Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Vardia 3 stars

Odyssea Elyti 2-4, Chania Town, 73133, Greece

#23 of 71 hotels in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our holiday was too short :)

    We were a little bit nervous as this was the first holiday with our baby, but from the check-in we felt at home thanks to the super care of the family. From the grandparents to the grandsons everyone was always ready for us - it was a perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great family run hotel. The food would bring tears to your eyes, it was that good. it was a nice quiet place to get away from it all. It was not to far from Downtown if you decided to walk (which we did), About 3 miles to old town. Taxis are quick and cost about 8 Euros to get to downtown. The owners were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself is a bit outdated, but that also gives the place its charm.

    Nice family hotel. Staff was very welcoming and super friendly. Breakfast with freshly baked bacon and eggs!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff/hosts were amazing. Extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great as was the dining room in which we enjoyed two nights of delicious food. Great experience and highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a second stay in this hotel after the three years. Again, it was superb stay! Specific thanks to lady owner Eleni, you are so warm! The hotel had an extensive renovation in recent years, we were really surprised how it looks in nowdays. Well done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best part of Monte Vardia is the staff. They are so welcoming and kind and willing to help their guests. They make you feel like family. It’s an incredible place to stay and the facilities are clean and lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendly welcome in this family run hotel close to the airport made our first night in Crete feel great. They accommodated our late arrival and helped with taxi to our n t stop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airport road is somewhat noisy, which was not a problem in our room, but then there was a noisy air conditioning next door.

    When we arrived, there were very few guests and we were received like royalty. We had a wonderful dinner on the 2nd floor terrace with its spectacular view at the sunset over Chania bay. The hotel is ideally situated, close to the airport and to the Akrotiri peninsula with its beaches and monasteries, but with easy access to the old town of Chania. Large and beautiful swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a superb stay at Monte Vardia for a week. The hotel is a lovely place to stay, and has a good location, but we needed to get a taxi/bus down to Chania town centre, as it is a bit far to walk down, but we knew that before our stay. The receptionist was always happy to book us a taxi which arrived in minutes. The staff gave us plenty of advice on what was around Chania for us to check out. The hotel comes with a lovely balcony where it provides an amazing view of Chania. The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and the bed was a dream to sleep in. The family that own Monte Vardia provided first class service, and were very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent throughout, and came with plenty of variety. We were asked every morning what we wanted cooked, such as scrambled eggs with bacon, which they brought over in quick time. One day we went to trek down the Samaria Gorge, and as it was a very early start, the staff organised packed breakfast for us to take, which was delicious and plentiful. We really appreciated that. The swimming pool is massive and very well maintained, and it was never busy, so it was easy to get sunbeds. It was an incredibly holiday at Chania, and we are very happy that we went to Monte Vardia. We will be back no doubt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk not always manned, but Eleni or Christina not too far away. Hotel will need some updating but owners have advised currently in progress.

    A family run hotel, two sisters Eleni & Christina were just a breath of fresh air to deal with, easy going and very helpful when required. They also helped us with the hire of our car which was the cheapest rate found while in Greece. Simply ask them and will be more than happy to assist. Directed us to local cafe that was popular with locals. Elena at the bar also a great host, l have to say my wife and l enjoyed our Ouzo at the Monte Vardia bar surrounded by very good people. The premises is spacious and pool is very well maintained, rooms also good size. Continental breakfast an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did know it so didn't come as a surprise but you need to take bus to Chania - about 10-15 min. and about 2 euro pp. Taxi is a possibility too.

    Super nice pool and fantastic staff! Walking distance to some nice restaurants and a 24 hour shop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived very late due to a flight delay and the host was incredibly warm and accommodating and even sorted out sandwiches for us ! Would highly recommend and it's very close to the airport which is handy if you're flying early or late.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel only for 1 night and we chose it due to the location:very close to the airport. The private parking was convenient,the room was big and the bed very comfortable. The welcome drink together with the chocolates was a very nice surprise. The owner was truly very friendly and helpful. All in all, we recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Family hotel, extremely helpful people, warmful, we (father + 2 young teens) felt extremely confortable and have enjoyed. Very close to Chania and most of places in the west.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This family-run hotel is an excellent choice for any traveler that expects: - great accommodation and clean room - exceptionally good service - amenities, like big pool, balcony, breakfast and dining - proximity to grocery store - transportation The hotel is situated 10 min by taxi or 20. Min by local bus from Venetian Port. The distance from downtown provides larger pool area as well as more space in the hotel and around the grounds, which look like in the picture. The grocery store is next door as well as several good restaurants within walking distance. Expect an exceptional service from all members of the family that runs the business and its employees. I would definitely stay there next time I am on vacation in Chania.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should have stayed here longer

    Great stay with wonderful staff, especially Eleni would do EVERYTHING to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Lovely spacious rooms. Fantastic city views from the terrace. Brand new cafe with great food. The swimming pool was perfect with plenty of available sunbeds. Bus number 18 runs directly to town center, but otherwise just ask in reception and you will get all the help you need. Even in the room, there was plenty of material on excursions in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains

    Awesome place to stay for as long as you can. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful and spacious room. Big swimming pool to enjoy a nice time, not crowded at all. Located between the Akrotiri peninsula and Xania, close to a lot of beautiful places. Helene, the owner, is amazing with her attention and advises. Thanks a lot! Thank you Dimitris for your advises about this fantastic island and it's hidden jewels. They all made our stay a great experience, visiting Crete. Don't miss the hotel restaurant! The best salads we tried!!!! I'm not kidding! Thank you Martha!! Awesome cook! Hope to see you again soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    The hotel was awesome, hotel staff excellent,they looked after from the day we got to the hotel to when we left, pool, food breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is out of town but access is easy by local bus or taxi. Couple of restaurants just minutes stroll away both excellent. This hotel is on a busy road but not an issue for us.

    Excellent family run hotel addition of a bistro area this year great improvement. Second visit for us would recommend. The pool area is brilliant.!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel is excellent. The beds are large and comfy, our room was spacious with 2 balconies, 1 overlooking the swimming pool and in the distance the mountains, the other balcony looked out over the forest, bathroom was spotless. The owner Helen, her family and staff couldn't bee more helpful. Every morning the breakfast they supply is delicious, pancakes, eggs, bacon,sausage is all prepared individually, fruit, cold meats everything in abundance. We cat recommend this hotel enough, we enjoyed it so much we are going again next year.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was delicious! The reception staff and restaurant staff were top notch and so personable. We only stayed for one night before we traveled further into Crete and honestly could've stayed there for our entire holiday. Our young daughter was made to feel so special and we could not have asked for a better first night in Crete

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my partner and I arrived early evening and felt welcome from the staf. too tired to eat out,we sat at the hotel's newly renovated restaurant "GEMS" and had an amazing dinner. Neat atmosphere and staf!!!! We'll be back for longer next time. thanks for everything. ..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night with our two young children after landing late in the evening at Chania airport, before collecting a hire car to journey around the island. The receptionist was waiting up for us, and made us feel welcome despite the late hour. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and quiet, and the black-out blinds effective. Breakfast by the pool was lovely, and we enjoyed the pool itself. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we could easily have stayed for longer.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs serious renovation. Breakfast is very limited. It needs serious improvement compare to price .

    Lady at the reception desk is very helpfull and kind very sweet person. And view from room was really good.Hotel is Located 15minute drive by Car to City center of Chania..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a place to stay near the airport for one night as our flight arrived at 2AM. When we got to the hotel at 2:30AM, everything was ready and we were in bed and sound asleep in no time. All in all, the spacious family suite was perfect for us. We naturally over-slept the breakfast, but it was no problem: we were served a full breakfast anyway. The staff was extremely friendly and ready to help. The place seemed worth a longer stay. Perhaps the next time.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to busy road, but no noise during the night. You need a car to go to Chania.

    Fine hotel with great pool near Chania. Short drive to the center. Close to airport.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little bit noisy, cause of the near street.

    Wonderful, friendly owners and cru. Great terrace view, deep blue swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thanks Miss Eleni and Miss Maria for all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming ! Everything is done to make you comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern decor and furniture. Great views from the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hosts who gave us the best recommendations for dinner and places to visit. Completely made our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Very heipful Even lent me money until I went to atm Very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really

    Relaxed atmosphere, pleasant and helpful, Outside are ,pool and general cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all fabulous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really friendly, helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amazing service, staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff and warm welcome. Large and comfortable family room. All accommodations on site. Very large and pleasant swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great hotel, super view and pool area, very close to main town-20 min by car

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very very Nice .. NeXT time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view,spacious and clean room,very friendly and helpful staff,nice pool area,free WiFi in all areas,filling breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and nice service at the reception. Wonderful deep pool 2.85 m and nice poolarea. Great location to catch early morning flight.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is by a very busy road, it's a bit noisy

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be better considering the cost of the room.

    Great friendly staff. Great location with view of the city. Easy parking. Big bed but 2 different mattresses.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower room was cramped, which was odd as the bedroom was spacious.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff - family run. Fruit basket and wine in room on arrival. Excellent breakfast in large room overlooking pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing realy except the Bar /Resteraunt was not open it was being fully refurbished.

    Great Hotel, with 5 Star staff. Spacious rooms all with balcony,TV ,fridge, micro wave oven ,fresh fruit bowl, well-situated to Chania and the Airport, with beautiful views of the Venetian harbor from the glass balcony and views of the city , you can relax and watch the Sun Set over Chania, Great breakfast, attractive vegetation surroundng a huge outdoor pool, and free pool table, make this hotel the perfect place to stay in Chania. Taxi service just outside the Hotel, 8 euro to Chania, Bus stop just accross the road. Newly renovated Bar area open April and will be serving hot meals.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Liked everything

    Warm and friendly welcome.I was late but they made me a delicious omelette and brought it to my room which they had warmed up especially for me. Couldn't have been happier.Room was big, airy and in summer overlooked a beautiful garden and swimming pool. A very relaxing place for a holiday and I will go for longer next time.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendlyness, service, everithing was Kept clean. A Nice pool (big ) beautiful garden with lounge chairs. There were terrasses with grand vieuws. Also breakfast with fresh orange jeice.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is remote to town center, so better have a car when staying here

    Owner was awesome. left sandwiches and fruits for us since we went to Samaria Gorge. Was very helpful and warm. location is very quiet

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was lovely

    We arrived very late and were greeted warmly. we went to our room which was superb and then asked if we would like a drink. We have a beer each delivered to us and relaxed on the balcony - brilliant service.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing comes to mind

    The best hotel we've stayed in during our travels. The people are amazing and they took care of our little family the entire time especially since our flight was rescheduled. We considered it our home away from home. The wifi was excellent and our room was cleaned everyday. The breakfast was great and the view they had waiting for us was spectacular especially when the sun sets. Close to the airport and there is a little market and a bakery right beside it. The location is perfect. We didn't want to be in the downtown area as we are not a big fan of busy traffic and crowds and this place is maybe a 10-15 min. drive to downtown at most. We get the best of both worlds, we get to shop and roam around during he day and we get to go home to a relaxing and quiet atmosphere. When we are in Crete again, we are booking a room in this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pictures on booking.com are misleading. The hotel is situated right aside the main road between Chania and the airport. It is very loud. The hotel was built in the 1970s and still looks and feels like that. Wifi is bad.

    The personal is very nice and supportive.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot praise this hotel and its staff more highly. We went there for our honeymoon and the staff went out of their way to make our stay very special. The hotel is a short taxi or bus ride away from the centre of Chania (about 10 minutes). The hotel has the most spectacular views of the marina from their balcony; it’s the most perfect spot to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine. It is very clean; has good facilities and the pool is never overcrowded. There are a variety of options for breakfast; I am gluten free and the hotel ensured that I had gluten free bread, cornflakes, biscuits etc. This hotel is run by a family who really look after you and give you great tips on the best trips to take and the best restaurants within Chania. Monte Vardia, is a very special place and we can’t to go back. Sarah and Krystian

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't find anything I did not like

    I like the hotel. The room were very clean above everything Wher the worm hospitality that we received from the hotels managers and stuff which were very very warm and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is more far from Chania than I thought and there are no restaurants close to the hotel (about 20min walk).

    The views of Chania were wonderful and the bedroom was wide and nice.The swimming pool was open also in the evening. We were waking up very early in the morning and the staff prepared a great take-away breakfast for us.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very friendly and helpful; the pool area was gorgeous, with great views of Chania; and the breakfast was so delicious- made to order eggs and bacon, and a large and excellent selection of other food items. The hotel is located on a busy corner, but it is close to the airport and in short driving distance from some of the best beaches on the island.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely fantastic.The staff are second to none,no request are left unanswered,local knowledge is superb, always warm and friendly.All rooms both public and bedrooms are finished to a very high standard and are immaculately clean. The grounds are tended with meticulous care and precision.A superb large free style pool is a joy to behold and enjoy.The view from the terrace of Hania town and Harbour are breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't book it if you don't have a car. You will forced to use buses to reach anything. Canteen is not so modern, but good enough.

    Great view on the city and sea. Modern rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We travelled with our 8 year old daughter and had a wonderful stay here. The pool was a major plus, well taken care of and a lovely way to spend the morning lounging and swimming before we left to sight see. The staff were so friendly and ready to help. We had accidentally booked one extra night which they kindly did not charge us for. I would definitely stay again at such value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Travel back to Sweden :)

    The Staff was just amazing. The location is perfect, short drive to nice beaches and only 10-15 minutes from the airport. Taxi cost only 8-10 euro to Chania town.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing we didn't like was we had to leave that place.

    The staff was very friendly. Specially Eleni and Christina are the best hosts ever. Very helpful and professional. We really felt like being at home. The hotel itself was amazing with nice facilities and beautiful views of the town. Easy access to Chania town and the airport. Public transport to and from this hotel to go to places was very convenient and frequent. You don't have to travel far to find some great restaurants. Look for Nymfus restaurant. One of the best we have been to. Overall one of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located on a road with some traffic noise, personally we had no issue with this.

    Friendly staff nothing too much trouble, lovely family run hotel with a great pool area, very clean, good size rooms and best aircon ever.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the way they made you so welcome they could not do enough for you nothing was too much. We have traveled a lot but never experienced such kindness and generosity as this family run hotel gave us.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got excellent tips of places and restaurants to visit. The large swimming pool was really enjoyable. The breakfast was much appreciated, with fresh orange juice, homemade pies and greek yogurt with honey. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experiences, but as hotel is a little way out of town, it would possibly benefit from putting on a bus service for customers. However very easy to get to town and the beaches for approx 8 euros in a taxi. More sunbeds around the pool would be useful too. Could do with some slight modernization in the future

    Friendly staff & owners, simple but decent breakfast. Rooms are clean with plenty of room when compared with others. Swimming pool is excellent. Location is fairly peaceful with nice gardens. In easy reach of town by car or taxi. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little out of Chania town so a car/taxi is necessary.

    Lovely hotel with an amazing pool and other facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was spacious. Definitely recommended for families and couples.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a brilliant stay at this family run friendly hotel. The family genuinely cared and wanted you to have an enjoyable stay. It is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and the best service I have received, I would definetly go back here and would highly recommend it ! The views from the balcony on the second floor (shared balcony, but are individual balconies in the rooms) are incredible. The pool is lovely and the whole hotel is very clean and well looked after I cannot fault this hotel and wish that I had booked to stay for 2 weeks. There is a lot to do here and so many beautiful beaches too!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A number of Barking dogs at night but could have just been the night we were there.

    Super views above Chania. Very friendly staff. Nice pool but it wasn't the weather for swimming. Good location for Chania, the airport and Souda for the ferries. Great shower.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor is a little tired.

    As our flight arrived after sunset this hotel was convenient for our first night in Crete. Near to the airport - not too far to drive in an unfamiliar hire car. Great view of Chania from the balcony in our room and also the 2nd floor terrace. There is a very good pool and garden area and although the road is nearby it did not detract from this. There is a grocers and bakers shop next door and not wanting to drive again we had some food in a cheap and cheerful restaurant across the road.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eleni and the others in the hotel are so helpful and friendly. The hotel is on the edge of town but a quick bus ride will take you into the heart of Chania without stress or parking problems. The rooms and facilities are really good value. Looking forward to our next stay there later this year.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners are very caring and make sure your stay is the best. It's well situated to visit Chania and the beaches. It also has a lovely big pool and great views of the city. Helene recommended and organised our trip to Samaria Gorge which was a true highlight. The bus picked us up and dropped us back at the hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    We arrived after midnight during easter ceremony in greece, we were still able to check in. The staff was incredeblly nice. She arranged a nice room even before arrival. The furneture was new. Room and bed were big and comfortable. The room has a balcony and the hotel has a good size public balcony with nice view also for sun bathing :) The staff was really nice, welcoming and so helpfull. She makes your stay even more pleasant. She is keen to suggest tourist tips. The hotel location is great. It seemes renovated recently. Also it has a pool table. We were glad we have stayed there.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family runing this hotel was just simply wonderful. Very warm, friendly people helping you to find the best tavern or advising what to see in area. The room was cosy, comfortable, food fresh and delicious. Just a perfect stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road crossing at the hotel entrance is busy and visibility limited.

    Monte Vardia hotel has a very friendly atmosphere. We spent wonderful four nights in this hotel during and around Christmas. The staff (i.e. the family running the hotel) was always very friendly and receptive to all our requests (such as getting the room very early on the morning we arrived). The room and bathroom were very big and always clean, and we even got complementary fruits and wine for Christmas. The hotel has a great view overlooking Chania and the sea, as well as towards the mountains, and has just been rennovated. WiFi also worked smoothly.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean comfortable room and close to the airport. Friendly receptionist who told us a good local place to eat.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: