Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Makarios Hotel 3 stars

Avis Street, Kamari, 84700, Greece

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold eggs for breakfast.

    The staff was very nice. The manager was very helpful and gave us all information that we need. Food was good, rooms was clean and pool was big enough to swim. Beach is only 3 mins walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not close to the main places to visit in Santorini, and you need to walk to kamari, but the way there is not all street lighted. It's good connection by bus, so not a big issue. We did mention To the reception that we weren't happy with the food, asked to give us the option of paying only for the hotel after the second day and refund the money for the food for the remaining days. We have been told it's definitely not from food, it's something not right with us, kind of virus. As long as we ate outside we felt no problem but I've been vomiting few times after eating in the hotel. We spend lots of money on food outside but felt forced to use still the "all inclusive " as weren't given the option of having the money back for food for the remaining days and didn't prepare ourselves to need to pay extra money for food in holiday. The gentleman at the reception said the bosses are not around and he will ask them and get back to us. We only got every morning "good morning" but nothing else about our issue. We tried not to let it ruin our holiday but very poorly managed. As well he said "it's a 3 stars hotel, you get 3stars quality services" As we should accept the fact that we are not happy. I wouldn't recommend the idea of all inclusive as the drinks are not great, soft drinks really bad, same as coffee, the only good drinks were the beer and soda water. Unfortunately wouldn't recommended it!

    Very clean, must say the bathroom was cleaned every day, the whole room was spotless, the staff at the bar and dining area very polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only down side is that there are no tea or coffee facilities available in the rooms.

    Just back from a weeks AI stay here. Truly magical. Staff are very welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Food was good. Not a great choice for AI but was varied and traditional. only spirits available on AI are Ozo and Raki. Rooms very clean and comfy beds and bedding. Showers are amazing. All areas of the hotel are clean and well kept. Love the pool. Only 2 mins walk to beach and 5mins to bars and restaurants. Hoping to back very very soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we do not like is the place as if you want to go in the evening for some attractions you have to go for 2 kilometers to Camari centre. But in any way you will rent a car or bike or four wheeled and travel along all the island.

    The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly. The food is very good as well. The breakfast is similar every day but we were not bored about that. Generally, the food was always fresh. Regarding the price we paid for the all inclusive option I can not ask for more. The bar serves the reasonable variety of drinks. In addition, we could enjoy ice cream. Best regards to Makarios!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The owner helped us with booking day trips and how to get around on the island. The food was delicious and lots of options even for vegans too!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel could have been a 4 star rating if the food wasn't so bad. When making a booking don't include breakfast, lunch etc. because if the food is bad you have to eat out elsewhere and have already paid.

    The overall comfort, swimming pool and staff were exceptional and friendly. Pedro the hotel assistant was very knowledgeable and most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All inclusive drinks exactly as written (soft drinks, beer, red and white wine, ouzo)

    The Manager was very courteous and helpful the hotel very clean.The swimingpool is one of the biggest in Santorini so that there is enough space to swim.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all inclusive food and drink options very limited.. Lack of variety and choice esp in the drink and snack options

    The Manager was very courteous and helpful the hotel very clean.The pool area and bar also very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast need to be improved. All inclusive drinks exactly as written (soft drinks, beer, red and white wine, ouzo), nothing more, could be more choices. Feta cheese could be every lunch and dinner, when I am in Greece I expect this.

    Nice, modern equipped and clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just didn't like the greek cuisine but otherwise it didn't affect our stay there. We knew they tried their best to satisfy their guests regarding the food.

    Everything was good. The room was clean and the hotel as well. The employees were approachable and friendly. We enjoyed a lot especially our little boy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Walk into Kamari is a bit laborious with 2 small kids and a buggy (however it is a small beach walk if you don't need a buggy)

    Staff were superb Hotel was chilled out Daily room cleaning

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No music to the pool, to quaiet.

    The staff was very nice. The room always very clean, the hotel is close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing was missing for us: fruits on breakfast.

    The swimingpool is one of the biggest in Santorini so that there is enough space to swim.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expensive for the type of place it was

    Best to get all inclusive deal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is poor.

    Good location, comfort beds, nice swimming pool, exellent greek traditional lunch and dinner. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service - manager friendly and helpful. All inclusive food was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Helpful staff, near to beach, clean, comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was a little small but enough for my liking. The drinks on the all inclusive should include some further house spirits - just beer, wine, ouzo, raki - or maybe a couple of basic cocktails. Near the airport so there are low flying airplanes which may annoy noise wise.

    pretty much everything. The food was amazing. We were treated like kings and queens!! The staff could not have done any more to make our stay more comfortable. The receptionists aided in everything with zero fuss. Within walking distance of Kamari and the beach. A short bus ride or rent a quad bike/car to Fira and Oia

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exact bus from fira details! Would help most!Beach close yes, but not"happening" that part of beach morè of walk

    Clean and tidy. Better room wifi woulď make it better. Bus at front to town great:)

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the staff are really nice, friendly and helpful. the hotel is located in a quiet location near Kamari beach so its a really nice place to chill and relax. the main town Fira is only located 20 mins away from the hotel which you can get local bus to. the local town Kamari is in a walking distance of only 15 mins. overall our stay was very lovely and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was really hard and beacause of the lack of the dubblebeds they but planket between two singular beds, but it was very uncomfortable. The breakfast was basic. The wifi was very poor but it is not the important thing if you are on holiday.

    The staff was helpfull and friendly. It was nice that you can book atv/boattrips etc. from repseption. The location was good, near airport and beach and it was easy to go Fira by bus. The toalet was renovated and it was nice. The rest of the room needs to be updated.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast lacked variety and wasn't amazing.

    Friendly staff, lovely large pool which always had room around it even at the height of August. Helpful staff showed us how to get around.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing I didn't like was the very small shower in the bathroom but this wouldn't put me off staying again.

    A lovely family run hotel only 10mins walk to the centre of Kamari beach. Always plenty of sunbeds free which you wouldn't always get on the beach and the pool is a good size too. The hotel is kept very clean and the food was lovely traditional home cooked greek food with the occasional chips and spaghetti bolognese. There is a bus stop right outside for travel into Fira which was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately there was a cockroach in our room and ants on the floor. I'm aware in this climate and region that happens, but it made me uncomfortable.

    It was affordable and just a short walk to the beach and main tourist area. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Main bar by the pool only served All Inclusive drinks until 10pm and only stayed open until 11pm. No entertainment.

    Beautifully clean hotel with lovely food throughout our stay. Very good value for money when taking the All-Inclusive deal. Really nice bathroom with adequate bedroom and balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not so close to the beach/boulevard with the cosy shops but if you don't mind walking, do not hesitate.

    We had a nice stay in this hotel. Friendly reception guy,great pool, relaxing area.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is not a 3 stars Hotel. What you see in the photos published in the website is not what the Hotel really is. The construction of the Hotel is of a poor quality, it smells old, the rooms are very badly decorated, and the mattresses and pillows are very uncomfortable. The breakfast is bad. The façade of the Hotel looks new and okay from the outside, but when you enter the building you go two decades back, old furniture, and facilities. I paid €130 the night which is very expensive for what you get. I wouldn't have paid more than €70 for the quality they offer. The Hotel is close to the airport so you will hear every plan arrive and depart.

    Staff is nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wifi was very slow and not always available

    The staff were so very friendly helpful and very accommodating and the location was very good it was just a small walk to kamari beach not even five minutes and this was by far one of the best beaches on the island

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water during peak hours. Breakfast was the same every day and very limited choices. Ants in the bathroom. Expensive cruise packages if you book from hotel. Very remote location from everything. Really bad value for money.

    Helpful front desk manager. Big pool compared to others in the island.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Better to have food outside, no hot shower during peak time, the lady who cleans the pantry is rude and never smile.

    Friendly staff, bus stop right outside the hotel, activity can be arranged and picked up from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the staff are so thrifty. i understand they want to save money. the shower water beside the pool is cold. no free shampoo in the toilet, the breakfast is not good for the price. everyday is the same and too simple. far away from center, especially at night gives you the feeling of danger.

    the staff care a lot about their hotel, keep it clean.good.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food! Boring and bland and the same thing everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The lady who cleans up after breakfast is moody and rude!

    I liked the pool, it was well maintained, clean and a good size. Rooms were ok, small balcony.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The AC started dumping water into the room at 3am so we had to turn of the air conditioning until it could be fixed the next day.

    Hotel Makarios was a very nice motel. Our favorite part was that the room had an actual shower!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was not great

    The pool Was nice

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi did not work at all !!!and was limited time!!abd the breakfast selection was only ok

    The pool,the cleaners did an excellent job!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great customer service

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, renovated hotel with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean - we where very impressed.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and swimming pool

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: