Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Firostefani, Firostefani, 84 700, Greece

#14 of 28 Holiday rentals in Firostefani

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Mill Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything like me !

    AmaZing location! The place is a dream ! The people at the mill house were se friendly ! Will our suit was exactly as in the photos ! Breakfast 10 points !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a central place to eat breakfast. I’m indecisive so having to choose my breakfast options the day before I did not like. However this is the best solution due to the set up. You’re built into the side of a cliff so large open spaces aren’t really an option.

    The bed was super comfortable. The view was amazing and I liked being slightly away from the bustle of Fira. The location was perfect and the hosts were more than accommodating. The airport shuttle was great but a little pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Mill Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place requires some renovations: top of jacuzzi tub was very damaged , bathroom tiles are old . Nothing to hold the shower hose, it claims to have a bar and there is none so you have to go buy your own stuff ...

    Exceptional location on the caldera. Walking distance to great local restaurants, to Fira center, to the cable car to Fira harbor. Service was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It exceeded all expectations! It honestly has the most incredible view and the hotel itself is beautiful throughout. The location is between everything and it’s so easy to park, in contrast to most other hotel areas on the island. We’d recommend seeing the sunset from the hotel over viewing it from Oia with the rest of the crowd. Eating breakfast overlooking the Caldera was also unforgettable! Bonus for upgrading us to a suite the first night (!!) and welcoming us with a whole bottle of Santorini wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the service was so good and super quick! the location was super nice and good for everywhere we went ! the VIEW was gorgeous. so relaxing place and nice breakfast. the rooms so extra and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exceptional staff. Front desk courteous, friendly and went out of their way to make it a special stay. Tatiana was specially helpful, a shout out to her!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You better like stairs. That's true of pretty much everywhere in Greece, but the property is about 100 steps down from the path along the cliff, so it's 100 steps up just to get anywhere else in Santorini. Doesn't bother me - I could definitely use the workout - but it's something to keep in mind.

    Amazingly helpful staff, great location overlooking the caldera, breakfast every morning, close to Fira. You don't even have to leave your room to get a great view of the sunset.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many stairs to climb.

    An excellent property, well maintained with very beautiful scenery. Staff were very warm especially the bell boy. Extremely helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a junior suite and did not expect that the bedroom could not fit a baby cot. Expected to sleep upstairs with baby in the cot downstairs. Very Rude people at the reception. Cant believe they did not have an electric kettle in the room. Even the cheapest hotel will provide that. If we needed hot water for any purpose, for baby etc. we had no go. Had to run to restaurants in the night to get hot water. No utensil provided to heat water as well. They were not even a little bit flexible with the check out timings. Most hotels I have stayed had 12 pm as check out time. These guys didn’t even let us stay till 11 30 am especially with heavy rains that morning and having a child. Totally insensitive inspite of many requests. No sign boards anywhere from the main road till the the inner most turn after climbing so many stairs. Cannot expect to rent a car from the airport and find the way your self until someone standing and waving at the main road in firostefani. No tables in the room. Extremely crampy. Not recommended for families at all. Spent a lot for a low season time and regret it whereas i could find better ones with atleast basic facilities for half the price.

    Just the view of the caldera from the balcony!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the hike up and down to the hotel but it was a good workout!

    the staff was very accommodating and the view, room and breakfast that was included was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main concierge was a mixture between being humorous and rude - which sometimes made us unsure whether he was having a joke or being disrespectful. Not a great welcoming!!

    Location and views were supreme

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited Greece for 12 days, staying at four different hotels. Three of the hotels were wonderful. The Mill Houses Elegant Suites was not, especially considering a room rate of $350 per night, or about what we paid at the other three places. Calling the accommodations “elegant suites” stretches the imagination. We stayed in a room with one window and a door, not a suite, unless the presence of a hot plate and a fridge was meant to qualify a “suite.” Also, there was nothing elegant about either the room or its furnishings, although that adjective did apply to the other three places we stayed. At the other three places we stayed in Crete, Santorini and Athens, the management was extremely gracious and helpful. This was not the case at the Mill Houses Elegant Suites.

    The view, like the view from nearly all lodgings in Santorini, is fine. But that hardly justifies the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the air condition coming out from our balcony.

    Such an amazing place to stay. We didn't even bother to go anywhere else to watch the sunset. It was so beautiful from the hotel. The pool area in general was very small but you don't really need more, it was never too busy. It was such a relaxing place with such nice staff I would definitely go back. We checked out and were supposed to go back to the hotel for another drink at the pool area but we didnt have time, and couldn't thank once again the staff for making our stay special. Thank you to the funny receptionist, Pilot for Ana for being so nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The location + caldera + sunset views exceptional. Breakfast choices/options more than plentiful. The "icing on the cake" was the exceptional warm, helpful and welcoming team of Leonidas & Panos in the front office and Pilot & Aeneas with daily breakfast and poolside service during the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a studio room, number 113 and our friends had 111 which was much bigger for the same money. 111 bathroom is double the size and the room could fit a couch. 113 was still a great room but you should be charged less money to stay there because the size is significantly smaller then the other studio rooms. The hotel is also spread down the side of the caldera with the studio rooms at the top, reception, pool and other rooms are lower down. I didn't have an issue with this but some people might if they are expecting all the facilities to be grouped together.

    Location was fantastic because you are just out of crowded Fira but an easy 15 min walk there. You felt like you were in your own private oasis without crowds of tourist exploring around you for photos. We had a studio room which gives you a balcony outside where breakfast was served every morning. It is also only a few meters from the main pedestrian walkway so if you don't want to hike up and down stairs to your room picking the studios is a good option. Breakfast was also great and it was super easy to organise things like car hire from the reception directly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - hotel was perfect for what we were after.

    The service was amazing. Transfer from the airport was able to be booked by the hotel, who then met us where the transfer dropped us. They took us on a short tour of the town to familiarise ourselves with the location before taking us to the hotel. The manager was very friendly and approachable and never complained about any requests. Despite having a studio room, it had arguably the best view in the hotel. The breakfast was amazing, and no matter what facility you used, you could always do it in privacy. The hotel was a short walk to a plethora of restaurants and bars, making it easy to relax while on holiday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely stay at Mill House suites and will definitely be reccommeding it to family and friends. Such a great little town, much quieter than Oía which we found a bit too busy and touristy. The staff were amazing, we had complimentary champagne on arrival while Pilot helped us with our bags-he was such a great guy! They prepared fresh breakfast delivered to our private balconies each morning and gave us water bottles everyday, finished with some chocolate on our last day. The views from Mill houses were breathtaking, surrounded by all the stunning white houses, and the best view of the ocean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have awarded a 10 for this stay and reassure anyone that it was practically faultless. I was hesitant to book this place owing to a couple of negative comments that I read on here and on trip. I am very particular about my accommodation but chose to go with the majority and book. We are all entitled to opinions of course but I was on a shared patio with guests who all seemed very pleased too. The manager and staff gave their all as a matter of course and we're always helpful and charming. I would recommend Mill Houses to all fellow 'fussy travellers' and to pass by anything negatively expressed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities are not very worthy with the price. Wifi is always out of reach.

    The staff is very friendly and nice. Eating breakfast with sea view is really great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is just "good". It is regrettable that there are no home-made products (like cakes or pastries for example)... But having our breakfast on the caldera with this view is incredible...!

    Rooms are cosy, quiet and clean and what about the view... just amazing ! We highly recommend these lovely place and would like to thanks the helpful and careful staff, especially Katerina who organized our wonderful days trip in Santorin with plenty of attention, excellent advice and highly professional way. Also the gentleman who carried our suitcases and was always extremely courteous, discreet and obliging. THANK YOU AGAIN for all these good moments.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel is well located with a magnificent view honestly I miss to have a breakfast facing the caldera and the agean sea. The staff are so kind and willing to help even without asking especially the two guys in the bar who basically do all the jobs also like serving breakfast help with bags and more things. I'd forgot their names but would like to send my regards to these men the one who served us breakfast and the one who took us to airport are very hard working men and I will definetly come back to the hotel if I visit santorini again. The hotel is well located in Firostefani it has a panoramic view few step to go down and you'll be surprised of what you'll see. Thanks you for making our stay wonderful <3

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    One of the best place that i have stayed in. We were on our honeymoon and we were trying to book a honeymoon suite but that wasnt available so we booked a normal room but someone had a cancellation and they upgraded our room to honeymoon suite and that too without any extra charge. The location is fantabulous,staff were courteous and nice and helpful. The people at reception were very Helpful they arranged everything for us be it vehicle on rent or the caldera tour and they even helped us with the map,marking locations Which we should visit. Will definitely stay here if i come back to santorini. Thnx guys for making it memorable for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good room with a perfect balcony to enjoy the view and relax, well located, with a great view of the caldera and the sunset. Different options for the breakfast, which is served by the pool. Nearby several restaurants and 15min walk from Fira.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !.

    We liked everything in the hotel. We had a very wonderful view of the sea from the Balcony. We stayed here for 2 days. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. I will definitely stay here again if i come to Santorini.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi speed was slow inside the room.

    It has perfect location with awesome views towards Aegean Sea. You can see the volcano from the balcony. All the in room furniture is very comfortable. Service is great along with a friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive even taking into account its standard and location

    Fabulous view. Great breakfast. Nice facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool. My view was obscured by power lines.

    Amazing staff, fantastic location, incredible service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was fantastic, beds comfortable,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have a beautiful Stay, Andreas and the girls Elefteria and Tatiana we make feel like family! Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WIFI

    Great location. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everything great location

    Staff Andres was a great asset to there staff friendly and very helpful with all our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of caldera

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe breakfast can be made better

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many steps. Also the junior suites have no bedroom view, however, the balcony outside is the best view anyway.

    View cannot be beat for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stuff Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long flight of steps made it rather difficult for people with small kids like us

    The caldera view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is ridiculously OVERPRICED!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is sherd with 2 rooms next to yours

    The room the view and breakfast at your room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great View! Very good breakfast on private balcony!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the place is perfect

    Amazing, can't wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location! Away from the hussle of Thira but close enough to walk if you wanted to. Reception very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good. Will come next time.

    Nice sea view with such a wonderful special stylish room and exclusive bath tube. Very helpful staffs who kindly picked us up and sent us from/to port/airport and helped deliver the luggages. Good location near the walking path along the cliff.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't fault Mill Houses and I would be happy to return.

    Very friendly, helpful staff- nothing was too much trouble, a warm chat was always forthcoming but privacy was always respected. Lovely location on Santorini's famous caldera with stunning views. Tucked away in Firostefani away from the touristy bustle of Fira but close to it's amenities. Easy to explore the whole island from here by car or bus. Beautiful accommodation- spotlessly clean with charming, simple decor.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room is not the same as in the picture from hotel website. Our room have a big terrace that cannot see any beautiful view. I was very disappointed with this hotel.

    Breakfast has lots of choice to choose.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Power went out twice possibly due to rain.our room was more like a hotel room not the " cave like " experience and quite removed from the main hotel complex.

    Views are amazing, shared balcony meant we met nice neighbours.easy access

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being a cave type hotel, the room suffered from a lack of ventilation. There was also an annoying intermittent drainage noise during the night. Breakfast is served all together so your bacon and eggs are cold, if you eat your cereal first. Otherwise it was very nice but I'm not sure we felt that we got value for money.

    The view was great. Location was great. Transport to the port was appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was smaller than a king-size bed as we know it in the USA. A small microwave would have been better to have in the kitchenette, rather than the old-style hot plate provided.

    The view, the staff, the service...everything about this facility was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are not up for walking up a number of steps a few times a day, then this place is not for you.

    We were greated at the airport by a friendly staff member, who brought us to the hotel, and was happy to carry our suitcase down the flight of stairs to the hotel. Chris (manager) greeted us at reception, assisted with checking in, then proceeded to show us our room. Chris was extremely helpful in organising trips, and giving us ideas of where to go for food and what to see. Room was perfect for what we needed, homely with comfort. Was also very good in keeping heat in the evenings

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.I booked the top suite and got the worst; the manager didn't admit that they'd made a mistake but excused the fact that I booked a 60sqmtr apartment with king size bed saying that they all aren't that big!!! 2. The time of year we stayed was off season and very little was available - no cruises/tours available, only 4 restaurants open on the whole island, very few shops open. Nothing to do - had it all seen in half a day. Left a day early!! 3. Restaurant and half our resort closed. This was not explained on the website or after we'd booked!! 4. The huge amount of stairs we needed to navigate to get to the apartments, at east 100mtr drop from road. The guys who carried out our bags had to stop half way for a breather and they do this all the time!! Not to mention anyone who has a knee, hip, agility problem would never be able to navigate these stairs.

    Not much - the "view" was great, didn't get charged the full price (after making it clear for the 2 days we were there that we were not impressed!!)

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and view - both wonderful - breakfast facing the sea with the best view in the world. Staff are great - nothing too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Manager & his team are excellent and helpful... Nice and friendly... Definitely will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, great staff

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi sometimes is weak!

    Nice staff!!!friendly and warm! very good view!! We spent 4 days stay here and feel very satisfied!!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: