Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Matala Bay Hotel & Apartments 3 stars

Main Street, Matala, 702 00, Greece

#18 of 21 hotels in Matala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and nice rooms! The stuff was very helpful and kind...They have a nice pool with a pool bar ...The cocktails in the reception bar and pool bar was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel at walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac in one of the rooms was not sufficient.

    Very nice hotel. Nice staff, clean rooms. An ok walk of 300 m down to the beach, caves and village center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    The location is good just fees minutes walk to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to say i had a bad experience with this hotel: the pictures on booking.com don't give a good idea of what the room really is. I had to stay in Annex, opposite the main hotel building, making it difficult to make use of the pool. The pictures on booking.com are all made in the main hotel building, the room in the annex I stayed in (room no. 6) is a completely different story: with 70's furniture style and old tv. All over the wall there were stains from the mosquito hunting of previous guests. And worst of all, I could hardly sleep because of the terrible bed. When I checked under mattress I saw they had made an improvised wood construction to keep the bed together. That explained the noise the bed made with every single movement. The hotel presents itself as a dream hotel but it certainly doesn't deserve its three stars, most certainly the annex doesn't.

    The location is good just fees minutes walk to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely time at the Matala Bay, stayed there last year too
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Would be nice to be a little bit cheaper such as Dimitris Villas

    Excellent location, lovely pool area, room kept clean with fresh towels daily, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive for the 3 nights, way above the real value. We will not return. Coffee at breakfast is muck. Toaster will not take anything other than sliced bread and is hopeless. Orange juice is coloured water. Wifi is next to useless.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Matala Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room (Family Open Plan)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was tiny, but we weren't there to watch television so it didn't matter to us.

    Our family of three (all adults) stayed in the newly renovated side of the property. We were on the 4th floor with a fabulous view that included portions of the Matala caves (which were lit up at night). It was perfect. We could not have been happier with this choice. Great hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Modern room for me and my 2 Kids (super comfortable bed).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern room for me and my 2 Kids (super comfortable bed). Very very friendly staff on reception and at dinner. The pool is in a quiet garden. The Barkeeper was that kind and entertained me and the Kids. Also in nearly perfect german! 5 Minutes to the beach. Super WLAN! Very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Matala is a great chill vibe................
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Very bad cleaning, I think they just make up the bad and clean the rest with their eyes. Hmmmm can't be, cause then they would be blind, not seeing all the dirt they leave behind. Staff isnot friendly, they are just to lazy to say hi, when you come in or leave the hotel. It's may!! for got sake, it's not that you're already overworked!! anyway, good for one stay, next time I need something better. And in a way I didn't mind.

    I liked the distance to Matala beach, i't an easy walk and not that far. Besides that, the distance of the hotel is also nice because in Matala they will party on till 5 or 6 am...... Swimming pool was nice an quiet. Breakfast was okay, not that special and everyday the same...... but hey, it was okay!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Happy to recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast is a little basic. More options in town if you don't mind the walk and extra expense.

    One of the better places to stay in Matala. It's an easy walk of about 400m to town. Helpful and friendly staff. There is even a pool if that is something that excites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Well located and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively 'cold' staff.

    Large room, ideal for 4 people. Very well located property with parking, located a few minutes from the center and beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Spacious room with great balcony . Clean , friendly and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a triple room which was spacious and a fabulous balcony . Clean and comfy . Great location .... Few minutes walk into town and beach but just enough away to be out of what I can imagine will be a crowded place once the season gets going .staff friendly and helpful . Breakfast ample with an amazing orange compote !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Recommended for a short stay only. Decent quality for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean, but looking old and stuffy for lack of a mechanical ventilation. Bed mattress was hard and you could feel the springs in it. Lack of mosquiter on balcony door.

    Small yet pleasant, quite well arranged and renovated room with tv, desk with a chair, a fridge as well as iron (with ironing board) and hair dryer. Nice, shaded balcony. Good coverage and fast Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    It was exactly as the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    According to the description of the room there was one double bed and two single beds, the truth was that there were four single beds

    It was exactly as the pictures. The room was very clean. The swimming pool also very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Adequate facilities but nice bathroom, a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard bed, rather soulless place as still being renovated and not many people there. No water in the pool but we were there at the beginning of April so very early in the season.

    Adequate facilities but nice bathroom, a short walk to the beach and resort centre. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay in hotel with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was quite small, the balcony didn't have much of a view (except of a building site) and didn't get any sun. The bathroom was small and the shower a little cramped. These things are all quite common in Greek hotels though (from my experience)

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The location was good - about 5-10 mins walk from the beach and town. Breakfast was OK, standard Greek buffet but we chose to eat in town some days so that we had a view. We didn't use the pool but it looked pleasant. The room was cleaned very thoroughly. Matala is wonderful with a fantastic beach and some great restaurants. All in all, a good base if you don't intend to spend much time in your room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place for leisure with friends, family vacation, workshop destination, love trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of food diversity in the restaurant, but can be easily reached in seadside tavernas:)

    Nice hotel in nice place of hippies' glory. I travelled with 1.5 year age infants and he was amazed by shadowed backyard with pool and restaurant, plenty of cats and picteresque panorama. Hotel lobby is spatious and well-designed. There is the bar and a lot of table games + library. Cinema-conference room is aside. Sea is just in 5 min walk. Staff is lovely. Restaurant is good. Elevator ! that is rare for Greek hotels) Calm and clean rooms with sunlit balconies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Really good place and worth for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None particular. Perhaps it'd be fine to have some intl. TV channels (not only Greek ones).

    A clean, modern, confortable, nice hotel. Rich breakfest offer, fresh and tasty. Walking distance to the beach (5mins) and down town. We din't use a swimming pool available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have sufficient hot water late evening

    Not fancy but it has everything you need. Located in a walking distance from the beach of Matala which is the center of the village night life. Decent breakfast Convinient parking in front of the lobby EXCELLENT value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    We were in fact put in an apartment in the middle of nowhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in fact put in an apartment in the middle of nowhere, not at the hotel itself. Since the breakfast was poor and the pool always in the shade, it was not a disaster - lucky we had a car! The apartment however was fantastic, just really far from the town and beach and had a noisy taverna nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Our reservation was upgraded surprisingly and we stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our reservation was upgraded surprisingly and we stayed in the apartments that located about 600m away. But we had no constraints since we had a rental car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Extremely clean and very comfortable family run hotel. It has a really nice pool area and is a short walk to the beach and what was, during our visit, a vibrant town with many restaurants perched over the beach/ water. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Had a nice relaxing time and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly, multilingual staff. Nice outdoor pool with lots of sun loungers, two bars (front and back), short walk from centre and beach, just far enough to not be bothered by all night partying noises.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    It is a perfect place to explore Matala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a perfect place to explore Matala. On the one hand, it is 2 min walk from the center. On the other - it is not in the middle of night life and you can enjoy silence when you want. Hosts were ready to provide all info we asked for, and we really enjoyed their recommendations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Unforgettable Matala
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A slightly strange reservation system (pre-authorization). I paid in advance 100% for pre-authorization some time ago, then I paid 100% in the hotel, as a result, but my money stayed blocked anyway, which caused inconvenience. If I had always known this in advance, I would have paid better immediately.

    Landscape, lovely beaches

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent poolside bar and entertainment at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Matala Bay Hotel was a great hotel to stay, great location, friendly and helpful staff. Poolside bar excellent. Rooms basic with nice balcony to chill. Entertainment on certain nights, which was great. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    So glad we chose to stay at Matala Bay Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gorgeous classy hotel a short walk away from the beautiful beach, close enough to the excitement yet far enough to have a relaxing stay. The room was excellent, newly renovated, great bed, bathroom, balcony. We had a stunning view of the mountain that was lit up at night. Breakfast was delicious, we ate outside by the garden and pool. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it to everyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    2.5 hr drive from chania town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel advertised as being in Chania - it is not!!! It took 2 1/2 hours to get there from chania town. Because of this we had to adjust our booking so we didnt miss out on chania town. The hotel very kindly gave us free food in lieu of a night we didnt use so we could stay at chania town. However we are very pleased we went there as we liked matala bay. The pool area is in serious need of attention - long grass and many weeds. Room was not very nice, especially compared to the lovely reception area.

    Excellent food on offer at night, highly recommend to eat in their restaurant. Wine excellent value and very nice. Staff very nice. 10 minute flat walk to the beach. Reception area very nice. Pool very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    One of the better Matala hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well run hotel with plenty of staff to assist you.Easy parking and only a stroll to the beach and amenities.Excellent value for money will certainly book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Definitely going back
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked the atmosphere of the hotel, how quiet pool area was and how all staff would engage with us at all times and made us laugh on partners birthday by making boats and bow with towels, loved it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Matala. Our private paradise!!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One amazing hotel with wonderful staff! The breakfast and the dinner are really tasty and the rooms are new and clean! What else needs somebody in the vacation! The place is wonderful. full of bars, restaurants and nice beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Nice hotel near to the beach! Clean rooms & nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was with my friend in Matala bay hotel. One small family hotel and I can say that it’s a perfect holiday destination! Everybody is very helpful and they take care a lot about them clients. You can feel from the first moment the Cretan hospitality and the nice atmosphere between the clients and staff! The rooms are very comfortable and nice. New renovated and clean. The buffet is very big and every day they have something new and different. You can feel that the food is fresh and they cook with love. One time the week they make one big fiesta on the bar with cocktails and live Greek music! Oh my God! Something amazing and nice! I and my friend Marketa were dancing a lot. The family who run the hotel dance with the guests and they are drinking lot of raki together! We will come back for sure!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    4.6
    Good location but management is not customer oriented
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were first sent to an old building where a hostel type room was presented to us. This is not what he had booked. After our complaint, we were given a room in the renovated part of the hotel. Better than the previous choice but still not what we had booked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Good location hotel with welcoming reception and rich buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very welcoming and polite reception staff. Quiet room with nice view. Very rich choice at buffet breakfast. .After breakfast coffe at pool area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been a bit softer

    The swimming pool The view location, a 5 minute stroll to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Matala - Great place and I would stay again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there only for 1 night and haven't seen anything annoying

    Good location, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Wi-Fi was not available in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was not available in our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay, nice pool and surrounds, Buffett very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower arrangement could be better.

    Good idea twin mattress for double bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice modern hotel 10 mins from Matala beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very large pool, 10 min walk to beach for wonderful sunset views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice price, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    300 meter from beach & swimming pool & restaurant was not yet workimg.

    Nice price, nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and the best hotel in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty as it was winter so not cleaned.

    The hospitality of the reception area, room service, approachable staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    clean and big rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excelent. the staff friendly they can speak good english, german and france cretan hospitality! clean and big rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    New renovate rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Clean Nice breakfast Nice dinner Modern Big balconies New renovate rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    It is a good place where to stay for 1 night for visiting matala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was noisie for long time after flushing the toilet and a bit flooded after the shower

    position to the centre of Matala

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly owners, delicious food. We got our dinner although we arrived after 9p.m. on the first night. Great location, fabulous beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    It's all was amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's all was amazing ! Nice and clean rooms .. very friendly staff !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Go again babe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't best

    Fourth floor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    100% recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean rooms friendly staff luxury reception modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Peace holidays in matala
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast! Nice staff Close to the beach Quit Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Good for 2 to 3 days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very warm welcome No sea vuew even if close

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean, great walking location, great pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, great walking location, great pool area. Plenty of space for a family of 4

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matala is a paradise and the whole experience was exquisite!!! We loved it and we will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    big breakfast buffet
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (Annex Building - 30 Meters)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice rooms with pool view. big buffet in breakfast with fresh local thinks! we will come again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Great selection at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room far too small & dark...had to pay almost double to upgrade

    Great selection at breakfast Nice to have the pool but didn't use it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Convenient and good location for matala festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't work very well

    Tgd pool was very nice and parking was easy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds wheren't so comfy & very small shower..

    Nice hotel with good breakfast, great location, only 5min easy walk from Matala.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Suitable for family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletry as it was the end of the season and it ran out of it.No kettle in room.

    Parking was plentiful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.0
    close to beach good breakfastt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    indifferent reception problems with air con

    close to beach good breakfastt

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful apartment, good and large breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old swimming pool

    Beautiful apartment, good and large breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location and rooms were well kep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was dirty

    Good location and rooms were well kep

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    GOOD BED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (New Renovated)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    POOR BREAKFAST, SWIMMINGPOOL DIDN'T LOOK VERY CLEAN AT THE SIDES PAY BEFOREHAND WITHIOUT GETTING THE RECEIPT

    GOOD BED

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Extremely friendly, helpful staff if needed but otherwise I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely friendly, helpful staff if needed but otherwise I was left to come and go, which I like. Great location. Very clean and quiet. Quick, simple check in.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    The apartments are very small and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartments are very small and old. I think they should call it a studio instead of apartment. OK for backpackers, but absolutely not for a family. They have a small terrace (not enough place to eat outside). The kitchenette is poorly equipped.The apartments are not in the same building, but on the other side of the road. If you want to use the swimming pool, you have to cross the road (which is not usefull with young children). In general, the apartments are overpriced (other places we stayed in were cheaper and much nicer)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    The hotel looks really nice, it's 10 min walking away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were expecting a different kind of room from the pictures, and especially we had requested a double room with double beds and instead we got one with two singles. The guy offered to fix it but simply pushed the beds together..not the most comfortable night. Wifi only in common areas and very scarce in the rooms.

    The hotel looks really nice, it's 10 min walking away from the centre (matala is a beautiful fun town!), there is a bar and pool.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    The Matala Bay Hotel is an oasis of relaxation in a perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Matala Bay Hotel is an oasis of relaxation in a perfect location. Just a few minutes stroll to the beach and bustle of Matala, we found the poolside a peaceful break from the wonderful Matala Beach Festival. See you next year!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    This hotel was the closest hotel to the Matala Beach Music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    According to my friends breakfast wasn't much.

    This hotel was the closest hotel to the Matala Beach Music Festival. It took all of five minutes for my friends and I to walk to the beach. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    5.8
    i really liked the location and the common areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was the poorest i have ever seen in my life as my job is in travel industry and i have visited many hotels around Europe. the bathroom was dated and for sure it wasnt value for money

    i really liked the location and the common areas

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    floors were tile and echoed continueously--- bus came after 12:00 screaming and yelling people. the staff did nothing. they tried to break down our bedroom door about 2:00. We "looked" at breakfast and could not leave fast enough

    location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi very erratic.

    Good location. Large room. Good air con. Good linen.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Facilities were good but the bars were never in operation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No service other than booking on and out

    Facilities were good but the bars were never in operation

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.8
    The location, friendly staff, reception area and garden good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would like Wi Fi in room and garden not only the reception area.

    The location, friendly staff, reception area and garden good

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: