Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Minos Hotel 4 stars

5 Machiton Schollis Chorophilakis, Rethymno Town, 74100, Greece

#31 of 50 hotels in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Rethymnon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some aspects of the hotel that makes it look a bit old (like the carpet). The coffee in the breakfast can be highly improved.

    The rooms are big and the beds very comfy. We had a very nice balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Although only for one night, wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a free upgrade to a brand new part of the property. This room was exceptional. more like a small apartment. Very nice. Good location to the beach two blocks away. Easy and interesting walk into the Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Best holidays ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad.

    Everything was perfect! Location, service, staff, breakfast , room. Everybody made us feel like home. I highly recommend it! I will definitely come back! Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel with very friendly staff. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our room was on the side of a road so we could hear the traffic during the night.

    We were upgrated from a superior room to a suite; so our room was quite big. The room had view on the swimming pool. When we arrived we were welcomed with juice. A porter brought our baggage to our room. Breakfast was a very complete extended buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    A very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we arrived the exchange rate had changed which increased the cost of our stay: on reflection we'd rather have paid at the time of booking. Also, our room was located above the kitchens which was not ideal in the mornings when they were preparing breakfast.

    There is a direct bus from Chania airport to the town, and the same to Heraklion too - very convenient. Staff were very friendly and the food was generally very healthy. The hotel was much better located for getting to the town than the other hotels that are further east along the coast. It is a nice walk from the town, but this won't suit everyone and some would prefer to catch the bus instead. The hotel was very quiet despite it being busy - this was very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Small room. No power socket on one side of the bed. No "do not disturb" sign. Room service entered room while we were in a bath, didn't wait long enough after knocking for me to come to the door. Had to ask for a bath drain plug. Awkward shower at the end of a bath where you had to stand close to curved area, requiring to be careful to not slip and fall. Shower didn't have a curtain or shield, making all toilet wet. The safe was with a lock, not a code, thus requiring to carry it around. Smoke detectors in the ceiling had to red blinking lights illuminating the room during night and disturbing sleep. Fridge did not have a freezer.

    Nice breakfast and dinner with plenty of different options to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    The room was lovely, there are two separate pool areas which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in the rooms are limited to 24 degrees, which was not cold enough. It would be nice to have more control.

    The room was lovely, there are two separate pool areas which was good and the staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Chris and Pat September 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the evening until after midnight.

    The location was good for the town and easy to get onto the national road. The hotel has free parking. The food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a very relaxing week at the hotel. The selection for the breakfast menu was extensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been good if towels were available at the poolside

    The staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms Probably a comfy unit....30 years ago Very small twin room

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    super nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI is horrible!

    super nice hotel! very nice stuff, big indoor swimming pool. great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    An average hotel for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been friendlier. The breakfast nicer. Room could had been quieter.

    The room was good and the beds comfortabl.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not all comfy and we had to change room. Breakfast not brilliant

    The swimming pools

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Location, cleanliness and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness and comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The impressive trees and plants made very nice surroundings and add greenery to the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    fine!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK! Looks better than expected at 1st glance!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff were all so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Excellent. Close to beach and a good stroll to the harbour and old town. Thank you to all staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi could be better The door at the bathroom is very nice,made of glass, but doesn't give you the privacy you need because when you close it there is still gap.

    Nice food Very very clean

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very very poor wifi

    staff was very friendly. even though we were given corner room with no view the room at least was spacious. breakfast was good with variety of food.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Courteous staff with good understanding of English, clean,...
    • Family with older children

    Left our coats in the rush to get to the hospital, couldnt use the pool early in the morning as they were cleaning it, and our stay wasnt long enough!

    Courteous staff with good understanding of English, clean, excellent food and facilities. good central location with easy routes and proximity to the local beaches.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly personnel, always happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you care about having a reliable Internet connection via WiFi then probably this is not the best hotel to stay at :)

    Very friendly personnel, always happy to help. Also, the pool area is nice (a bit noisy due to the proximity of a busy road, though) and the car park is indeed a big plus if you're traveling by car. There was even soy milk at breakfast time for those who have to stay away from lactose! :)

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Great breakfast and dinner in form of buffet, different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi signal in rooms Dinner dress code for men not mentioned on Booking - long trousers are required, which is tiresome during summer weather

    Great breakfast and dinner in form of buffet, different dinner menu every day, e.g. fish day, Greek day, Italian day Clean and comfy rooms Close to the sea, just 3 mins walk Great pool with sunbeds Free air con

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    We had parking which was convenient breakfast was great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The male staff who wax on late afternoon was very curt to me when I asked for the wifi password

    We had parking which was convenient breakfast was great and staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    Good breakfast and big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Good breakfast and big rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    decor is very tired - this hotel needs a makeover

    central location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast is excellent as well as the personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too expensive for the comfort it offers, Bathrooms are very small and wifi is very poor.

    Breakfast is excellent as well as the personnel.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    A little far from old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from old town

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    colazione super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi connection free in the rooms

    colazione super

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi had very poor performance

    Excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.8
    The hotels is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotels is clean and comfortable. Good location, about 15 min walk to the harbour along the front.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: