Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Markos Village Pension 2 stars

Main Street, Ios Chora, 84001, Greece

#15 of 25 hotels in Ios Chora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.5
    after complaining we has gotten a new room with a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they didn't clean our rooms after we had carried a sick friend home who's makeup melted on my pillowcase . we stripped the sheets threw them on the floor and the maid put them back on the bed

    after complaining we has gotten a new room with a balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel To Make Your Home In Ios
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an amazing stay at Markos Village. The hotel is definitely geared towards a younger crowd - it is right near the town (close to the bars / restaurants). George and the staff (especially Yanni) were all incredible people! Highly suggest staying here while in Ios.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and comfitable apart from the noise problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours at night.

    Very nice property. Very helpful and pleasant staff. However, the walls are very thin and this made it difficult to sleep. One doesn’t want to stop the younger generation from enjoying themselves, but the older generation do need a certain amount of sleep to enjoy their days. I think an upper age limit of say 40 years old would be appropriate for this establishment because of the noise into the early hours of the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this place is perfect. The staff, location, pool and cleanliness. Maria and George and their family are so welcoming and friendly. We loved having everything at our door step including a pool when we just felt like relaxing. The view is also amazing. Make sure to go to Thai smile also which is part of their families and has delicious local Thai food. Would highly recommend this place we didn’t want to leave after already extending our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Another perfect stay at Markos Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After staying here for a week last year and loving it so much, we decided to stay at Markos again this year. And again, we absolutely loved it! Giorgos and Maria are such lovely people and friendly and helpful hosts. We once again had a double room with a balcony and a magnificent view onto the Chora. Breakfast, again was super delicious for a great price. The location could not be any more central, while also being a great starting point to explore the rest of the island. We can't wait to stay here again. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, ideal location with only minor dissatisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door did not close properly at all. The shower head had no holder so when washing your hair we had to turn of the water and then had to manually hold the shower to wash out Shampoo. The shower curtain wasn't very effective at keeping the water in the shower so our bathroom floor was always wet. The fridge door wouldn't close properly and a chair had to be placed up against it to keep it shut. One morning we woke up to a puddle of water on the floor because the freezer part had defrosted.

    The location of this place was very convenient! Very close to the town and all the restaurants/night life. The beach was within walking distance. There was a bus stop very close by. There were nearby ATMs, pharmacy and supermarkets. Markos pension also offered breakfast/lunch which was good value for money. The cockatails/drinks were also cheap. There was always a security guard on at night time which made us all feel safe. Clean towels were brought in each day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sometimes younger people are noisy when they come back at night. May be a notice to ask customers not to speak loudly when they return to their rooms after midnight

    George, Mary, and George's mother are super nice people! Incredibly kind and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Common areas are nice, pool is very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common areas are nice, pool is very nice and clean. Rooms are not so modern, but the sheets are very clean. Staff is very helpful. Great breakfast for fair price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    best place to stay on the best island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    (keep in mind that the village is full of party-goers in the summer season making it pretty loud to stay in the center if you want to sleep early, for us it was not a problem as we came for the parties, plus on the nights where we slept earlier it wasn't a problem with ear plugs! :) )

    + awesome hotel and definitely the best place to stay for a party trip to Ios! but also great for exploring the whole island + super friendly and helpful owners of the hotel + delicious breakfast + cosy room + best view of Ios Chora from the balcony !! + best location for exploring all of Ios (well connected by public buses that go very often, but we preferred to rent an ATV) and especially the village as it is in the middle of Chora thanks for the great stay, cant wait to come again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Awesome people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was unlikeable

    Maria and Dimitri were the perfect hosts,they accommodated me on what I needed and we're always kind,friendly and approachable. Love this place perfect location and perfect hosts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.3
    Grand place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable but thats traveling and you get used to it after countless hostels. SOME Staff could have been more friendly. But the owner remembers your name and always says hello which is cute.

    Amazing location, you are almost dead center in the town with limited steps to climb home drunk at 7am. Such good drink prices 3 euros for cocktails! The pool and atmosphere were fantastic! Very clean rooms and surroundings. Great hot water and aircon. I would stay again😊

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Great Location, great pool and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know that someone was gonna pick us up at the marina from the ferry that night so we got a bus not knowing someone was waiting for us from the ferry.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Great location for nightlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner and air con was poor. Overall v young crowd so if looking for a party scene this is perfect but if you want to get away from it at any point this is difficult.

    Location good for those who want to be in the heart of the nightlife. Noisy throughout the night but safe and secure. Five mins walk from bus stop to port / beach and five mins walk to all bars and restraints in old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay. George is a gent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not perfect.

    Toasties

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything its perfect for a group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything its perfect for a group of friends

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and amazing staff and so close to the bars and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much, usual...

    Wonderful and amazing staff and so close to the bars and the night life

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Owners are very friendly and very helpful! Pool area is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No good view frm my room

    Nice staff, good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, very close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very close to beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location and nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good.the bus the reastaurants were alla too close from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location with awesome pool and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great comfortable place to stay for a night on the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Near the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy environment

    Near the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location, central to the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, central to the village

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    All thanks to the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and made the experience great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    Best place to stay in Ios Chora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOTHING!

    Best place to stay in Ios Chora. Best staff, best location, best environment. One million thanks to George, Maria, their kids and Giannis for their hospitality and friendship. Everytime we go there they make us feel really at home. I cannot really add much more . Markos Village is a fantastic place with fantastic people. Just, experience it! Speechless!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    I would recommend Markos to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was a bit average at times.

    I would recommend Markos to anyone. The staff were so friendly and helpful, gave me a ride to the port and back for free. Rooms lovely, air conditioning = perfect. Easy to meet people. Location is insane, 5mins to all the bars and clubs

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    6.7
    The personnel was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the bedroom was not clean and was smelling humidity all the stay. The bathroom was very old and not clean with mushrooms all around the ceiling. After taking a shower the whole bathroom was all wet and it would not dry as no window or ventilation in the place.

    The personnel was nice. The hotel is well located and the swimming pool was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    The location was perfect if you're main thing is going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little hard & the bathroom basic but serviceable. We couldn't get internet wifi in our room because we were right up the back. But still great value for money & would recommend!

    The location was perfect if you're main thing is going out to the night clubs. Free transfers from the port were great. Staff so accomadating (didn't charge us a thing for a lost room key). Air conditioning was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Location was the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were very old. Bar space wasn't as popular as would be expected and barman took ages to make reasonably-priced cocktails.

    Location was the best. Situated in front of the main road we couldn't have been anywhere nearer the party scene without being disturbed by the noise. Pool facilities were also very good!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.8
    Markus and Maria make everything possible to make your stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Markus and Maria make everything possible to make your stay great!!! Lovely, easy going and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    Ver helpful to and from port no stress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ver helpful to and from port no stress

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Once again a wonderfull stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Once again a wonderfull stay. The owners are just great. A really nice place for the money.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    so much fun, such nice staff, very easy with noise and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    so much fun, such nice staff, very easy with noise and partying, literally loved our stay so much, long live ios.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: