Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Medusa Villa

Old Hersonissos city, Hersonissos, 70014, Greece

#73 of 162 hotels in Hersonissos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooking facilities very basic but manageable Noisy fridge in our room

    The position of the property ideal for the village Nikos the owner, very helpful and kind Beautiful swimming pool Peaceful setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No lighting in kitchen area of room.

    Big room, big bathroom, big bed, we stayed in room 9, ground floor, at the back. pool area, friendliness of the " boss " Nikos ! room was clean and spotless .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. No complaints.

    I loved the pool, it was nice and very clean. The rooms were perfect and clean as well. TV, Air conditioning, wardrobes, and very nice and newly renovated bathrooms. The management/owner was very friendly and hospitable, gave us tips on where to eat great food. Best hotel we stayed at in Hersonissos. 3-5 minutes walking distance from Old Hersonissos, and 10 minutes car from Hersonissos' "downtown" area. Overall great experience and would love to go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do better, small shower that leaked. Kitchen with no washing up, sponge, cloth or oil/salt/coffee, could improve too.

    Nice Swimming pool and good location. Overall good value for money in a nice location. On street parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quiet. Rooms are big and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet, in the middle of the nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Couple

    Photos that are on the website are from a DIFFERENT hotel. The only thing that was correct was the bed. The room we got (studio with a sea view) suposed to have a sea view, but there was NO WINDOW in it. There were 2 doors - in the front of the apartment and back, which were leading to the common tarrace, both made from a wood and with a small door/window inside - after opening them we got lovely hole without any glass, so the cold air (it was and of the October) could come in. Even in the day time, to room was soo dark, as at night time, because there was no possibillity to put some day light in. The bathroom wasn't at all as we accepted it be, it is not shown on the pictures and it needs a huge renovation. We made a resevation for 2 nights, we asked for a room change, there was no other room, so we called booking, which spoke to the owner. She said there's no possibility to give the money back (for the second night). After all we moved out, because simply we didn't came there to live as a prisoners in a dungeon. Moreover, the room is old, NOT modern and NOT luxurious. It was terribly cold, even we couldn't use air con, as the batteries in the remote control were that old ,that they were spilled. __ Zdjęcia na stronie przedstawiają zupełnie inne miejsce. Mieliśmy zamówione studio z sea view, jedyne co było zgodne z ofertą, to łóżko, które wyglądało tak, jak to na stronie. w pokoju nie było ŻADNEGO OKNA - brudny pokój, który posiadał dwoje drzwi - jedne główne - wejściowe, oraz drugie, które prowadziły na wspólny taras (na który mógł wejść każdy). Całe drzwi wykonane były z drewna, co uniemożliwiało wpuszczenie światła dziennego do pokoju, w dodatku zrobione były w nich pewnego rodzaju mniejsze drzwiczki, które po otwarciu tworzyły dziurę w drzwiach - bez żadnej szyby. Chcąc mieć jakiekolwiek światło w pokoju w ciągu dnia, trzeba było włączać paskudną lampę.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated 5 min walk from village square. Beautiful village with many traditional Tavernas. The apartments and the grounds were spotlessly clean. This is Old Hersonissos, not close to the beach, but that was fine for us. It was quiet and quaint. Loved it there. Will be returning soon.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is the 4th time we are staying in Villa Medusa. We always enjoy the privacy and the clean rooms, tthe very friendly stuff and owener, as well as the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We checked-in at 4 am, so the owner left a note at the entrance containing the room number and an indication that the key was in the door. First impression disappointing - nothing to do with the pictures that we had in the booking process. Grim room with shabby furnishings, instead claimed balcony - plastic table and chairs outside the door. We were too tired, so we decided next morning to request the other room. However, in the morning, walking around to the villa, we realized that all the rooms were the same. Once resigned to the situation and decided that we would spend a lot of time on the beach, so the room does not play an important role. The villa is very far from the coast. We rented a car, because without personal transport nothing to do here. I suppose that the price would compensate it. The kitchen is very uncomfortable, no salt, sugar, tea. Hot water flowed well at night, but in the morning it was already lukewarm.TV Had only 12 channels but at the end of the trip only 4 of them were available. One more problem, they charged my credit card 2 days before the arrival with "CRETE car RENTAL" description. So, I was really confused and spent a lot of time calling my real car rental operator (avis) to clarify what had happened. They had no idea about the payment )))

    Among the advantages - clean. The room was cleaned every day and very carefully. Air-conditioning was good. Wi-Fi was good too, I managed to watch football on-line at 1500k resolution. Finally, we spent a good time despite of initial disappointment. Normal quality for reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are three buildings in Villa Medusa and only one of them is new and shown in the pictures, so make sure you know what you get before deciding. The old one in which we stayed is nothing like the pictures and it really needs renovation, especially the bathroom: it was awful and didn’t seem very clean (maybe it was, but everything was sooo old and rusted…). The door knob was broken, shower curtain was tedious and had no purpose, the floor gets wet and flooded, the shower tub gets clogged every time, there is no place to put a toothbrushes in (on the old mirror shelf?). The balcony is really great but is shared with other guests, so if you want absolute privacy, be aware you won’t get it in this building. But still, you get to a chance to know nice neighbors, like we did. There is no window in the room, only the balcony door. If you want to use the kitchen, even only for the breakfast, make sure you get the cutting board, small kitchen knife, sponge, detergent, kitchen towel with you, since they are not provided. There was a cleaning lady who washed our dishes once, since we forgot to by all those things, during our 2 days/3 nights stay (she had a day off on our second day, so there was no cleaning) but it’s a bit annoying you have to remember to provide those things, first thing, when on vacation. The room and kitchen “facilities” were somewhat ruined and outdated. If you don’t mind the run-down interior, staying here could be very pleasant.

    The location is great, very close to the new Hersonisos, but away from the noise. The village is cute and very close to other two picturesque villages, almost identical to the Old Hersonisos, with many tavernas and small shops (although they all seem a bit artificial than authentic, but still very charming). The owner Mr. Nikos is extremely kind and helpful; he welcomed us with a bottle of water in the fridge and a bottle of a domestic wine on our second day. The villa is emerged in greenery so you can smell the sweet Cretan air and enjoy the distant sea view from your balcony. The bed is very comfortable and all combined it guarantees you a good night sleep. There is an air condition (we didn’t have to use), a flat screen tv, a safe and a free wifi in the room. We didn’t use the pool because, although it looked fine for taking a sunbath next to it, in the lush green environment, it didn’t seem very appealing for swimming in it.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We made a trip around Crete staying in 7 different apartments booked by Booking. To be honest this one was the only somewhat disapointing experience. We had high expectations because of the rating at Booking, but when we arrived the manager wasn't friendly at all (while in general people are very friendly in Crete). The room wasn't like on the pictures. It was supposed to have sea view, but we were at the ground floor and when we opened the window we could only see the stairs. Also the bathroom and shower is not like on the picture. It seems that the pictures are from the room upstairs which are a lot better. When we complained about this the manager even got more unfriendly and said it was not his problem, his only responsibility was to give us a room with 3 beds. We called Booking because we didn't want to stay there anymore and after sending pictures of our rooms they talked to the owner (which was not the manager) and we could leave the next day. The money of the remaining days was tranferred back to my credit card within a few days, so that was OK. I was surprised the apartement had charged my credit card a few days before we arrived, especialy because they use the name "Service Rent a Car OE Irakleiou GRC", so it took me some time to find out this was for the apartment. At first I thought the rental car had charged me extra money without saying.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not much to dislike although a toaster in the rooms would have been good

    extremley clean apartments and pool - which we had to ourselves most days , lovely quiet location, walking distance to lovely Greek village , lovely comfy mattress , free safe in room and free wifi excellent place will return

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - a disturbing buzzing noise (electric, perhaps for the AC control) in regular interval (every 5 min), if you close the window and the door.

    +very friendly personnel +very very clean Villa and nice comfortable room. +awesome service! They cleaned the room and took out the trash every day! They even did the dishes. Even the ashtrays on the balcony were cleaned twice a day!! +location is very close to the HER airport and also close to a small village center (ATM, restaurants, mini markets etc.) +the patio was great for relaxing! +The swimming pool The best accommodation we had in Crete!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were supposed to pay in cash on site, but payment was taken through the credit card used to make the reservation. This the incurred a currency conversion fee - not too bad for a couple of nights, but I'd have been annoyed if we'd booked a fortnight!

    Close to traditional village

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    * located close to the highway (close access-wise, not that you can hear the highway) * perfectly signposted * spacious and comfortable room, * fully equipped kitchentte

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit confusing to find as there were both names used "Medusa Villa" and "Villa Medusa". Everything else was great.

    Niko, the owner, welcomed us very friendly. Apartment was a twin room but he offered us to move the beds next to each other. Free Wifi was available and also an invitation if we eat in a nearby restaurant he is going to pay the drinks.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet location, but far from the sea.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nikos was very very helpful, he even took some paper work down to the medical centre for me. great place to stay for the money.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy to airport, quite location, pool looked good, but we only stayed in transit so didn't get a chance to try it. Good value and very nice apt

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We really enjoyed a pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entry is a bit difficult.

    The room was very nice and comfortable. Good value for money. The most beautiful accomodation we have stayed at in Crete.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice garden and view to Dia Island. Perfect location and very close to the center of Old hersonissos.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing there to dislike

    Everything about this place was excellent. Swimming pool Peace

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best price/quality ratio we have found in Crete

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing real:) But you need a car to be in this great place:)

    Nice and clean room, bed, pool, owner, terrace and many other things for amazong price:)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of windows made the room a little dark.

    Location, staff, pool, fast internet and nice terrace.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Es gab keine Beschwerden. (Nur Mückenspray einpacken.)

    Super Unterkunft für den Preis! Hübsche Terrasse und schöner Garten. Freundlicher Empfang.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mr.Nikos was very friendly, the place, the price and the room was a perfect combination

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing really

    - Clean apartment - Excellent and comfy Bed - Swimming Pool - Price - View from balcony

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: