Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mentor Hotel 3 stars

Vathi, Vathi, 28300, Greece

#12 of 22 hotels in Vathi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.5
    The hotel staff were especially helpful(sent a packed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were especially helpful(sent a packed breakfast with us to catch the early ferry).,and the location was on the waterfront with a fantastic view. Great stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel in Vathy, best location in bay. Definitely get a room with a balcony, the view is spectac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower small & no above head height shower head

    Beautiful location and view across the bay. Breakfast outside also across the bay. Ferry to hotel pick up service was very good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Stay was wonderful and looking forward to returning to Mentor next year for another Greek adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be honest here. Nowhere to hand the shower head so we used a piece of ribbon to tie it in place. But for us it's all part of the Greek adventure.

    Location was perfect. Front sitting area overlooked Vathi bay. Perfect for an afternoon frappe. Staff were so great in making sure we were having a wonderful time. Always asked how our day was and if we needed anything. Gave us so much detail about getting around the island since we didn't have a rental car. Even arranged a free trip upon check out to the port for our ferry ride to Kefalonia. Actually stayed three nights in the end as we loved both the hotel and Ithaki so much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant room in the perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, when you walked into the room there was an overpowering smell of bleach, and the bathrooms could do with a refurb.

    Staff were lovely - Front desk was welcoming and friendly! The hotel is ideally located, and my room was clean and had a lovely view of Vathi. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very basic. Overall it was a good place to lie your head down at the end of a day exploring!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    The best location in vathy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a weird smell when we entered. It went away when we opened the windows so it must have been due to the room being closed

    The best location in vathy! Breakfast was good and the breakfast area has excellent view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff is nice and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the bathroom, it is not possible to hang the shower on the wall, despite the presence of a dedicated little hook on the wall itself.

    The staff is nice and really helpful. After the checkout it is also possible to use the shower rooms and to leave the baggage in the hotel, very appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Amazing position in Vathi, very nice sunset can be viewed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing position in Vathi, very nice sunset can be viewed from the rooms. The staff is really friendly and helpful (they helped us by calling the ferry line, suggesting beaches, and recommending restaurants). Super raccomandato

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Mentor Looks After You!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. The best hotel on the island.

    Courtesy shuttle. Breakfast until 11am. 15 metres from the best "limani" in Greece. Polite staff. Clean quarters. Air-con never failed. View from balconyette. Access to everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast and very convenient place to visit island’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was across cleaning staff facilities and it was noisy early in the morning.

    Nice breakfast and very convenient place to visit island’s gorgeous beaches and walk around town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Simple, but clean room in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small, but this is typical for many accommodations in Greek islands.

    Simple, but clean room in a very central location. It was much better than what I expected reading the previous reviews.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly and professional personnel willing to assist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bedroom bathroom is very small special the shower. One bedroom in the suite didn’t have a air conditioner.

    Very friendly and professional personnel willing to assist you on everything you may need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly met our expectations and our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Per ct location for our short stay requirements. Basic but Very clean comfortable rooms, location great and a really good cold buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    flawless air condition, pleasant and willing staff, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too small and little spacious fridge to have cold beers enough for early evening (after a trip around the island but before going to taverna)

    flawless air condition, pleasant and willing staff, location in the town, quite generous breakfast a la self-service with vegetables (tomato+pepper)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was hand-held only. Worse water temperature varied and at one point it was suddenly scalding hot. Only 4 hangers in wardrobe.

    Loved our sea-view balcony, spacious comfortable room and the breakfasts were good - the home-made cheese pies and home baked cakes were especially delicious. Staff were friendly welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Super Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight issue was the intermittent flushing of the toilet with very hot water. We reported it 3 times and on two occasions it was sorted for a short while, however as soon as we booked out the plumber was going to resolve the problem. (Room 160)

    Barbara went out of her way to help us - we initially had to book 2 separate rooms for our 3 night stay however Barbara arranged it so we were in one room for our whole stay. We had a front sea facing room with balcony and it was great to watch the harbour activity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay and will be returning for a third time next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi upstairs was a bit weak in our room and came and went. Downstairs was brilliant

    Great place to stay. Very clean, efficient and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfasts. Terrace overlooks harbour. Great to sit out and have breakfast and watch the coming and goings on the water. Just a few few hundred meters from the heart of the port, so you have convenience as well as quietness and wonderful views of the harbour. This is our second stay here. We thoroughly enjoy it. We were met by Michalis at the ferry and at the end of our stay he took us back to the ferry terminal. All done with a smile and good humour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient to the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We experienced no problems at all, and had no complaints.

    Excellent position within easy walking distance of the centre of Vathy. The room and bed was comfortable, the air-conditioning faultless, the breakfast adequate and the staff smiling and welcoming. Since we had booked a room with a sea view, it was especially pleasant to sit on the balcony, have a glass of wine and enjoy watching the world go by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely, Blooming Fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The shower could have been a bit bigger but given all the pluses this is a minor niggle.

    What's not to love about Ithaki. Vathy is the capital of the island and the Hotel Mentor is situated in the best place. My wife and I consider ourselves exceptionally lucky as this is the third time we've stayed at the Mentor, our previous visits being 2001, 2011, and we've been given the same room each time. When I made the booking I was informed that the only room available was a side one, I was happy with that but when we arrived we were given our favourite room, the top, middle one. This room gives you the most fantastic view over Vathy Bay. The Hotel Mentor is given 10 stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were so helpful and offered us an extra breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be better

    The staff were so helpful and offered us an extra breakfast ! The only slight negative was the WiFi was not so good. Otherwise it’s perfect !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect accommodation for a one night stay in Vathi . Great location overlooking the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view - great view over the harbour of Vathi. Room was bright, modern spacious, and very clean. air conditioning good. Bathroom good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location, horrible bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is in serious need of an update. It had a horrible smell that remained for our entire stay and there were big stains on the shower and a grubby shower curtain. We're a relatively short/petite couple and still found the shower, which was a strange thing split over two levels, far too small and difficult to manoeuvre in. The balcony was also very small, with no room for a table, but we were able to relax on the main terrace instead. We also felt the hotel was extremely poor value in comparison to our accommodation on Kefalonia. This was three times the price of an apartment in Agia Efimia, which had facilities that far surpassed this hotel.

    The location was great, right on the waterfront. Although we did feel it was a bit of an eyesore among the other pretty houses on the harbour. The room was big and bright and the breakfast had a fair amount of options. The terrace also provided a nice spot for an evening drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, sink was outside from the bathroom inside bedroom. Not value for money but I guess it's the only hotel in the area that's why it's so expensive. Staff changed the attitude when it understands we were from booking.

    Location location location. Freshly renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Just stayed for one night but would not have wanted to stay any longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people who were staying there were not very friendly and there were a lot of wasps about at breakfast but obviously neither of these problems was the fault of the hotel.

    The view was brilliant. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic sea view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no bung for the bathtub, so it could only be used as shower. There was no bung for the sink either, so it was difficult to pool water for washing.

    The view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Vathy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel could do with a revamp, but it's in such a great spot that it suited us well.

    Great location in easy walking distance of Vathy town, restaurants and swimming. Reception staff were extremely helpful and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    OK for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although slightly renovated, the hotel's rooms and facilities are very dated. You feel like you've traveled back in time. It reminded me of a school camp or hospital accommodations, e.g. very strict, modest rooms with just the very basis - enough to spend the night, but not enough for a comfortable stay. Definitely not worth the money they ask. The shower was too small and the water pressure was a problem.

    Central location, decent breakfast, great view from the room, extraordinary helpful staff. The receptionists also played the role of the concierge and were advising the best beaches, sights, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Ok but poor bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff didn't seem very happy with their lot,all except the blonde girl on reception who always met us with a smile, the bathroom was fine apart from a cracked mirror a shower curtain not cubicle,shower with no fixing to the wall and water pressure that is almost non existent.

    Location is excellent, rooms very modern and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't be happier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything but in particular the Staff and management who were extraordinarily thoughtful and helpful. They even delivered my husband's pills to another village when he left them behind. Great location, good value and wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is really cramped, with the shower being tiny, you can barely turn around in there. The breakfast is so and so. Nothing special. However, I admit that the price is very reasonable for what the hotel offers specially compared to others on the island.

    The location is the best thing this hotel has to offer. Amazing view of the Vathy bay from almost every room. The rooms are nice with new furniture and the size of the room (not the bathroom) is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location in central Vathi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very firm as were pillows - personal preference for something a little softer and not a problem really

    Great location in central Vathi. Clean rooms and easy to park outside the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    perfect location and view. nice room & balcony. friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom hard to manoeuvre (family room bathroom much bigger) but water hot with good pressure. No kettle in room.

    View, location, friendly welcome and upgrade for my father to sea view room as hotel was quiet. Breakfast was good continental selection. Firm beds. Mini fridge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, friendly owner and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the balcony was excellent and the location very close to the centre of Vathi. The owner provided lifts in the hotel's minibus. Very helpful if you do not have your own transport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Staff, Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2nd room of the family room does not have an air condition

    Excellent service, superb sea view, rich breakfast, renovated rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Cute hotel with lovely terrace and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    Nice room, cleaned every day, excellent breakfast, helpful stuff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    the island is fabulous the hotel is dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was dates and we paid more than what was advised on Booking.

    The view and the central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Location great. Staff very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was ordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillows were hard. Shower area did not come with a curtain which led to a pool of water after shower.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Very kind staff, excellent location, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff, excellent location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Mentor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great location and good service by all at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    The view from our room was just beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room was just beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great position, beautiful sea view. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel - comfortable rooms - great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel - comfortable rooms - great breakfasts. Helpful friendly staff. Highly recommend !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous views, comfy rooms, and nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small.

    The staff were extremely helpful. Our late dinner was still delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A lovely place to stay on a short trip to Ithaca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few minor defects mainly in the shower room.

    Beautiful setting on the front in the Port of Vathy. The view from the balcony was breathtaking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of mosquitos

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Amazing vue, good breakfast, perfect welcoming !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing vue, good breakfast, perfect welcoming !! We definitely would like to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    1. Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Convenient location 2. Excellent breakfast in a lovely balcony 3. Very helpful and kind staff 4. Spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic experience at this hotel.. highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, professionalism, cleanliness and friendliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay and enjoy Ithaca. Definetely recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a bigger shower tub.

    Excellent location, amazing breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    The only advantage is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room with air condition only in one room Small room The stuff was unpatient

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    The location and the staff are excellent, decent breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable

    The location and the staff are excellent, decent breakfast, wonderful views of Vathi bay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Really good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small shower

    Collected from ferry and free bus ride to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a tight squeeze, tricky if you are a big person

    Great location ,comfortable stay ,good breakfast ,welcoming staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit too small Shower could be better - larger

    Staff very kind and helpful Location and view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Best stay in Vathi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel with beautiful view of the port of Vathi.The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Yogurt and Galactoboureko, the very best!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Yogurt and Galactoboureko, the very best!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Nicest hotel I stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast. Lovely room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    A comfortable bed and lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit strange and no plugs.

    A comfortable bed and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Very good location and harbor view, right next to town's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location and harbor view, right next to town's main square. Easy parking. Friendly and efficient staff. The hotel itself is basic, but it's clean and everything works.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Late arrival ~ almost midnight ~ perhaps could provide instructions for use of air-conditioning given lack of staff availability and rather poorly air-conditioned room.

    Staff were friendly and responsive. Pleasant location for breakfast; scenic & fairly good quality nutrition. Good availability of internet.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    6.7
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was basic, shower/bath a challenge, some staff not that helpful, west facing room was extremely hot necessitating air con being on constantly even though the outside temperature was comfortable.

    Location; breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    6.7
    We stay at the front room,sο we had a wonderful view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no soundproofing, too much noise from the hallway and inside of the hotel,wifi was very bad (almost not working),small bathroom.No value for money.

    We stay at the front room,sο we had a wonderful view,friendly staff, great location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly checkin staff, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly checkin staff, very helpful. Location is perfect, 1 minute walk to all the action but the quietness of the corner of the town. Breakfast was decent.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    The location of Mentor hotel is amazing with an amazing view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of Mentor hotel is amazing with an amazing view enjoyed every morning whilst eating a lovely breakfast on the terrace. It was also much appreciated how on our arrival, having travelled a while and very tired, we were offered complementary breakfast and coffee while our room was being prepared. The rooms are great and spacious, we were lucky enough to be given a front balcony with the amazing view out over the bay

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.5
    The staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom! It was small, with a very poor layout and missing the shower curtain, which made using the bathroom as a family of 3 a nightmare! Accommodation is basic but the location makes up for it. Breakfast is plentiful but they could do with a bit of cooked breakfast, loads of sweet cakes but not enough of a savoury choice for me.

    The staff is friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be better, across the road from the Vathy port and within walking distance to supermarket and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Location was great, staff was friendly and very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit more pricey than I would have liked it, although it seems most hotes in Ithaca are more expensive. The breakfast could include coffee other than filter coffee (e.g. capuccino). Also there is no curtain in the shower, so the bathroom looks like a lake after a bath.

    Location was great, staff was friendly and very helpful, breakfast was very very nice. Also clean and comfortable rooms with great view.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    Very polite and helpful staff, percect location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor issues with soundproofing. A shower curtain could be a nice and convenient improvement.

    Very polite and helpful staff, percect location close to restaurants and bars, excellent breakfast with homemade pies and jams.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.3
    When I booked in was given a great room at the front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi for price you pay Uncomfortable beds You need new fridges as they don't cool drinks

    When I booked in was given a great room at the front of hotel as this was all that was available , but when I extended for 2 nights was placed in the back room that obviously needs updating , no wifi , a shower you couldn't even turn around in. Given that it was peak season and there was nowhere else to stay on the island then the stay was OK

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Very polite and helpfull staff even though it seems they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower too small! Soundproofing very poor!

    Very polite and helpfull staff even though it seems they are understaffed and have more than one task to do.Great location, great view. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, especially the young receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem related to the old layout of the hotel was the smal, shower and lack of curtains.

    Very friendly staff, especially the young receptionist Barbara. Good position on the waterfront. Very large rooms recently renovated

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Grande chambre confortable avec balcon et belle vue sur la...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Question à Booking: Est-il vraiment si difficile de prévoir un questionnaire en français? J'ai répondu au hasard à plusieurs questions parce que je n'ai pas la moindre idée de ce qu'elles peuvent vouloir dire ! Une seule chose gênante : la lumière sur le balcon reste allumée toute la nuit. Comme il n'y a pas de volets, il est impossible d'avoir dans la chambre une obscurité permettant un sommeil continu

    Grande chambre confortable avec balcon et belle vue sur la rade de Vathy Accueil agréable

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    We had a balcony with great views of the port area, so could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a balcony with great views of the port area, so could watch the comings and goings of yachts and people. Far enough away from the taverna area to avoid the noise, but only a few minutes walk. Breakfast more than adequate.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    8.8
    We had an incredible view of an amazing thunder and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't stay longer because, given that we were there in March, we were unable to rent a car to further explore the island and ferry service is a bit sporadic. Unfortunate, as we would have been happy to stay at the Mentor longer.

    We had an incredible view of an amazing thunder and lightening storm as it passed across the bay while we were safely ensconced in our room on the island of Odysseas' home. This was the perfect location to go walking and explore the village.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: