally we focused on positive energy that we've got from the hotel and the property !

    We like the spacious room, the excellent garden view (from room 221), the nice/quiet pool and the variety meals !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast terrible and dinner was even worse we had to ask for our money back and ate elsewhere! Noise from bars too loud, not that clean, air con kept breaking and wasn't fixed for 3 days. Shower leaked everyday! Pool area not great! Overall hotel needs updating ASAP!

    Distance to the beach only was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.0
    Excellent food, nice view on the pool, good parking place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit old style; since I have a 22 months old boy maybe it will be better to have a room on the ground floor near the reception; one bed in the room was not so comfortable (single bed), double bed was ok

    Excellent food, nice view on the pool, good parking place, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Room, pool, view and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi internet in rooms.

    Room, pool, view and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Animator team especially Blagovest and Spas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi coverage

    Animator team especially Blagovest and Spas!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    A fost un weekend perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fost un weekend perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.3
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food,no hot water,no coffee, no wi-fi in rooms,

    Garden and the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.0
    next to the hotel there is a disco, it was extrem noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    next to the hotel there is a disco, it was extrem noisy!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful place full of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful place full of comfort

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: