Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Minos Beach Art Hotel 5 stars

Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, 72100, Greece

#19 of 71 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 173 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The cleaning of the room was not up to 5 star standard, although not bad either. We were pestered a lot on our day of departure, starting with a knock on the door at 8am to check the mini-bar, closely followed by a porter asking if our bags were ready to go yet, then a cleaner just waltzed in assuming we were gone, all before 9:30am, we weren't leaving until 10:30am. We found this intrusive and unnecessary.

    The breakfast buffet was the best we had ever seen with everything you could want and a lot more besides, including a chef station where you could get freshly cooked omelettes, fried and poached eggs, quality back bacon plus pancakes. The whole place has a feeling of calm and tranquillity, never feeling busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel, it ticked all the boxes as a group of friends away together. The staff were friendly and helpful, the layout of the grounds are beautiful, we were lucky to be upgraded and got our own pool. It is a ten minute walk into town which has a very pretty lagoon with lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Waterfront
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lady at front desk getting us checked in and sorting out the bill was rude and left a negative impressive of the hotel. Big shame as the rest of the staff were pleasant. - Property and location of room right next to water felt 5 star, but the tiny cabin shower didn’t feel 5 star.

    Beautiful waterfront property. It’s amazing to be able to wake up next to the water and be able to jump right in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room service food quality wasn't that great.

    We had a little cottage a stone's throw from the water. To wake every morning and look out to the rising sun would take your breath away. The breakfast was very nice. The staff were excellent - they couldn't do enough for us and our little dog. And the grounds were a pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely location and friendly, helpful staff, just a shame so much of the site was closed during our stay. We may have reviewed our options had this been more apparent during booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were four hotel restaurants, one closed on our 3rd day and another was closed in the evenings (- last week of the season). The remaining two shared much of the menu and while the selections sounded good we found the food a bit institutional - perhaps catering for the all inclusive and not cheap so we chose to eat out most evenings - several excellent and varied restaurants are within easy walking distance or a 15 minute car ride to Elounda for many more.

    Fabulous situation on the sea looking out to two islands. Two private beaches - partly sand & shingle. Many villas had their own waterfront. Big swimming pool with lifeguard in attendance. Gym & spa with excellent masseuses. The grounds were lovely and well kept and there were many ‘modern’ sculptures/art works. Staff all friendly and helpful. Excellent illustrated free talk one morning on Cretan mythology - from an expert. The town has a fascinating history and geography! The harbour flows under a bridge into a lake known as the bottomless lake with very high cliffs on two sides and restaurants around and on high. There is a wide variety of tourist and quality shops and artisanry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that some of the sun beds are reserved for certain bungalows should be explained upon arrival.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location with lovely grounds to wander through and enjoy. The works of art add another interesting dimension to the place too. The staff are most pleasant and attentive. The breakfasts are superb and cater for all tastes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to ask for decent coffee machine as nescafe seemed to be standard even in superior rooms!

    Sea at door! And the upgrade to an executive villa with private pool for last 3 nights....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to complain about this place, it was magical!

    I loved everything about this place. If I go back to Crete I definitively stay at Minos. Service was amazing all the little details, the hotel is beautiful, really the best hotel I've stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The beach bar sandwich selection was very limited. The room service menu was much better but you could not order it at the beach bar. Why not ? We were both amazed by the "towel raiders" , mostly "baby boomers (65+)", on the beach mates. Although they are signs that the Management would remove the towels they never did.

    Very good breakfast. The whole property was very well maintained. The bedroom A/C worked well and was quiert.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the food at the hotel was average. Our bathroom was very basic and not up to standards; painted cheap tiles, small shower head...

    We stayed in one of the seafront bangalows and had a semi private access to crystal clear water which was lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Waterfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As mentioned I can actually only mention one thing they could improve and that is to not clean our room so many times (some days 3x a day).

    We absolutely LOVED this place! Our villa with private pool (#27) overlooking the ocean was what dreams are made of. We got this upgrade because we were on our honeymoon. A great surprise. The staff was super friendly and the food which could be delivered at home any time was spot on! The cocktails we had at the seafront were amazing and the lobster night at their award winning restaurant we will not forget! The only thing I could mention for "improvement" was that our room was cleaned too often which we thought is not really necessary. But hey, if that's all...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Waterfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only one complaint is the slow service at the beachside restaurant. Other than that it was a real gem.

    Peaceful and tranquil place; a real oasis in a great location near to the centre. Breakfast was fab too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very pretty hotel just out of the centre. Nice selection of restaurants. Very friendly staff. Nice private balcony shaded from the very hot sun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow Seafront
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pay attention to your room booking, as there are several room times that sound very similar but are different (water view versus water front). I think the shower stalls are very bizarre and poorly designed, but I had good, hot showers with strong water pressure. I wish the rooms had windows facing the water. Most do not. The part of the resort I stayed in is close to a rather busy road and you hear some road noise and club noise, depending on time of day and night of the week. I did not see anyone working at the pool bar and there was quite a bit of trash and empty cups around the pool in the afternoon, with no staff around. That should not be the case at a resort like this.

    I stayed in a waterfront bungalow (93) and would never pick a different room type, although it looks like other rooms are lovely with views. You could swim just out the door to the room and it was gorgeous. Although you had neighbors who were visible, you each have your own sun beds and veranda. The room was small but spotless. It had everything you need. It might be a little cozy for two, but doable. Breakfast is fantastic and the pool is also very nice. The grounds are gorgeous and the restaurant Bouillabaisse was also fantastic. Although most of the hotel is situated on rocky outcropping, the resort has a sandy beach that is easy to access. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff were gracious and helpful. The hotel is close to town but very relaxing and quiet. I arrived by public express bus from Heraklion, which was very easy. I then took a taxi from the bus station to the hotel for a few euro. I did pay for a private transfer, booked online to save a few euro over the hotel price, to get to a morning ferry on time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a very inferior downgrade and would not be entertained until we showed proof- lucky we were thorough and brought booking print out with us. Poor management. Gym directly in the day spa area 1m from spa desk. Many parts need upgrading. Cleanliness not to 5 star standard. Many parts of gardens not well maintained and full of weeds. Beach is fairly grimey. Bathrooms poor quality and old with cheap/ tacky fixtures. Toiletries were never replaced unless asked. Welcome bottle of wine and fruit basket were removed the next day when we received the room we actually paid for. Not a generous hotel. Food quite average quality especially the room service. Terrible beds. Value not great. Definitely not 5 star. Many aspects are 3 star at best. Management fooling itself, it's staff and patrons if they think otherwise.

    A good location in Agios Nikolaos. Many parts are 4/5 star quality and pretty. Very nice pool. Most of the staff was very good. Great entertainment for Greek night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weather. I'm afraid we left it a bit late in the season for our visit.

    Comfortable room with excellent balcony vista. Hearty and generous breakfasts. Seaside location. Convenient 10 minute walk to town with its variety of shops and restaurants. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The clientele is mainly of the upper age bracket but the are few facilities that help them. No rails in the bath/ shower , the pathways are very uneven and in places badly lit. If allocated an accommodation some distance from the main hotel the use of the "buggy" is essential.

    The staff are very accommodating , polite and above all helpful. The situation is very pleasant and relaxing,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why don't more hotels have 2 double beds - as in America ? One of us ended up on a sofa bed ; beautiful room but not quite as good as it could have been

    Location is great ; probably best Hotel within walking distance of Ag Nik . Loved the space around the gardens and bay side; all very beautiful and peaceful; the staff are excellent and the whole place feels good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    We liked everything about this hotel. The location, decor, staff, the views. Entertainment was also good, especially Cretan night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like many hotels the food was a bit over-priced compared to local restaurants.

    Superb outlook, beautiful grounds and coastline. Lovely swimming in sea or large pool. Very helpful staff. Was very windy but still able to find a sheltered spot to sun bathe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow Seafront
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We had to leave!!

    The location of the hotel and the friendliness of all the staff. It was like staying at your own private villa but with all the added bonuses of staying in a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Property was beautiful. The lovely places to sit beside the sea, the sculptures, the pool and view from the room was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to complain about

    every thing was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lovely location, quiet and peaceful. Staff helpful and non-intrusive. Very nice property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Seafront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent resort. Cannot recommend highly enough.although beautiful it was the staff that made the stay so enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like.

    The The grounds were super beautiful garden well capped and two beautiful private beach codes to swim out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa needs a face lift and so does the room interior design.

    Super relaxed hotel; great breakfast; lovely beach with different sitting setups.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was close together - rooms, beach, pool, dining areas so it was very relaxing, peaceful and beautiful. Staff is attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool - SeaFront
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not even a single thing.

    Staff were friendly and smiling all the time. Food was great. We enjoyed every moment and definetly will visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Waterfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult I ended up parking in the road mostly

    Landscape and design of all facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved the peaceful atmosphere and the location, just a short walk to all the restaurants in Agios Nikolaos

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow Seafront
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Waterfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurants were horrible.

    Location is fantastic and gardens beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms old

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was superb the Art work in the garden the gardens the breakfasts the hotel cats The staff The hotel clothes shop

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Proximity to the sea. Good size villa. Good choice of restaurants. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Seafront Bungalow with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly

    Not enough luxury for the price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Main Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent location, beauty everywhere! Excellent breakfast. The staff is amazing:)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no drawers enough to put clothes.

    Location in the city, the beach, breakfast... Kindness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our room, the lighting at the dressing table is too dim.

    Every aspect of our stay was wonderful! We have travelled all over the world since 1960, have stayed in many categories of hotel, B&Bs, etc. etc. and have never given any other facilities such a high rating. From the site planning, architecture, landscaping, art works around the property to the interiors, furniture and furnishings in the public areas as well as the individual units are all tastefully done. As both my husband and I are retired architects, we are very sensitive to all the details that make a facility like this work well. All the people we have had contact with throughout our stay, from the bellboy to reception to dining room servers to the housekeeping staff, have been friendly, helpful and efficient. We must return for a longer stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The majority of Facilities advertised were Closed and we were not advised of this when booking. Also very poor breakfast both in presentation, quality and all cold

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If a person has a wish, it's not so much difficult for him to find bad things in everything and everywhere. I do not have such a wish.

    I felt in the hotel like I was in my lovely little country house many years ago when I was a little girl.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are firm but we got used to it, to the extent we know think our bed at home is probably too soft.

    Great location with private beaches. Own beach house makes it feel very spacious as a resort hotel. Excellent, friendly staff and housekeeping outstanding. At least two room services a day (very discrete as we only had a knock on the door once) and sometimes three. Great breakfast with a very wide choice. Choices to eat on site but good restaurants nearby and in the town centre (easy walk).

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleaning services can be better

    The location is just perfect. Fabulous views of the sea from everywhere. Facilities are great and everything is very beautifully designed.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi charged at 6€ per hour I found the bed very hard and it gave me back ache but my husband was not bothered by it

    Beautifully decorated and maintained Good food charming staff Really loved it.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area was incredibly quiet, just what I needed. The swimming facilities, both coastal and pool, were superb.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: