Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Matina 3 stars

Kamari Beach Santorini, Kamari, 84700, Greece

#22 of 119 hotels in Kamari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Outstanding hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a couple of minor points (which did not detract from the enjoyment of my holiday) i) the shower cubicle was a bit on the snug side (and I am a small lady) ii) the balcony of the twin room we had was too small really to accommodate the furniture and also the side of the hotel we were on meant it was permanently in the shade.

    The team at Hotel Matina provide effortless hospitality, the like of which I have never experienced before and I am well travelled! The attention to detail provided is exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. Every member of staff is friendly and helpful and their sole aim is to ensure you have a fabulous holiday in Santorini. The buffet breakfast is most excellent and a massive choice for such a small boutique hotel and with lots of homemade items (the pastries, cakes and savoury omelette egg dish were particular highlights) my vegan partner was also well catered for, even down to having soya milk available. The pool area is comfortable, clean and very relaxing, as is the whole hotel. The owners have created a very tranquil space with lots of lovely planting. The hotel is ideally situated, far enough from the main strip to be quiet but close enough to feel part of things. The proximity of the local bus stop just outside is a real bonus. I shall be recommending Hotel Matina to any friends and family wanting to visit Santorini in the future.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    The room was nice, and relatively large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The transfer from the airport organized by the hotel - the bus that came to pick us up was in a very poor technical condition and broke down.

    The room was nice, and relatively large. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, only 5 min walk to the beach. The staff were friendly. Would recommend a stay here if you were looking for something low/mid budget

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Good choice for hotel in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small.

    Lovely breakfast including outside seating on patio. Helpful and friendly staff.. Very clean and quiet. Kamari is a great area in which to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.0
    Nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with an upgrade, especially the bathrooms, but it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic. If you want cakes and sweet things you will be happy but the fruit looked old and there was no option for toast. Coffee could be improved. We visited the small mom and pop cafe next door for breakfast on 2 of the mornings, for a change. Good alternative.

    Nice family run hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Good pool area out the front that is away from the road so its relaxing during day as the main road in Kamari can be quite busy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    It was great and I would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small. No room service or at least a kettle to make some Nescafé in the room before going to breakfast.

    Very clean and extremely friendly staff. Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast the same every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast the same every day. Very small bathroom. Very loud during the night due to bar. They made pre-authorization on my credit card. They did not confirm it within 7 days so bank unlocked all the money. I inquired the hotel about this and they gave me information that if bank cancelled this they cannot guarantee the room. After that via email i explained that flight has been booked. I said i am willing to pay by cash and asked not to charge card any more. Due to lack of answer we were not sure if the room is really booked or not until they charged card again one day before our flight after I've sent message that we want to cancel reservation. They did not inform us about another charge just made it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful, quaint hotel near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, staff and service was outstanding.

    Beautiful, quaint hotel near the beach. All that was needed to see and experience Santorini was available. Shops , restaurants, car rental, 4 wheelers, tours within a half-mile along with the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    bus system is good and available every 20-30 minutes. it cost $1.80 each way you travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All showers in Europe are small and hardly any room, but that's Europe.

    Very close to Bus station, super market and beach (walking distance) facility has outside shower facility where one can change. and stay over after checkout with bags left with front desk. breakfast is good and enjoy with family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great location, exceptionally clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music at bar beside pool started at 10.30am & went on until 1am! Some of it ok, some of it terrible, and too loud. Sometimes silence is golden!!

    Great location, exceptionally clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    That you could not drink your own bottle of water at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you could not drink your own bottle of water at the pool. Everything had to be bought at the poolside bar. I understand having to buy food, however for staff to come over and tell you to put away a bottle of water I think is unfair

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, close to beach, bus station, shops but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nice but few days the fruit compote and orange cake were old, like from days before.

    Location was great, close to beach, bus station, shops but far enough from the crowded areas. Swiming pool was great. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    really warm, friendly and welcoming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast got a little manic on occasion, (a pet het of mine is when a buffet is laid out that invites congestion!, its a small but adequate breakfast area) and coupled with fairly tight breakfast timings 8-10 (not that the staff hurried you or anything). but it meant a natural Peak around 09:00-09:30 which on a couple of occasion discouraged me from eating breakfast there. Quite a few guests smoked. which also I struggle with.

    very cosy boutique and welcoming and family run hotel, well staffed, where nothing appeared too much trouble. close to local beaches all needed amenities, facilities and restaurants,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Nothing short of wonderful. Will definitely return in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt at ease as the ambience was so welcoming. Jean-Pierre specifically is an excellent asset to Hotel Matina, he warmly welcomed us at Reception upon our check-in. He patiently gave very detailed tour options, transportation routes, brief history of Santorini and itinerary guidelines for us to consider during our stay in Santorini. He was meticulous, yet not pushy, and was very polite and professional. Clearly, he takes great pride in his role as an ambassador of Santorini. We felt very well taken care of.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and holiday! Thank-you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a small, friendly, holiday hotel but provides all the comforts that you would expect: great buffet breakfast, well maintained pool, pool & snack bar and reception/ concierge service. The staff are client focussed and are determined to ensure that you have a great stay at the hotel and on Santorini.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and a perfect location to base yourself for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Fantastic stay and a perfect location to base yourself for exploring the island, friendly staff ,clean, lovely pool area, very close to the beach, bus stop directly across the road, supermarket around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    We felt like we were visiting relatives the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our hotel in Fira was booked, forcing us to consider Kamari instead BUT We wished we stayed here at the fabulous Hotel Matina the entire time instead. This wonderful hotel is like an oasis from the hustle bustle of Fira, but close by to the beach and the dozens & dozens of restaurants/shops along the coast. The wonderful pool, A+ location, delicious breakfast & nice bar wouldn't have mattered if we didn't have the amazing staff we had. Everyone was so helpful with just about everything. Able to answer questions/solve problems/assist with many things. Thanks for making us feel so welcome and at ease and making the end of our vacation peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont have any complain

    Definitely I would return; very clean, a great pool , is located near to the beach, attractions food etc; the staff is awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time here, beach about 5-10 min walk but very crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds so so, shower tiny and shower curtain wrapped around you, breakfast ok but same every day

    Very friendly staff, great location, super helpful, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very quite pool area even when it was busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no issues. Shower however was a little small but as it was a wet room just left the curtain open.

    Very quite pool area even when it was busy. Staff where always most helpful. Boom your airport transfer with them as taxis are more than double from the airport. Air conditioning was heaven at night. Only problem is you can’t sit on your balcony and cool the room down at the same time. But I understand why this is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location to black sand beaches, pool, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator, but staff will help bring your luggage up to your room. We didn't like that we didn't stay longer in Santorini and this hotel.

    We really liked the location near the black sand beach and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We also greatly appreciated the extra effort from staff to ensure that my daughter had not only gluten-free bread, but also gluten-free cereal. We noted the gluten allergy at booking, and the hotel was prepared for us. The hotel also suggested a tour during our stay. The bus picked us up in front of the hotel and the tour was fabulous. The next day we enjoyed the hotel's pool prior to heading back to the ferry port. I am also glad that paid for the transportation to and from the hotel and the port (offered by the hotel).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    If only management was polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't very clean. The owner or manager isn't very friendly at all she was downright rude at times.

    The location is very good, near the beach and lots of restaurants and bars. The pool is a good size and nice to relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent 😁 could not fault it.

    The people, the atmosphere was so relaxing & friendly, the staff were fabulous, it was so clean & the cleaning staff were excellent, the pool was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Everything was fine the staff friendly the manager was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine the staff friendly the manager was brilliant the room was clean a little tight for 3 guests the shower was tiny and bathroom very small location was fairly close to restaurants and short stoll to the black beach and all the shops along the beach front i would recommend as long as you like very small showers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Amazing relaxing and qualitative
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the warm welcoming and availability of the hotel staff. I was immediately feeling like at home. The quality of the decoration of the room was exquisite. I was extremely sad to leave and I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Has potential, but needs work.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking-In and Checking-Out was a hassle. Our room was not ready on time and that was disappointing after a long day. We were then overcharged and had to dispute to management for a very long time as to why we were charged what we were. Breakfast was overrated- it’s just all kinds of bread, which although tastes good, lacks variety. The rooms were nice and well kept although very small. The most disappointing thing was the shower - if you can call it that. It’s a square that you can hardly fit in, which barely works which is essentially a basin to wash your feet which is not practical for two people who want to get clean.

    Lovely pool and great location within walking distance to the bus stop that takes you to Oia and Fira, Kamari Beach and lovely Greek restaurants and pubs. In my opinion in the best place to stay in Santorini locationally. Bar staff on property great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel - just as we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was small (wrestled with shower curtain) but very powerful and hot water at all times. No other issues.

    Brilliant staff really helpful, location is not on the main street but having gone to the main front several evenings I preferred the location where we were. Breakfast had a varied choice and was fab.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, relaxing stay in one of the friendliest hotels I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could do with a little updating

    The location of the hotel was perfect a short walk from the seafront. The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us and were so friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the pool area lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The only point that we where not lucky was with the transfer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only point that we where not lucky was with the transfer to the port, I prefered to pay for the transfer for the commodity but they left us 1:30 hour earlier with no need at all. We could have stayed in the pool for an extra hour or gone by bus ( much cheaper). Regarding that, everything was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Was not really worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was the same everyday, so it was monotonous and boring as we had the same stuff for 3 days. Would appreciate some variation. Was very unhappy with the triple sharing room we booked. It felt like a third bed was accommodated in a double room, so much so that the bed was pushed towards the dressing table, so if you had to groom yourself, you had to climb on the bed to do it. Didn't like this at all. Also informed the reception about it. they offered to give another family room but at an extra cost.

    The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. They go that extra mile to guide and help you. Always smiling and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was great. Location 2 minutes from bus stop, 3 minutes from beach. Pool clean and large enough. Wifi working well. What makes the hotel excellent is the staff, who do everything to make your stay the best possible, without being too pushy. Day tour arranged through hotel was also very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was very clean, the location was not bad not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hiding fees, in booking it says clearly safety included in the price yet they charged me 1.20 euros a day for something that I have already paid for plus the taxes were way to much 2euros a day while I paid 0.50 a day in Fira! There are two blocks if you stay at the entrance one it will be super noisy with Coaches and cars passing by I had to close the window all the time..and the last thing if you are not a pet personne there are cats everywhere and they can jump on you anytime plus there was a cat at my balcony all the time as I was at the first floor.

    The room was very clean, the location was not bad not far from the beach but still we need to walk 10 minutes. The pool area is nice and big and the breakfast is basic but feeling, the staff are amazingly nice and caring which makes me recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    From the moment I arrived I knew that I would be ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I`m sure that I can`t think of anything that did not meet with my approval. If anyone did then I would consider them extremely hard to please.

    From the moment I arrived I knew that I would be ok. Beautiful entrance and so clean and welcoming. The lovely Vaia so helpful and kind as she checked me in. I was so anxious as I had not travelled alone before, but I had nothing to worry about. I have been back just over 24 hours and I have already rebooked and I still feel sad to be home. The people are so kind and work so hard and my life has been touched by them all in such a way that I feel compelled to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Fanstastic stay in Kamari Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about this property

    The property was in great location to use buses or quad bikes to tour island.Van Gelis Matina and their wonderful staff Jean Pierre, Via, Vula, and Katherine were exceptional and made for an excellent stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We had an absolutely fabulous stay at Hotel Matina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an absolutely fabulous stay at Hotel Matina. The staff were lovely and hospitable. Everyone staying at the hotel were happy and relaxed and the service was extremely personal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.3
    Not recommend if. Not sure how it’s gotten 9.1 in reviews. That’s what made me book it. Bad choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell to it. And so did the washroom. Not that nice a washroom. No view. Would not recommend staying here.

    Staff was nice and friendly. That’s all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Our favorite hotel in our favorite village on Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outdoor pool area was absolutely gorgeous, with a poolside bar that we enjoyed quite a bit. Our room was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff was phenomenal and went above and beyond to help us out and give us advice on what to do/see during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay! Immaculate! Cleanest pool great staff and the perfect place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only if I'm being picky, there are only news channels in English on the tv, and maybe the breakfast could do with more hot items than just fried eggs other than that it's spot on

    This hotel is just perfect such a well oiled machine the staff are fantastic, the place is so clean and the swimming pool is the cleanest I've seen, free breakfast everyday and all tours pick you up from this place, it is close to all the restaurants and bars and beach and kamari is the best spot on the island, I was sad to be leaving even after an 8 day trip! Highly recommend it here perfect for couples! Also I stayed in April where it's nice and quiet I recommend April for a real relaxing time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay, we loved the familiar atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay, we loved the familiar atmosphere , everybody was very friendly and helpful. In the middle of the night, we arrived and were warmly welcomed- breakfast buffet is stuffed with homemade greek specialities, you can sit on the Veranda overlooking the Pool area, surounded by palms and flowers in the beautiful Garden. The hotel is very clean and well-kept, the pool bar is open until 01:30 at night enjoying cocktails in romantic illumination! The hotel is located only a few steps from the Beach area, a lot of tavernes, shops and supermarket are very close, we got a lot of recommodations for dinner with moderate prices at the reception. We enjoyed the lovely cats in the garden !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Overrated but good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast. The pool wasn't ready when we arrived. Annoying owner that tried to 'mingle' with us asking personal questions. Dog wandering freely around, although friendly it wasn't pleasant to have to deal with it during breakfast. The staff didn't have uniforms so we kept wondering who were staff and who was a hotel guest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    It was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May need to upgrade their mattresses

    They were a lovely and very friendly hotel .. they took care of their guests and made great efforts to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Would go there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff who go out of the way to help you and recommend other local businesses in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would liked to have paid the hotel using my card rather than having to carry cash.

    Lovely staff, very friendly. The Chef made my son Dairy free Waffles after learning he could not eat dairy - thank you so much for this. The Service was very good overall, reception staff were fantastic and such a bonus that Breakfast was included in the price. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel with super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Matina was one of those lucky picks for us. We booked the day before based on pictures and a good review. On request we were picked up from the ferry by a friendly driver. The hotel itself is a peaceful place with it's pool area shielded from the road by trees and a wall. This quite a contrast from the seaside hotels which mostly have their pool area directly next to the busy boulevard. This makes the 5 minute walk to the beach absolutely worth it. The best thing about the hotel is its extremely friendly staff who make you feel welcome instantly. We got useful tips about tours and daytrips as well as restaurants. The rooms are simple but comfortable and a good distance away from the road. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santorini.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negatives are that the beds were a little hard and the breakfast choice was a bit limited. It would of been nice to have a choice of hot food.

    The hotel was lovely. The staff were very friendly, they really looked after us. On the day of my daughters wedding they dressed the hotel up for us, which I thought was a lovely touch. It is also in a great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    We had an absolutely fantastic stay at this lovely, friendly, comfortable, ideally situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing that we did not like about this hotel was leaving it.

    This hotel was an absolute treasure of a hotel. It is a family run hotel and every single member of staff do their absolute upmost to make sure that your stay with them is the best. The room was very comfortable with a lovely large comfy bed. The facilities were all brilliant. The pool is lovely with lots of pool furniture to make your time round the pool very comfortable. There is nothing to dislike about this very pretty hotel, and the staff are the best. Mr Vangellis (the owner of the hotel) collected us from the hotel and took us back to the airport at the end of our fabulous holiday. The breakfast is very simple but lots to choose from. The beach is amazing and only a two minute walk away. There are so many taverna's to choose from and a couple of mini markets for all your bits and pieces. If you want to know anything or want to be recommended places to visit, then the staff will tell you there wise choices. Everything they recommended was perfect. I can not rate this hotel enough. We usually stay at 4 star hotels, but we do not get the service that we did with Hotel Matina. Do not miss this hotel. You will not be disappointed for a 3 star family run hotel. We loved our holiday and hope that we will meet you all again one day. Thank you for making our trip so special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    BRILLIANT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing I didn't like

    The staff where amazing, sooo helpful, very warm friendly and attentive. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard. The hotel was in a great location very close to restaurants, shops and more importantly near the beach. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Hotel Matina and I am looking forward to staying their again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Magnificent, I felt like part of their extended family it was just beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was brilliant only topped by the amazing staff. They were so friendly, helpful and genially interested in ensuring your stay was everything you wanted with great recommendations of things to do. I will be back and would recommend it to anyone. Most of the other guests had been returning to the hotel for years one even over 20 years

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Family feel luxury hotel without the heavy price tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were incredibly friendly, cheerful, and assisted us with all of our questions and they made us feel like part of their family. Wonderful location, quiet beach town away from the busy town but close enough by bus. The facility was beautifully kept up and our room overlooked the garden. We wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much for making this a wonderful start to our vacation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We had a very god stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked the hospitality and the friendly atmosfere. The Comfort and design in the rooms was excellent in a cosy way. And the location was perfect if you want to stay out of the tourist crowd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Little gem of a hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but would have been even better if there has been some hot choices. I.e. Bacon, sausage, beans etc.

    Absolutely lovely hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. They really looked after us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very well looked after and a lovely relaxing Anniversary stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really not to like, if I had to criticise in any way, I like a soft bed and the beds were hard.

    The hotel staff were amazing couldn't do enough, and fantastic with kids.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location and super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality could be better, but there is a good variety to chose from.

    Hotel is favorably located next to the less busy bus station. Ancient Thira. You can get on the bus to Fira before all the crowds of the Kamari station. Kamari beach is about 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    It was a very pleasant stay. Location was perfect for Kamari, staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - the rooms were a bit small, especially the bathroom; but they served their purpose just fine Nothing else comes to mind tbh, most of it was fine

    - 2 minutes from the beach and restaurants - staff were extremely friendly and helpful; gave us advice on where to go, eat and how to get there - vey good and varied breakfast - nice pool with bar open until after midnight - very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, the pool in particular was kept in exceptional state of cleansiness. A nice location, quiet, and pretty close to everything. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a lovely relaxing stay with Hotel staff that made us very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a larger Bathroom but, not a problem.

    The warm, family feel to the property and the very friendly and extremely helpful staff. The Pool area and surround was lovely as were the lounge area and rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Great choice of accommodation in Kamari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Perfect choice of accommodation for a summer vacation. Close to the airport, to the center of Kamari and to the beach. We started off not so good because we had booked the transfer from/to the airport and there was no one waiting for us when we landed, but we called the receptionist and the driver was there in 5 mins. From then on, everything went great.. The staff was always available and ready to assist, they were able to book a boat excursion for us (at a lower price) and change the day immediately when we asked to (health problem). Jean-Pierre speaks a fluent Italian (always appreciated), Vaia doesn't but was very kind and gave us really good advices about places to go swimming and where to eat. The room was really clean and comfy. There were stairs to climb to reach the room but the staff helped us carry our bags. Breakfast had a good variety of choices, the pool was well kept, clean and has a pool bar opened till 1.30 pm. Great experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Very reasonably priced accommodations on Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in our room didn't work very well, so we had to come out to the lobby to get Internet.

    Jean Pierre was the real pleasure of our stay. He gave us a little history lesson about Santorini upon our arrival and was very helpful throughout the trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    AMAZING STAFF GREAT LOCATION VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower is super small. It is the perfect size for a child but a bit uncomfortable for an adult. Pressure was up and down. But hey, it got the job done!!

    The staff were superb. Super attentive and super friendly. The breakfast was ok, nothing special but it was a good feed to start the day. The pool was good too and there was a pool side bar which was handy. The room was fine, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, bathroom could have been bigger but we were aware of this prior to booking.

    Everything, very friendly and they went the extra mile. We felt safe, looked after and they couldn't tonebough for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    The property is close to the beach (5 minute walk) and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The property is close to the beach (5 minute walk) and there a lot of nice shops / restaurants nearby. Room was spacious and super clean (it is cleaned daily, towels are replaced, etc). The staff is really friendly and helpful, you should ask them for recommendations!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming hospitable hotel with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really anything we didn't like, but I would say that the bed is not the comfiest but that's standard for most hotels as I don't sleep well on other beds. Breakfast wasn't amazing but once again I don't eat that much for breakfast anyway and to be fair there were plenty of options like cereal, yoghurts, toast and jam, omelette, salad and Greek cheese and yoghurt of course.

    The staff here were excellent so friendly and helpful. They made you feel like family. The hotel was in a peaceful area but still within very easy reach of the beach, shops and restaurants and local shops just 1 minute around the corner. Also the bus stops is just literally outside the hotel and here you can catch the bus into Fira and then onto Oia. Anything you need to ask the staff at the hotel will help you. They made our stay very enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Felt like home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the first trip that I have taken alone and the entire staff was so hospitable, kind, helpful and at the end of the few days, I really felt like I was a part of the family. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    The staff are very friendly and informative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room supplies were little and few things were missing. The hotel charges for the airport pickup although the website site says airport pickup is available.

    The staff are very friendly and informative. Rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were amazing! Truly amazing. A real sense of family or mom and pop type feel. Really helpful and nice people. Room was impeccably clean. Pool was fantastic and the food was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay at Hotel Matina, Kamari, Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    everything was great.

    Lovely property. Lovely staff--very kind and helpful. We couldn't have been happier with our stay there. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Worth a look
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were made to change rooms after our first night because of overbooking and a family of three needed the room we were in as it could be converted to a family style room. It was inconvenient to have to pack up after being out all day and being moved to a smaller, more cramped room on the main level. It was also uncomfortable because we needed to leave our room key at the front desk every time we left the hotel, which all the guests had access to, although nothing happened it didn't make me feel our belongings were safe with so many people who could grab our key to our room.

    Staying in Kamari is such a great area of the island! Good wifI and air conditioning! Room was very clean. Pool was nice to hang by. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast on their deck. Was able to check out late as well, which was very helpful :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Pool area was nice, although the sun beds a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small, no kettle.

    Pool area was nice, although the sun beds a little uncomfortable, a short walk down the Main Street with plenty of tavernas and shops to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and friendly beyond belief
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller sized bathroom area so was slightly tricky but that is nitpicking because it was totally doable and very nice.

    Wonderful staff that makes you feel like family right away. They bend over backwards to help in any way and have connections to do whatever you want while staying there. Breakfast was delicious and the location superb for beach goers. Beautiful hotel and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there wasn, t anything not to like

    The welcome we got, Vangelis could not have been more helpful. the staff were brill. a beautiful place, would go back tomorrow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Great beach getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small, but manageable. The bed was a little hard, but I still slept ok.

    Kamari is a beautiful town! The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the beach. The boardwalk has a lot of great food options for a great price, and is open until 2am. The staff at the hotel was wonderful! They were so attentive and willing to go the extra mile to make us more comfortable! They really made us feel at home, and even offered airport transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Great and friendly staff nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of noise from the hallway, woke us up every night. Bed was uncomfortable. Small bathroom, small shower. Room could do for an update, old deco.

    Homey atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice pool area. Very clean rooms. Great location, close to the beach in Kamari. Cozy balcony. Good homemade breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a little small and we had the impression when booking that there was more car parking on site.

    The staff were all very very friendly and helpful - it was very much like a family hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    very friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have sea view from the room. But it is okay.

    very friendly host. Treated us nicely. Welcomed us with a complimentary bottle of wine on our honeymoon. Stay was nice. Breakfast was good as well. Room is cozy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel is a short walk from the beach front so is perfect for everyone,the staff are lovely and do not stop working all day cleaning and making your stay as perfect as possible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Value for Money Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not available in the hotel grounds, which should be pointed out on the website. Close adjacent street parking is fine. There should be a sign pointing out that cars should not enter the drive. Bar prices are a little over expensive on certain drinks. Would have bought more if they had been lower, as the bar pool area is very nice for sitting out for a nightcap.

    Hotel Matina is exceptionally clean. Clean towels and room clean every day. All staff very knowledgable and helpful. Plenty of sun beds. Lovely pool area. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: