Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madonna Studios

Antoniou Gamba 33 (Old Town), Chania Town, 73100, Greece

#3 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    10

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    We would come back in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sometimes the wifi was intermittent.

    Our time at Madonna Studios can only be described as idyllic. Comfortable surroundings, perfect location, wonderful host - we really couldn't ask for much more. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Was very comfortable, had a atheistic old Greek feel like you were living in the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay long enough at the place

    The place had the feel of being in a home. The location was excellent, the host went way beyond what was expected .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    This is a fantastic place to stay while in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fantastic place to stay while in Chania. It is walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach and buses. Thomais spoiled us with homemade ice cream, cake and cheese pies. We felt like we were staying with family. The studio is very large so there was plenty of room for the three of us(adults). We had two balconies with lovely views and tables and chairs to enjoy our morning tea. We will definitely return to Madonna Studios.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    On arrival at Madonna Studios, Thomais gave us a glass of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival at Madonna Studios, Thomais gave us a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and pointed out places of interest on a map of the city, as well as recommending restaurants. She made us a delicious apple cake and insisted that we try her cheese pies, which were exquisite. We highly recommend staying at Madonna Studios for the wonderful warm welcome from both Thomais and her daughter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Thomais the owner is very kind and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid in advance to Booking.com but the owner didn’t know this. She had a long phone call with Booking.com which resulted in her being told that she had to claim the money from Booking.com. I find this very poor and feel you should have paid her up front. It could have been very awkward and makes me wonder whether to use Booking.com again

    Thomais the owner is very kind and attentive. Breakfasts were heavenly particularly the tyropitakia with honey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would love to go back at some point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of Madonna Studios is perfect: very close to the sea and the shops and restaurants but in a small quiet street. Our room was very pretty with a terrace overlooking the courtyard and a small balcony overlooking the street. It was very clean and the towels were changed daily. Thomais is an excellent host. She prepares the breakfast herself and she bakes some of the best cakes we have ever eaten. She's very generous and cares a lot for her guests. We will recommend Madonna studios to all our friends who go to Chania.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing and at ease in a comfortable environment with charm to spare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a slight challenge, but not surprising nor expected in a historical part of town.

    Hostess (& family) were wonderful hosts- friendly, thoughtful, helpful & accomodating. Accommodations were more than adequate- not necessarily luxurious, but very comfortable & relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Marvellous Madonna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

    Madonna Studios is a Lovely Venetian building located in a quiet and pretty street in the old town near the harbour. Thomasie is an exceptional hostess. She is generous, warm, kind and helpful. Thomasie met me at the taxi drop off point when I arrived in order to take me to the Madonna Studios herself. Over a glass of fresh orange juice Thomasie showed me, on a map of Chania, some good places to eat, hear live music and to shop. My room was immaculately clean, spacious and airy with a little Juliet balcony and a terrace. The bed was large and comfortable with good quality bedlinen. The room was well equipped with a fridge, cooker, kettle, cutlery and crockery. There was good Wifi. Thomasie had provided plenty of milk, coffee and tea together with delicious home made biscuits and cake. It is worth paying the extra money for Thomasie's wonderful breakfasts which she serves in your room. You won't need to eat again for the rest of the day. Thomasie is exceptionally obliging, nothing is too much trouble. Whilst you stay with her you feel like a member of her family rather than a visitor. I am very much looking forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Gorgeous, cozy balcony apartment in Chania town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our light and airy room had a small balcony. Our proprietress was so kind and generous, she even baked us special Cretan sweets for our room! The Apartments are perfectly situated in a quiet side street with a charming walk to the west old harbor nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Madonna Estudios is a place where you want to go back every year. Chania is beautiful, old, charming. Small roads, nice architecture...so nice to walk around. Incredible beaches around (1 hour by car). Madonna is located in a very small and charming street inside the Old Tow of Chania. Thomas is the best host you can ever have. She prepare some great and taste local dishes for us. Gave all nice tips and took care of everything we need to have a wonderful time in Chania. I really wish to go back there. If you are planning to go Chania, you must stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Traditional property with warmest welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the friendliest hostess we have ever had. Thomais couldn't do enough for us and cooked treats at any and every opportunity, lovely place. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Venetian studios in quiet central location, well equipped and welcoming and generous host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about really. We were a little unlucky that we had noisy neighbours in the apartment upstairs so we were awoken every night and morning and sometimes during the night.

    Wonderful location, central but tucked away in a back street full of interesting historical houses. Very quiet, pretty street. Incredible welcome from the owner, Tomais, who is a warm and generous host. Lots of little touches: provisions (ground coffee, milk, home-made apple cake water etc) already in fridge when we arrived and she also made us some traditional Cretan pies - much nicer than the ones you get in restaurants. And she has the sweetest little dog (Simba).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    WOW - BEST kept secret in Chania Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was other one thing to say. We liked EVERYTHING.

    Charming accommodation. Extremely clean. The best location in heart of the Old Chania Town. 3 minutes walk to the Old Venetian Harbour. A short stroll from many tiny shops selling beautiful artisan goods and jewellery. The most helpful and thoughtful owner. Can't fault it. Clean, towels and bedding changed every day. Fresh amazing breakfast on request. Greek take away food ordered and delivered to the door, arranged on the phone by the owner. Wonderful and best accommodation I have ever stayed in because the service was very high standard in every respect. We had the top floor apartment which had 2 private outward looking balconies over looking the cool courtyard and the flower strewn cobbled lane. Extremely quiet, almost silent at night. Nice bathroom and walk in large showroom. Air conditioning which was fantastic. Large fridge, small cooker, utensils and pans, cups and saucers etc. 10 minutes from a lovely sandy beach. 20 minutes walk from the main bus station where the bus to the airport runs every 30 minutes including weekends and Sundays. €2.50 euros one way to the airport. It was air conditioned. Thomais, the owner sent me directions from the bus station to the Madonna studios and it was easy. My teenage children loved the excellent WiFi connection throughout the accommodation and they loved being independent. They could take themselves off to the beach or go for something to eat. They enjoyed staying in the absolute heart of the Old Chania Town and it's many meandering Streets. Can't rate it highly enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The old town is a pedestrian area so it is not possible to drive to the hotel and drop off luggage. It has to be dragged a hundred yards. There are very steep stairs particularly to the second floor apartment

    It is in the perfect location in Chania, in the old town and near the Venetian port. Thomais the owner could not have been more helpful. We will certainly go there again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful kind, helpful and friendly owner. She made us feel completely at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thomasin, the proprietor of Madonna Studios was friendly, helpful and very kind to us. Baking cakes and leaving us treats was wonderful. When we lost our phone , she provided us with an alarm clock so we would not miss our plane home. She was also a delight to chat to. Our stay was exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Sweet Studio with Sweetest Hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thomais was a wonderful host. Felt like my grandma was looking after me on my holiday. She offered to do our washing and cooked/baked us wonderful Greek treats. The studio itself was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location, very helpful owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and the very helpful and friendly owner provided us with excellent recommendations. All the restaurants, bars and beaches we visited that she recommended were great and went beyond the guide book suggestions. We also enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade cakes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was our third time in Madonna Studios and we have already booked the next stay. Everything is just perfect. People, location, the room, cheese pies, apple pie, ice cream...even the cat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic studio apartment in the heart of old Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing could be improved

    The landlady was the most helpful friendly person arranging our tours and taxi transfers as well as making us cakes ice cream and fresh fruit drinks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Thomais is the best host ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thomais is the best host ever. She cooks for you, she gives advices about beaches and restaurants around, she's always ready to help for anything. Position is awesome because is super central but it avoids the great chaos of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Everything was great except parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    As it's next to the old town, it was very difficult to find the free parking every time we reached Madonna Studio, unless with a local's help. We had to spent at least 30 minutes searching for parking and competing with other aggressive drivers (who were also desperated to find parking) - not a very pleasant experience.

    Excellent location next to the harbour, yet it's not too noisy most of the time. The staffs were extremely friendly and helpful - Thamis offered free desserts every now and then, and even did a laundry service for us for free once!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water wasn't always warm, so had to take some cold ones (I don't mind though, given how hot it usually is outside).

    Thomais is a brilliant host, and the place was clean and well-maintained.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful place, wonderful host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside is that we now have to make our own breakfast and it isn't as nice.

    The location and room were excellent. The bed was very comfy and the room itself was large and felt homely. The room was cleaned and the bed made on a daily basis which is excellent. The lovely Thomasa (sp.) did everything she could to make us feel welcome. Fresh orange juice on arrival and a welcome basket of coffee, tea and cake. She spent time with us to advise on the best restaurants and tourist sites, mapping them out for us. She popped in with more cake and even freshly made ice cream on a particularly hot day. We would also recommend the breakfast which is brought to your room and is a wonderful start to the day. The whole experience at Madonna Studios made our holiday in the beautiful Chania old town an experience to remember fondly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    Everything was perfect. The owner and her daughter were the best hosts. They both provided wonderful advice, food, fresh orange juice etc We look forward to returning. They made our stay in Chania perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in the whole of Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is the nicest accommodation I have ever stayed in. The room was comfortable and cosy, with a beautiful balcony and windows overlooking a very picturesque lane. It was right in the heart of the Old Town. The owner was so kind and helpful, and kept baking treats for us. One day she brought us cake, another day cheese pies, and one night brought us ice cream. The breakfasts were amazing too. The wifi didn't work the first day, but the owner immediately replaced the router on hearing there was a problem, and it was fine after that.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Fabulous again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is fabulous. This was our second time here. Everything is just right. Location, cleanliness, space, room set up, balcony all great. The home made cakes, biscuits, snacks, coffee and breakfast were wonderful. Thomais gives you great advice and she and her family are charming and do all they can to make your stay as enjoyable as they can. We will return. Meanwhile our friends will be along to enjoy Madonna's outstanding hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.6
    Great position, lovely people who run it and very clean. We recommend without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    All apartments are great but the second floor and the top floor have balconies to have lunch on.

    July 2016. If your looking to embed yourself in the old town of Chania you will find this an ideal place to stay. The lady Thomais who runs the establishment and her son-in-law Jordan were fantastic hosts. They looked after us like family with advice on where to eat or explore and home made pies, ice cream etc. Just the right mix of making sure we enjoyed ourselves without being interfering. The apartment itself was spotless and bright and Jordan who looks after this department was great at advising where to go and how best to get there. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay, we have stayed in the old town previously but we both agreed we will be going back to Madonna studios on our next visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful Venetian house in the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful host friendly and caring and a great place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for a getaway for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home.

    Owner couldn't enough for us. This included fresh orange juice, home made ice cream and lovely home cooked treats.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Great location, the owner is amazing. Breakfast best we have had.. Owner Thomais very hospitable we felt like we were at home..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Loving host, beautiful room, incredible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Thomais is amazing, she made us little Greek treats for the children

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    The best place to stay in Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, rooms, host, offerings

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Barbara was so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving

    Barbara was so nice. She made us feel like we were at home. Perfect location for visiting Chania and the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Large, top floor apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Large, top floor apartment. Well equipped. Two balconies. Super comfy and clean. Brilliant location, tucked away. Lovely touches, like water, cake, coffee, biscuits, etc. Fantastic hospitality, which even extended to home made ice cream! Never been made to feel more welcome.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    A lovely warm and friendly owner who was charming in every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    A lovely warm and friendly owner who was charming in every way. We had a delightful two days in our studio with a small balcony overlooking the little courtyard...exactly as in the photographs. Perfect position in a quiet side street a two minute stroll away from the beautiful Venetian harbour. Perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    My wife, son and I spent two wonderful days here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. All good!

    My wife, son and I spent two wonderful days here. The location was unbeatable; right by the harbour, restaurants and shops. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The room was super comfortable and the hot cheese pies and fresh orange juice were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Thomais the owner makes you feel like you are family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thomais the owner makes you feel like you are family. She treats you to home baked goods & other wonderful dishes. She always has a smile on her face & nothing seems to trouble her. Everything is very clean & well maintained. Couldn't ask for more & we highly recommend it. Great WiFi as well. Perfect!! Thank you Thomais for a wonderful stay in Chania.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    The hospitality of hostess and her son-in-law;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hospitality of hostess and her son-in-law; handmade breakfast full with local features. When I arrived at Madonna Studio, Thomais greeted me with fresh squeezed orange juice. Later, she unrolled a map of Chania and showed me where to enjoy excellent food. Her son-in-law Jordan was also kind and ready to help. I'll surely visit this 700-year-old studio with my life next time.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Great location in Chania Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some night time noise in the local streets.

    Great location in Chania Old Town. Beautiful old building, renovated to a high standard and nicely furnished. Very friendly and helpful hosts who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owner was extremely friendly and helpful. She also provided us with several homemade treats that were delicious. Many good restaurants were recommended and she made reservations for us, when needed. Felt like home.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Our stay at Madonna Studios was idyllic from the start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our stay at Madonna Studios was idyllic from the start. We arrived after midnight due to the buses being behind schedule, but Thomias was waiting up for us with fresh apple pie and cookies on the table when we arrived. She took her time the next morning to explain to us about Chania and give recommendations on restaurants and things to do during the day. The room on the third floor was quite large with 4 single beds, perfect for our group. The 2 balconies over looking the old town streets felt almost like a movie set. Thomias' son in-law Jordan, brought a fresh aloe ointment for my brother after he got sunburnt on the beach and also provided some great conversation as only aussie's can do. Warm cheese pastries and honey raki were also brought to our room one afternoon providing a wonderful refreshment. Thanks so much for making our time in Chania so comfortable and enjoyable!!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Thomias, the host, is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thomias, the host, is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great time not only at Madonna studios but also around town in chania by providing great reccomendations. She also makes an excellent breakfast that is well worth the extra cost!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is excellent. You can feel the atmosphere of the history and old town but at the same it's quiet. The lady owner was a great host and gave us a lot of interesting info. We had the apartment with the huge terrace. To have breakfast there was an event.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    The owner Tomais hospitality is very very warm and unique -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattress was a little bit stiff for the one that used to soft mattress but i slept great

    The owner Tomais hospitality is very very warm and unique - she explained all there is to know about the city, the best restaurants in town and made us the most amazing apple pie with olive oil and even .left us great cookies for the road .The room was very clean and located in a small street right next to the old harbor and the center of the old town.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    This sweet homey place is located a few steps behind the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This sweet homey place is located a few steps behind the port in a very beautiful and historical alley decorated with colorful flowers and plants. The hosts, Mrs Thomais and Jordan treat their guests like family. Hospitality 10/10 Both me and my mum are looking forward to visiting Madonna Studios soon.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Most importantly, they were incredibly warm to us and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Most importantly, they were incredibly warm to us and the children, and attentive to every detail. We were brought fresh-baked cakes/pastries/cookies or fresh squeezed orange juice at least once a day, but in a seemingly impromptu fashion. Everything was done with love. The place is "foodie" friendly. Sitting on the porch was really pleasant, due to the view of the neighboring houses, the quiet atmosphere and the smell of the roses that are grown there. The place was very clean and everything felt to be in tip top shape.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Personalized attention, they make you feel as if you were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Personalized attention, they make you feel as if you were home facilities are perfect, excellent breakfast! Location is superb in Xania, walking distance for all major sites, and in a very calm alley

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    What can you say that hasn't already been said ? ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What can you say that hasn't already been said ? Thomais and Jordan perfect hosts . Apologies to Jordan for having to chase me up the road when I walked off with the keys (: 10 out of 10 .

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Staying here was so wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying here was so wonderful! Thomais and her son-in-law were so sweet and kind to us, they made us feel right at home. She shared a homemade snack with us every day and he gave us tips and directions for things to do. The hotel itself is beautiful and you can tell it's been decorated with lots of love and attention. Perfect location near the old port. Couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    The lady running the studio was very very nice, she greeted...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The lady running the studio was very very nice, she greeted us like we were family. Excellent place and breakfast by all means. Best place in Hania, better than the city

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    right in the best area of Chania old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    none

    right in the best area of Chania old town. very beautiful historical alley house. the ancient town is very well preserved and lively. you can spend a few days hanging in the town without feeling board. this gest house is the best accomodation among the whole trip and the cheapest. Very friendly owner. feel like home. I left my silver ring by mistake after checking out, the owener ran all the way out of the town to the park to find me, very touching.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Mrs Thomais, Jordan and the dog Simba made everything to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mrs Thomais, Jordan and the dog Simba made everything to make the us enjoy our holiday. Mrs Tomas made wonderful cakes and pies. Also the recommendations to restaurants were excellent. We will certainly come back.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No space for a cot in the bedroom, therefore the cot in the dining room/kitchen with an access to the balcony- after the baby had gone to sleep we were confined to a relatively small and not well air-conditioned bedroom (we had to stay quiet as there is no door between the kitchen and the bedroom). The presence of the cot made the room crammed.

    - location - nice decor - very welcoming, helpful and generous hosts

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Exceptional hospitality and family atmosphere of the owner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was disapointed by the fact that I had to retrun home after 1 week of vacations.

    Exceptional hospitality and family atmosphere of the owner (Thomais) and her family (Jordan). Beautiful street, building and apartment. Delicious breakfasts and sweets offered by Thomais

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Full of character. Helpful friendly owners who gave us a quick rundown of Chania which helped us to maximise our short stay. Well equipped kitchen. Beautiful treats left for us and breakfast was lovely on our own balcony overlooking the quiet central courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Perfect location in a beautiful side street close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location in a beautiful side street close to the beach and harbour. Our hostess Thomais was such a kind and considerate lady she made sure that we had everything we needed with lots of delicous homemade treats. We stayed first in room No 1 in the beautiful courtyard it was a lovely room with everything you could need we then moved to room No 5 with 2 large balconies , lots of space. It was a wonderful room so peaceful and relaxing . I have never stayed in a place that has made you feel so at home. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone traveling to Chania.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Thomais and Jordan are the best hosts anyone could ever want...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Thomais and Jordan are the best hosts anyone could ever want, the studios are spotless and are kept to the highest standard, situated in a back street in the old port of chania, just two mins from the bustling harbour , jorden is the man to ask if you need some place to eat or for any other information, I would highly recommend the maddona studios to anyone , are party had rooms 4 and 5 both with lovely balconys , don't just think about it go you will never regret staying here

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    For a building that dates from the 13th century, this place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a building that dates from the 13th century, this place is remarkable. It would be a real shame to stay in just a conventional room when visiting a city like Hania - it's part of the unique experience.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Thomais our host was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thomais our host was brilliant. She gave advice on how to get to places and which restaurants to eat at. She also made us delicous treats to eat. The breakfast is also a must. The studios are located in a very picturesque part of the old town and are very clean and comfortable. You can walk pretty much everywhere you need to go. We were very sorry to leave and would recommed Madonna Studios to anyone travelling to Chania.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    we stayed in no 5 - 2 balconies, comfortable beds, Apple pie...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    we stayed in no 5 - 2 balconies, comfortable beds, Apple pie and beautiful biscuits on arrival, flowers in the room, lovely host, fantastic location - great part of chania.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Everything is just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything is just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Spotlessly clean, beautiful building, owners are lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spotlessly clean, beautiful building, owners are lovely people.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Thomais, the owner & Jordan her son in law are wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Thomais, the owner & Jordan her son in law are wonderful, the little courtyard was a lovely place to sit.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Very friendly and helpful host. Convenience location in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    All. One of the best accomodation I've ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All. One of the best accomodation I've ever been.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Very nice people and hopitality in a great and picturesque...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stairs

    Very nice people and hopitality in a great and picturesque location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    We had the best experience at Madonna studios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had the best experience at Madonna studios. Very nice place, perfect location & best hosts!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Amazing position, the staff is absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad

    Amazing position, the staff is absolutely great. It cells like to be at home. They really are marvellous

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    The food treats were to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food treats were to die for. The location just about as perfect as you could get in charming Chania. We will return!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    The location and atmosphere are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and atmosphere are amazing. Together with the lovely owners it's just perfect

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.2
    Sweet hospitality with fresh squeezed juice, home made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Sweet hospitality with fresh squeezed juice, home made cookies and pies! Provide good restaurant suggestions.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Our hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Our hosts.The location. The welcome.Chania Town.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Owner of the hotel dear Thomais is very very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Owner of the hotel dear Thomais is very very polite and hospitable person. Thank you again.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    Wonderful hospitality, lovely breakfast, beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hospitality, lovely breakfast, beautifully presented and sooooo clean!!!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: